Find companies:
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
300 reviews

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work & I learned a great deal about the industry
Office Support Assistant (Current Employee), Lakewood, COJuly 10, 2014
Pros: teamwork and special proejcts
Cons: office closing
There was a good variety of work to be done, incoming email messages that needed to be printed, entered into different systems, and saved for reference; supply requests disbursement, requisitioning, and financial control; secure mail handling and distribution; producing training manuals (IMPS, Division instructions, Child Nutrition, COOL, Union/Management – more... contract, ect.) brochures, and assorted employee handouts, reviewed incoming and outgoing check registers and procedures; suggested and created new forms to streamline procedures; vehicle fleet management reports; USPS daily reports for return mail costs, reproduction services, and postage meter; verifying and reconciling UPS and FedEx weekly billing (hard and electronic copy); management of UPS database of address; 3-day detail to USDA, Forest Service, Job Corps National Office; assisting in closing the QAD Lakewood Office including scheduling and shipping supply stockpile, inventory supplies and equipment, packaging and shipping museum-quality antiques, converting serveral years of files and data into electronic format for long-term storage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have only ever worked as a temporary employee... ok.. once as a term.
GS5, Trails (Former Employee), Safford, AZJune 28, 2014
Pros: getting laid off after six months, beautiful scenery, outdoors
Cons: getting laid off after six months, lack of health care, no retirement
As a temp you work 6 months or less. Usually 6 months on... 6 months off. No health care. No retirement. No uniform. No getting 3 hours a week to exercise like the permanents do. No getting part of your gym membership paid for like the permanents do... Overall I have really enjoyed working for the US Forest Service. Beautiful areas. Hard work, but some – more... really awesome experiences. After ten years as a temp though.... hard not to feel like a throw away person in a throw away culture. Like most of the public land agencies.... more and more emphasis is being put on people with Degrees being in management. And those people want a decent life and salary. Can not blame them. But much of the day to day business of a public agency is dirty, hard, no appreciation kind of work. People with Masters degrees or PHDs are not going to clean the toilets, arrest the timber thieves, keep the trails open... etc, etc. Like most of the public land agencies... paper seems to mean as much or more than people these days. Forest Service is too often the Office Service. Our forest full of trash.... used needles, garbage...

Get your degree. Masters preferable. Then you can get a cost of living increase while talking of how hard to manage it all is.... Only work as a temp if you love the outdoors more than money, and can afford to have a job without healthcare or retirement. Average these days is ten years... ten years as a seasonal before you will make permanent. If you make permanent... I will probably go back to seasonal sooner or later. Great way to make some cash for the summer, see some cool scenery and then go on unemployment. You can do it till your too old to work... then you can live illegally in the Forest you used to patrol. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strength building and determination.
Forest Service Technician (Former Employee), Sonora, CAJune 16, 2014
Loved the experience.
Loved the traveling.
Extremely like my crew members and work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship program
Internship (Former Employee), Miami, FLJune 12, 2014
Great experience, learned a great deal about the NAFTA countries, trade, and the ERS systems used to analyze the data.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
Program Clerk/Automation Clerk (Former Employee), Lincoln, NEJune 10, 2014
Pros: atmosphere, everyone was hurried but they knew that they could only do so much at a time
Cons: budget, they are limited by budget and regulations on what they can do
I would go in and check my email then Update and maintain records of all lenders and borrowers in various file formats.
Scan and save records to the USDA webpage
Prepare and assemble Single Family Housing Dockets and other materials for scanning into the Central Servicing Center’ database
Created PowerPoint slides for presentation
Maintained confidentiality – more... of documents and papers of the organization
Review, record and store documents for proper use
Sort Compliance Reports by program and date
Prepare and affix labels to files with appropriate destruction information
Sort and compile Budget Reports
Update and organize the SOP for scanning
Work with Administration, Housing, Business Programs, Community Programs
Format Budget Object Classification Codes
Conduct equipment inventory for the entire state
Work with Business Energy on a project that included adding 200 recipients of Renewable Energy Education Assistance Program(REAP,REDA) into GLS (Guaranteed Loan System) database system
Work with the Civil Engineer and entered data for the Nebraska Rural Water Association, metered water rates
Work with Business Energy Specialists in entering data into GLS computer database system
Continued to work as a volunteer basis after paid position expired on 10/2012
I learned how to multi-task.
The management and co-workers wanted to help out in any way they could.
I enjoyed the job and the challenge of learning new things – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Duties - Administrative (Former Employee), bartlett, tnJune 4, 2014
I was not happy working in an agency which had leadership that would not listen, help or monitor anything in the lab area. We had employees cheating, talking, leaving their post - without any problems from the management. Co-workers constantly talked about other employees - and caused harm to people who wanted to keep to themselves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An important mission!
Area Specialist (Former Employee), Devils Lake, NDMay 27, 2014
Committed to helping improve the economy and quality of life in rural America - a very important mission and a really great, hard-working group of people to see that there is a real positive impact on the rural communities in our country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Above average
CONSTRUCTION INSPECTOR (PROGRAM SPECIALIST) (Former Employee), Pohnpei, FSMMay 26, 2014
This is where I first embarked on my work experience beginning with a Construction Clerk followed by being promoted to Inspector.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied Experience
Human Resources Specialist (Current Employee), Kansas City, MissouriMay 16, 2014
I have been able to gain experience in many aspects of Human Resources such as position classification, pay and compensation, processing and on boarding, human capital, recruitment and placement, training, and employee and labor relations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative, Personnel, Secretarial
Personnel/Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLMay 14, 2014
Pros: always busy, made day go fast
Cons: too much to do, not enough time in day
I worked with the department for almost 15 years. Worked in numersous databases; collected, researched and compiled information for the Governor of Florida. Assisted management with personnel needs, filling positions, payroll, position descriptions. Responsible for the entire Sonitrol Badges, ensuring that appropriate staff had necessary access to the – more... Mayo Building and Conner Complex. Created forms to be utilized by the department. Purchasing requisitions, approving P-Card transactions as well as travel for personnel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Microbiologist (Current Employee), St. LouisMay 7, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: lack of development and opportunity.
The USDA is a great place to work. This is a low stress environment. The typical day includes screening and confirming samples for pathogens. Co-workers are knowledgeable and easy to get along with which is important as we work as a team to perform various analyses. The hardest aspect of the job would have to be staying on top of all the exceptions – more... to the rules and guidelines. The best part about this job is the satisfaction that I have contributed to public safety. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but fun
Forester (Former Employee), Groveland, CAMay 6, 2014
Pros: rafting
Cons: no room to promote
Working at the forestry was very hard work but we had fun with our work. i am sad though that it was an internship. so there was no benefits or room to promote.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Federal Gov. Job
Program Support Assistant (Former Employee), Shafter, CAMay 2, 2014
Pros: co-workers, flexible, training
Cons: advancement
Worked for them over 20+ years. Would still be working there if our location along with 10 others, hadn't been targeted in the federal budget cuts for 2012. We were offered jobs else where out of state, but was unable to relocate, due to our family farms here in Kern County.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Internship (Former Employee), San Juan PRApril 19, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
It was a private school. It was a good experience. Good students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), Bishop, CAApril 16, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: seasonal
Issued wilderness permits to people to enjoy the back country while interactng with any pulic inquiries. Issued wood permits, and answered any questions about wilderness areas or places to hike for a short time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Supervisory Procurement Analyst (Former Employee), Warren, PAApril 11, 2014
Pros: work environment
Fast paced work environment that was challenging and fulfilling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working here for 22 yrs
Lead Systems Administrator (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 2, 2014
Pros: good opportunity for growth, and training
Cons: budget cutbacks and pay raise freeze
I began in the admin field and immediately got involved into the IT environment. Great training and good growth over my career at USDA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience and interesting field of study
Agricultural Statistician (Former Employee), Austin, TXMarch 29, 2014
Pros: lasting peer friendships and compensation
Cons: rather not say
Good initial exposure to statistical modeling related to market environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Investigator (Former Employee), Woodbury, NJMarch 25, 2014
Pros: work from home. schedule work for the day.
Cons: traveling in inclement weather, sometimes long distance.
Room for advancement was poor. People were excellent to work with. Management at times out of touch with personnel. Work was uneventful. The enjoyable part of day was returning to home office to complete the days activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outdoors work
intern (Former Employee), MacDoel CaMarch 21, 2014
outdoor work, free range fences, campground clean up and 5 team crew work

1 2 3 4 5

About DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

With the stony faces of Mount Rushmore serving as a constant reminder to civic duty, the Office of the Governor of South Dakota – Read more

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Photos