Department of Defense

Department of Defense Employee Reviews

Found 1,971 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Routine work
General Engineer (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAAugust 11, 2016
My upper management is out of control. Toxic work environment that's beginning to change for the best. The job gives opportunity to travel and is best suited for entry level engineers.
Pros
Opportunity to travel
Cons
Routine work with very opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Chief of Criminal Investigations (Former Employee) –  Great Falls, MTOctober 17, 2016
great working environment, hard working co-workers. Pride in working for your country. advancement if you work hard. hardest part of job is relocating.
Pros
advancement
Cons
changing administration
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really love working for DOD
Senior Procurement Analyst (Former Employee) –  Fort Belvoir, VANovember 23, 2016
Very good place to work.

Great co-workers and management.

Outstanding benefits.

Excellent training program.

A typical day was very busy,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides Communications on a Global scale
Senior Project Manager Active Duty (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTAugust 9, 2016
Project Engineering Project Management Team Chief Academy Network Infrastructures Standard Installation Practices Navigational Project Manager for Communication projects to include high power ATC Radio Systems, data network infrastructure (outside plant and premise), Voice and Data cabling infrastructure, Instrument Landing Systems and Fiber Optic data systems. Responsible for all phases of project installation to include: cost analysis for team, verify project package accuracy, coordinate all parties’ involved, order and follow up on material orders, set priorities, vendor management, conflict resolution, and manage team members. Supervise 70 Airman in all aspects of training and job performance. Top Secret Security Clearance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Navy experience
Information Systems Technician (Current Employee) –  Information Systems TechnicianAugust 18, 2016
My 20 years in the Navy has been a rewarding experience. However it is time to transition to a career in the civilian world. I will miss the bonds that are established from Navy culture but will be happy to contribute to a team in another organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work/life balance
Senior Auditor (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXSeptember 25, 2016
solid job security
friendly helpful co-workers
challenging work
excellent compensation and benefits
excellent job advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional work environment
Store Clerk (Current Employee) –  Fort Jackson, SCAugust 12, 2016
- Work as cashier most of the time, cover for other departments when necessary. My management team have a good knowledge base and have been with the company for several years. I've learned cashiering functions, working in the meat department, produce, stock and dairy. The hardest part of my job is downtime when I am just standing around waiting for customers. I get to take a 20 min break
each work day, I am part-time. Most enjoyable part of my job is working in the other departments because there isn't any down time and I can stay busy by restocking etc. My co-workers are great, they are a mixture of retired military, military spouses, and very diverse backgrounds from all over the country.
Pros
Customer Service skills
Cons
Working every weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not ideal for those with desires elsewhere
Aviation Structural Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKApril 18, 2016
Regarding management, the higher ups lack motivating and positive management skills. Due to the lack of higher education, contentment is high. Health benefits are great but the pay for the amount of working hours is not enough. Definitely a job for those wanting long hours of hard labor with minimal home time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Work Center Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville N A S, FLNovember 7, 2016
I enjoy the work/life balance that I have there. A typical day at work consists of assisting other coworkers, learning about new systems.
Pros
Great benefits.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, challening work enviroment
Surface Maintenance Repairer (Former Employee) –  Johnstown, PAAugust 11, 2016
Performs diagnosis, routine repairs and maintenance on heavy-duty mobile equipment, combat, tactical and automotive vehicles. Assists higher graded mechanics in the repair and/or overhaul of major systems to include internal combustion engines, turbine engines, automatic and non-automatic transmissions, heavy duty drive line systems, and hydraulic utility systems and controls. Makes routine repairs that can be accomplished by removing, adjusting, or replacing defective or worn parts and components. Performs work in accordance with technical manuals, lubrication orders, maintenance bulletins, regulations or management policies
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable and Meaningful
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  MacDill AFB, FLJune 10, 2016
Job security and benefits are good, pay is not. Processes are cemented with little room innovation. Flat organization with little room to advance.
Pros
Work Life Balance
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not what its cracked up to be
Housekeeping Aid (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 30, 2016
Under paid, absolutely no advancement opportunities. Changes in management two to six times a year. supervisors have no civilian work experience. extremely low morale.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding to Retired with the Federal Government
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 12, 2016
Each day is a different situation in work and how to handle a situation as it comes is very important to me and working with employees of different nationality it was good me moving to California it taught me a lots with communicating with others and Management as well, hardest part of my job is when I retired cause after all you learned and people you work with at the end of day it all comes together.
Pros
Working with people of different nationality.
Cons
Change different Management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prodcutive
Contracting Specialist (Current Employee) –  Fort Meade, MDAugust 18, 2016
typically work on financial analysis. benefits and time off is a major plus. enjoy the people that I work with. Little room for advancement in my current organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Warehouse Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Tracy, CAMay 23, 2016
Multiple shifts available depending on warehouse assigned. Array of different stock enable you to learn multiple warehouse functions. Management is ok. Most of middle management don't know how to deal with people. Upper management is good. Most of the workforce is really negative for no real reason. Hardest part of the job is dealing with the people.
Pros
pay, benefits, training
Cons
high health insurance, middle management, no structured mission
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life in the military.
Intelligence Analyst (Current Employee) –  United StatesAugust 31, 2016
wake up early. work late.
What i have learned is that take the good with the bad and roll with the punches always be flexible.
I learned that always look deeper, look to what next, why, where, how.
co-workers,are family.
management some terrible some great just wait and it will change.
hardest part is yearly or quarterly classes to problems that will not be solved with classes.
Best thing is being able to do things that most people only dream of.
Pros
upward mobility
Cons
It is the military chance of death.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Play at your own risk
Motor Vehicle Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Benning, GAAugust 11, 2016
A friends based place of employment. If you are not friends with management then all of dirty jobs are coming to you. One of the most unprofessional group of mamagers i have ever been associated with.
You get good pay and time off but the mental stress you have to deal with from the "put this off on thenext person' attitude your co-workers have is really what makes this job very hard. Icould talk all day about this job and stil wouldnt be able to cover the negetives
that comes with it.
Pros
working lunch, if you get one
Cons
no support to the people who puts in a honest 8 hours a day at work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer relations
Store Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fort Leavenworth, KSSeptember 27, 2016
If you do your job correctly and accurately, you will be recognized. Management was complacent. Pay and benefits were substantial.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you're passionate about it, you'll love it.
U.S. Navy (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 7, 2016
If you enjoy early mornings, learning various skills that don't translate to the civilian world, poor management, co-workers who say anything because they can't be fired, 12+ hour days, and going out to sea, this is the job for you, friend.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dod
Project/Portfolio Manager (Current Employee) –  Seaside, CAAugust 13, 2016
The department has good management. Offers lots of job training. The benefits of the department aregood. The employees are hard working for the department are all professionals.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Department of Defense. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 2,119 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0