Department of Homeland Security Employee Reviews

Found 1,665 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits package
Transportation Officer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 14, 2017
I have worked at TSA for approximately 6 years. It taught me a lot of great skill that i will carry on for years to come. It is a great environment to work in. The officers that I was privileged to work with are was one of the best part of my TSA experience
Pros
benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this company
Individual Assistant Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lincroft, NJMarch 14, 2017
One of the best company I ever worked for. I wish I can go back and work for this agency. I learned so much about FEMA and what they do. If they ever hiring I will be the first to apply for a position there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nope
Security Officer/Student (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 14, 2017
i did not work for this company although maybe someday i will be able to do so i was simply like an intern and just shadowed i was not an actual employee but from the small amount i did see it seems to be a great place
Pros
school
Cons
school
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of independent chiefs with few indians
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Washington/Metro, DCMarch 13, 2017
several prime contractors in HR functions - not communicating effectively with one another while working in overlapping areas. Good salaries for contractors
Pros
a lot of work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Immigration Services Assistant (Current Employee) –  Anaheim, CAMarch 11, 2017
Amazing! Great company to work for, great people, interesting and rewarding work. I would definitely stay with them if my husband did not have PCS orders to a location that makes it difficult to commute.
Pros
Everything
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work
Disaster Assistance Employee (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 8, 2017
The only downside for me was all the travel. Other than that the people were great, managment was outstanding and I wouldnt trade the experience for the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and energetic fast paced workplace
Legal Intern (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 8, 2017
As a legal intern, I was embraced by all the trial attorneys in the office, They were extremely helpful and exemplified a team atmosphere. My supervisors were patient and available to answer any questions.
Pros
Multiple exercise groups to join during lunch
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, insuring the security of traveling public
Behavior Detection Officer (Current Employee) –  SeaTac, WAMarch 8, 2017
Good place to work
Enjoy all the various people I work with
Difficult, rushed, or cranky passengers can be challenging
I have learned a lot of great ways to deal with difficult situations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, benefits, and advancement opportunities.
Immigration Enforcement Agent (Former Employee) –  Camarillo, CAMarch 7, 2017
Department of Homeland Security, Immigration and Customs Enforcement is a great agency to work for. Many opportunities for advancement. Great pay and benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
IT Specialist (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 7, 2017
Learn to work with people from all over the world/country to save those in desperate need of assistance. Supervisors are very helpful and detailed when explaining anything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great boss
Transportation Secuirty Officer (Former Employee) –  Hebron, KYMarch 6, 2017
I like that they were flexible with my schedule. The staff was easy to talk to and they had a very open door policy. they are not open on weekends and that is a huge plus to spend time with family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cbp aqi specialist
Customs and Border Protection Officer (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 6, 2017
US Government job. Pay and benefits are secure as of this time. Work requirements include all holidays, most weekends and mandatory overtime. Fast paced environment.
Pros
Pay and Benefits
Cons
Very little family time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Homeland Security
Mission Support Assistant -40 hour work week (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 4, 2017
I worked for the Federal Government for over 40 years and my last 9 years being in Homeland Security. I really enjoyed the people I worked with and the work was very rewarding. I got the opportunity to travel and meet and greet many people in many different cultures.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DHS Outlook
TSO Officer (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMarch 4, 2017
the job wasn't for me because the management didn't care about the employees and gave no assistance or help when needed.
Pros
overtime
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Macomb, ILMarch 3, 2017
I was hired on for this project after a summer class on terrorism that I did very well in. It was a very interesting project where I learned a lot about website design and research. The professor and coworkers were very interesting and fun to work with. It was a great twist from other jobs I had worked in the past.
Pros
Education
Cons
semester related
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Financial Manager (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 3, 2017
Working for this agency is a great experience and I enjoy the culture and the people whom I was working with. I enjoy what the agency is doing in keeping the US safe and the way they treat their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tsa
Security Screener (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMarch 1, 2017
Good company. Pay great. Overtime given. Met wonderful people. Safe location. Some danger. Flexible with scheduling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad, should not have left
Vehicle Technician (Former Employee) –  New MexicoFebruary 28, 2017
Generally good, boss was a problem. Even other workers told me that, he is still there. Work was good, usually always had something to do which is great. Most people were helpful and good people.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Boss was a jerk
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to learn a lot of new topics.
Investigative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 24, 2017
Great job to learn a lot of new topics. The most enjoyable part of the job is that is public service and you would be serving your country.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and pay. Can be very stressful.
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAFebruary 22, 2017
Its an easy job with great pay. Advancements are available and plentiful. However, this job is not for everyone. You have to be able to brush off the stress. A large majority of passengers are friendly and willing to comply with screening, but you WILL get passengers who will things difficult. Do not let them get to you.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Department of Homeland Security. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,677 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

74%
294 ratings
Add your rating

Department of Homeland Security Reviews by Location