Department of General Services Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Utility Systems Repair Operator Supervisory (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 21, 2017
It is a fairly nice place to work.You gain a lot of experience from working on the equipment.Being a supervisor was a rewarding experience. Changing balances on electrical equipment.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here!!
Seasonal Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 8, 2017
Although my time at the State Publishing Office was short, I learned so much. I saw the hard working men and women behind the state of California's Publishing...It was amazing!! I felt honored to work and learn beside them.
Pros
No shortage of work
Cons
It is a very physically demanding job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work culture is okay and upper management can be very intimidating
HR Analyst 2 (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 22, 2017
The people such as colleagues make this a good place to work however upper management is not trustworthy and integrity and/honesty is not shown. When you're asked your opinion on situations and upper management doesn't agree they make you out to be the bad guy or negative person and would even get mad at you all because your thoughts and opinions weren't the same as their opinion. After all they did ask for your opinion. Can be a very stressful place to work especially if you're about being fair and doing what's right.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Hardly took breaks to get work done, always went over and beyond and every year would still get the same ratings for perfomance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Working environment
MAINTENANCE SUPERVISOR, STATE OF MD (Current Employee) –  Westminster, MDMay 30, 2017
Good work ethics, good people, good managers. Overall good place to work. I'm not sure why this is required, but none the less Indeed wants something here. State of MD does not solicit on this site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment!
eVA Customer Care Specialist (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 11, 2017
Help desk position receiving inbound calls for procurement system. Fast-paced and exciting environment to work in. Management easy to work with and co-workers very helpful.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Property Controller (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 21, 2017
Great place to work and a lot of co-workers in which you can learn from. A lot of room from growth if your willing to take advantage of learning and signing up for classes to better yourself.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
limited term
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work within the state for those interested in procurement processes.
Procurement Compliance Specialist (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNFebruary 2, 2017
The Central Procurement Office offers a great work environment for those interested in and have experience doing procurement activities with the state.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for DC Government
Property Manager Specialist (Current Employee) –  Washington City, DCJanuary 30, 2017
I enjoy working for the government and love the fact that we can take additional training to enhance our careers. I also like helping others and giving back to my city.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
eVA Customer Care Specialist (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VADecember 17, 2016
Fun job, fast paced environment. Training was very poor. No advancement opportunities, poor management. The office environment was depressing. Zero teamwork.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic and under staff work environment.
Data/IT Office Support (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VADecember 13, 2016
Insufficient training. Less than 15 data entry personnel for the whole state of Virginia.Due to a lack of staff expected to work over and work holidays. Very stressful environment and due to the work load a lot of employees ate their lunch at their desk.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Various Job duties providing a large range of experience
Senior Clerk Typist (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 12, 2016
Cross training is needed hence this allows the work flow to continue it's fast pace of completion. This provides more knowledge and work experience within the other sections.
Pros
Position Advancement upward mobility
Cons
Parking availability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VASeptember 30, 2016
I really really really enjoyed working here. Everyone was super friendly. I would recommend this company to anyone. Family oriented place to work. Awesome place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and innovative
Cable Technician - Flex Worker (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 24, 2016
I enjoy this job because I work inside and outside. I meet new people each day as I install cable for them.

I have learned the many facets of fiber and cell use.

This job is flexible, I can work independent or with a team which I like.
Pros
Flexible ours
Cons
The weather sometimes can put a strain on installing for a client.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The office was a great place to work
Program Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 21, 2015
The typical work day was busy and productive. I was a great environment to work and my co-workers were great to work with.
Pros
Great working environment to work
Cons
The job was temporary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff is very kind and understanding
Intern (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CASeptember 22, 2015
The people were very nice it was pretty busy most days my hardest part of the job was that I didn't have access to all the floors that I needed to go on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to be a part of
Custodian I (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAAugust 12, 2015
I have worked with D.G.S. for almost three years, they are a great state agency, but I am interested in working in a department that has more room for advancement.
Pros
steady hours
Cons
not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
perfectly paced great work enviroment
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 15, 2015
I liked working for the state because it was paced perfect not to slow and not to fast I had a great group of co-workers and we all did our job very well and the fact that I could work alone some days and never get overwhelmed with work made it nice.
Pros
great hours and overtime
Cons
we didnt work weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people were great
Temporary Fleet Technician (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 13, 2015
I was hired knowing it was going to be temporary. I enjoyed it but did not work there long enough to judge it the union did not allow me to work any longer due to contracts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Claims Specialist (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAFebruary 1, 2015
Lot of telephone calls from insurance companies and state employees wanting information on the status of their claim

Lot of e-mails to be answered
Keeping up with all the accident folders from past to present

Learned a lot about insurance and working with different people
and working on the computer and the different software.

Co-workers like family
Feeling comfortable reading in front of people was an adjustment

Closing out a file after working with that claim for awhile.
When I accomplish what I set out to do for that day

Great supervisors and management since I have been employed there.
Pros
Comfortable and laid back atmosphere
Cons
Can get stressful at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy place with multiple issues at one time
Maintenance Supervisor, I (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDDecember 1, 2014
Steady pace daily between request for repairs or services that were needed for tenants. I liked the job as well as the pace including being on call at night.
Pros
generated comp time on a regular basis
Cons
alot of issues with security at building due to the cliental that would freqeunt the facility
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Department of General Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 33 reviews
513
49
36
23
12

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Department of General Services Reviews by Location