Find companies:
Department of the Interior
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
126 reviews

Department of the Interior Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work Great people Poor area.
Petroleum Geologist (Former Employee), Carlsbad, NMApril 10, 2014
Pros: position, people
Cons: pay and area
I loved the job and the people were helpful and good to work with, The problem was the pay. The area was very high COL and very hard to make ends meet
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culutral Resource
Cultural Resource Volunteer (Former Employee), Kelso, CAApril 4, 2014
Spent summer working with archaeologists to investigate various sites for compliance projects prior to testing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SAME
Department of interior (Former Employee), Washington, DCMarch 26, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: two hour breaks
THE JOB WAS ALL ABOUT HARD WORD, AND NO SLACKING AROUND. THE HARDEST PART OF THE JOB WAS CUTTING THE WOOD, AND LIFTING IT. THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF THE JOB WAS BREAK TIME.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
beautiful place
maintanence (Former Employee), bayfield, wiMarch 22, 2014
get place to work, but management doesn't care about seasonal workers, never know if your getting hired back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
peacefull place to work
Museum Technician (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 11, 2014
Pros: free transportation
Cons: only for management
A great company to work for. Everyday is something new to learn about preserving antiques. Meeting different people from all over the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
description
Project Biologist (Contractor) (Former Employee), Homestead, FLMarch 10, 2014
Produce species-habitat relationship matrices of vertebrates of South Florida and developed habitat suitability indices (HSI) for selected species sensitive to hydrologic changes. Resulting products were used in a GIS-based decision support tool to model and evaluate biological responses to changes in Everglades hydrology resulting from engineering – more... projects conducted by the South Florida Water Management District and the US Army Corp of Engineers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very family oriented work environment
Social Services Intern (Former Employee), Anadarko, OKFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: great benefits and work environment.
Cons: when the government has budget cuts, the department is hit hard.
the hours for work are really good. you will get every other Friday off. the compensation is good and the benefits are great. the work environment is very laid back and has a family atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful place, government workers ugly
Vsa (Former Employee), Yosemite, CaFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: beautiful place
Cons: . work place gossip is the worst. no pay raise except cost of living. management will lie, cheat, not follow policy. you must be willing to over look illegal activity
It would be a great place to work if the permanent employee didn't act so entitled to their jobs. They would not make it in the real world nor would they have a job. Hours are long, boring, irregular and a lot of exhaust fumes. Rule and regulations change from week to week. No advancement, bad management , and no job security at all. Seasonal employees – more... have no rights what so ever. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good summer job for a college student
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), Eminence, MOFebruary 5, 2014
I was only a seasonal worker during my college summers. It was good money for a college student but hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most amazing job ever!
Interpretive Ranger (Former Employee), CAJanuary 30, 2014
Working in the Loomis Museum in Lassen Volcanic National Park. Providing Interpretive talks to park visitors, 45-60 minutes in length. Sharing my knowledge of local history, flora, and fauna with park guests. I learned a great deal every day. Excellent management staff and co-workers. There was nothing difficult about my job here. Everything about this – more... job was enjoyable! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, ok pay
Range Technician (Former Employee), Orangevale, CAJanuary 27, 2014
Get an OK amount of money for almost way too much work. The people I worked with were great though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team with a historical culture
Park Medic Lake Mead NRA (Former Employee), Boulder City, NVJanuary 24, 2014
The men and women here at NPS are as dedicated to excellence as any I have known in the U.S. Marines/Navy and Customs and Border Patrol.
I was responding to all manner of trauma and medical emergencies. Night calls would include motor vehicle collisions or water searches.
Far too many people underestimate the Lake's dangers, the reason we stand ready.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a dream job. I absolutely love the empowerment of being my own boss!
Geologist (Current Employee), Carlsbad, NMJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: family friendly environment, work hours, diversity in work (no two days the same)
Cons: compensation, no performance-based incentives, lack of opportunity to advance
A typical day at work is not typical. Every day is different and I learned something new everyday.
The cubicle environment is a little stressful when working on important documents because of noise level.
Passionate co-workers make the job an exciting place to work when everyone is on the same page.
The hardest part of the job was trying to make all – more... parties happy. I understood the operator's and public's concern regarding decisions that weren't always accepted.
I love working with industry and being apart of the future of development. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, tough, great work environment to learn work ethic.
SEASONAL CREW MEMBER (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: awesome pay.
Cons: there was none.
Doing physical training was awesome, just stayed in shape for the fires. 16 hour days for two weeks was a full tour. Learned to count on your crew to be doing their job correctly and you as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comment
Administrative Support Assistant, GS (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: stability
Cons: non-productive
I learned working for the Government that Management drives everything. People are promoted base on who they know and not what they do. The quality of work is not important as long as you show up everyday. The hardest part of the job is dealing with incompetent managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good outside job
District Field Assistant (Former Employee), Klamath Falls, OregonJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: doing my first love
Cons: low pay
I did predator control for cattle and sheep industry. Trapping coyote doing damage
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Workplace
Park Ranger Guide (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 9, 2014
A regular day at work will consist of analyzing future problems that might occur on the job and implementing those ideas later at work. I learned how to respond to task as they are given. The management of the company are always on top of things making sure that everything is implemented the correct way within the workplace and on the job. My co-workers – more... looked to me for help when they are handling difficult task. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job variety in a picturesque setting. Pride in the workplace.
Maintenance Worker / Carpenter (Current Employee), Empire, MIJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: the work itself, the setting, the skill and dedication of other employee, sense of accomplishment, good hourly wage, generally steady work.
Cons: limited work season, no benefits, depending upon division - no advancment opportunities, occasional upper management dissconnect.
Every day is different. There is a great deal of flexibility in how one goes about accomplishing a days tasks. Problems unique to each task with the variables in location, time, and setting frequently call for problem solving. On the job training is a constant. We are responsible for National treasures and that idea permeates all employees and each – more... day. The setting is exquisite. There is good comradarie within and among the crews and a general sense of accomplishment with the completion of each task. The job breeds dedication.The interaction with the public is positive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help protect your public lands
Supervisory Range Technician- Wildland Fire (Current Employee), Idaho Falls, IDJanuary 3, 2014
Help protect your public lands. Learn leadership skills and a never ending intrigue for the lands that you recreate in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Inspector (Current Employee), GOMDecember 30, 2013
Very busy but very worthwhile. Includes; inspecting, auditing, investigating, reviewing records, general walk arounds, and interacting with rig management and the crews.

1 2 3 4 5

Department of the Interior Photos