Department of Transportation Employee Reviews

Found 538 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
soda
Inspector (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 27, 2017
Checked product on truck, I learned to place order for the day. Management was involved with all aspects of the job. Work culture was friendly. The hardest part of the job dealing with all the different customers. The driving was the most enjoyable part.
E
Pros
the deal we could give cus7
Cons
the rise in prices
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging career where you are always learning.
Traffic Management Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Aurora, ILApril 26, 2017
**Make multi million dollar decisions almost daily.
**While stressful, it very satisfying.
**Shift work is very hard on the body.
**Work with very interesting, diverse group of men & women.
Pros
Good pay and benefits.
Cons
Shift work and stress.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Put in your time, take the money, then run!
Air Traffic Controller (Former Employee) –  JFK Tower, Queens NYApril 20, 2017
The job of Air Traffic Controller is great. The pay and benefits are great. Dealing with the incompetent management and supervision can be trying at times. The Federal Aviation Administration has one of the lowest employee satisfaction rates among all Federal Agencies.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of women
Community Aide (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 18, 2017
If I could turn back the hands of time and work with the same group of women. I sure would and not regret one day of if. Women can be a challenge to work with. But, the group of women that I worked with were confident, strong, intelligent and very positive to work with.
Pros
I learned alot about myself.
Cons
The telephone system could have been updated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dot
Full Performance Level Controller (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 18, 2017
Never worked separately for the department of transportation. The Federal Aviation Administration is part of the department of transportation. Air traffic rocks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent pay and gained great experience.
Transportation Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Saipan, MPApril 16, 2017
Working at TSA is very rewarding in regards to compensation and benefits. The only thing is that the job is very demanding and I was a way from my family a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Management & Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 15, 2017
Have been there 30 years, great benefits and security.
Lots of work enjoy because you learn something new daily
Culture is mostly Spanish
The most enjoyable part of the day is seeing people
Pros
Learn something new every day, paid vacation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits and opportunities
Support Specialist for Airspace and Procedures (Current Employee) –  Farmington, MNApril 15, 2017
Excellent pay and benefits with endless opportunities to advance and explore different jobs within the organization. Always a challenge and always changing.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Very challenging people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working area
Mechanical Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Webster AveApril 11, 2017
I've learned a lot during the 6 weeks I was working at DOT. They're friendly people and everyone has each others backs. We would usually work on around 2 or 3 trucks, mostly sign trucks, and we would just get them ready for their inspections. A few trucks came in with electrical problems and we had one truck with a transmission problem.
Pros
Close to where I live, easy to commute, nice area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Fun Co-Workers
Traffic Control Officer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 11, 2017
Out of a 10hrs. shift the first 3hrs. are ok until rush hour 4-6:30pm it becomes very stressful. a lot of pedestrian traffic as well as vehicular traffic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Department of Transportation?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you didn't know someone or have a spouse/relative there you were fair game for management to mess with
Dispatcher/Clerk, (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAApril 11, 2017
I enjoyed the job at first, but when my opinions differed from management I was targeted for dismissal , there was limited supervision and support. Hours were good, mostly M-F.
Pros
Semi friendly coworkers, mostly unsupervised
Cons
Management, unfair practices
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity
Financial Specialist (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 6, 2017
Good opportunity for anyone that is accepted. Being the federal gov't this allows you to partner with the state for many projects. This will job will open ones eyes on how important transportation works.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Jr. Information Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 5, 2017
The work conducted at this establishment is quite rewarding. The staff is supportive. The work/life balance is nice as well. The hardest part of the job would be the often changing environment which could set one back depending on the task
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faa
Secretary (Current Employee) –  Renton, WAMarch 31, 2017
The working environment is very professional, and the opportunity to progress or learn new skills is wonderful. Advancement within 2-3 years is attainable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
San Diego West
Office Technician (Typing) (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 26, 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed this office aside from a few stability issues and short changes from the HQ office in regards to staffing. The people are a joy to work with. I wish I could have moved that office to where I now live.
Pros
Free parking and early schedules.
Cons
Headquarters lack of support and sufficient staffing
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not cultural freindly place
Transportation Engineer 2 (Current Employee) –  Newington, CTMarch 21, 2017
very White dominated, they don't know how to work with other non white races. Management sucks and HR supports management. Lots of racism against minorities
Pros
job security and great benefits
Cons
promotion is based on favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was fine but ended abruptly
Master Scheduler/Earned Value Analyst (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 14, 2017
Worked in satellite office on resource-loaded scheduling for RCISS program. Used MS Project for scheduling and forProject software for Earned Value Analysis
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to build skills
Head Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDFebruary 25, 2017
I served as a customer service representative for the department for 3 years. I was able to build great people and leadership skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, instant feedback, know your work makes a difference
Manager (Current Employee) –  Bay Area, CAFebruary 23, 2017
A typical day means rotating shifts and days off, multi-tasking in a high pressure environment, every time the phone rings is an opportunity for your day to go sideways. The reward is knowing that your job matters and you truly make a difference.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its what you make out of it
Air Traffic Controller (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAFebruary 21, 2017
It's all what you make out of it. No complaints. Must be willing to work weekends and holidays. Also, must be able to work swing shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Department of Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 560 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

CEO Approval

81%
116 ratings
Add your rating