Find companies:
Department of Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
251 reviews

Department of Transportation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very exciting and diverse place to work
Construction Engineer Tech (Former Employee), Perry, GAJuly 28, 2014
I enjoyed all co-workers, we were a family outside our biological families, the most enjoyable part of the job was working with different people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self employed during the great recession.
Self Employed (Former Employee), Stanton, CAJuly 28, 2014
In order to survive during the greatest recession of my lifetime, I looked after and transported school children to school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxing environment with a great staff and hourly breaks to avoid stress
Trainee (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLJuly 27, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits, promotional options. all around fantastic career.
Cons: after completing training i was told that your schedules could be a little hard on the body.
Usual eight hour work schedule with one hour work loads followed by a break. I was still in training and was still learning the rules of the air space that I would be assigned. Great co-workers. All very friendly and happy to be there. The work environment was never stressful and there was always a supervisor on the floor to make sure everything ran – more... smoothly. The hardest part of the job was getting used to the new lifestyle. I had worked a minimum wage job for 5 years before joining the FAA and the increase in pay made a huge impact on my life. The job itself was enjoyable. No complaints other than leaving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wish to not write a review of this company.
Secretary I care to not wrte a review. (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 26, 2014
I wish to not write a review of this company. I really don't have anything wlse to say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and exciting
Receptionist (Former Employee), Manhattan, New YorkJuly 24, 2014
Pros: everything
Filing, typing, and phones.
I learned faxing and coping back then.
Co-workers were great.
I enjoyed everything about the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really loved my job
Laborer (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 22, 2014
I really wish that I could get employed back with the Department of Transportation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Human Resources Coordinator (Current Employee), FloridaJuly 15, 2014
Team approach. Productive. Friendly environment.Great agency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surprisingly good
Associate Administrator (Acting), Public Affairs (Current Employee), Washington, DCJuly 9, 2014
Rated on of the top five places in the US Government to work, the FHWA is busy, and flush with really talented people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Intermediate Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee), Reston, VAJuly 6, 2014
Requirements Gathering, Documentation, Functional Testimg
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved what I did and who I worked under
Internship (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJuly 6, 2014
Pros: i got along with everybody
Cons: wasn't there long enough
I sat at my desk and worked on fiber-optic wiring

dealing with color codes and putting computer connectors on the ends

manager was a nice lady who came checked on me every hour see if I was all right

I enjoyed all what I did and who I was with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Sector Work
Senior Materiel Management Specialist (Current Employee), Renton, WAJuly 3, 2014
Pros: holiday and paid days off
Cons: public sector jobs, frozen pay scales, sequestration cuts.
I'd really like to get out of the Public Sector...I'm not able to grow at the level that I want in my current role. There's not sepecially great compensation in the Public Sector. At the end of the day, I feel that my skills could be better utilized and bring better value to another company. As far as the work. I have a passion for PC/Mainframe/Server – more... files and large exports. Then linking several systems together for Facts and Data. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NCDOT Job Duties
Sr. Environmental Specialist (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCJuly 2, 2014
- Coordinate with state, federal, and local governments, community groups, and general public (land owners).
- Assess impacts of TIP projects on natural resource communities and provide recommendations
- Pursue landowner involvement, land acquisitions, and conservation easements
- Utilize GIS (Arc Map), GPS and Microstation to investigate potential – more... sites and prepare for field work/land owner meetings
- Prepare and manage contracts, review work, and coordinate with private consulting firms.
- Prepare, analyze and reviewed environmental documents and reports.
- Identify and implement stream and wetland mitigation for TIP projects.
- Perform survey work related to TIP mitigation.
- Coordinate with the NEU Engineering Group on wetland and stream mitigation design.
- Perform budget analysis to ensure mitigation sites are feasible for the purchase of NCDOT.
- Maintain debit ledger with onsite assets.
- Write mitigation plans
- Perform cost analysis to ensure onsite mitigation is feasible – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working and doing many things landscaping
d.o.t (Former Employee), Lakeland, FLJune 25, 2014
one day I learned that cutting trees and lawn work is one of the hardest things to do while the sun is out and it also helped me benefit my body as warmer to get back in shape to learn more and keep working without being a lazy individual it just makes me strive to right for myself and company..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work is consistent but can get a bit monotonous.
Associate Governmental Program Analyst (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAJune 23, 2014
Pros: stable position
Cons: no flexibility to work from home.
Great group of people to work with but the tasks can become a bit mundane.
Lots to know and sometimes you get to learn new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EEO Professionals and Partners were receptive and accepted change
Staff Services Manager I (Retired) (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJune 17, 2014
Pros: had a fully trained staff
Cons: not enough staff for statewide services.
Manager for the 2nd largest state department Discrimination Investigation Complaint Unit; and on ongoing basis implemented and providing training on internal Department EEO Policies, to include relevant State and Federal anti-discrimination laws.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no room for advancement
General Laborer (Former Employee), Atmore, ALJune 12, 2014
Work road crew cleaning, mowing grass, trimming trees and shrubs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive.
TRANSPORTATION SECURITY SCREENER (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAJune 9, 2014
Screen passenger prior to boarding the aircraft. Inspection the Passenger Items(luggage, boxes, personal) prior to loading on a aircraft. Assist local law enforcement officer on overall airport security and safety. Enforcement of standard operating procedures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good career with numerous opportunities
Air Traffic Control Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 7, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits, job satisfaction
Cons: very stressful at times
Mentally challenging job that required 100% concentration for long periods of time. Very rewarding and satisfying. The most recent 6 years worked alone most of the time where I was responsible for everything. (working air traffic, making weather recordings, answering the phone, providing weather briefings to walk-in pilots, computer entries, and search – more... and rescue emergencies) Multitasking, and priority of duties was critical. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
SharePoint Architect (Current Employee), Washington, DCMay 29, 2014
Great place to workGreat place to workGreat place to workGreat place to workGreat place to workGreat place to workGreat place to workGreat place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Personal Assistant (Current Employee), Washington, DCMay 29, 2014
Good Place to work. Able to grow and learn. Nice people, to interact with.

1 2 3 4 5