Find companies:
Department of Veterans Affairs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
566 reviews

Department of Veterans Affairs Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emotionally rewarding work
Vocational Rehabilitation Specialist55 (Current Employee), Jamaica Plain, MAJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: good benefits, many opportunities for advancement and serving the most deserving population in the world.
Cons: budgetary constraints, process oriented, and lack of goal focus
Working in any aspect of Veterans' Services is emotionally rewarding work. To assist those who have served our country in military uniform area demographic that deserves all the assistance we as a nation can provide them (and their families) for having taken time out of their lives to stand between us and harm's way.

I have grown to learn that even – more... the most destitute of the military veteran culture is not beyond rehabilitation, redemption and are capable of bringing a unique work ethic found only through military service. Wounds of war are visible, hidden, or at times both. It is equally true that the military members family members endure great sacrifice in the absence of their serving loved one(s)l

Being a veteran's service professional gives me pride and self esteem that cannot be found in any other profession. As an Air Force veteran myself, it gives me great emotional reward to help my brother and sister veteran any assistance I can provide, no matter how small or large the request. I consider it an honor to help those who have served in defense of these United States in this grand experiment we call democracy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn
Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) (Former Employee), Johnson City TnJanuary 16, 2014
a typical day would start out with baths and showers of patients
then roll right into feeding. then you might partake in a learning experience from a vendor or resident
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Counsel Veterans
Legal Administrative Specialist (Current Employee), Saint Louis, MOJanuary 15, 2014
I am responsible for counseling veterans, their dependents, beneficiaries, and advocates regarding a full range of benefits and all related programs available through the Department of Veterans Affairs. I assist them in exploring avenues of assistance available to them in their specific situations and take positive action to encourage individuals to – more... fully utilize their benefits. I explain and generate many different documents necessary to facilitate the timely processing of their benefits, including claims and appeals. I provide guidance and assistance in obtaining and completing such documents in accordance with the specified benefit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No other information available
Human Resources Specialist (Current Employee), Durham, NCJanuary 15, 2014
No other information available, great place to work, atmosphere pleasant
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoying relationships with veterans
Caregiver (Current Employee), Durham, NCJanuary 14, 2014
Taking veterans to and from doctors appointments
Meeting different caregivers
Learning about the Veterans system
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
travel assistant (Former Employee), gainesville flJanuary 14, 2014
A typical day consisted of processing travel vouchers, the hardest part of the job was the system would lag out and slow production down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere to work in.
Volunteer Work (Current Employee), Newington, CTJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: meeting and talking with veterans that served their time before i was born.
Friendly and busy place where all veterans are treated with the utmost respect and the help is right there for them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On task work place for the VET
Housekeeping Aid (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAJanuary 9, 2014
I would check in with my boss to let him know I was at work and on time. I would then be tasked out to a floor at the hospital as they needed. I worked with no supervision maintaining my floor at all times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Veterans Service Representative (Former Employee), Lincoln, NEJanuary 9, 2014
Typical day at work was busy when you get there until the end of the day. Learned to prioritize workload like a pro. Excellent people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job helping those with PTSD sttemp to find help
Native Veteran Outreach Counselor (Contractor) (Former Employee), nORTHWESTERN mONTANAJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: work independently, and i enjoyed helping native combat veterans thaty nobody else could contact.
Cons: three year contract ended early due to federal budgert cuts.
I was a private contractor for the VA providing outreach to OEF/OIF Native American Combat Veterans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challeging Workplace
Case Manager (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKDecember 31, 2013
Pros: serving veterans
Cons: rigid staff
A typical day at work was talking to Veterans and helping them get the healthcare benefits they served to be granted. I learned how hard it is for Veterans to get help... Co-workers at the VA are typical governmant workers, rarely go the extra mile. The hardest part of the job was the lack of empathy towards veterans by some of the staff. The most enjoyable – more... part of job was getting Veterans the monetary benefits initiated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work -while creating a satisfying career
VETERANS SERVICES REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 29, 2013
As shown about by the "starred" rating: overall, a positive and challenging work environment -
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and non micro management environment
Accounting Technician (Current Employee), Smyrna, TNDecember 28, 2013
A typical day at work consists of management of the assigned stations and the work necessary to complete for each. I have learned that time management and organization allows the daily task to be completed accurately and timely. I am not micro managed, and this allows me to make important decisions to complete my job. The hardest part of my job is that – more... I have to adjust my personal style to communicate with others that are contributing to the completion of my work. If their work ethic is not similar, then it essential to find a manner to encourage them to complete their reports so that I am able to complete mine. I love that my job allows me to help Veterans that sacrificed so much for me and my freedom. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, job security
LPN-Long Term Care SCI (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHDecember 26, 2013
Benefits are good. Job security. Scheduling can be rough (working 12 weekends in a row/every holiday/rotating shifts...sometimes 3 different shifts a week.)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Work Environment with Challenging Limitations
Clinical Social Worker - ER (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXDecember 26, 2013
I have had the good fortune of working as a part of a strong, family-like ER mental health team and as a teaching institution everyday offers new learning opportunities. Work days can often be repetitious with limited variety in population demographics compounded by a significant amount of paperwork that is also often redundant and minimizes direct – more... patient contact. Opportunities do exist for expanded endeavors within the system outside of the assigned clinic but bureaucratic structuring inhibits opportunities for advancement and ideas for program improvement and developments. The hardest parts of the job are the expectations of upper management to satiate 'all' needs of the client population even if this involves enabling and limiting self-determination, as well as having limited access to needed resources in order to meet many of the patients' psychosocial needs. Fortunately, working as part of a solid mental health team promotes intellectual stimulation and motivation in an environment where staff are notorious for shirking responsibilities and performing at the lowest necessary standard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy serving the Veterans.
Medical Support Assistant (Current Employee), Lexington, KYDecember 19, 2013
A good, stable job. I enjoy serving the Veterans.
Hours are 0730 - 1600. Job is primarily at desk.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Health Technician (Current Employee), houston,txDecember 19, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Everyday you working with a veteran in turns which is a hero to the nations. Which makes the job rewarding even more rewarding because I feel like i can show my appreciation by providing them with the best service!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work. can be stress ful at times but everyone works together to get the work done.
LPN (Former Employee), Bronx, NYDecember 18, 2013
Pros: over time having the ability to work in other areas of the hospital as can be seen on my resume
Cons: very often can miss your breaks and / orlunch break. so busy!
a typical day at work was very busy and started earlier than expected because the Veterans were eager to get to their appointments early. Most of them had multiple clinic appointments. They kept us on our toes. The Job required us to be very patient. and to make changes and adjustments at a moments notice. I took pride in serving the Veterans, and understanding – more... the importance of giving back to them because of their great sacrifice in serving our country. It was a unique opportunity to serve them and learn to understand what they go through being soldiers, now in civilian life, dealing with multiple ailments yet maintaining their pride of having served this country. I had unique opportunities to work in critical care areas and learn specialized skills as a LPN that I otherwise would not have had. Having worked there for 15 years I've seen various changes in management. The most recent one being the most disciplined in their attempt to decrease veteran complaints and non-compliant workers. their focus was to change the culture of the staff. Nursing managers were removed and replaced with non-nursing. that was somewhat of a stressful process because it left many hard feelings leaving the rest of the staff in the middle. this made us focus more on the job at hand and to do all we could to work together and make the veterans as comfortable as possible and assist them through that whole process without being affected too much. the hardest part of the job in my view is dealing with the patients that were hard to please particularly those with PTSD. however compassion never fails. The most enjoyable part of the job is during special events and performances within the facility we were always encouraged to participate. The Veterans hospital has many events to entertain the veteran population and we, the employees were always made to feel like we were apart of the whole Veterans Administration Family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Very Rewarding Career in which i not only got to use my skills,but i could talk to the retired veterans and listen to them and their stories about w
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Lubbock, TXDecember 18, 2013
Pros: it was a union base company
A Typical day at work would start out with me signing in.Then Stocking Housekeeping carts for all the different units. Mopping the Hallways as well as the main stairs.then going to the unit to clean the residents rooms.Management I learned how to hold staff meetings as well as work with team morale and build the team up.Most Enjoyable part of the job – more... was the inventory duties when we orded supplies – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Clerk (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLDecember 17, 2013
Pros: love to work
Cons: don't like favoritism
Work hard, always put my job first. Never been a slacker and always on point. Never had any complaints about my work.