Find companies:
Department of Veterans Affairs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
561 reviews

Department of Veterans Affairs Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
EADS contractor (Former Employee), Hines, ILApril 13, 2014
Pros: government benefits
Cons: contract no renewed
A great place to work and great people to work with. Friendly environment. Worked 8-5 and punched out. A relaxed environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fulfilling job
Social Service Assistant (Former Employee), White City, ORApril 8, 2014
Loved working with the veterans. The management was something to be desired though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, great place to work
Administrative Officer (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKApril 8, 2014
Pros: serving others, benefits
I enjoyed my 20 years with the VA. I went from Secretary to Administrative Officer. I felt is a pleasure to work for the veterans who had sometimes given their all for our country. My extra curriculum with the Employee Association gave me opportunities to serve my fellow employees as well. Management at times was challenging. I learned things I probably – more... would not have like EEO investigations, how the system works, and that everyone could do well and get ahead if they wanted to. My fellow employees were great to work with even those I did not agree with. I wish I had not moved and given up my position. I am still seeking employment with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Department Secretary (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MIApril 5, 2014
Enjoyed working with veterans, however, management was not always pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty Hostile Environment
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 1, 2014
Pros: 5 weeks paid vacations for rn
Cons: hostile, dirty environment
Pros: Benefits for RNs: 5 weeks paid vacation. Thrift Saving Account matching up to 3%. Blue Cross/Shield or Kaiser, Vision & Dental.

That being said, here are the Cons: Dirty, hostile environment. Little to no support from management. Blame-game mentality, push around problems so nothing get accomplished, racist department settings that go unchecked. – more... Too many big chiefs, not enough workers. RNs do not have CNAs to help, only "helpers" so patient ratios do not have to be met. Patients are indigenous and angry, staff even angrier. Lots of computerized boxes to check, leaving very little time for patient care. High turn-around of physicians as this is a teaching hospital. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
INTERESTING
Housekeeping Aid (Former Employee), HAMPTON, VAMarch 31, 2014
Pros: government job
Cons: poor management
While working at the VA Medical Center, my average day would be cleaning critical areas and floor care, training new employees, and filling in for my supervisor when not available. I've learned various of techniques for floor, carpet, how to manage fellow employees in day to day operations, and other cleaning tasks. I worked with a diverse background – more... of employees that worked well with and some that was very challenging. The hardest part of the job is working under poor management that enabled its employees bad habits by rewarding them for lack of their efforts towards work commitments. The most enjoyable part of the job is the few that knew how to be leaders and followers. I learned from them and cherish the long friendships with them as colleagues. The patients and customers I truly enjoyed as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Place to Work
Marketing Representative (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAMarch 30, 2014
Excellent agency to work for. Work life balance is encouraged and productivity is of most important.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots to do...just focus on the vets!
Technician (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 29, 2014
Pros: benefits, foot-in-the-door to the federal system, the vets!
Cons: micro-management, lack of teamwork in some areas, hierarchy system, 30-minute lunches
Don't get me wrong: the benefits can't be beat. Once you get past your probationary period, it's really hard to get fired unless you get written up a bunch of times. It really depends on what section you work in as far as management: it's either really great or totally lacking. It would be better for the Vets if there was one standardized system department-wide, – more... for the whole country. I think there is, but you hear Vets come in saying how vastly different each VA system is. I can't tell you how many times I've seen the Vets be totally confused because they've changed something yet again (the appointment systems, construction, clinic policies, etc.). But I try to work my way around it so I can help the Vets. We really owe it to them to help them navigate an already confusing Federal structure. You really get a lesson in patience not only with the Vets, but your co-workers as well, as some of them are Vets themselves. What will really help here is a very positive attitude and to focus on keeping the Vets satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Student Ambassador (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAMarch 28, 2014
Pros: long breaks
Cons: nothing
One of the best jobs I have ever had . I learned a lot and met tons of awesome people. They are my family at CMVE. I am truly going to miss them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Program Support
Administrative Program Support (Former Employee), 179 Linden Blvd St.Albans NY 11425March 27, 2014
Pros: 30 min lunch breaks
Cons: two 15 min breaks
Worked 22 years for the Department of Veterans Affairs before
resigning. I resigned from the VA to relocate to Virginia with my husband.

Develop quarterly and yearly budgetary forecast

Provide information management report

Function as a point of contact for supplies

Welcome visitors and maintain a calm safe environment

Type 40wpm/ reports and pull – more... all informative information for staff

Complete filing and faxing needs in office

Pick up and deliver mail for my department

Effectively provides time keeping support for all social work staff – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work friendly people
Housekeeping (Current Employee), Martinsburg, WVMarch 26, 2014
Pros: talking to the vets and there family members
Cons: getting paid byweekly
I help to keep the hospital clean, There is some very nice people around you. If you have a problem there is someone there to talk to. We work as a team to get the jobs done. The hardest part of my job is washing beds after the people are relived for the hospital. I enjoy meeting all the Vets that come to the hospital for help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring, Old systems, and no Brain necessary
Financial Controller (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: pays bill
Cons: everything other than paying your bill.
If you need a coffin to work in until you retire and die, this is the perfect place for you.
If you are looking for something exciting, new, and innovative than this is definitely not the place for you.
It will pay your bills, make you lazy, and may have some parts of your brain deteriorate. But hey it will pay you bills. :-)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thankless
Pathways Contracting Trainee (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIMarch 24, 2014
Irritated end users created a very negative work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Program Support Assistant (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 24, 2014
N/A at this time, a very interesting work place, review may be publicly displayed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Communications Officer (Former Employee), Washington, DCMarch 23, 2014
Productive work environment with lots of opportunities for growth
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping Veterans,Having a good and steady workload to keep busy.
Program Support Assistant(Retired) (Former Employee), Bay Pines, FLMarch 23, 2014
Pros: having the chance to learn and work in many jobs, having a veteran or spouse telling you thank you after helping them, going home knowing i did the best job to help the veteran.
Cons: cpac, difficult veteran, management, favoritism
Helping Veterans with any 3rd Party Billing problems(Example: Making sure the Veteran was given the proper credit by his Carrier for visits or RX. Any Refunds the Veteran may have been entitled to, and other office duties. Having the chance to work for and learn from one of the best Supervisors in the VA. Worked with a good group of Co-Workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization
Medical Support Assistant (Former Employee), Greenville, SCMarch 22, 2014
Pros: great organization to progress with
Cons: no problems
One of the best companies I have ever worked for after the United States Army.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NATIONAL ACQUISTION CENTER
General Clerk III (Current Employee), Hines, ILMarch 20, 2014
Pros: contracting experience
Cons: short breaks
Prepare purchase orders and send copies to suppliers and to departments originating requests.
 Determine if inventory quantities are sufficient for needs, ordering more materials when necessary.
 Respond to customer and supplier inquiries about order status, changes, or cancellations.
 Review requisition orders in order to verify accuracy.
 Prepare, – more... maintain, and review purchasing files, reports and price lists.
 Track the status of requisitions, contracts, and orders.
 Assisting the Contracting Officer with administration support and providing clerical assistance with procurement
activities; assembling and preparing forms, clauses, or other paperwork that make up a contract file.
 Assembling all paperwork related to contracts and closing the file.
 Prepare and verifying various letters, modifications, amendments and coordinating inspections in the procurement
history of the contract.
 Maintain spreadsheets and uploading data into contract files.
 Trained other clerks in procurement work.
 Helped the contracting officers with special projects, which milestones have met the deadline. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supporting Veterans
PROGRAM SUPPORT SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Orlando, FLMarch 20, 2014
Pros: helping veterans
Cons: supervisors
worked on Veterans account performing audits.
management micro-managed
co-workers were mostly veterans
the most enjoyable part of the job was helping veterans
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was able to learn a lot about Mobile Applications
Information Technology Specialist (Current Employee), I work in a virtual environment from my homeMarch 19, 2014
The VA is pursuing a cross-platform mobile solution that will allow us to develop one version of the app and have it run on as many devices as possible, or at least on all the mainstream devices.

1 2 3 4 5