Find companies:
Department of Homeland Security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
978 reviews

Department of Homeland Security Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first step in the door
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Boston, MAOctober 1, 2014
I have enjoyed my time at my current job. The pay is good, the hours are solid even for the airport, it is an easy commute as well.

I like the stability of the work, also the flexibility it provides you with outside your normal work duties. Most people are fun to work with and you can get along with someone like yourself very quickly. I see it as the – more... perfect stepping stone to something possibly greater. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving Company
Supply Clerk (Former Employee), Beaufort, SCOctober 1, 2014
Working at the bank thought me the importance of great customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DHS
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LASeptember 30, 2014
As a TSO officer I meet new faces daily, I enjoy the work that I perform.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: good pay, easy promotion, entry-level, networking
Cons: unorganized, no flexibility, poor scheduling
Securing the traveling public and their property. Communicating with passengers, airlines and management to provide efficiency throughout the day. I learned team work, self motivation, and how to deal with unruly people. Hardest part of the job is having patience and staying focused when processing so many passengers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for stability
Supervisory Officer (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: great pay, benefits, job security
Cons: lack of innovation, creativity, monotonous.
Great for a stable work environment, with no frills. It's a government job, so it's relatively no-nonsense. Come to work, do your job, go home. No more, no less.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The location is the best
Information Technology Specialist/Manager (Current Employee), Laguna Niguel, CA.September 27, 2014
Pros: location is the best
Cons: the drive of 65 miles to work is a real pain sometimes
For the first time my workplace is not in a industrial area. I really like where the workplace is.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Physical Security Specialist (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 27, 2014
Job duties varied from day to day. Enjoyed the travel that was often required for my duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Information Technology Specialist (Former Employee), Eagle Pass, TXSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: pay - salary
Cons: long hours - on call 24/7
a typical day at work - challenging
what you learned - to do more with less resources (personnel or equipment) improvise.
management - OK but too distant.
your co-workers - great team players.
the hardest part of the job - communicate up the chain of command
on my own.
the most enjoyable part of the job - resolve issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Accountant (Current Employee), Chesapeake, VASeptember 27, 2014
High pace and busy environment that offers flexible work hours and different work schedules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experiences
Transportation Security Officer (Former Employee), Washington,DCSeptember 26, 2014
A typical day at work would entail customer service experience, helping the passengers with anything I could. Running the x-ray machine, Checking bags and conducting pat downs. I learned the importance of being on time and staying focused on your job. I enjoyed working in a team environment wit my co-workers and I learned a lot from them. The hardest – more... part of the job was the interactions with the irate passengers. The most enjoyable part of the job was the team building skill I learned while working with my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive work environment that support passengers and good communication.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Wichita, KSSeptember 25, 2014
There was advancement opportunities and always new ideas with management support for employees to input there suggestions. Team work was often expressed to keep our environment thriving and moving for better service to the public. The busiest part of the day is during rush hour when a number of flights leaving. The enjoyable part of the job was meeting – more... new people and communicating with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for the federal government is a great experience.
tsa security officer (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PASeptember 25, 2014
Pros: i felt like i was helping keep my country safe.
Cons: people that complain
start work at 0500 get job duties and procede to position, formulate with other screeners the duties we will be performing. sometimes get pulled to do something else. my shift was over at 1330hrs.every day was new. my bosses were there when needed and helpful. if you,re nice to people usually they,re nice to you. i liked my job and the people i worked – more... with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Work Environment
Senior Information Technology Program Analyst (Current Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: work/life balance
DHS offers a flexible work environment with telecommuting options, flexible schedules to support work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Morrisville, NCSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: again wonderful sites
Cons: when a person calls out at the last minute and you are not able to get off work
just enjoyed going in on a lot of days and getting overtime. The atmosphere was pleasant
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Protecting my country
Linthicum, MD (Former Employee), Washington DCSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: serving my country
Cons: raises and opportunities to advance
The only thing I liked was liaison with Air Carriers and law enforcement agencies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valued Employee
Records Management/FOIA Specialist (Current Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 23, 2014
• Dedicated, proactive professional with over 13 years of combined
administrative, security, records management and Freedom of
Information Act (FOIA) experience
• Valued by supervisors for having a strong commitment to the
department’s/companies missions, goals and objectives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large turnover, stressful
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: good healthcare, friendly co-workers
Cons: management, job politics
Working at TSA is very demanding.
Protecting the flying public from terrorism can be a bit stressful,but fulfilling,knowing that you are part of a team that care about the lives of our fellow human beings as well as our great country the United States of America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment at TSA
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: very flexible schedule, job security, diverse workforce
Cons: poor upper management, mixed level of proficient officers
Every day at TSA is a new day. You really do not know what to expect. Passenger flow varies depending on time of the day, the flying season, and what checkpoint you are assigned to. I truly enjoy working in an airport setting, I have met people from all over the world. The officers employed at the airport vary from hard working to lazy to unmotivated. – more... This is the biggest complaint I have with the TSA. However, there are many hard working officers who carry out TSA's mission diligently. Also, upper management could better direct their objectives to floor supervisors. There is a lack of communication that needs to be addressed. I do believe the agency has come a long way since its initial beginning but there is serious room for improvement! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bottomed-out morale
Policy Analyst (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 23, 2014
Everything that you read about working at DHS HQ is true. Everyone is nice but has checked out; the bureaucracy is extreme; and the place is a dump.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Great Place to work
Transportation Security Officer (Former Employee), South Bend, INSeptember 22, 2014
Having a great pride in the U.S.
Serve and protect the flying public

About Department of Homeland Security

Should the Department of Homeland Security (www.dhs.gov) raise the current threat level, it would seemingly increase to a High – Read more

Department of Homeland Security Photos