Find companies:
Department Of Public Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

Department Of Public Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ENJOY WORKING WITH THIS COMPANY LOVE ACCOUNTING
Accounting Technician (Former Employee), NAVY HILL SAIPANAugust 4, 2014
Pros: not to much staff in my department
Cons: busy times sometimes work through lunch
WORKING WITH NUMBERS IS MY FAVORITE ESPECIALLY WHEN IT COMES TO MAKING PAYMENTS, POSTING DAILY PURCHASE ORDERS AND OTHER ACCOUNTING WORK AS ASSIGN.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strict environment; advancement opportunities were available.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTMay 19, 2014
Pros: clean
Cons: small office spaces
Progressive workplace with friendly and helpful employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Experience
Community Field Specialist (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAMay 3, 2014
I found this job incredibly challenging and rewarding. I was able to be involved and responsible for many projects. It was a very unique job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many challenges with government bureaucracy
Public Health Program Specialist (Current Employee), Barrigada, GUApril 29, 2014
Pros: level of my position in public health somewhat protected me from too much bureaucratic nonsense.
Cons: generally not an environment that encourages professional growth.
Professional management skills and organizational skills of upper management were not demonstrated during the first 15 - 20 years of my employment. Too much government interference with the execution of the goals of public health. Either unqualified leadership or semi-qualified individuals with poor administrative skills appointed by the governor to – more... head Public Health. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Campus
Security Guard (Former Employee), Detroit, MIMarch 10, 2014
Pros: very friendly people
Cons: in a bad neighborhood
Security at College for Creative Studies. Watched over premises, Sign people in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peacefull Office and Easy to do work
Clerical Office Assistant (Former Employee), Baldwin Park, CAMarch 6, 2014
Friendly staff. It was pleasure working there but did not like environment because I felt incarcerated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing team to work promoting health care safety
Prosecutor (Former Employee), Boston, MAMarch 4, 2014
Pros: helping to keep the community safe when they are treated by a health care professional
Cons: distance
draft policies and legal documents

managed a heavy case load

work with health care Boards
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun co-workers.
Adm Support Asst III/II, Business Manager (Current Employee), Bessemer, AlabamaFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: salary raise, management, healthcare, security
Typical day at work busy, very productive. Everyday is different with different opportunities to be resolved. Co-workers are great we work as a team and fill in for each other when it is nescessary. The hardest part of the job is trying to complete everything within the work day. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping others in need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable and welcoming environment
Community Health Worker I (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAJanuary 17, 2014
Friendly co-workers
Learned how to work Invision and LCR
Dealing with friendly and difficult patients
Enjoy dealing with a diverse groups of people
Great supervisors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Business Operations Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta GANovember 19, 2013
Pros: health program to stay fit
Cons: micro management, layoffs, no comparable pay to other agencies or private sector.
Overrated, pay is not good. Layoffs continously. High stress and never recognized for the hardwork and efforts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Data Entry Clerk ∞ Temporary Assignment (Former Employee), Boston, MANovember 7, 2013
Entered Client Data into Excel Spreadsheet
Responsible for entering data in a report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not a bad place to work but not the best for career minded.
Program Associate (Current Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 5, 2013
A typical day may involve various tasks in assisting both internal and external customers. You will learn a lot of health related information.
Co-workers work in teams towards a common goal. Most enjoyable you are allowed exercise breaks and encouraged to attend lunch and learn health care seminars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Public Service Aide (Current Employee), San FranciscoJuly 11, 2013
Pros: you meet alot of new people and can progress.
Cons: strict policies
Great people, fun atmosphere, good work life balance. Manager are willing to listen and recieve feedback about different suggestions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work.
Wic Clerk (Current Employee), Thomaston Ga.June 7, 2013
Pros: one hour lunch break
Cons: never get raises
Taking care of women, infants and children nutritional needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained knowledge and experience in Public Health
Intern Bureau of Statistics and Informatics (Former Employee), Department of HHS Concord, NHMay 29, 2013
Cons: internship with no pay
Gained experience with various sets of health statistics and data. Worked closely with an epidemiologist to analyze data from the BRFSS. Composed and conducted a presentation on obesity trends in the greater NH area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front desk.
Clinical Operation (Former Employee), Hesperia, CAApril 18, 2013
Pros: friendly workers
Cons: short breaks
I learned new things everyday; mostly everything was easy to remember. The only hardest thing of this job was when we used to get rude patients. I tried to calm them down and help them as much as I can but if that didn't help I had to get the supervisor involved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Attendant Nurse (Current Employee), Jamaica Plain, MAMarch 15, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: not enough staff to give good thorough care.
I learned something new in nursing almost everyday. I worked with many different ethnticities and quite enjoyed that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Special Project Coordinator
Special Projects Coordinator/Program Consultant (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: state benefits
Cons: healthcare
I am the Special Projects Coordinator with expertise in a diverse range of technologies within a State Government setting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non-productive division
Kentucky HIV/AIDS Care Coordinator, Administrator (Current Employee), Frankfort, KYDecember 10, 2012
Division of Epidemiology and Health Planning--poor management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DPH Internship
Division of Violence and Injury Prevention (Former Employee), Boston, MANovember 23, 2012
I truly enjoyed working alongside some of the people who serve as liaison from the Department of Public Health's: Youth Injury and Violence Prevention division to the constituents of the Massachusetts Commonwealth.