Department of Corrections Employee Reviews

Found 892 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor administration, poor pay, good-old-boy system of advancement
Unit Supervisor (Current Employee) –  MissouriJune 6, 2017
Administration works to cover their own rather than support the staff. React to rumors, micromanage, change things on a regular basis without informing or seeking feedback from those who implement change.
Pros
Free inmate-prepared meals, at least 10 hours off/month
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meager Career
Social Service Specialist II (Former Employee) –  New Castle, DEJune 6, 2017
No career ladder. A low paying state government job without anything to look forward to. Staff need more recognition and appreciation for their daily job duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Chief of Security (Former Employee) –  Tumwater, WAJune 5, 2017
DOC in Washington State is an extremely progressive correctional system. Working there allows plenty of latitude to create, maneuver and grow as an employee. I appreciated the people, the job and the work. The organization continues to grow as they have appointed a progressive leader to continue to move the organization forward.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Youth Development Specialist (Former Employee) –  Madison, INJune 4, 2017
The students run the facility. The workers have to keep discipline numbers down to make a quota. In doing this the youth get to do whatever they want in minimal if any consequences.
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comments
Vocational Instructor (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 1, 2017
Atomsphere Hostile, It was horrible, Unsafe & poor working conditions. The staff was rude and unfriendly as well as the warden.

Not enough pay and much more stressful environment, than I was used to.
Pros
Meeting people
Cons
no lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Predictable Work environment
Psych Tech (Current Employee) –  New Castle, DEMay 30, 2017
Typical Work day consists of an 8 and an half hour shift
You learn to basic CPR techniques and skills related to suicide prevention to ensure the safety of those being observed
Pros
The pay
Cons
Can get boring if nothing serious is taking place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and loved my job
Human Resource Specialist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 30, 2017
I did various jobs with Department of Corrections and loved each one I had. They were very rewarding and compensation was great. I worked in human resources.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Correction Ofc
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 30, 2017
It's a wonderful career it's a great place to retire from an start your life threat benefits 401kplans banking life insurance everything that you need in one place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, keeping composure, safety and security at all times
Corrections Officer I (Current Employee) –  GuamMay 29, 2017
You have to love the job to appreciate it. Must have a good mind set and keep good composure at all times. Staying awake for countless hours to provide safety and security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Department of Corrections is a good job.
Teacher's Asst./ Correctional Cook (Current Employee) –  Stockton, CAMay 26, 2017
I enjoy working for the Department of Corrections. I have been here 12 years. The pay is a little low, but the benefits are amazing. Looking foward to retirement.
Pros
Long lunches
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security
Officer of Correction (Former Employee) –  Canóvanas Municipio, PRMay 24, 2017
Learned a lot about transport inmates security, got in good physical condition. Dangerous job but it was never a full day going to work. Got a chance to go to school at the academy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Waiford FloridaMay 24, 2017
Overall good, need to be better towards the officers. Nice co-workers and friendly people. Everyone has a smile. If ut could treat its officers better than it would be an overall great place to work.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Not nice to employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  Coralville, IAMay 23, 2017
Decent benefits and pay. Public High school atmosphere. Typical day is what you made of it. Learned a lot about the state workforce in Iowa. I enjoyed giving offenders encouragement to do better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Eloy, AZMay 23, 2017
Well its the ARMY and if you dont know what that is like I think you should join. I mean I could tell you the good but while you are in you will only see the bad and when you get out you will only remember what was good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Juvenile Corrections Agent (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, SDMay 23, 2017
I am not interested in writing a review. The work I did there was rewarding most days however the case loads became unmanageable. I needed to be a parent to my children first.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Correctional Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Florence, AZMay 18, 2017
I enjoyed working there and learned a lot of interesting things.I also was able to supervise over 2000 inmates and was able to gain their respect which is important in a Prison Setting. Thankyou
Pros
learning experience
Cons
trust
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dept of Corrections is a great place to start a career in criminal justice
Office Operations Assistant (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMay 18, 2017
A typical day at work is that everyday brings about a new challenge.
I have learned that people respond very well to common courtesy.
Management operates under the same blanket as its region.
My workplace culture is very diverse in personality, learning style, teaching style, professional background, ethnicity, and worldviews.
The hardest part about my job is dealing with the abrupt changes that take place daily.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the comradery among my co-workers, when clients do well, the stability of the work schedule, and room for professional growth.
Pros
health insurance, flexibility
Cons
freeze on raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive work enviroment
lpn (Current Employee) –  Whitmore Lake, MIMay 15, 2017
typical day includes going through the gates to get to my work place.Counting narcs and reusable tools in my work area.Obtaining verbal report from outgoing nurse about day events.Providing medical care and responding to any unexpected events.answering medical requests(kites) from inmates sending to clinic for review.assing medication and tube feedings via peg-tubes.Giving report to oncoming staff.Going back through the gates.
Pros
its quiet on midnights and everyone looks out for each other.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  Daytona Beach, FLMay 12, 2017
Workplace is challenging . The environment can be highly stressful both with the people whom you provide care, custody and control of; but also contending with management.
Pros
benefits
Cons
environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Correctional Corporal (Former Employee) –  TennesseeMay 11, 2017
I really enjoy working here. I have had the opportunity to work directly with the public and have greatly enjoyed it. I have been very satisfied in my opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Department of Corrections. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,194 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4