Find companies:
Department of Homeland Security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
976 reviews

Department of Homeland Security Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good and human enviorement
Individual Assistant (Former Employee), Guaynabo, PRNovember 20, 2014
typical day at work would be to help the people
i learn how to use a program call nemis and how to help the people who needed assistance
my co-workers we always work as a team
the hardest part of the job was to be enable to help the people to not qualify for the assistance that FEMA give
the most enjoyable part of the job was when we are able to help – more... and give the assistance for the people and how they react to us of thank us – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management SUCKED
Transportation Security Officer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 19, 2014
The managers at the airport I worked at were horrible and like to flex their muscles more than do any actual managerial duties. Serious powertrips.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great government job
Material Handler (Former Employee), Fort Worth TXNovember 18, 2014
Typical cushy government job. Nothing else to say.
Nothing to explain to anyone. please let me to the next window.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team atmosphere
Senior Java Developer - IT Consultant (Current Employee), Washington, DCNovember 17, 2014
Solving problems using creative solutions was the heart of this community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, job security.
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Linthicum, MDNovember 16, 2014
Pros: great benefits, job security
Cons: communication from upper management gets construed, passengers are very disrespectful.
While working with homeland security I have experienced their great benefits. For example while I was pregnant they accommodated me with as much time off as I needed. I also know they offer great job security. However, communication from the top of the chain of command to the lower level employees often gets construed to the point it makes it hard to – more... do the job properly. Also the amount of disrespect from passengers has gotten unbearable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A high demand work enviornment without appropriate compensation.
Enforcement and Removal Specialist (Current Employee), Boston, MANovember 13, 2014
I have no current review to submit at this time. I look forward to talking about this in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each deployment is different because you get to meet all types of people
Individual Assistant Specialist (Current Employee), Washington, DCNovember 13, 2014
Pros: extremely good pay and benefts
Cons: work on an as needed basis
On any given day you can expect different outcomes due to the needs of people affected by a major disaster. The managers and co-workers are constantly working long hours each day assisting disaster victims with housing, medical, food, etc. One of the most difficult things I have experienced is looking into the eyes/faces of people who appear to have – more... little if any hope. The most enjoyable part of the job is each deployment differs from the other. You get to meet other co-workers from other states within the USA and this is exciting to me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
District of Columbia Federal Institute
Desktop Support Technician (Former Employee), Washington, DCNovember 11, 2014
Several year's supporting the District of Columbia Federal Government
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and successful staff relocation
Project Manager (Former Employee), Washington, DCNovember 11, 2014
Pros: cooperating supportive staff
This multiple building move required much coordination and planning, thus multi- tasking
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Everyday is something new
Transportaion Security Officer (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 9, 2014
Pros: opportunities to advance
Cons: unfavored by the public we serve
Screening thousands of passengers daily. Learned to handle a stressful work environment very well. Gained knowledge of many advanced machinery. Beside me is a very diverse and hard working team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Technical Project Manager (Former Employee), Technical Center at the Atlantic City Airport, NJNovember 6, 2014
I had the opportunity to work on high profile projects concerning certification of checked luggage explosive detection systems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, good structure.
Transportation Security Officer (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 2, 2014
Pros: meeting people, good benefits and good structure.
Cons: jaded coworkers, dangerous job and public ridicule.
A typical day is exactly as one might imagine; full speed ahead! I learned a lot about people and their behavior in tense situations. Management had a lot on their plates and did the best that they could with what they had on a day-to-day basis. My coworkers were both one of the best things about the job and one of the worst. There was a lot of "floating" – more... there; people doing just enough to not get in trouble, keeping their head down and just waiting for retirement. Hardest part of the job was the job itself... it is dangerous, incredibly fast-paced and there is zero room for error. The most enjoyable part of the job was all of the people that you get to meet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work at
Human Specialist (Former Employee), Trujillo alto, PRNovember 1, 2014
Opportunity to help disaster victims and make sure they receive the financial aid to help them get by in disaster situations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
GIS Specialist (Current Employee), Washington, DCOctober 31, 2014
My position requires 100% travel, My position requires 100% travel, My position requires 100% travel, My position requires 100% travel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Transportation Security Officer (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKOctober 29, 2014
Would love to go back anyday.The management taught me alot on how to manage workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Federal Government is a good place to work.
Mission Support Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 28, 2014
My typical day at work includes answering phone calls in regards to setting up travel authorizations are any office related issue. We have contact with our vendors for paying our office accounts. I also take care of buying supplies for the office, furniture, pens, pencil, general office supplies. Sometimes we are tasked with helping inputing information – more... with our support staff.

We are the administrative section so we are pretty much involved in everything that happens in the office. We issue property, maintain vehicles, etc.

The hardest part of this job is dealing with some of the travelers, because they are so impatient. If we can get them to understand we are only the messenger and not the people making the rules. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politics
Disaster Generalist (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 27, 2014
Pros: compensation from govt is the best
Cons: job security, part time employment, no benefits for part time employees.
I learned first hand what politics are like. There were a lot of clicks and if you were not apart of the team you did not advance or get called for assignments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Federal Government Accounting : Financial Controls & Audit Remediation
Financial Controls & Risk Assessment Accountant (Current Employee), Washington, DCOctober 25, 2014
Pros: security with federal government
Cons: poor leadership and strategic planning/direction
Financial Controls & Audit Remediation - Work with Internal and External Auditing personnel assisting with various government audits and process testing associated with financial controls. Manage various projects and cross functional team in order to address deficiencies and remediate processes using process enhancements to eliminate deficiencies identified – more... thorough audit testing and analysis. Responsible for documenting various operational and reporting processes through SOPs (Standard Operational Procedures). Additional responsibilities include servicing as a Contract Officer's Representative (COR) managing various contracts and representing the U. S. Federal government with various contractors and vendors. Certified COR Level II with the Department of Homeland Security. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment, mission driven
Intern (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 24, 2014
Professional work environment with different types of employees all working towards the agency mission statement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, when it happens (for reservists)
IT / Telecommunications Specialist (Current Employee), all over the countryOctober 23, 2014
Pros: good pay, lots of travel, great work environment
Cons: not much work available these days
As a reservist for FEMA, you only work when there's a natural disaster and there's a declaration by the President that sends FEMA to the rescue. Lately, there hasn't been much activity. However, when you are 'deployed' you can expect a LOT of work, in a great environment and good compensation. It also doesn't hurt that you get to travel a lot, see new – more... places and meet new people. It's a great job, when it happens. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Department of Homeland Security

Should the Department of Homeland Security (www.dhs.gov) raise the current threat level, it would seemingly increase to a High – Read more

Department of Homeland Security Photos