Find companies:
Department of the Interior
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
166 reviews

Department of the Interior Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging.
Maintenace Technician/Diver (Former Employee), Page, AZNovember 12, 2014
Work was rewarding! Most operations involved either keeping visitors safe or keeping the Underwater Recovery Unit Team safe. The environment proved challenging with temperature extremes but that provided an opportunity for visitor interaction and education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, pleasant environment, team work
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), Kosciusko, MSNovember 2, 2014
Pros: working with great people, doing a job i enjoyed
Cons: no benefits and the fact that the job was a seasonal position
While working for the Natchez Trace Parkway, I performed weed eating around road signs, islands and trees. I also mowed intersections and parkways, as well as maintained comfort stations and removed debris from roadside.
I learned proper procedure for logging in my work time and preventative maintenance procedures on equipment.
My supervisors were helpful, – more... courteous, and respectful in their day-to-day instructions. I always felt I could go to them with any work-related problems.
My co-workers were always likable and courteous as well as easy to work with as a team.
The hardest part of my job was the heat of the day.
The most enjoyable part of my job was the sense of accomplishment from doing a job well and working with such great people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid work staff and job
Fire Monitoring Technician/Wildland Firefighter (Former Employee), Burns, OROctober 27, 2014
It was a fun place to work. Knowledgeable staff and you got to be outside doing fun science.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great seasonal job. Great training.
Dispatcher/Telephone Operator (Former Employee), Brecksville, OH (Cuyahoga Valley, NRA)October 13, 2014
The fulltime staff take their time to train you right. Co-workers were very nice. Fast paced. Great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
BLM intern (Former Employee), Gunnison, COOctober 2, 2014
Pros: working outside and around great people
I loved working for this company. I always felt welcome, and always felt like part of the time. The company cared very much about their employees and they took very good care of me.
The people there were fun and a joy to be around.

Having the opportunity to work outside and away from a desk made this job even better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult Environment
Special Agent (Current Employee), Albuquerque, NMOctober 1, 2014
Difficult environment to work in due to senior management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Park Rangers
Park Ranger (L.E.) (Former Employee), Sandy Hook, NJSeptember 29, 2014
Perform police functions as well as conservation officer duties such as enforcing fishing regulations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Hot in the summer but 8 the other months are great.
Plumbing Department Lead (Current Employee), Death Valley CaSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: great equipment to work with
Cons: the summers are hot
Its the federal government so there is a ton of paperwork for the smallest things. But they spend a lot of money training you in a wide area of subjects. living inside a National Park is great and the work is always changing.You never get bored.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful experience for college students
Office Automation Clerk 0399-GS-3 level (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: close to parks and a gym
Cons: not being a permanent job
A typical day at work consisted of preparing coffee, checking emails, and prepare travel vouchers for upcoming courses. I learned about hotel invoices and how to manage a company's calendar. My previous co-workers were eager to always help. The hardest part of working here were that I was the youngest one employed. The most enjoyable part of the job – more... were the EEO training's and parties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Supervisor - Nancy Sager (Former Employee), elkton vaSeptember 17, 2014
outdoors work, seasonal, cash handeling , giving directions, visitor contact
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you love the outdoors and am committed to public service
US Park Ranger - Law Enforcement (Current Employee), Thurmont, MDSeptember 13, 2014
Great co-workers, great locations, not so great salary & benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace that allows for enjoyment of the summer
Laborer (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: environment and atmosphere. shift hours
Cons: short breaks. start time
A summer job in a national park. Teaches you a great deal about team work, responsibility and time management. Many tasks relied on team work and coming up with the most efficient strategy to get the job done in the quickest and easiest way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to learn government accoutning
Accounting Clerk/Auditor (Former Employee), Lakewood, COSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: great people.
Cons: no water available in working area.
During my time at the Bureau of Land Management I was afforded the opportunity to learn the delicacies of governmental accounting. The vast majority of the staff I worked with were extremely helpful in helping me grow as an accounting clerk/auditor. One of the things I enjoyed the most about the position was reviewing all the expense claims that were – more... submitted, and verifying the legitimacy of said claims. Upon verification I would submit the claims for payment. The most difficult aspect of the position was learning all the different federal regulations that restricted the travel of BLM employees. As different sections fo the division had different policies that they had to adhere to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work only temporary though.
Laborer(seasonal) (Current Employee), staten island, nySeptember 8, 2014
This is a cool job. Everyone is nice and it is a good work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfying and Humbling
Intern (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHSeptember 8, 2014
Assumed role as a design assistant and conducted conceptual design, space planning, design presentation and material development: sketches renderings and models.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Expanded Dispatcher Recorder (Former Employee), Carson City, NVSeptember 4, 2014
I love working in a fast paced environment that involves helping out emergency situations like wildland fire.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very versatile work environment
Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee), Boise, IDSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: stable
Cons: pay scale and advancement potential
Contracting Officer Representative
Space Planner
Construction and remodeling
plumbing
HVAC
Basic Electrical
Carpentry
Steel/aluminum fabrication
Heavy Equipment Operator
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working conditions, varied assignments and good interpersonal cooperation
Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee), national sea shore wellfleet maSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: abilty to trouble shooting and problem solveing
Cons: two hr. travel morning and evening
starts with a safety meeting/work assignments
various aspects of working for nps
pretty fair as long as communication stays open
couldn't ask for better
two hr. travel morning and evening
leading
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Legal Staff Assistant (Current Employee), washington, dcAugust 28, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
I have learned a lot about Indian gaming and the culture of the Indians.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money, stable
Land Law Examiner (Current Employee), Reno, NVAugust 5, 2014
Great place but very political. Not many job openings. Would recommend it.

1 2 3 4 5

Department of the Interior Photos