Find companies:
Department Of Consumer Affairs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

Department Of Consumer Affairs Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained great work experience with the State of CA
Seasonal Clerk (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 28, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, flexible schedule
Cons: needed a full time job but only part time available there
My daily duties as an office assistant consisted of answering phones and routing calls to appropriate person, drafting and disseminating letters and memos, assisting staff with general clerical tasks. I learned a lot about the services we provided to consumers by holding medical professionals accountable to their actions. I absolutely loved my manager – more... and co-workers. They were a fun and lively group of people. The hardest part of the job was that it was only part time but the most enjoyable part was definitely the great work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun workplace
COMMUNITY ASSISTANT, PER DIEM (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 7, 2013
Pros: co-workers
Cons: inexperienced directors
Directors making decisions in a personal manner as opposed to a professional manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivered mail to different divisions
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAMarch 2, 2013
Pros: driving
Cons: distance
A typical day at DCA was clocking in and assisting in getting mail ready for the routes. After preparing the mail I would get the mail for my route ready and put it into the vehicle and drive on my route. After driving my route in the morning I would take a lunch then I would get my afternoon route ready then go out on my second route. After my second – more... route was complete I would go back to the office and assist in putting mail carts away for the night and I would clock out. Management was good. My co-workers worked well with me and they helped me a lot when it came to sorting mail. The hardest part of the job was memorizing all the routes. The most enjoyable part of the job was providing excellent customer service to everybody that I saw on my routes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of potential -- try after election
Employee (Former Employee), NYCFebruary 14, 2013
Pros: some great staff
Cons: poor management, low morale, high turnover
Could be a great agency, and maybe it once was, but under this administration, employee morale is very low, turnover extremely high, and management is poor and unprincipled. Ironically, the agency, which advocates honesty and transparency in businesses, just obstructed a routine audit by the Comptroller and is now being investigated by the Department – more... of Investigation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Career, Furlough are the only downfall.
AGPA - Records Management (Current Employee), Sacremento, CAJuly 27, 2012
Pros: close to home, great team
Cons: furloughs
Projects, upgrades with current systems and products. The process of mail deliveries and functionality on a daily basis in a high productive environment are fun as well as the digital print facility I work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but looking to explore more options
Staff Services Analyst (General) (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAJune 24, 2012
Pros: medical
Cons: no flexibility
I like my job but and the work is interesting but I'm looking into other aspects that could provide me some flexibility to be at home more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun position with NYC as the office
Provisional Inspector (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 11, 2012
Pros: position was comprised of field work, which allowed me to travel the five boroughs and encounter a wide range of people.
Cons: consistently changing policies from upper management cause lack of ease within work environment.
This position was primarily field work with very little office time. Inspectors would have approximately an hour at the beginning of the day to compile a route sheet of the locations which they will be inspecting that day, then its off to the field to begin inspections. Inspections were often done alone unless management seen fit that more than one – more... inspector was necessary. As an inspector I learned how to be a very self motivated employee, my communication and interpersonal skills were perfected, and my written and verbal skills were enhanced. My co-workers were extremely understanding and helpful as we all understood the hardships of being a field employee. Immediate management within this position were very helpful as all of them worked their way through the ranks starting off in the Inspector position. Higher management was not as understanding, as much of they request and policies were unfit and unrealistic of that o a field working employee. The most enjoyable part of my job was the freedom and trust that I was given, in which I worked all over the five boroughs with little to no supervision. The hardest part of my job would have to be leaving, as it was no request of my own instead it was a change within city regulations which resulted in the release of all provisional employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work place was very safe n friendly!
Clerical Aide (Former Employee), New York,NYFebruary 13, 2012
The environment was safe. The employees were very friendly. The office manager was willing to teach me all i needed to learn as a clerical aide.