Find companies:
Department of Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
245 reviews

Department of Transportation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Human Resources Coordinator (Current Employee), FloridaJuly 15, 2014
Team approach. Productive. Friendly environment.Great agency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surprisingly good
Associate Administrator (Acting), Public Affairs (Current Employee), Washington, DCJuly 9, 2014
Rated on of the top five places in the US Government to work, the FHWA is busy, and flush with really talented people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Intermediate Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee), Reston, VAJuly 6, 2014
Requirements Gathering, Documentation, Functional Testimg
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved what I did and who I worked under
Internship (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJuly 6, 2014
Pros: i got along with everybody
Cons: wasn't there long enough
I sat at my desk and worked on fiber-optic wiring

dealing with color codes and putting computer connectors on the ends

manager was a nice lady who came checked on me every hour see if I was all right

I enjoyed all what I did and who I was with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Sector Work
Senior Materiel Management Specialist (Current Employee), Renton, WAJuly 3, 2014
Pros: holiday and paid days off
Cons: public sector jobs, frozen pay scales, sequestration cuts.
I'd really like to get out of the Public Sector...I'm not able to grow at the level that I want in my current role. There's not sepecially great compensation in the Public Sector. At the end of the day, I feel that my skills could be better utilized and bring better value to another company. As far as the work. I have a passion for PC/Mainframe/Server – more... files and large exports. Then linking several systems together for Facts and Data. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NCDOT Job Duties
Sr. Environmental Specialist (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCJuly 2, 2014
- Coordinate with state, federal, and local governments, community groups, and general public (land owners).
- Assess impacts of TIP projects on natural resource communities and provide recommendations
- Pursue landowner involvement, land acquisitions, and conservation easements
- Utilize GIS (Arc Map), GPS and Microstation to investigate potential – more... sites and prepare for field work/land owner meetings
- Prepare and manage contracts, review work, and coordinate with private consulting firms.
- Prepare, analyze and reviewed environmental documents and reports.
- Identify and implement stream and wetland mitigation for TIP projects.
- Perform survey work related to TIP mitigation.
- Coordinate with the NEU Engineering Group on wetland and stream mitigation design.
- Perform budget analysis to ensure mitigation sites are feasible for the purchase of NCDOT.
- Maintain debit ledger with onsite assets.
- Write mitigation plans
- Perform cost analysis to ensure onsite mitigation is feasible – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working and doing many things landscaping
d.o.t (Former Employee), Lakeland, FLJune 25, 2014
one day I learned that cutting trees and lawn work is one of the hardest things to do while the sun is out and it also helped me benefit my body as warmer to get back in shape to learn more and keep working without being a lazy individual it just makes me strive to right for myself and company..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work is consistent but can get a bit monotonous.
Associate Governmental Program Analyst (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAJune 23, 2014
Pros: stable position
Cons: no flexibility to work from home.
Great group of people to work with but the tasks can become a bit mundane.
Lots to know and sometimes you get to learn new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EEO Professionals and Partners were receptive and accepted change
Staff Services Manager I (Retired) (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJune 17, 2014
Pros: had a fully trained staff
Cons: not enough staff for statewide services.
Manager for the 2nd largest state department Discrimination Investigation Complaint Unit; and on ongoing basis implemented and providing training on internal Department EEO Policies, to include relevant State and Federal anti-discrimination laws.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no room for advancement
General Laborer (Former Employee), Atmore, ALJune 12, 2014
Work road crew cleaning, mowing grass, trimming trees and shrubs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive.
TRANSPORTATION SECURITY SCREENER (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAJune 9, 2014
Screen passenger prior to boarding the aircraft. Inspection the Passenger Items(luggage, boxes, personal) prior to loading on a aircraft. Assist local law enforcement officer on overall airport security and safety. Enforcement of standard operating procedures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good career with numerous opportunities
Air Traffic Control Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 7, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits, job satisfaction
Cons: very stressful at times
Mentally challenging job that required 100% concentration for long periods of time. Very rewarding and satisfying. The most recent 6 years worked alone most of the time where I was responsible for everything. (working air traffic, making weather recordings, answering the phone, providing weather briefings to walk-in pilots, computer entries, and search – more... and rescue emergencies) Multitasking, and priority of duties was critical. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
SharePoint Architect (Current Employee), Washington, DCMay 29, 2014
Great place to workGreat place to workGreat place to workGreat place to workGreat place to workGreat place to workGreat place to workGreat place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Personal Assistant (Current Employee), Washington, DCMay 29, 2014
Good Place to work. Able to grow and learn. Nice people, to interact with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Sr. Business Analyst (Current Employee), Washington, DCMay 28, 2014
Pros: nothing to add
Cons: nothing to add
Lots of opportunity to advance. I really enjoyed working in this comapny
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it is a good place to work
Heavy Equipment Operator/MEO (Current Employee), Brunswick, GAMay 25, 2014
Pros: 4 day work week
Cons: lower pay scales
This job has been a learning experience. Our people work well together. The hardest part of job is how long it takes you to move up in position. The best part is it is a steady job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the databases and worked with limited supervision.
Administrator Assistant (TMSI Contract) (Former Employee), Dot, WAMay 21, 2014
Pros: great location for me, close to home.
Cons: small offices
My day was very productive and fast pace, enjoyed the work. Had great supervisor, that I worked very well with. My co-worker were very friendly and easy to get along with.my hardest part was leaving this assignment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where your word is our bond. Lie and you lose all creditability.
Airway Technical Systems Specialist (Former Employee), 4205 johnson ave, ronkonkoma,ny 11779May 21, 2014
Each technician has a equitable of disciplines.To be there cooperating with the Air Traffic Controllers to protect the fling public.
To insure the equipment is reliable and operating at peck efficiency so at a touch of a button the system is operating for the Air Traffic Controllers.The hardest part is the rotating shifts and the amount it takes on – more... your families. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun productive workplace
Accounting Clerk III (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMay 14, 2014
Pros: federal, great benefits
Cons: lots of walking as the campus is huge
Great Company, loved all the bosses. Typical accounts payable job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pilots & air traffic controllers were so much fun to work with.
Administrative Specialist (Former Employee), Redondo Beach, CAMay 8, 2014
Pros: great working atmosphere with wonderful employees.
Cons: no cons
I had the opportunity to learn so many incredible things that I would have never had the chance to learn if not working for the FAA.

1 2 3 4 5

Department of Transportation Photos