Find companies:
Department of Defense
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
953 reviews

Department of Defense Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work. It was very hard to stay ahead of the base closures at that time.
Engineering Technician (Former Employee), Tooele, UTMay 22, 2014
Pros: got to work on a varietiy of equipment
Cons: looking at loosing my job
enjoyed the job but a closure was coming and DOT picked me up. challenging job with all of the calibration fields
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable place to work without challenging tasks
Position Management Specialist (Current Employee), Beaufort, SCMay 22, 2014
Not a challenging or rewarding place to work. Need a far greater amount of productive work in an environment where both quantity and quality are valued.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compliance and education
CODING AUDITOR (Former Employee), Lorton, VAMay 21, 2014
responsible for auditing coders. Managed 4 employees.

Hardest part of job was correcting work council.

Love my team which was the most enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Program Manager/Environmental Coordinator (Current Employee), Yuma, AZMay 20, 2014
Great place to work. I have worked with the federal government since I was 19 and this includes my time in the military to the present as a DOD federal employee and it has been quite an adventure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profesional Work Setting
Office Automation Clerk (Former Employee), washington, D.C.May 20, 2014
-Professional setting
-minimum supervision
-assistance was provided if needed
-gained a better understanding of finance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Architel was the tech company
System administrator (Former Employee), Dallas, TexasMay 20, 2014
King Aero space was thew assignment Architel was my employer.

Rating Architel is was an ok place to work for if you like watching the COO sexually harrass the female employees. Or maybe you like to be embarrased by the COO making racial slurs about vietnamise people not knowing your married to one.

Or if you possibly like being told " If you dont – more... like it here there is the door. Now I have to say I am hoping this was the personality fo the COO and not the company. Considering he died last dec here is hoping the new COO is a bit different but I was surprise that one of the owners that officed there allowed it to happen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 hour day 4 days a week, with extrem activity
Airborne Vehicle Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee), Mount Clemens, MIMay 19, 2014
Pros: a pay check every week
Cons: being shot at from the enemy
I manage 67 Airmen, as SMSgt I have the responsibility to ensure that they are combat ready at all times. Hardest part is being separated from my family at long periods of time. Defending my country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Place to work
APPL SYS PROG ANALYST I (Current Employee), Dallas, TXMay 19, 2014
Pros: medical benefits/retirement
Cons: pay/advancement
Stable, great medical benefits.

Greatest Customers in world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful experience living abroad for thirteen years.
Teacher (Former Employee), Würzburg, BYMay 18, 2014
Wonderful experience. Living abroad offered opportunities of travel and experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress free and self rewarding
Eligibility Specialist (Former Employee), Seaside, CAMay 16, 2014
Pros: set schedule, holidays off and pleasant callers.
Cons: very little communication between management and staff.
Worked a Monday - Friday 7:00-3:30 shift with all major holidays off. Received inbound calls which were automatically routed to my phone. I would answer calls from a variety of people, validate orders, make changes/updates, address changes, confirm current medical/dental coverage and start/end dates. For the most part all callers were polite and very – more... thankful for the assistance you provided for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military - US Navy, Submarines
SubLAN System Administrator IAT II, Webmaster (Former Employee), San DiegoMay 15, 2014
Pros: free shelter, free food
Cons: less freetime, less liberties
Stress induced environment that requires individuals to remain flexible and consistently work as team-members to complete arduous tasking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional performer
Retirement Services Officer (Former Employee), Fort Drum, NYMay 13, 2014
Individually respeonsible for the New England area implementation of the U.S. Army Retirment Services Program. Conducted personalized, in-depth transition training seminars and counseling assistance to eligibility Veteran to determine benefits for eligible retirees, active duty military personnel, their dependents or survivors, family members and veterans
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding career
BDE/BN Command Sergeant Major (Former Employee), Shelby, MSMay 13, 2014
Cooperation, teamwork, dedicated team members, were just a few of the areas that made working there so enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my review
Genral Clerk II (Former Employee), Arlington VAMay 12, 2014
Working at department of defense my typical day was during top secret redacts on the DOD system. What I learned was everything I worked on was classified. The management was very friendly. My office was very small working with my co-workers was great, the hardest part of my job was not having a lot of work to do. What I enjoyed about the job was we – more... treated each other like family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent learning experience
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALMay 12, 2014
As a student, I learned to value teamwork through my experience working as a research assistant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
leadership overhaul needed
Talent Acquisition Manager (Current Employee), fort lee, vaMay 9, 2014
Pros: government employment
Cons: grade level was more important than quality of work
Some of the leadership lacked good management skills. There were several instances when management was selected for positions which they were unprepared to work and manage employees with experience. Which created an environment where people had to train their boss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Management Support (Former Employee), Tucson, AZMay 8, 2014
Pros: excellent support from lower management
Cons: poor upper management
Reconcile the cashiers - sleuth trouble spots. Vendors stroll in around nine asking for signs and mark-down and break the copier.
Management manipulates via deception.
Co-workers make the tough stuff easier.
The most difficult part of the job was ever changing price labels.
The best part, aside from co-workers was locating the errors.
I learned a lot – more... during my time with DoD, they provided me the opportunity to grow into my position as Management Support Clerk where I learned the importance of department inventory, correct pricing, WIC,and so many more things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an experience
Store Associate (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VirginiaMay 8, 2014
I enjoyed working there. I just hated price changes really, that was the worst part. Also, some coworkers didn't work as hard which made my work harder but overall it was nice, just not for me. Budget cuts allowed me to peacefully bow out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very steady work.
Store Associate (Current Employee), North Charleston, SCMay 7, 2014
The work is steady and very repetitive. It is very hands on. The hardest part of my job was the continious heavy lifting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Production Controller (Former Employee), Milan, ILMay 7, 2014
Pros: fun and energetic
Fun and relaxing. Bosses was very knowledgeable in their field of studies, co-worker was easy to get along with.

About Department of Defense

The Department of Defense, for one, has made considerable progress since receiving its barely passing grade. MITRE, a Massachusetts-based – Read more

Department of Defense Photos