Find companies:
Department of Mental Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36 reviews

Department of Mental Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great step into the career I desire
Office Assistant II (Former Employee), Riverside, CAMarch 7, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, always learning everyday
Cons: far from home
Learning new things everyday. Busy, paced office. Enjoyed my working relationships made
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Clerical Support Assistant (Former Employee), Washington DCFebruary 4, 2014
I had a great time at DMH and i am considering going back the staff is great and the hours aren't bad at all
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and unique.
Medical Unit Clerk (Former Employee), Riverside, CAJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: benefits and a learning environment.
Cons: schedule changes at the time were hard due to parenting.
My day/evening or night shift would begin with the change of shift review of all the medical record charts.
I learned about mental illness and how it affects people and their lives.
Different managers in different departments or wards in the hospital.
Different co-workers due to high turn over of staff members and per-diem staff workers.
The hardest – more... part of my job was not knowing who would be walking through the door needing our help.
Learning something new. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Internship (Former Employee), MOJanuary 14, 2014
It was a great learning experience. Unpaid internship. There is alot of skills they will teach you for free
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It pays the bills
Educational Residential Trainer/ Coordinator (Current Employee), Montgomery, ALDecember 27, 2013
Pros: wow
Cons: wow
It is great working with people with intellectual disabilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN PLACE
Medical chart maintenance and filing clerk (Former Employee), Long Beach, CADecember 19, 2013
GREAT PEOPLE TO WORK FOR.
ORGANIZED
FAST PACE
GREAT C0-WORKERS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great internship experience
MSW Intern (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 18, 2013
Pros: great supervisors
Cons: sometimes the days would be really slow
I loved interning at DMH. Everyone was really supportive and encouraging and excited to have me around. I had wonderful supervisors. I learned so many things at DMH, from administrative work, to mental health assessments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good job
Officer I (Current Employee), Anderson, SCNovember 12, 2013
I deal with mentally ill patients. The job requires alot of physical action with the patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with staff and associates, learning new things.
Medical Records Technician (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 28, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
enjoyed working with clients and staff. Every day was fun and exciting. New job details
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stimulating, academic environment
CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER (Former Employee), Boston, MAOctober 8, 2013
Pros: opportunities to learn
Cons: work load, pressure to discharge dangerous people
I learned a lot here about psychiatry, psycho-pharmacology and forensics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Developmental Assistant (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 19, 2013
I was able to build a foundation for working with people with disabilites
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great community resourse experience
Psychiatric Social Worker-Intern (Former Employee), Norwalk, CASeptember 18, 2013
Pros: breaks
Cons: no way to de-stress without leaving the building
Take crisis calls all day long including suicide ideations, drug use, and mental break-downs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical Intern
Clinical Intern (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 24, 2013
Under direct supervision:
• Conducted comprehensive intake interviews
• Formulated a diagnostic impression by conducting client and/or family interviews and identifying strengths, weaknesses, problems and needs for the development of a treatment plan
• Prepared individualized treatment plan for 4-6 clients in accordance with established standards and – more... deadlines
• Evaluated client response to treatment and modified treatment plan
• Conducted individual and group therapy sessions
• Prepared and conducted group counseling utilizing CBT and DBT
• Documented and maintained up-to date clinical notes
• Consultation with supervisors and multidisciplinary team on a regular basis
• Case management and coordination with multi-disciplinary service providers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DMH
Summer Intern (Former Employee), Washington, DCJuly 15, 2013
All the responsibility I had was well worth in because it has helped to enhance my computer skills and the people were really nice i was treated like a regular employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TAP is a great company to work for.
Office Assistant II (Former Employee), Riverside, CAJuly 10, 2013
Pros: tap is a great company.
Cons: job assignment too short.
Working at the Department of Mental Health taught me how to deal with mental patients. How to act when they get out of control. How to respond so the other patients don't get out of hand. I learned a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Specialist
Administrative Specialist (Former Employee), Denmark, SCJune 4, 2013
My duties were to manage Medical Records and occassionally leave front desk. I really loved this job. G ot along well with my co-workers. This was my most enjoyable job. I had to leave this job due to family illness. Oh how I wish I was back their.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Specialist II (Current Employee), Denmark, SCMay 31, 2013
This is a place where you will hard and take care of your patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You must love what you do
Mental Health Therapist (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 30, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: documentation
We are in the helping profession and you must enjoy making change in the lives of children. There is a lot of documentation to keep track of and dealing with parents and children with mental illness can be challenging at times.
i love my co-workers, they are very supportive and a joy to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Billing Clerk/Psychiatrist (Current Employee), Lomita, CAApril 24, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
When a team of people come together for the good of a person it makes for a group of concern psychiatrist.Everday to reach a individual who has been under the influence is a mile stone I truly enjoy people.The hardest part of this job was to see people self distruct and not being able to save them from themself. i guess the good part about this job – more... is going home knowing that you just saved somebodys life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for fun and learn
DEVELOPMENTAL ASSISTANT 1 (Current Employee), St.louis MOMarch 21, 2013
Providing help for the developmentally disabled with everyday living.