Find companies:
Department of Public Safety
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
73 reviews

Department of Public Safety Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Correctional Officer
Correctional Officer (Current Employee), Wilmington, NCSeptember 22, 2014
I enjoy working for the general public providing safety and security, but I want to work in a more positive environment. I like working as a team with my fellow officer for a common goal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for.
Wheelage Tax Specialist (Former Employee), St. PaulSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: flexable
Cons: job was a temp job
Great Company to work for: Teamwork,outgoing people. very flexible with work schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE WORK PLACE
CORRECTIONAL OFFICER (Current Employee), Lillington, NCAugust 11, 2014
WORKED WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY FOR 8 YEARS. NOT MUCH ROOM FOR ADVANCEMENT UNLESS SOMEONE RETIRES. SO IM LOOKING FOR SOMETHING DIFFERENT. WILLING TO LEARN A DIFFERENT WAY OF LIFE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Issue driver's license and vehicle registrations
Motor Vehicle Compliance Analyst (Current Employee), Metairie, LAAugust 7, 2014
Long hours working with the public. Under staff. I have been in the management aspect at this job. Working my way up. Hours many days 7:45am to 6:30pm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for the right person.
Alabama State Trooper (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALAugust 4, 2014
Pros: good salary, drive home vehicle.
Cons: none really
Most enjoyable part of the job was helping others. I learned this job is not for everyone, but I enjoyed the experience just the same.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Material Management Officer (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJune 25, 2014
Pros: great work place, hours where great
Busy everyday making sure to meet the needs of all divisions with supplies or purchasing products
Learned every aspect of purchasing products in large amount for the State of Oklahoma
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a difficult place to work, not for everyone, but can be done
Correction Officer (Former Employee), Elizabeth City, NCJune 17, 2014
Tough mentally and physically
Management is ok
co-workers can make or break your work experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in an Office
College Intern-Clerk (Former Employee), Fremont, OHJune 17, 2014
For me a typical work day would have been working alongside two other coworkers. I would sit at a computer all day and answer the phone. When the other examiners were to busy, I would assist them with helping a customer, by checking them in and administering the test that they were there for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Focused atmosphere
Residental Security Aide (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYJune 15, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: short breaks, messes up sleeping cycle, minimum wage, no room for advancement
Typical day at work. The hardest part of the job was the all night shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull and Demanding
Account Clerk IV (Former Employee), Wailuku, HIJune 8, 2014
Overall its 3star. Job is heavy no more time to even go to bathroom. Inmates are very demanding person considering the place their in. Compensation benefit depends on the union. As long as there is lawbreakers prison is there so it's secured. Room for advancement it took me 5 years to move from Account 3 to Account 4. Slow. Not much opportunity for – more... advancement. Unstable management because I have worked three wardens in my 13 years. Job is multicultural as Hawaii is a multicultural state in USA. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great On campus Job for Criminal Justice majors.
Student Police Cadet (Current Employee), Dover, DEJune 7, 2014
Pros: flexibility
This job was a way for me to balance a life of school and working. At Delaware State University I was able to become a student police cadet in which some days were the same and other days were not. During events, I would act as security conducting searches through personal property such as purses and book bags when entering a party or a football game. – more... Also I would conduct pat downs when students entered an on campus party. A typical week would involve me acting as a second party between those that need help or assistance and the police on Delaware State Campus in the housing facilities in campus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience working with people
CORRECTION OFFICER (Current Employee), Yanceyville, NCJune 2, 2014
Working in a prison is a different experience with many personalities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and secure department to work for.
Sr. Patrolman (Former Employee), Truth or Consequences, NMMay 31, 2014
Pros: great benifits, good salary, great special assignments.
Cons: having to work holidays, working odd hours, wearing the black uniform on summer days.
In my 21 years working for the New Mexico State Police I have gained so much experience. From enforcing traffic laws in uniform to investigating felonious crimes as a detective. I have also had the privilege to work dignitary protection from the US Presidents to Governors out of state. Working hand in hand with co-workers and working efficient as a – more... team to complete the project. The best part of the job was helping the less fortunate, abandoned, abused victims and at the end of the day receiving a "thank you" which was the best reward of all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver's License Examiner
Driver License Examiner (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALMay 4, 2014
I road tested citizens on a daily basis. I also dealt with license suspension and DUI cases that were put on records for drivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Correctional Officer (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCApril 25, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits, hrs
The Dept. of Public Safety is an awsome company to work for. Its a great place for those looking to start a career in law enforcement. The work environment is friendly and your co-workers help you along all the way. The management staff is always available and willing to help in any way. The best part was the benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work for!
Customer Service Lead (Assistant Supervisor) (Current Employee), Hurst, TXApril 19, 2014
I love helping people which is what I do at DPS. I would recommend it if you are not in school anymore. It does not work with your schedule as you may need it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job
Student Watch (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMarch 14, 2014
Pros: pays well
Cons: long nights, lots of walking, extremely boring.
This job is easy and good for students who are looking for a job. the hours are after classes are usually over. It pays well
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Law Enforcement Agency
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: segregation within the work environment
Overall the experience was good. It takes a little adjusting for a civilian working for a Law Enforcement Agency. Civilian and Law Enforcement cultures are completely two separate entities.

My typical work day consisted of:
*Providing the general public with information regarding traffic citations and other needed law enforcement agency information
*Assistant – more... troopers with various administrative needs
*Serving as a liaison to various courts within the Clark County and its surrounding counties

I learned that working with Law Enforcement takes patience and understanding that they have a different mindset due to extensive training. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THE JOB IS A GOOD WORKPLACE
Corrections Officer (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 24, 2014
IM ABLE TO GET ALONE WITH ALL CO-WORKERS, ENJOYABLE IS KNOWING THAT I HAVE HELPED SOMEONE AND THE HARDEST IS SEEING ALL THOSE MALES AND FEMALES IN JAIL, MANAGEEMENT CAN BE A LITTLE TRYING BUT FOR TE MOST PART I AM ABLE TO GET ALONE WITH THEM AND GET THE JOB DONE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review
Office Clerical Support (Current Employee), Jackson, MSFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: my job does provide reasonable insurance for minor children.
Cons: only getting paid once a month instead of twice a month is a strain at times being a single parent.
A typical day at work requires the mindset that you have to be of sound judgement in every situation and that you must always be firm but fair to customers/drivers. I have learned that every situation is different and that you must be considerate of others at all times. The management in our department can stand for improvement. My co-workers are decent – more... people and are fair but firm. The hardest part of my job is not being able to advance to different positions or get promoted on a pay scale. The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting different people from all over the country and being able to help people in all circumstances. – less

1 2 3 4