Find companies:
Department of Defense
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
979 reviews

Department of Defense Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained alot of good electronic experiance
Electronic Technician (Former Employee), Beaufort, SCAugust 17, 2014
Pros: wotk alone or with others
Cons: could get slow at times.
shift work good place to learn a lot about electronic theory. co-workers good people for the most part. Hardest part of the job was keeping up with the rotating supervisors. The thing I loved about the job was the knowledge I learned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped teammembers ,made quotas
Lead Accounting Technician (Former Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 17, 2014
Pros: support the warfigher
Cons: lots of work
Lots of work, most people helpful, willing to learn, Turnover.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly hard working people
consultant/prog mgr (Former Employee), pasadena ca 91105August 17, 2014
Connected very well with all levels, exec, to workers on the floor. Great people tough and changing area of manufacturing/design,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tell us about:
Program Analyst (Former Employee), Washington D.CAugust 16, 2014
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Budget/Finance Intern (Current Employee), Fort Belvoir, VAAugust 15, 2014
The most enjoyable aspect of this position is that I am able to work on a flexible time schedule, and telework. The job requires an employee to self teach themselves in order to become familiar with certain aspects of the job. There are good training opportunities within the position as well. I learned about DLA's financial reporting process and gained – more... an understanding of departmental reconciliations, DoD Standard General Ledger Chart of Accounts, Journal Voucher process,and different accounting systems within the organization – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
IT/Signal Support Systems Specialist (Current Employee), PennsylvaniaAugust 12, 2014
A lot of on the job training. Get to meet awesome individuals that you will stay in contact with for the rest of your life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Annual Army Birthday Ball's, G-8 Picnics, and shopping in the shops located within the Pentagon and outside the Pentagon
Management Support Specialist (Current Employee), Washington, DCAugust 11, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
I love working with the Army Miltary, contractors and civilian employees at the Pentagon it is a very hetic work arena that sometimes has it's positive affects on all employees with Picnics, baseball game attendace in MD/DC and each year the Army Ball.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great productive day
Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 9, 2014
A typical day consisted of interacting with different and conducting research.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Position Enviroment
Police Services Assistant Program Manager (Former Employee), 2035 Graeber St March Air Base, CA 92518August 7, 2014
Pros: team work enviroment, professional, dedication
Cons: long hours, minimum manning forced overtasking at times
Overall the job was excellent. fast-paced, priority orientated. Challenge with multiple tasking and minimum accomplished allowed. From setting weekly PowerPoint presentation within the police services program. Attending meetings with operation management. Accessing and verifying background checks for employment involving multiple agency. Communicating – more... with base personnel on certain projects being construction on the installation to establishing protocol requirements for visiting VIP's. Monitoring security operations in the field and making any changes if necessary. Management overall, was supported and gave full backing when individual (s) would question the legality of certain security operations. Co-workers were hard working and professional. If one of us needed assistant in solving or finishing a task the others would chip in! Comradeship was abundant.
The hardest part of the job was sometimes the early arrivals set for post midnight times, ie. 0300, 0400 etc.. The most enjoyable of the job was the work itself. Being able provide a service not just to the base community but to the U.S. Air Force Reserves! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet a lot of people from all over the world.
Store Associate/Cash Teller (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALAugust 7, 2014
The management style was okay but they need to listen to want the employees want if they want to reduce turn over
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
serving country
Security Specialist - Combat Arms Instructor (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXAugust 6, 2014
Pros: serving country
Cons: no vacation
cool place, long work hours, different stations, too much managment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working under pressure
United States Marine Corps (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 5, 2014
Pros: free lunch, team oriented, and paid vacation
Cons: traveling to other countries at a moments notice
A typical day at work included a vast multitude of experiences. I learned that leadership can come from even the newest member of the team and that anyone can accomplish the tasks at hand as long as they are ready to work for it. Management at this job was great but very micromanaged. My co-workers and I had to pull together under very difficult situations – more... and it showed that people from every background can work together to accomplish whatever it is that must be accomplished. The hardest part of the job would be whenever a jet would go down during a loading evolution and we needed to figure out how to download quickly and efficiently. The most enjoyable part of the job however was accomplishing these tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different
HR (Current Employee), MDAugust 4, 2014
DOD is going through many changes at this time. Needs to say competitive with the private sector. Work life balance and benefits are some of the upsides.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast-paced public affairs environment for the largest military installation in the free world.
Audio Visual Production Specialist GS-09 (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXAugust 2, 2014
A typical day of work would involve building a 30 minute weekly news magazine. I would have to develop the television program in accordance to specific command themes and messages. In addition to that, I would lead by example by reporting, anchoring, shooting and editing. The most enjoyable part of the job was working for the men and women of our Armed – more... Forces. The most difficult part of the job was leaving due to budget cuts. Overall, I expanded my knowledge on media operations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, but
Conventional Arms Trade and Proliferation Analyst (Current Employee), Washington, DCJuly 31, 2014
Pros: interesting work, that's global in scope
Cons: bureacracy
As with any large bureaucracy, there are pros and cons associated with the work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resourceful job to have it prepared me for life.
Summer Intern (Former Employee), Arlington, VAJuly 31, 2014
Handled all inbound calls to appropriate personnel. Assisted with team meetings and events held away from the office. Handled mail and delivered written and oral messages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Client Support Administrator (Current Employee), Grissom ARB, INJuly 30, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: management experience
Troubleshoot incoming computer repair calls, and all hands on maintenance required for the computer systems on base.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable and secure job
Test Engineer (Current Employee), Charlottesville, VAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: stable, flexible to an extentt
Cons: long drive
This job is very secure and manageable on a day to day basis. I have a long commute so my mornings were early and my schedule was flexible based on that. A typical day involved going over details of specific capabilities we would be testing and exactly would needed to be tested based on capability gaps and requirements. The hardest part of the job is – more... the drive and the most enjoyable part is the travel because its keeps me from behind a desk all day. My co-workers are great people who work well as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Police Officer (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJuly 26, 2014
Pros: respect
Cons: gang bangers
its everything ive ever wanted to do, very high stress, every day is a different day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A horrible office environment
Program Support Technician (Former Employee), Warner Robins, GAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great working hours.
Cons: not a team envioronment, working for an organization that legally kills, and superviosors yelling, supervisors dipping tobacco in office.
Although this job had great benefits, overall it was an awful place to work. All the supervisors cussed and used fowl language and dipped snufff in the office which was very unprofessional. The office assistant that worked next to me dated a coworker and all I head about her all day was about her divorce, his divorce, lovely dovey...very unprofessional – more... as an off environment in my opinion. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Department of Defense

The Department of Defense, for one, has made considerable progress since receiving its barely passing grade. MITRE, a Massachusetts-based – Read more

Department of Defense Photos