Find companies:
Department of Homeland Security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
859 reviews

Department of Homeland Security Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure w/ great benefits and decent pay
LTSO/ Practical Skills Evaluator (Current Employee), Tulsa, OklahomaJuly 29, 2014
Pros: job security, benefits
Cons: low ceiling
As with all government jobs there is a lot of job security at this agency which is why I initially left the civilian sector, despite my boss offering a 6,000 dollar annual pay increase to keep me. I now am looking at returning to the civilian sector in hopes of finding somewhere that has a higher ceiling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry level security position.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 28, 2014
Pros: variety of work shifts, excellent starting pay and benefits
Cons: in experienced management in place.
TSA within the Dept. of Homeland Security has come a long way since its infancy back in 2002. They have continuously tried to put the right personnel in place to provide what is best for it's employees and the travelling public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Law Enforcement
Supervisory Special Agent (Current Employee), Detroit, MichiganJuly 27, 2014
Investigating federal violations of law. Lots of Travel and diversification of duties
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful atmosphere
Part time Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 25, 2014
Poor leadership skills from management. Limited possibilities of advancement. No incentives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with plenty of room for a leader to step up and excellent advancement opportunities.
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Palm Springs, CAJuly 24, 2014
It is great to have the opportunity to work with such a diverse group of people. The leadership in place at the Transportation Security Administration is excellent and they know how to make each employee feel as if they were an integral part of the team. They have taught me that when there is great Management in place, then the work place becomes much – more... more enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PLEASE dont make the same mistake!
LTSO (Former Employee), ArkansasJuly 23, 2014
Pros: it is a "job". but that's all it is.
Cons: tooooooo many to list....how long is eternity???
If the government shuts down again....your on your own with no finances, .which will rock your credit score...they don't care about you .your true skills will go rusty because you wont be able to utilize them. Some co-workers are "normal" but the majority are overbearing, controlling snitches that spend all their time brown nosing to get ahead. Money – more... is good but first pay increase came 5 years later and then insurance had to increase because God forbid that you had any money left for yourself. This job is not for everybody..it will take your soul out if you allow it. Seriously...keep looking ..NO MORALE IN THIS PLACE. you have to give up your "life" in return for a small paycheck! Everybody is writing up everybody on a daily basis. Way tooooo much drama in this organization. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TSA is a good place to work
Supervisory Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Madison, WIJuly 23, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: bid on work schedules by seniority
The work is valuable in the safety and security of traveling passengers. Providing good customer service integrated with superior security screening processes is on of the goals carried out each day. Co-workers and management are top notch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging
Director (Current Employee), Washington, DCJuly 21, 2014
Pros: stable
government and bureaucratic. new department benefits are stable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary position - response to the hurricanes of 2005 and 2008
FEMA Ops Section Administrative Support Assistant (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: federal wages
Cons: interoffice communications
The DHS/FEMA organization made the best of a horrible situation in response to the hurricanes of 2005 and 2008.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic job with fantastic people! No benefits for local hires, though.
Logistics Specialist (Former Employee), Springfield, ILJuly 18, 2014
Pros: great management, wonderful environment and very welcoming staff.
Cons: short-term for local hires.
Coordinated movement of people and supplies, conducted stock inventory on bulk items, closed disaster support centers in Brookport, IL and East Peoria, IL, packaged all items for shipment, loaded semis with supplies, supported operation of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA), answered multi-line phones and a switchboard and helped conclude – more... the tornado disaster (4157) in Illinois. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good Federal Agency for Older Workers
Federal Security Officer (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CaliforniaJuly 16, 2014
Pros: it's a job and has decent government benefits.
Cons: it is a dead end job for those over 40, and moral is poor.
Career Advancement for older workers is severely limited, regardless of your experience and accomplished in internal achievements, if you are 40 or above don't expect much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
G
Federal Security Officer (Current Employee), BJJuly 16, 2014
Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) Department of Defense Joint Explosive Ordnance (Common Core) Explosive Ordnance Disposal Eglin AFB, FL OCT-2008/ AUG -2009 Description: • Select and utilize the best methods and procedures required to render safe, recover, evaluate and dispose of conventional ordnances, improvised explosive devices, detailed understanding – more... of weapons systems design used to deliver various ordnances. • Familiar with Joint Operations and working with various branches to meet a common objective. • Knowledgeable in organizing force protection perimeter set up for operational needs. • Experienced in designing improvised explosive devices and defeating such devices. • Familiar with using and reading the newest technology of portable X-ray machines. • Knowledgeable in connecting electrical wire to primers, cover charges, and able to calculate specified lengths of
delaying fuses in order to time sequences of explosions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
TSO (Former Employee), Queens, NYJuly 15, 2014
Operating screening equipment to identify dangerous objects in baggage and on passengers, and preventing those objects from being transported onto aircraft; Performing searches, to include hand-ward and pat-down searches; Controlling terminal entry and exit points; Interacting with the public, giving directions and responding to inquiries
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was only with the company for two months
Emergency management trainee/paid intern (Former Employee), Largo, MDJuly 15, 2014
I worked at this company for 2 months as a paid intern.

To be honest, I do not know enough about how the company operates to write a solid review.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with security in mind
Transportation Security Officer (TSO) (Former Employee), Philadelphia,Pa. (PHL)July 14, 2014
Pros: great benefits, advancements within
Cons: work enviroment
Most days started with a slow pace, work normally was steady around the late afternoon hours. I learned how to operate the x-ray and explosive detection machines, management was hardly visible unless there was a emergency. My co-workers were fun to work with, the hardest part of the job was completing the on-line classes needed for possible advancements – more... in seniority, the most enjoyable part was knowing that each flight was secured from terroristic threats. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DHS
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Saint Ann, MOJuly 14, 2014
Over my four year career with the Transportation Security Administration I’ve enjoyed my overall work experience. Every day is completely different from the next and a fast paced atmosphere helps the day pass by. Every day you have the ability to meet new people, and you ensure the safety of every person boarding an aircraft.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ground breaking new agency
Supervisory Training Screening Specialist (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 13, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: few days off
Enjoyed the deployment despite the long days, few days off. rewarding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Important mission, fast paced environment where trust is key
Program Manager and Task Lead (Current Employee), Arlington, VAJuly 12, 2014
Fortunate to work for a wonderful person and with wonderful people who understand that there needs to be a healthy balance between work and family.

We work in a fast paced environment where quality and timeliness of what we produce is essential to our stakeholder community.

The most difficult part of my job is managing the resources we have against – more... the growing scope of our mission and the requirements of our stakeholder community.

The most enjoyable part of my job is collaborating directly with our stakeholders and working alongside the people I do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Re; Government At Its Worst
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Arlington, VAJuly 12, 2014
Pros: government retirement and benfits
Cons: government red tape
Terrible agency to work for. Yes, it's a foot in the door to the government but it sucks all of the good out of you and wonders why you're angry when you come to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Work at its Most Typical
Paralegal Specialist (Current Employee), Orlando, FloridaJuly 11, 2014
Pros: easy to take time off, stability
Cons: promotion, management, enviornment
I have worked for the government most of my professional career, and this will could very well be the last stop, as far as my public service goes. Management understands the value of the government sector, which enables them to enact poor procedures, policies, and decision making with little repercussion. It is not what I expected, to say the least. – more... That said, there are some positives, such as the ability to take leave, see the doctor, and the job has not been one where leadership micromanages. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Department of Homeland Security

Should the Department of Homeland Security (www.dhs.gov) raise the current threat level, it would seemingly increase to a High – Read more

Department of Homeland Security Photos