Find companies:
Department of Homeland Security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
891 reviews

Department of Homeland Security Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Busy, Fast Paced
(FEMA) Administrative Support- Federal Government (Former Employee), Hyattsville, MDAugust 30, 2014
Pros: i was able to help a family
Cons: when i wasn't able to help
My typical day at work is very busy, its stays busy from the morning until the evening ,my average client calls daily was over 200.I listened to each and everyone of my clients needs and based my decision on what to fund them of their disaster related needs .I always hated the fact of when I couldn't help a family because of error but I loved my job – more... and I loved helping people, just knowing that I was able to help a family always made my day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with opportunity for advancement
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Austin, TexasAugust 29, 2014
Pros: great benefits, help keep passenger safe.
Cons: standing on your feet all day, is very hard on your body.
A typical day as a transportation security officer involves screening passengers. My job requirements are to check passengers' property for any signs of tampering, prohibited items, have excellent customer service and maintain vigilance at all times. What I learned the most is the different lengths people will do to conceal items. My co-workers and – more... managers are very knowledgeable of their job. Being a transportation security officer isn't hard. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that what I do ensures passengers a safe flight. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day of work
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Pasco, WAAugust 29, 2014
We process passengers for flights and screen them to make sure there are not potential security threats, that could harm people. This job can be high stress where you need to stay calm and collective at all times. Its a type of job you need to be aware of your surroundings and be proactive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people
Research Analyst CBRN (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 29, 2014
Pros: advancement
Cons: traffic
great experience
friendly environment
management was helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding govt bennies
Immigration and Customs Inspector (Former Employee), san luisAugust 28, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: no family life
Great job, to many hours, little time for family life. Good education on life at the border. Management varies, some good, some bad. Long hours at times under extreme weather conditions,,,,,most enjoyed meeting different people from various cultures
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work environment and some chance to greet celebrities!
Security Officer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 27, 2014
Pros: health fairs, great benefits, computer time and uniform allowance.
Cons: short breaks.
A typical day with Homeland Security starts with role call and briefing during which time we learned of events that may or may not impact the impending shift. I learned to keep calm in this position, often times people have never flown and need to hear calmness when a stranger is checking their personal belongings. My co-workers were very helpful we – more... always worked together with a constant flow. The hardest part was looking at a line of passengers that seemed to not move, and the enjoyment comes when screeners from other terminals would come and help out. I really enjoyed working for this company because with so many co-workers it seems like we still knew everybody's name! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travel
Director of Global Affairs (Current Employee), Mesa, AZAugust 27, 2014
got to travel, listened to music, lots of phone work. artist could be hard to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Transportation Security Officer (Former Employee), Lexington, KYAugust 26, 2014
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: lack of managment
having fun with public
hardest part lack of communication from upper management to employees
I enjoyed working for this company
never a dull moment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Transportation Security Officer (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 26, 2014
It was awesome working for the goverment So many oppurtunities so little time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN
Auto Technician (Former Employee), El Centro, CAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: no cons
TEACH STUDENTS
ALLWAYS LEARNING DIFFERENT STUDENTS IDEAS
GREAT MANAGEMENT
THAT THEY REMEMBER YOU
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Professor Criminal Justice (Current Employee), Beaumont Texas USAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: small two-year college
Cons: poor neighborhood
7:00 AM Done by 4:00 PM. Off in the summer. Teach 60% 40% Community outreach. Enjoy working with people. Advanced technology constantly learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and build character
TRANSPORTATION SECURITY OFFICER (Former Employee), Orlando, FlAugust 21, 2014
A typical day at work was very busy. There was a rare moment to sit down and relax.
I have learned to work collaboratively and independently on the checkpoint. It was important to me to assist and engage with the passengers. It was easy to work with my co workers. We has the same goal and ideas, which is protecting the traveling public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), O'Hare International AirportAugust 21, 2014
Pros: meeting celebrities
Cons: short breaks, supervisors not having your back
If you want security experience under yor belt ,this is the place to be. The work environment can be stressful at times, but what job isn't. The downside of this job is that your supervisors don't have your back. If your a people person this is a good job for you. Co-workers are awesome! The hardest part of the job is making people understand that traveling – more... is not a right ,it is a privelage. And if security was consistent at every airport, don't you think the terrorists could take down planes a lot easier, knowing every airport has the exact same checkpoint setup? Downside: you must have patience and a very high tolerance for people that have the audacity to challenge your duties and question the manner in which you provide it. Most enjoyable: you do meet lots of celebrities, generally some customers do have a sense of humor. All in all its not a bad job, but not a job you could make a career at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a stepping stone to other government agencies
Transportation Security Officer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 18, 2014
Overall it's a good place to start a career. You will develop a great sense of customer service and learned about public safety and foreign threats. This job is a "Career Starter"
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Congressional Affairs
Congressional Affairs Manager (Current Employee), Bothell, WAAugust 17, 2014
Pros: helping survivors
Cons: impact of disaster
Most recently, supported SR530 Flooding and Mudslide recovery program. Organized to help Congressional staffers respond to inquiries from their constituents. Accompanied Congressional staffers to disaster site for briefing on recovery progress, Supported Congressional staffer at business roundtable -- meeting assessed impact of disaster on business – more... and community, and communicated available and coming recovery resources. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a most difficult job, with low pay
Transportation Security Officer (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAAugust 16, 2014
Cons: opressive atmosphere of job
Provided security screening of passengers at Burbank Airport, then Bakersfield Airport, then Portland Or Airport

Security screening of people, requiring heavy customer service. Actually enjoyed dealing with the people. Hardest part was the procedural part of the job.l
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel experiences
RECERTIFICATION SUPERVISOR FEMA/DHS (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAAugust 14, 2014
DHS is FEMA. So my review is the same as FEMA. Great work, learned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with TSA is very exciting
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), West Columbia, SCAugust 13, 2014
Different people every day keeps you on your toes. You have to the ability to adapt to any situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Alexandria, LAAugust 13, 2014
Benefits and Leave benefits are nice. It is a stressful job, and the work environment is not nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Oakland, CAAugust 11, 2014
Good benefits. fair place to work. Co workers are unique and diverse. Love the engagement with the passengers

1 2 3 4 5

About Department of Homeland Security

Should the Department of Homeland Security (www.dhs.gov) raise the current threat level, it would seemingly increase to a High – Read more

Department of Homeland Security Photos