Find companies:
Department of Veterans Affairs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
561 reviews

Department of Veterans Affairs Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was using my skills and knowledge to be there for veterans
Patient Services Representative (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: tight knit professional teams with veterans first on our list
Cons: veterans in bad shape, and many without family to be there
Days in the pre-op Operating Room were most of the time good, we did have our days when we knew that the outcome may not be good, but we all had our veterans in their place and we made sure that they felt as secure as possible. I learned that these veterans were depending on us and for some reason we had one of the best veteran hospitals around. The – more... management for the most part were good and fair, many of the management team were not veterans and they seemed to be less attached to the patients as we were. But they were determined that they would have the best people in place to insure they got the best treatment possible. The hardest was watching the older veterans know that they were not going to make it and we were taught to give them the upmost respect and to let them know that we were grateful. The most enjoyable part of my job, well....when they went home in better shape than they came in. I truly loved my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Morale
Authorizing Veterans Service Representative (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: salary and benefits are adequate
Cons: employee moral
The workload is mismanaged and supporting the needs of employees is an after thought. Constantly changing direction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet workplace with minimal micromanaging
Financial Administrative Specialist (Current Employee), Lebanon, PAJanuary 31, 2014
The work can sometimes be challenging which is a plus but the communication between the departments and even with management within a department is very poor. Everyone seems to do what they want and feel it's alright because the job gets done. They lack standardization for major processes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional!
SYSTEMS ARCHITECT (Current Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: a good feeling.
Cons: austin (i-35) traffic!
Probably THE BEST group I have ever worked with. A wonderful opportunity to work at what I enjoy while giving a little back for those who have given so very much for us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at VA Medical Center
Food Service Worker (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: few hours
Deliver and retrieve meal tray to and from patient bedside while following patient safety standards. Assist in the training of new staff. Apportion food items into standard serving size. Assist management in the training and development of Dietetic Interns. Demonstrate outstanding customer service while practicing safe food handling, quality meal assembly – more... and portion control.

Learned: Various types of diets.

Management: Management was reasonable often times.

Co-workers: Were good to work with and got along well.

Hardest: Seeing a patient in bad state

Enjoyable: Playing a role in making someone's health better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for entry level federal work
Security Clerk (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: its a federal job
Cons: management wont fight for you
It was a hard adjustment working as a federal police officer and being a dispatcher at the VA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career. Government pay and benefits
Medical Clerk/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Des Moines, IAJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: government days off
Cons: no overtime
Check in veterans for their appointments, Print and file paperwork for next day clinic appointments,
Train new hire for medical clerks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced
Secretary (Current Employee), Washington, DCJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: high stress
The office that I work in, is a very stressful environment because we, as support staff, are dealing with the tedious job of handling highly secured EEO complaints submitted by Veterans Affairs employees. My co-workers are fun and have great sense of humor. We definitely believe in team work and are much like a family. I've definitely learned more about – more... how to balance and handle high levels of stress and prioritizing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admin
Program Support Clerk (Former Employee), Augusta, GAJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Worked as amdim Assistant/Supply
Worked at VA Hopistal
Supply Tech
Budget Assistant
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, worked with proficient and intelligent individuals.
Contractor-Data Entry Specialist (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: accessible parking
Cons: elevators slow and sometimes non functionable
Overall it was a learning experience and glad I had the opportunity to work in that environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for and advance
Medical Support Assistant (Former Employee), Sierra Vista, AZJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: fun and a place of much knowledge. potential for advancement
Cons: beurocracy can be an issue
Busy place to be. Learned a lot about veterans, their needs and the organization I worked for. Management was in difficult places at time depending on what service line they worked for. hardest part of the job was not being able to really assist veterans with what they needed due to ever changing policies. Most enjoyable part of my job was the veterans – more... themselves which in return made me want to do more for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Bath, NYJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: good benefits, good pay, working with veterans
Cons: very demanding job which some may not be able to keep up with
I really loved working for the VA. My typical work day was assisting veterans with activities of daily living. It was very rewarding to feel like I was giving a little back to people who served our country. The hardest part of this job was when patients would pass away. I had very caring and compassionate co workers who were there for the patients not – more... jus the paycheck. The management was also very caring and easy to work for. I learned a lot of skills working here such as doing blood sugars, wound care, tube feeding, inserting and removing catheters, and many other skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assists the engineering department and interior designers with related tasks.
Interior Design Intern (Former Employee), Chillicothe, OHJanuary 17, 2014
Assists the Interior Designers with the design of the Medical Facility. Meet with Reps to learn of the newest designs; and ordering of furniture, carpet, flooring, window coverings, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Verify patient medical and administrative information, set appointments, maintain clinical activities for veterans
Medical Support Assistant (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: veteran interaction
Cons: disorganized due to space and construction
The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with veterans and families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Support Administrator
Medical Support Administrator (Current Employee), Bradenton, FLJanuary 17, 2014
Medical Support Administrator
• Served as an integral member of a team of healthcare professionals dedicated to meeting the healthcare needs of veterans.
• Tasked with the coordination and oversight of all non-clinical services.
• Spearheaded the collection and recording of all health insurance information, including the identification of third party – more... coverage, driving consistent channels of revenue for the department.
• Cultivated positive relationships of trust with patients to encourage the comprehensive treatment of all medical conditions while safeguarding the dignity of each individual.
• Provide “World Class” customer service
Specialty and Patient Aligned Care Team Administrator
• Manages and Maintains Appointment Grids
• Supervise Clinical staff on scheduling appointments and executing doctors orders
• Coordinates Patient Care between Primary and Specialty Care and Non Veteran Affairs Providers
• Extracts and analyzes data for Reports
• Responsible for training new personnel – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emotionally rewarding work
Vocational Rehabilitation Specialist55 (Current Employee), Jamaica Plain, MAJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: good benefits, many opportunities for advancement and serving the most deserving population in the world.
Cons: budgetary constraints, process oriented, and lack of goal focus
Working in any aspect of Veterans' Services is emotionally rewarding work. To assist those who have served our country in military uniform area demographic that deserves all the assistance we as a nation can provide them (and their families) for having taken time out of their lives to stand between us and harm's way.

I have grown to learn that even – more... the most destitute of the military veteran culture is not beyond rehabilitation, redemption and are capable of bringing a unique work ethic found only through military service. Wounds of war are visible, hidden, or at times both. It is equally true that the military members family members endure great sacrifice in the absence of their serving loved one(s)l

Being a veteran's service professional gives me pride and self esteem that cannot be found in any other profession. As an Air Force veteran myself, it gives me great emotional reward to help my brother and sister veteran any assistance I can provide, no matter how small or large the request. I consider it an honor to help those who have served in defense of these United States in this grand experiment we call democracy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn
Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) (Former Employee), Johnson City TnJanuary 16, 2014
a typical day would start out with baths and showers of patients
then roll right into feeding. then you might partake in a learning experience from a vendor or resident
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Counsel Veterans
Legal Administrative Specialist (Current Employee), Saint Louis, MOJanuary 15, 2014
I am responsible for counseling veterans, their dependents, beneficiaries, and advocates regarding a full range of benefits and all related programs available through the Department of Veterans Affairs. I assist them in exploring avenues of assistance available to them in their specific situations and take positive action to encourage individuals to – more... fully utilize their benefits. I explain and generate many different documents necessary to facilitate the timely processing of their benefits, including claims and appeals. I provide guidance and assistance in obtaining and completing such documents in accordance with the specified benefit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No other information available
Human Resources Specialist (Current Employee), Durham, NCJanuary 15, 2014
No other information available, great place to work, atmosphere pleasant
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoying relationships with veterans
Caregiver (Current Employee), Durham, NCJanuary 14, 2014
Taking veterans to and from doctors appointments
Meeting different caregivers
Learning about the Veterans system