Find companies:
Department of Education
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
889 reviews

Department of Education Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with good exposure to various departments
Procurement Analyst (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYDecember 16, 2014
Working at the DOE was an enjoyable experience. I was able to learn much about the vendors point of view by working with so many of them. I was fortunate enough to have higher management that encouraged autonomy in making decisions but had an open door policy when it came to asking questions or raising concerns. I also had the opportunity to work closely – more... with many other departments which helped in learning things outside the purview of my duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tech
IT Specialist (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYDecember 15, 2014
no money
no training
no advancement
great hours flexible holidays
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress
Public School Elementary Teacher (Current Employee), P05December 15, 2014
Pros: happy students
Cons: less compensation and benefits
Everyday 2hours travel from home to school. I learned that we should love our work. Supervisors are so busy doing other things that why sometimes they can't update our work. My co-workers are very hardworking and fun to be with. The hardest part of my job is to travel in a mountain area but with a less compensation and benefits. The most enjoyable part – more... of my job is to see my students how happy they are when they are learning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with many challenges
Systems Accountant (Current Employee), Washington, DCDecember 11, 2014
Pros: work/life programs
Only in the broadest sense can I define a typical day. I wear a variety of hats from reconciler, Systems Administrator, Report developer, Project Manager, facilitator and Mentor. The most enjoyable part of my job is when I can identify enhancements to our business processes and/or applications. My coworkers are a diverse group of individuals motivated – more... by many different concerns. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great job for a civil rights attorney
Supervisory Attorney (Current Employee), San Francisco, CADecember 7, 2014
Pros: a great mission.
Cons: a good second salary, but not a competitive salary for san francisco.
If you are looking to work as a civil rights attorney, I highly recommend the U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Group of People to Work With
Federal Collector (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 6, 2014
Very strong team, an exceptional learning experience.
I was able to build the skill to take any and all escalated calls with ease.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsability and Duty
Health Teacher (Former Employee), Fajardo, PRDecember 5, 2014
Pros: one hour break
Cons: temporaly
Health Teacher
Administered first aid to students in event of an emergency and file incident reports for insurance purposes.
Facilitate students to develop the concepts and skills favorable to developing comprehensive and informed attitudes about health topics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Build friendly relationships for positive results
Health Aide/Counselor (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 3, 2014
Start early in the morning for 4 hours. start doing paperwork until school starts at 8:20 am.
I start seeing students from early in the morning until it is time for me to leave for the day
Get along well with co-workers.
I get to help students which I enjoy the most.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Summary
Teacher (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYDecember 1, 2014
Pros: engaged in working with children, able to use technology tools to track student learning
Cons: no part time schedule
DOE offers wonderful opportunities to learn and implement effective strategies and teaching methods that allow teachers to be highly effective educator.
Seeing the students growth throughout the year are the best part of this career!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Tutor (Former Employee), Adjuntas, P.R.November 25, 2014
Was a summer camp of education. The teachers attend the skills lag of the students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It would be a great experience to work as a teacher in your State
Biology Teacher (Current Employee), PRNovember 22, 2014
I have not been able to work with you but other teachers speak highly of its education system and will be more than a good experience to be part of their teaching.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of work, not so much pay*
Teacher, Business Education and Computer Science (Current Employee), Dededo GuamNovember 21, 2014
- Teachers are underpaid and not praised as much as they should be for all the hard work that they put into their classrooms everyday.
- A teacher loves their job and does it for the children and not so much the pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating
English Teacher - Elementary (Former Employee), PRNovember 19, 2014
Pros: how teachers hepl each other.
Cons: all the money and time spent.
Hectic
I've developed patience and empathy.
Management needs to improve.
Co workers are excellent team.
The lack of involvement of some parents.
Enjoy when students leave notes or drawings on my desk.
When students apply was been taught.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots to learn
Desktop Support Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 17, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: hard to get hired into fulltime because of budget cuts
People are fairly helpful, alot of freedom on the job, lots of learning on the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Health Educator (Former Employee), Ponce, PRNovember 17, 2014
Rewarding experience working with the kids. Its a great starting point of you want to get mentoring work experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational workplace
Para-professional Tutor (Current Employee), Kahuku, HINovember 10, 2014
I love working in Hawaiian Immersion at the high school. It gives me the opportunity to learn more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
state workers
Administrative Specialist (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARNovember 7, 2014
Pros: holidays off
Cons: 30 min lunch breaks need a least an hour
Nice work schedule Monday -Friday 8-4 and also have 10 paid holidays and also you birthday and also nice benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Environment
Computer Programmer Analyst II (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLNovember 7, 2014
A typical day of the Department of Education involved lots of writing COBOL code and testing. The environment was not the friendliest but you tend to make the best of it. The most enjoyable part was learning SQL. The most challenging part was the staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and respectively
Examination Admin Assistant (Former Employee), Port ShepstoneNovember 7, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short break
It was nice working there ,i enjoyed working with staff , the type of work i was doing was enjoyable because i have qualifications of it and i love doing calculations.Nothing was hard to me.i;ve learned and gain much experience of working confidentially and carefully.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Associate Director of Extension Programs (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 5, 2014
Pros: free food and training
Cons: short breaks
Had fun working with the staff, and young people, also putting on events and plays for parents.

1 2 3 4 5

About Department of Education

The US Department of Education's (or ED) mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness – Read more

Department of Education Photos