Find companies:
Department of Homeland Security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
910 reviews

Department of Homeland Security Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favorable
Customs & Border Protection Officer (Former Employee), Newark, NJSeptember 10, 2014
Not a bad place to work. Hours were cumbersome as you work from 11 am to 8 pm. Not much of a morning or night for downtime. You have to pay for parking at the airport. Good benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay is great however its unorganization and lack of care for employees is pitiful for a federal employer
TSO (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 10, 2014
The pay is great however its unorganization and lack of care for employees is pitiful for a federal employer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Searching passengers/property to ensure safe air travel
Security Screening Officer (Former Employee), Norfolk, VASeptember 9, 2014
Random Day: scanning property through physical search and utilizing x-ray equipment. Identify any prohibited materials from entering flight gate areas. Co-workers were usually competent and reliable. Passenger flow can at be slightly overwhelming and property can also be quite heavy and cumbersome. But every so often one gets the opportunity to meet – more... celebrities from all over the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed meeting new people everyday.
Security Officer (Former Employee), McCarran International AirportSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: meeting new people and keeping the airways and grounds safe.
Cons: the heavy baggage.
My day at work was very very busy. I learned that you have to listen to people first, that is customer service. My co-workers were all team players we had to be. (That was the enjoyable part of the day. If we did not work together the job did not get done.)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and ever changing
Lead Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: pride and honor
Cons: small fish in large pond
I am extremely proud of the fact that I made a difference each and every day while providing an ever alert face against potential threats to not just the industry, but the nation as well. Being a double veteran I stand ever vigilant against threats foreign and domestic...a portion of my oath that I fervently agree with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job. Rewarding.
CBP Officer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 7, 2014
Pros: law enforcement, respect, future was bright.
Cons: no breaks, luch or food break was non-existant.
Started out as great work environment, then turned into a fight everyday to start work and make through each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A worthwhile mission...
Direct Leadership Support to the Under Secretary (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: lunch
Cons: can't really say about cons
I will add more to this when I have more time. But the overall mission of the Department is a very important. I am proud and I was privileged to have served that mission.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Transportation Security Officer (Former Employee), Nashville, TNSeptember 4, 2014
This job consisted of protecting individuals within the airport, screening their person and luggage. Fun co workers, management was inconsistent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivery of Sawdust from mills to different mills on west coast.
Airport Security Officer (Former Employee), SeaTac, WASeptember 3, 2014
Pros: open road experiance
Cons: snow travel with class a vechicle
Service and inspection of vehicle Loading and delivery of product. Learning new equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wouldnt recommend it unless short term
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Chicago/NashvilleSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: very strict, insensitive, mentally draining.
Its a pretty intense environment, where you are asked to be put into a crazy atmosphere, and not mess up at all. Very tough to balance work and outside life. Management very tough if you have family situations or problems and very insensitive to problems you may have. Pay is good, and the physical aspect is not to demanding. With that being said, mentally – more... it can be exhausting and draining with not much gratitude from Supervisors or management. Not really worth it unless you at least make it to supervisor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Transportation Security Officer (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: management would like to put security and customer service on the same level, not possible
TSA is great for anyone that would like to make a decent amount of money and finish school, as all incoming shifts are part time. Management is not on your side though, they are for the public image and the people. Not actually for safety
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passenger Support Specialist I am
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 1, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: travel time to work
Most enjoyable part of my job is working with the Wounded Warrior and Make a Wish families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: everything, radiation
Typical Day,
Unorganized, people running around frantically, managers on your a**. Exposed to too much radiation. Management does not care about your nor their passengers...they care about their checks and stressing out the employees....hardest park is working with idiots....enjoyable part is working with a lot of different people from different cultures.

Stay – more... away!! I understand you may want a government job or benefits, but remember not worth the stress nor radiation. Pay isn't even all that great honestly, and not just radiation isn't worth it!!! You will be smarter than your managers!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respect
Lead Screening Officer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: the respect and the confidence of the individuals boarding the aircraft
Cons: there was a long distance for travel and long hours.
I really like the responsibilities of this job due to the respect I gain in the position. Employees looked to me for solution and answers to situations that accord.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Busy, Fast Paced
(FEMA) Administrative Support- Federal Government (Former Employee), Hyattsville, MDAugust 30, 2014
Pros: i was able to help a family
Cons: when i wasn't able to help
My typical day at work is very busy, its stays busy from the morning until the evening ,my average client calls daily was over 200.I listened to each and everyone of my clients needs and based my decision on what to fund them of their disaster related needs .I always hated the fact of when I couldn't help a family because of error but I loved my job – more... and I loved helping people, just knowing that I was able to help a family always made my day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with opportunity for advancement
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Austin, TexasAugust 29, 2014
Pros: great benefits, help keep passenger safe.
Cons: standing on your feet all day, is very hard on your body.
A typical day as a transportation security officer involves screening passengers. My job requirements are to check passengers' property for any signs of tampering, prohibited items, have excellent customer service and maintain vigilance at all times. What I learned the most is the different lengths people will do to conceal items. My co-workers and – more... managers are very knowledgeable of their job. Being a transportation security officer isn't hard. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that what I do ensures passengers a safe flight. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day of work
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Pasco, WAAugust 29, 2014
We process passengers for flights and screen them to make sure there are not potential security threats, that could harm people. This job can be high stress where you need to stay calm and collective at all times. Its a type of job you need to be aware of your surroundings and be proactive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people
Research Analyst CBRN (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 29, 2014
Pros: advancement
Cons: traffic
great experience
friendly environment
management was helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding govt bennies
Immigration and Customs Inspector (Former Employee), san luisAugust 28, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: no family life
Great job, to many hours, little time for family life. Good education on life at the border. Management varies, some good, some bad. Long hours at times under extreme weather conditions,,,,,most enjoyed meeting different people from various cultures
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work environment and some chance to greet celebrities!
Security Officer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 27, 2014
Pros: health fairs, great benefits, computer time and uniform allowance.
Cons: short breaks.
A typical day with Homeland Security starts with role call and briefing during which time we learned of events that may or may not impact the impending shift. I learned to keep calm in this position, often times people have never flown and need to hear calmness when a stranger is checking their personal belongings. My co-workers were very helpful we – more... always worked together with a constant flow. The hardest part was looking at a line of passengers that seemed to not move, and the enjoyment comes when screeners from other terminals would come and help out. I really enjoyed working for this company because with so many co-workers it seems like we still knew everybody's name! – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Department of Homeland Security

Should the Department of Homeland Security (www.dhs.gov) raise the current threat level, it would seemingly increase to a High – Read more

Department of Homeland Security Photos