Find companies:
Department of Defense
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
954 reviews

Department of Defense Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Police Officer (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJuly 26, 2014
Pros: respect
Cons: gang bangers
its everything ive ever wanted to do, very high stress, every day is a different day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A horrible office environment
Program Support Technician (Former Employee), Warner Robins, GAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great working hours.
Cons: not a team envioronment, working for an organization that legally kills, and superviosors yelling, supervisors dipping tobacco in office.
Although this job had great benefits, overall it was an awful place to work. All the supervisors cussed and used fowl language and dipped snufff in the office which was very unprofessional. The office assistant that worked next to me dated a coworker and all I head about her all day was about her divorce, his divorce, lovely dovey...very unprofessional – more... as an off environment in my opinion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE JOB SERVING OUR WAR FIGHTER
HEAVY MOBILE EQUIPMENT OPERATOR (Current Employee), Texarkana, TXJuly 24, 2014
JOB IS GOOD AND STEADY REALLY ENJOY HELPING OUR COUNTY AND WAR FIGHTER. ON THE OTHER HAND MANAGEMENT IS THE DOWNFALL TO THIS COMPANY. PROMOTIONS ARE GIIVEN ON A BASIS OF HOW MUCH YOUR FAMILY OWNS IN PROPERTY OR ASSETS AND HOW GOOD OF FRIENDS WE ARE INSTEAD OF ACTUAL JOB PERFORMANCE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment
Office Clerk (Former Employee), Fort Belvoir, VAJuly 23, 2014
Working at the Department of Defense was very enjoyable and allowed me to grow by building up my experience. By having a flexible work schedule, this allows you to be productive at work or in your home. Everyone is very serious about their work, but also understands the importance of building friendly work relationships.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thoroughly enjoyed worked for the Federal government
TEACHER (Former Employee), Arlington, VAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: excellent co-workers, excellent healthcare benefits, sick days, 401k
Cons: wet cold environment in england
Excellent co-workers and principal, bonuses, vacation/sick days, flexibility, access to Air Force base facilities, GS11--Captain (teacher), would work for Department of Defense again. DODDS paid for housing, food, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable
Sales Store Checker (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, NC; Heidelberg, GermanyJuly 19, 2014
Pros: pay, easy to move up in the job
Great job, easy to move up, pay is good, benefits are good if working full time. enjoyable job. hours are good you don't get off to late, you get to interact with people daily. you and apart of the government civilian pay grade system, once you make rank you keep rank, if you are a GS 5, and transfer to another facility into a GS 3 position you will – more... still get paid as a GS 5. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Odenton, MDJuly 18, 2014
This was an awesome place to work. I learned a lot and got excellent experience needed to perform my job tasks at the best of my ability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Director of Instruction, CULP Romania (Current Employee), fort knox, kentuckyJuly 18, 2014
Working for DoD was excellent and provided an outstanding opportunity to be a professional. The work was hard, but rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experiance and would do all over again
Automotive Technician Manager (Current Employee), Ft Benning, GAJuly 17, 2014
Learned a great deal with the Department of Defense. Seen many parts of the world I probably would have never seen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military working experience
Rifleman (Former Employee), jacksonville, ncJuly 17, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: long+ hours and away from home
i served 4 years in the United States Marine Corps, i had a lot of good and bad times, i have learned a lot through the various positions i have served in my time. I am a rifleman with one deployment to Afghanistan earning my Afganhistan Campaign Medal and my combat action ribbon, after my first deployment i was placed into Headquarters platoon where – more... i served the rest of my time as an administration clerk for 1stSgt. I can adapt easily to almost anything. i have a letter of recommendation if interested. please feel free to contact me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and constantly changing environment with excellent pay and benefits.
Lead Police Officer (Former Employee), Patuxent River, MDJuly 17, 2014
Pros: great training, benefits, and salary
As a Lead Police Officer my typical workday would consist of assigning duties to a shift of up to 28 law enforcement officers, ensuring those duties were carried out, and assisting the public however possible. I learned a great deal from my various training and by gaining experience working with the public. My coworkers were professional, well trained, – more... and extremely reliable. It was not uncommon for coworkers to become very close friends. The hardest part of the job was trying to maintain a balance between keeping the public safe without becoming too restrictive concerning the installations security. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping the public and forging long lasting relationships with coworkers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dod culture
Department of Defense Security Force (Former Employee), miamiJuly 17, 2014
not a lot of advancement, dod jobs are not the best right now , Expensive insurance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work - challenging but rewarding and satisfying
Program Analyst (Current Employee), Pentagon/Crystal cityJuly 16, 2014
Typical day at work is challenging but rewarding. The work that we do here is incredible, satisfying and very interesting work. The people that I work with are truly the best around and selfless but due to downsizing our organization is going away. As far as the hardest part - there is not a hard part about it and the most enjoyable part about the job – more... is the completion of projects that are helping countries grow and prosper. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Public Affairs Specialist (Former Employee), arizonaJuly 16, 2014
Great environment, with no job security for the newcomers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe workplace.
Shop Supervisor/Floor Mechanic (Current Employee), Jacksonville, NCJuly 14, 2014
Learned the value of good team work and communication. Enjoyed learning new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
us government
Warehouse Logistics Specialist (Former Employee), Rock Island, ILJuly 14, 2014
Pros: us government
Cons: us government
US Government Deployed to Combat Zone in support of US troops
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start, limited growth potential.
Information Technology Specialist (Current Employee), Aberdeen Proving Ground, MDJuly 13, 2014
Pros: job security / flexible hours
Cons: pay, career growth
The DOD is a good place to start a career, however you will quickly learn that there is little growth for your career. The longer you stay within the DOD you will be tasked with assignments that are very much specific to only that of the government, and will limit your job possibilities in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced office with the need for multi-tasking.
65th Civil Engineer Squadron Commander's Secretary (Former Employee), Lajes Field, Azores, PortugalJuly 11, 2014
On a typical day I would begin with my notes from the previous day to pick up where I left off. As the day would go on, work would consistently flow in.
The management that I worked under was wonderful and fair. I could not ask for better supervisors.
The squadron I worked in was absolutely wonderful. Everyone had a great time working together and did – more... an awesome job maintaining work and personal relationship separate.
The hardest part of the job is also the most enjoyable part of the job. When I would receive multiple tasks at once from various ranking officers to complete by a certain time. I love a challenge. Although this isn't the most challenging event I've ever crossed, it was fun and kept the job interesting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Tax Assistant Coordinator (Former Employee), Fort Meade, MDJuly 11, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Great place to work. Great co-workers. Always kept busy. Temporary position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace.
CRYPTOLOGIC FABRICATION OPERATOR (Former Employee), Fort Meade, MDJuly 10, 2014
Pros: picnics, lunch with co-workers
Cons: no cons to report.
Typical day at work, loved going to work. I learned a great deal of how to operate machinery I wasn't familiar with. Management cooperated, understanding, etc. Co-workers were a pleasure to work with but there are always a few that were not. No hard part to the job. Enjoyable part of the job was when the day went well and everything that needed to get – more... done was accomplished with no problems. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Department of Defense

The Department of Defense, for one, has made considerable progress since receiving its barely passing grade. MITRE, a Massachusetts-based – Read more

Department of Defense Photos