Find companies:
Department of Homeland Security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
976 reviews

Department of Homeland Security Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day of work
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), Pasco, WAAugust 29, 2014
We process passengers for flights and screen them to make sure there are not potential security threats, that could harm people. This job can be high stress where you need to stay calm and collective at all times. Its a type of job you need to be aware of your surroundings and be proactive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people
Research Analyst CBRN (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 29, 2014
Pros: advancement
Cons: traffic
great experience
friendly environment
management was helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding govt bennies
Immigration and Customs Inspector (Former Employee), san luisAugust 28, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: no family life
Great job, to many hours, little time for family life. Good education on life at the border. Management varies, some good, some bad. Long hours at times under extreme weather conditions,,,,,most enjoyed meeting different people from various cultures
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work environment and some chance to greet celebrities!
Security Officer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 27, 2014
Pros: health fairs, great benefits, computer time and uniform allowance.
Cons: short breaks.
A typical day with Homeland Security starts with role call and briefing during which time we learned of events that may or may not impact the impending shift. I learned to keep calm in this position, often times people have never flown and need to hear calmness when a stranger is checking their personal belongings. My co-workers were very helpful we – more... always worked together with a constant flow. The hardest part was looking at a line of passengers that seemed to not move, and the enjoyment comes when screeners from other terminals would come and help out. I really enjoyed working for this company because with so many co-workers it seems like we still knew everybody's name! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travel
Director of Global Affairs (Current Employee), Mesa, AZAugust 27, 2014
got to travel, listened to music, lots of phone work. artist could be hard to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Transportation Security Officer (Former Employee), Lexington, KYAugust 26, 2014
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: lack of managment
having fun with public
hardest part lack of communication from upper management to employees
I enjoyed working for this company
never a dull moment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the positon was good but the management team did not seem to take there job seriously
Supervisory Transportation Security Screener (Former Employee), trenton, new jerseyAugust 26, 2014
While working for TSA I learned alot about how important to keep an open mind when it comes to our nations security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Transportation Security Officer (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 26, 2014
It was awesome working for the goverment So many oppurtunities so little time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN
Auto Technician (Former Employee), El Centro, CAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: no cons
TEACH STUDENTS
ALLWAYS LEARNING DIFFERENT STUDENTS IDEAS
GREAT MANAGEMENT
THAT THEY REMEMBER YOU
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duites
Transportation Security Agent (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 25, 2014
Close protection at LAX International Airport, ensuring protection to the flying public by preventing any deadly weapons or passengers’ baggage to aboard all planes. Rated in the top 10 percentile of all Transportation Security Agents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Professor Criminal Justice (Current Employee), Beaumont Texas USAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: small two-year college
Cons: poor neighborhood
7:00 AM Done by 4:00 PM. Off in the summer. Teach 60% 40% Community outreach. Enjoy working with people. Advanced technology constantly learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Transportation Security Officer (Former Employee), Austin, TXAugust 24, 2014
Pros: benefits even for parttime employees.
Cons: long commute
The short time I was there I loved it. The only reason I left was because I could not effective determine IED threat images on the ex-ray, which is a big part of the job. I am eligible to re-apply in 6 months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room to grow
Security Officer (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 22, 2014
I am paid decent; However I work awful hours with no room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and build character
TRANSPORTATION SECURITY OFFICER (Former Employee), Orlando, FlAugust 21, 2014
A typical day at work was very busy. There was a rare moment to sit down and relax.
I have learned to work collaboratively and independently on the checkpoint. It was important to me to assist and engage with the passengers. It was easy to work with my co workers. We has the same goal and ideas, which is protecting the traveling public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Human Resources Specialist (Current Employee), Arlington, VAAugust 21, 2014
It Was Very Interesting, Learned alot and have gain alot of new skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee), O'Hare International AirportAugust 21, 2014
Pros: meeting celebrities
Cons: short breaks, supervisors not having your back
If you want security experience under yor belt ,this is the place to be. The work environment can be stressful at times, but what job isn't. The downside of this job is that your supervisors don't have your back. If your a people person this is a good job for you. Co-workers are awesome! The hardest part of the job is making people understand that traveling – more... is not a right ,it is a privelage. And if security was consistent at every airport, don't you think the terrorists could take down planes a lot easier, knowing every airport has the exact same checkpoint setup? Downside: you must have patience and a very high tolerance for people that have the audacity to challenge your duties and question the manner in which you provide it. Most enjoyable: you do meet lots of celebrities, generally some customers do have a sense of humor. All in all its not a bad job, but not a job you could make a career at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a stepping stone to other government agencies
Transportation Security Officer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 18, 2014
Overall it's a good place to start a career. You will develop a great sense of customer service and learned about public safety and foreign threats. This job is a "Career Starter"
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Congressional Affairs
Congressional Affairs Manager (Current Employee), Bothell, WAAugust 17, 2014
Pros: helping survivors
Cons: impact of disaster
Most recently, supported SR530 Flooding and Mudslide recovery program. Organized to help Congressional staffers respond to inquiries from their constituents. Accompanied Congressional staffers to disaster site for briefing on recovery progress, Supported Congressional staffer at business roundtable -- meeting assessed impact of disaster on business – more... and community, and communicated available and coming recovery resources. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a most difficult job, with low pay
Transportation Security Officer (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAAugust 16, 2014
Cons: opressive atmosphere of job
Provided security screening of passengers at Burbank Airport, then Bakersfield Airport, then Portland Or Airport

Security screening of people, requiring heavy customer service. Actually enjoyed dealing with the people. Hardest part was the procedural part of the job.l
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel experiences
RECERTIFICATION SUPERVISOR FEMA/DHS (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAAugust 14, 2014
DHS is FEMA. So my review is the same as FEMA. Great work, learned.

About Department of Homeland Security

Should the Department of Homeland Security (www.dhs.gov) raise the current threat level, it would seemingly increase to a High – Read more

Department of Homeland Security Photos