Find companies:
Department of Treasury
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
67 reviews

Department of Treasury Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfaction
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Oakland, CAFebruary 21, 2015
Pros: always learning
Cons: litttle overtime
Call Center for IRS. Provide taxpayers and business with resolutions
regarding tax issues. Very confidential. Calls could be as many as 160 during tax season.

There were no difficulties with the job. The management provided training for ll new laws passed by Congress, so all could employees could do their jobs effectively.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, people are friendly
Mail Clerk (Current Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 18, 2015
Pros: i get to meet a talk to a lot of different people.
Cons: there aren't any cons.
My typical day is to sort and deliver mail. The job is enjoyable because I get to meet a lot of different people. There are no hard parts to the job, the job is simple and very easy to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work.
Chief Counsel (Former Employee), Plantation, FLFebruary 1, 2015
Pros: salary, benefits, good work environment
Legal assistant for a blind attorney. Typing, filing, working cases on the computer. I also created yearly evaluation reports for operators.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and structured development program.
IRS - Contact Service Representative (Former Employee), Guaynabo, PRFebruary 1, 2015
Pros: benefits, employee development
Cons: shifts, hectic
The nature of the job required a fast paced atmosphere. Call centers are very busy, loud places. Time accountability is the main thing to get used to when beginning. The employer seemed very fair and had great benefits offerings as well as a very structured development programs where every year you would move a step forward guaranteed, and depending on your performance even more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Chamblee, GAJanuary 29, 2015
Pros: have a job
Cons: distance to drive
A lot of learning the job and processes of Federal Government. Benefits are great. It's good to come to work do your job and leave. Always be willing to learn and always update your skills in the field you want to work in.

There isn't much to tell other than that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and safe environment
General clerk (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJanuary 27, 2015
well balanced work days with plenty of resources available at any given time for help. Proper instructions with excellent teachers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerical work
Clerk II (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 14, 2014
Pros: learning how to advance your self in the work place
Cons: working a department you never work at.
A typical day at work is when your not knowing how heavy the job load is till almost the end of the day but knowing what you've learned makes every thing easier with the communication with the managers and co-workers helps every thing paying attention and knowing your surrounding in the building makes your job more enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment
TAX EXAMING CLERK (Former Employee), Chamblee, GANovember 10, 2014
The co-workers are great. It is alot of work but worth the money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competative, Friendly, Professional
Secretary for Senior Advisor (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 20, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: commute
Answering emails until the everyone came in. Assisted with filling and researching papers and government material. Organized her meeting and calendar. Assisted other Advisors and Secretaries. Very friendly and helpful environment. Wonderful people to work with . Management always nice and trying to make things easy. I was on a contract and they were trying to make it a permanent position for me. The people were the most enjoyable part of the job. The commute was the worst part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounting Clerk
ACCOUNTING CLERK (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: easy access to public transportation
I assist with developing annual business plans in conjunction with Sales Manager, which detail activities to follow during the fiscal year. Obtain and maintain records which service many Departments within the agency
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help assist with IT troubleshooting, Network set up
Student Worker Intern (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: off every weekend
Just help the clients and learn ways of doing things differently and thinking out the box
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Supervisor (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: great job to have.
Cons: was seasonal work that didn't transition into a permanent job
A typical day was very fast paced and very detail oriented, but the atmosphere always felt light and easy. My co-workers were always helpful and I always felt like a part of a team. I could always get direction and support simple by asking. From the worker in the call center to the center's production manager always took time to make sure you had all you needed to do the best job you could possible do. I didn't find anything my job required to be hard, but the very opposite. I looked forward to going to work everyday and volunteered to work overtime happily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was a learning experience
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 17, 2014
Pros: this job enhanced my computer skills.
Cons: this was a seasonal position.
A big part of my job at IRS was listening to the caller, being courteous and patient.
I was required to be familiar with the IRS manuals so I could help each Tax Payer to the fullest extent possible.
Conduct research per inquiry and preparing individual installment agreements.
High degree of discretion, judgment, tact and poise is needed.
The most enjoyable part was helping the Tax Payer.
This was a very fast pace environment with calls coming in back to back.
This job enhanced my Customer Service skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government security
Tax Examining Technician / Accounts Management (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 9, 2014
Pros: benefits, schedule, heathcare, salary
Cons: stress
Good place for someone who doesn't like change. Opportunity for advancement within. Benefits!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Assistant Secretary - Code Inspection Processor (Former Employee), Trenton, NJJune 25, 2014
Pros: close radius to my home
Cons: heavy work load
Friendly people and nice supervisor. Heavy work load was the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable , when projects were finished you were appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job learning
TAX SPECIALIST (Former Employee), wyomingMay 28, 2014
Pros: good learning experience
Cons: governed by recordings
A good place to work with the people. A place where a person can utilize their multi tasking skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an ideal workplace in IT
Customer Support IT Specialist (Current Employee), Lanham, MDMay 8, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: lunch breaks
Lack of professionalism from management; low morale in the workplace; high level of bias; lack of training results in stressful job performance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
confidential
Information Technology Specialist (Former Employee), Lanham, MDMay 6, 2014
confidential. As with other federa employment, great benefit package. It was not the best move for me at the time but maybe somewhere I would be interested in for future employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, but going downhill
Internal Revenue Agent (Current Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: job security. benefits.
Cons: rising workloads.
Great job experience for accountants interested in taxation. Decent benefits, salary and vacation time.

If you believe in balancing your work with your life then this is the place for you.

The workplace is unionized, which has its benefits. Membership is not required, but it does provide an additional layer of job security.

Front line managers are decent overall and usually fairly knowledgeable. Upper management sets a tone of demanding too much. Each year the workloads get higher as workers who retire are not replaced. There's very little opportunity for promotion.

Ever since the Sequester, Tea Party scandal and the various IRS conference scandals the work environment has declined. Moral is very low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot but non hiring to replace retired employees for 3 years in a row put a strain and increase work load on everyone , therefore Exodus occu
Human Resources Specialist, Human Capital Division (Former Employee), Oakland, CAJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: good employee environment
Cons: not much room for advancement and management not committed to helping employees succeed
From the standpoint of learning a lot and was the 'Vice President of the National Treasury Employees union and later became a Labor Relations Specialist, things were good. Management as a whole was not bad but there were some who just did not care about the advancement of their employees. Therefore, the culture was not good. Non- hiring of people to replace retirees because of so-called 'budget retraints' resulting in a Massive exodus of colleagues whose work load increased two- fold. People became burnt out and left. However, it was an honor working for the Government.

I would work there again under the right circumstances but having come from the Corporate world, I was missing it and now will prefer going coming back to the Corporate world. It is nice to be well rounded by working for both the Government and the Corporate world.

1 2 3 4

Department of Treasury Salaries

Customer Service Representative
$40,000 per year