Department of Finance Employee Reviews

Found 31 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and great on communication.
Accountant 1 (Former Employee) –  Saipan, MPNovember 4, 2016
I enjoyed working for DOF because they gave me the opportunity to learn finances and be able to help others with questions and concerns they have. They have taught me so much as to how to prepare reports, the importance of journal entry, and the importance of federally funded account.
Pros
Great communication and very friendly.
Cons
Conflict of interests.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gain knowledge with tax returns schedules
Auditor 1 (Former Employee) –  Saipan, Northern Marianas IslandsJuly 11, 2016
Assisting Compliance Branch with their complex tax issues
Gain knowledge with the tax schedules
No training, learned on your own
Asked if we can have a short meeting daily
No heads up, they just transfer all calls to you
Learning how to prepared returns, such as, 1040, 1120, & the schedules
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Politics, only if they know you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is my first and last job, that's why i've learned a lot from this Company like from clerical job to entry level skilled job
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  ManilaMarch 6, 2016
Since i've worked here, I'm doing a clerical job like, typing correspondence, answering phone calls, filing, indexing and other related matter with regards to position for what i am employing with them, I have a good relationship with my co-workers, my superiors wherever I can assigned to different section or departments, the hardest part of my job when giving me a promotion, aside from my regular duties,they gave me additional work that fits with my promotion and the most enjoyble with my job,mostly of my co-workers i became a special and closest friends 'til now
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning and working is Productive and Fun here
Research Aide (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZJanuary 28, 2016
Working here has been the best. I have worked with some of the best in the Field of Finance, got to learn a lot. friendly working atmosphere and very open to new queries.
Pros
Professors and staff are very reliable and helpfull
Cons
Nothing wrong to say about this. Absolutely the best place to learn and work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work for
Accountant Finance (Current Employee) –  VIDecember 1, 2015
The Department of finance is an okay place to work for but advancement is a bit slow or nothing at all. There is a lot that can be learned in the department.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government Work
Help Desk Technician City (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 28, 2015
This is a government job with interesting coworkers and daily routine. I enjoyed working in the section and learned a great deal of information.
Pros
Location
Cons
Routine
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uplifting and Productive workplace
Clerical Associate III (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 25, 2015
Working for the Dept of Finance is educational. You learn about property taxes and the laws within in the city. You learn what is important to the citizens that live in New York City. The management is helpful and willing to step in when needed. The co-workers work as a team. The hardest part is getting certain people to understand the way the agency works.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DOF is one of the best govt institution in Govt of the Philippines
Administrative Officer V (Current Employee) –  Manila, ARJune 21, 2015
My day starts and ends with constant communication with my co-employees relative to their concerns on their benefits, relations with management, requirements for travel authorities. Most of the time, I am preparing communications/memorandums on HR policies, information dissemination.

I have learned that each employee is unique and each has his/her potentials that when recognized fully or when management has given enough training/skills enhancement, that training will also be given back to the organization.

The hardest part of my job is when there's a need to fire or drop a certain employee after thorough evaluation that the same employee is not already fit to work or has violated regulations, legal enough to drop him/her from the rolls.

Most enjoyable part of the job is whenever you have helped someone solved his concerns or at least find a way to better his conditions and whenever I have contributed or drafted some policies that are accepted by the "higher" bosses improving the state of the organization.
Pros
Security of Tenure
Cons
Lack of Medical Benefits/Health care insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun because WE made it fun!
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hot Springs National Park, ARApril 30, 2015
The Revenue office is a difficult place to work, most customers come in angry and you have to know how to deal. I learned different coping skills. My co- workers, I could not have done the job with out them, they taught me all I knew. The hardest part of the job was balancing your drawer at 6pm, especially after you have taken in about $50,000.00 in sales tax etc..... Being with the public.
Pros
insurance, benefits
Cons
Cramped working area
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure place to work
City Tax Auditor (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 20, 2015
Good benefits, salary isn't the greatest. Your job is secure once you pass probation period of one year. Good position if you have small children.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Sr Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 28, 2015
Responsible for incorporating Real Property Transfer Tax ( RPTT ) function into current Audit application. RPTT improved quality and productivity of creation of Audit-worthy cases and provided case management tools used to track the entire audit lifecycle for each case.
• Gathered business requirements, initiated and conducted user meetings and coordinated projects
• Created scope documents, business (BRD) and functional (FRD) specifications and business design documents
• Wrote screen mock-ups, user training document, test plan, test scripts for SIT, UAT, and regression testing
• Performed Data mining and mapping, Data governance, used SQL to extract data for analysis to determine data requirements within application functions
• Used Business Intelligence Tools such as Excel, Pivot Tables, Vlookup, Macros, etc.
• Created System presentation for the user committee and lead training sessions
Flowcharting using VISIO, Prepared Documentation
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place because I have my own computer
Tourist Information, Sales & Receipts (Former Employee) –  Koror, PalauJuly 20, 2014
A typical day at work is file documents such as checks and check stubs for the government. I gathered quotes from different stores and purchased orders. My co- workers were friendly but they were very serious about their work. They began to trust me so they would go out to eat lunch I would stay at the office and assist any customers that needed help. The hardest part of the job was when I was hired there was an audit so I had to provide specific files to the auditor, but what I enjoyed most was on every Fridays we got off at work at 4:00 P.M.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A real experience in the market of real estate.
Real Estate Appraiser (Former Employee) –  El SalvadorApril 10, 2014
Worked with experienced coworkers, with more than 30 years of appraising experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intern
Intern (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYNovember 24, 2013
great opportunity for anyone. I love this job . the people are nice as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Division of UNC government regulated
Administrative Assistant for Maternal Health (Former Employee) –  Chapel Hill NCSeptember 17, 2013
Good Place to work. Hard tp become a full time employee. Use alot of temps and in house hires. located in Chapel Hill NC
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City Job
Customer Service Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCAugust 22, 2013
Working with some of Jacksonville's best people. Serving the Citizens of Jacksonville, NC was a great experience. I will value the many things I learned there, and will take that knowledge with me and apply it in my future ventures.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a fun place to work
Secretary/Administrative Assistant to the Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 13, 2013
A typical day at work was always busy, I had to order supply, type letters, email, fax and copy and distribute paychecks. I learned to help the public with the City taxes and how they are applied to their properites. we all enjoy each other company and we all helped each other when needed. The management were a delight to work for. The hardest part of the job was not being promoted to a higher position unless you past a test. The must enjoyable part of the job was when we all got together to celebrate a holiday or someone birthday.
Pros
we got little birthday gifts and free lunches on special occasion or were allow to leave early
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work at.
Clerk (summer) (Former Employee) –  St.Thomas, V.IJuly 17, 2013
A typical day at work was entering clients files into an excel worksheet and having fun doing it. I learned more about excel. Management and my co-workers were excellent to work with, I was able to go to them whenever I had a question. I did not encounter any hard part about my job. The most enjoyable part of my job was my encounter with my supervisor and my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and family oriented
Office Assistant/Data Entry (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 13, 2013
Working in finance is amazing. I love that we are like a family and we all teach each other what we know and have learned while working in this department. A typical day at work consists of answering the phone and processing all mail delivered to our department. There really is no hard part in my responsibilities at work but it can get busy and a little overwhelming around a particular season. Over all it’s a learning experience for me.
Pros
Hour Lunch
Cons
Unfair management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DOF creates such a diversified and harmonious environment for employees.
Tax Auditor 1 (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, New yorkApril 1, 2013
I was a City Tax Auditor with DOF 16 years ago. Luckily, my superviisor patiently trained me. I was happily working there until I had to leave the job to care for my children. I am a team player and love to meet people during the audit.

After 16 years, I still want to go back to my old job - miss my co-workers, supervisor, manager and nature of the work. I had applied two times but to no avail.I guess the competition out there is greater than I know of. Can someone help me how to get back into DOF?

The announcemnt of Tax Auditor 1 job specially indicates that the job is for DOF employees or previous applicants only. Can someone from DOF answer my question? I applied for the EXAM 2042 in May 2012 but received a rejection letter, which did not state the reason of rejection.. I did not try to appeal either. Woudl that rjection letter automatically disqualify me to apply for the recent job announcemnt?
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Department of Finance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 71 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6