Find companies:
Department of Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
267 reviews

Department of Transportation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Entry level work for the young professional
Course Training Specialist (Current Employee), Arlington, VASeptember 11, 2014
Its a fun work family environment with tons to learn. A great entry level position that can open major doors if you are willing to learn. Great for College students starting out looking for their path.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace reporting to the US Secreatry of Transportation
Senior Executive Service (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: private jet travel
Cons: short notice on travel
My typical day involved manging over 900 employees and 25 managers. I traveled all over the world speaking and representing the U.S. Department of Transportation.
I had an excellent management staff that reported directly to me.
I managed a very large budget including each department budget.
The hardest part of my job was on call travel with little – more... notice to prepare. I never complained.
The most enjoyable part of my job was public speaking and rasing community awareness. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Startup
Accounts Receivables Supervisor (Former Employee), Laredo, TXSeptember 8, 2014
Fun environment, great employees, awesome management.
Ok Pay. Many veteran employees. Not to many perks for employees
down fall is one owner no motivation to grow or opportunity within.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Air Traffic Control at various towers throughout Michigan and Ohio
Air Traffic Controller FNT ARB PTK TOL (Former Employee), Swanton (Toledo) OhioSeptember 3, 2014
Learned a multitude of skills working for the FAA

Hardest part of the job was the shift changes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and pleasant
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), McLean, VASeptember 2, 2014
The company was very professional and full of learning experiences. The entire team demonstrated the exact definition of being a "TEAM."
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be
Office Automaton Clerk/Intern (Current Employee), Washington D.CAugust 30, 2014
Working for D.O.T was a great experience for me as a college student being an intern because I had to learn on the fly and make sure I provided the best customer service possible. I am a administrative assistant or office automation clerk; I worked closely with the director of training when setting up training courses for internal and external government – more... employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed coming in to work
Intake Coordinator (Former Employee), shreveportAugust 22, 2014
Pros: enviroment, work experience
Cons: pay
I learned how to place orders, use a fork-lift, travel. The management was great, there was only three of us in the office and we got along great. The hardest part of this job was getting out in all types of weather, delivering parts. The most enjoyable was the company. My supervisor and I still communicates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DOT
Software Specilist (Current Employee), Pomona, NJAugust 20, 2014
Great Place to work for.

Very nice people to work with and very helpful crowd.

Great benfits.

No Long term disability available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aviation Safety
Aviation Safety Assistant (Current Employee), Van Nuys, CAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: benefits and work life
Cons: government bureaucracy
It has been an immense experience to be working with the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). This position has shown me it is essential for management to understand how government agencies impact the aviation industry and stakeholders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with corporate America and traveling benefits
Assistant Agency Account Manager (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 13, 2014
A typical day at work consist of traveling to different states and meeting all kinds of government employee's.

You learned how to manage Multi-million dollar accounts as well as to be timely and efficent in your management skills.

The most enjoyable part of the job was to travel to see different states they you may never got a chance to visit on your – more... own. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review
Air Traffic Operation/Tower Administration Intern (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOAugust 10, 2014
Understanding of its purpose and functions of the agency, Open Door Policy, and recruitment at fairs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Federal Agency
Program Development Team Leader (Former Employee), Multiple locationsAugust 6, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: some of the leadership.
Like most government positions it has its perks and down sides. For the majority of people in the agency they are dedicated and easy to work for and with. They take pride in their work and in serving their country. The agency offers good advancement as long as you apply yourself and learn the culture within the agency. I was able to travel and work – more... in several states as well as working with individuals from other federal agencies, state/local agencies, the public, cabinet members, congressional representatives, and private sector business owners. The hardest part of the job was the lack of funding and the political maneuvering that takes place within the federal government. The most rewarding and enjoyable part of the job was working with people of diverse groups, building relationships, and seeing projects completed that helped the community, city, state, and country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Secretary and Medical Program Assistant (Former Employee), Oberlin, OhioJuly 31, 2014
Overall this was a wonderful place to work. Nice people, great benefits but limited opportunities for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Program Analyst (Current Employee), Washington, DCJuly 30, 2014
Interesting experience has pros and cons very different work enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work with great co-workers and clients alike.
Test Driver (Former Employee), Pinellas Park, FLJuly 30, 2014
I liked this job because I enjoy driving. I learned how the toll booths worked. I worked with great people. The hardest part of the job was waiting to start the testing, which entailed waiting. This job was all about driving which made it the best part of my day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making the sky safe for the flying public and airlines.
Air Traffic Control Specialist (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLJuly 29, 2014
Pros: when you got busy everyone pitch in to help.
Cons: the schedule.
A typical day at work was working IFR and VFR traffic in, out and through South Florida. I learned to work aircrafts in an orderly and safe fashion. I learned the different type of airplanes and their capabilities. Management dealt mostly with our Union and things were tough at times but overall we ban together to perform our duties. Co-workers were – more... helpful and we became a family. The hardest part of the job was the hours. We worked a 2-2-1 schedule, which was 2 nights, 2 days and a midnight shift. The most enjoyable part of the job was when a pilot thank you for a job well done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very exciting and diverse place to work
Construction Engineer Tech (Former Employee), Perry, GAJuly 28, 2014
I enjoyed all co-workers, we were a family outside our biological families, the most enjoyable part of the job was working with different people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self employed during the great recession.
Self Employed (Former Employee), Stanton, CAJuly 28, 2014
In order to survive during the greatest recession of my lifetime, I looked after and transported school children to school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxing environment with a great staff and hourly breaks to avoid stress
Trainee (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLJuly 27, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits, promotional options. all around fantastic career.
Cons: after completing training i was told that your schedules could be a little hard on the body.
Usual eight hour work schedule with one hour work loads followed by a break. I was still in training and was still learning the rules of the air space that I would be assigned. Great co-workers. All very friendly and happy to be there. The work environment was never stressful and there was always a supervisor on the floor to make sure everything ran – more... smoothly. The hardest part of the job was getting used to the new lifestyle. I had worked a minimum wage job for 5 years before joining the FAA and the increase in pay made a huge impact on my life. The job itself was enjoyable. No complaints other than leaving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wish to not write a review of this company.
Secretary I care to not wrte a review. (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 26, 2014
I wish to not write a review of this company. I really don't have anything wlse to say.

1 2 3 4 5