Find companies:
Department of Public Safety
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
67 reviews

Department of Public Safety Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a difficult place to work, not for everyone, but can be done
Correction Officer (Former Employee), Elizabeth City, NCJune 17, 2014
Tough mentally and physically
Management is ok
co-workers can make or break your work experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in an Office
College Intern-Clerk (Former Employee), Fremont, OHJune 17, 2014
For me a typical work day would have been working alongside two other coworkers. I would sit at a computer all day and answer the phone. When the other examiners were to busy, I would assist them with helping a customer, by checking them in and administering the test that they were there for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Focused atmosphere
Residental Security Aide (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYJune 15, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: short breaks, messes up sleeping cycle, minimum wage, no room for advancement
Typical day at work. The hardest part of the job was the all night shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull and Demanding
Account Clerk IV (Former Employee), Wailuku, HIJune 8, 2014
Overall its 3star. Job is heavy no more time to even go to bathroom. Inmates are very demanding person considering the place their in. Compensation benefit depends on the union. As long as there is lawbreakers prison is there so it's secured. Room for advancement it took me 5 years to move from Account 3 to Account 4. Slow. Not much opportunity for – more... advancement. Unstable management because I have worked three wardens in my 13 years. Job is multicultural as Hawaii is a multicultural state in USA. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great On campus Job for Criminal Justice majors.
Student Police Cadet (Current Employee), Dover, DEJune 7, 2014
Pros: flexibility
This job was a way for me to balance a life of school and working. At Delaware State University I was able to become a student police cadet in which some days were the same and other days were not. During events, I would act as security conducting searches through personal property such as purses and book bags when entering a party or a football game. – more... Also I would conduct pat downs when students entered an on campus party. A typical week would involve me acting as a second party between those that need help or assistance and the police on Delaware State Campus in the housing facilities in campus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience working with people
CORRECTION OFFICER (Current Employee), Yanceyville, NCJune 2, 2014
Working in a prison is a different experience with many personalities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and secure department to work for.
Sr. Patrolman (Former Employee), Truth or Consequences, NMMay 31, 2014
Pros: great benifits, good salary, great special assignments.
Cons: having to work holidays, working odd hours, wearing the black uniform on summer days.
In my 21 years working for the New Mexico State Police I have gained so much experience. From enforcing traffic laws in uniform to investigating felonious crimes as a detective. I have also had the privilege to work dignitary protection from the US Presidents to Governors out of state. Working hand in hand with co-workers and working efficient as a – more... team to complete the project. The best part of the job was helping the less fortunate, abandoned, abused victims and at the end of the day receiving a "thank you" which was the best reward of all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver's License Examiner
Driver License Examiner (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALMay 4, 2014
I road tested citizens on a daily basis. I also dealt with license suspension and DUI cases that were put on records for drivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Correctional Officer (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCApril 25, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits, hrs
The Dept. of Public Safety is an awsome company to work for. Its a great place for those looking to start a career in law enforcement. The work environment is friendly and your co-workers help you along all the way. The management staff is always available and willing to help in any way. The best part was the benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work for!
Customer Service Lead (Assistant Supervisor) (Current Employee), Hurst, TXApril 19, 2014
I love helping people which is what I do at DPS. I would recommend it if you are not in school anymore. It does not work with your schedule as you may need it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job
Student Watch (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMarch 14, 2014
Pros: pays well
Cons: long nights, lots of walking, extremely boring.
This job is easy and good for students who are looking for a job. the hours are after classes are usually over. It pays well
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Law Enforcement Agency
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: segregation within the work environment
Overall the experience was good. It takes a little adjusting for a civilian working for a Law Enforcement Agency. Civilian and Law Enforcement cultures are completely two separate entities.

My typical work day consisted of:
*Providing the general public with information regarding traffic citations and other needed law enforcement agency information
*Assistant – more... troopers with various administrative needs
*Serving as a liaison to various courts within the Clark County and its surrounding counties

I learned that working with Law Enforcement takes patience and understanding that they have a different mindset due to extensive training. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THE JOB IS A GOOD WORKPLACE
Corrections Officer (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 24, 2014
IM ABLE TO GET ALONE WITH ALL CO-WORKERS, ENJOYABLE IS KNOWING THAT I HAVE HELPED SOMEONE AND THE HARDEST IS SEEING ALL THOSE MALES AND FEMALES IN JAIL, MANAGEEMENT CAN BE A LITTLE TRYING BUT FOR TE MOST PART I AM ABLE TO GET ALONE WITH THEM AND GET THE JOB DONE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review
Office Clerical Support (Current Employee), Jackson, MSFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: my job does provide reasonable insurance for minor children.
Cons: only getting paid once a month instead of twice a month is a strain at times being a single parent.
A typical day at work requires the mindset that you have to be of sound judgement in every situation and that you must always be firm but fair to customers/drivers. I have learned that every situation is different and that you must be considerate of others at all times. The management in our department can stand for improvement. My co-workers are decent – more... people and are fair but firm. The hardest part of my job is not being able to advance to different positions or get promoted on a pay scale. The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting different people from all over the country and being able to help people in all circumstances. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of exercise, use of company veich.
Night Watchperson (Former Employee), Augusta, MEFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: my own limited supervison while on duty
Cons: no immediate supervisor on duty only on call.
Walk 5 - 7 miles a night making rounds while on duty. 3 days a week there were 2 watch persons on duty, 2 nights I was alone.Company supplied veich. for company use traveling between complexes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable
Probation Officer (Former Employee), Salisbury, NCJanuary 31, 2014
Great place to learn and grow. If you apply yourself. Must keep up with the changes in law.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very quite
Greet and assist customers (Former Employee), Santa Fe, NMJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: helping the elderly
Cons: seasonal postion
* Provide High Customer Quality Service
* Recieve, Sort and Distribute Company Mail
* Help, assist, feed and walk with elderly clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Probation/Parole Officer II (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCJanuary 11, 2014
Upper Management sucks the life out of you. They are more worried about the employees than they are the criminals you are supervising. Was a great place to work until a few years ago. STAY AWAY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I came to enjoy my work.
Clothes House Operator (Former Employee), Asheville, NCDecember 13, 2013
Pros: i made a difference in people's live's while i was there.
Cons: leaving what i enjoyed doing everyday.
A typical day at the green sage was friendly. Everyone worked together for a common purpose, to make sure our customers were satisfied. I learned to be professional at all times in food service. Management was acceptional when it came to personal situations, they cared about their employees. My co-workers were friendly no matter what was going on in – more... their personal lives. When you were on stage so to speak, you gave it your all. The hardest part of the job was leaving every day, it became a second home for me. The most enjoyable, leaving every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internal audit jobs
Compliance Auditor (Current Employee), Jessup, MDNovember 20, 2013
Pros: conducive environment
A nice place to work with experienced colleagues. I have been in this organization for the past four year. My job function is basically audit .

1 2 3 4