Find companies:
Dept of Education
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Dept of Education Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Washoe County, NV & St Lucie County, FLDecember 11, 2013
N/A. This is no further review necessary at this time.

Typical day at work
What I learned
Management
Co-Workers
Hardest part of job
Most Enjoyable part of job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive exciting ,fun
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 8, 2013
Pros: learn new skills
Cons: the pay
The board of Education is a wonderful place to work the teachers are wonderful and being around educators makes you always want to learn and better yourself and be an example for others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Newark, NJDecember 19, 2012
Pros: love working with children
Cons: none that i found
Work with students
How to manage my time,
I managed y day
Not have the answers to some problems
Going home without incident
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun,
Science Teacher (Current Employee), Abuanan Elem. School, Bago CityJune 8, 2012
Pros: field trips
Cons: no financial assistance given to pupils who go with the teacher on trainings
A smile everyday, every hour and every minute.Learned to be patient, fair, firm and open minded. There are schoolheads that are easy to get along with. Just be submissive and optimistic. My co-teachers are all unique. They're my critics. The hardest part in teaching is on how to discipline children from all walks of life. What i like most of being a – more... science teacher is going to trainings with my pupils, we're able to explore new places, the environment, enjoy while learning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and chatting during break time
Educator (Current Employee), Rustenburg, NWJune 30, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: long hours in a meeting with management and parents.
I am a hard worker, where i was working i never had what we call free lessons or leisure time because of the amount of work, i am good and produce when i work under pressure, presently where i am working more relaxation time, and when you have more relaxation you don't work that much. The management at my present work need work done and on time because – more... i have lot of free time its not a challenge compare to where i am coming from.My co-workers are friendly, they don't keep grudges for each other, we are a team.When there is lot of marking like during examinations. When i have lunch with my co-workers and chat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable.challenging, learned a lot of new things
Elementary Grade Teacher (Former Employee), PhilippinesMay 30, 2014
It's a good place for me to work, walking distance and able to see my kids while i'm school. Learned to be strict in implementing rules in order the pupils to follow and behave at school. W/ a good relationship w/ co- teachers, we shared different ideas when it comes to teaching and new things that we need to learn, and sometimes family matters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Administration Coordinator (Former Employee), Sydney, NSWMay 27, 2014
I found that working for the NSW department of education was great environment to work and learn from. There was so many different skills and roles on display to enquire and soak up creativity from. I would have like to have stayed but decided to come back to England and give London a good go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable though challenging due to systemic shortfalls and beareaucracy
Deputy Chief Education Specialist (Current Employee), ECMarch 16, 2014
Pros: exposure to different people, their attitudes. driving across the entire province without any confinement in terms of operations
Cons: working very long hours that are unpaid.
Exciting days but challenging at the same time. Humanitarian, accountability and flexibility but not compromising on the key deliverables are some of the important lessons learnt so far.
With full support one enjoys from the manangement nothing is insurmountable that coupled with the very competent and supportive co workers.
Due to high level of support – more... one receives from both management and colleagues, there is nothing very difficult especially because I enjoy challenge in life. . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE
STATE ACCOUNTANT (Current Employee), Mmabatho, NWOctober 9, 2013
I ENJOY WORKING FOR THE DEPT OF EDUCATION ,I FIND THE WORK CHALLENGING AS IS A PROVINCIAL DEPT AND I'M USED TO NATIONAL DEPARTMENTS. I'M USED TO SMALL OFFICES HERE WE ARE WORKING FOR THE WHOLE PROVINCE.

WHAT I REALISED ABOUT THE MANAGEMENT HERE IS THAT YOU WILL FIND PEOPLE WITHOUT RELEVENT QUALIFICATION ON TOP POSITION IT IS DISCOURAGING.

PEOPLE ARE – more... DIFFERENT SOME ARE FRIENDLY AND OTHERS ARE DIFFICULT TO EXPLAIN,BUT AS LONG AS YOU KNOW THAT YOU ARE HERE TO RENDERED SERVICE AND SERVE THE COMMUNITY I THINK THATS ALL MATTERS.

WHAT I HATE ABOUT MY JOB IS WHEN WE ARE SHORT STAFFED AND UNABLE TO ASSIST OUR CLIENTS ON TIME BACAUSE OF THE HIGH VOLUME OF WORK.

DECEMBER TIME WHEN WE ARE CLOSING,WHERE I COME FROM WE DON'T CLOSE DURING FESTIVE SEASON. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working conditions
Admin Clerk (Current Employee), Nelspruit, MPOctober 1, 2013
Pros: yes
Cons: average working hours 8 a day mon-fri
- Work load is normally heavy during exams
- I have actually learnt a few, instead I have taught them something
- Management style is Autocrat
- My co-workers are good hand in glove
- Harders part of the job is exam time where I am expected to punch in marks for schedule to print progress reports, at the same time I have to perform my general admin – more... duties
- The most enjoyable part of the job is that I close 4 times a year and I don't work during weekends and public holidays – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Dept Short Term Employment
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee), St. John's, NLJuly 27, 2013
Pros: great place to work
Cons: not many jobs in the government
It would have been a great permanent job however the Provincial Government has so few of them.

I was hired as temporary relief to enter Student Loan Applications in the system for the fall semester for University students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting place
CS1 Educator (Current Employee), Bushbuckridge, MpumalangaMay 9, 2013
Pros: school holidays
Cons: few opportunities to display innovation
My day starts at 07h15 AM and ends at 16h00 PM filled with productive interactions between myself, learners, colleagues and community members. In the past five years in Bushbuckridge I have learnt the local language, cultural values and ethics and managed to impart these into my day to day living. I have very supportive co -workers who reciprocally – more... appreciate my and their weaknesses and strengths as learning opportunities to build our capacity and person. The hardest part of my current job is it offers no more challenges since you repeat similar things every year. The most exciting part is the humanitarian aspect of empowering learners through better education to increase their opportunities in life – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i am teaching grade 7,8,9,11 & 12
accounting teacher (Current Employee), mpumalangaMarch 7, 2013
Pros: no break
Cons: long hours, too much periods
the grades are too much for me,but all in all ,i enjoy & i am best in what i do,i achieved 70% in accounting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ITS FUN TO WORK WITH LEARNERS
EDUCATOR (Current Employee), UMZIMKULUMarch 2, 2013
IT IS CHALLENGING TO WORK IN THIS DEPARTMENT.I AM ENJOYING TO WORK WITH LEARNERS AND TO LISTEN TO THEIR STORIES.THE HARDEST PART ARE THE CHANGES THAT OCCUR IN THIS DEPT.I LEARNED THAT TEAMWORK IS VERY IMPORTANT AND MANAGEMENT IS RELIABLE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and goal driven
HR Personnel Pratitioner (Former Employee), Pretoria, GautengDecember 26, 2012
Cons: long unpaid hours
* There are many challenges in one day
* To be multi-skilled
* Management is good but they can change your hard work at the eleventh hour
* We work and communicate well with each other
when it is too much for you to handle and expected to meet deadlines
* It is the challenges the job comes with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ENGAGE LEANERS IN RELEVANT SUBJECT MATTER
EDUCATOR (Former Employee), MOUNT FRERE HIGHNovember 9, 2012
Pros: many school holidays
Cons: to work with people who are not co operative
TYPICAL DAY AT WORK INVOLVE LEARNERS
LEARNED MANAGEMENT OF LEARNERS AND SCHOOL MANAGEMENT MY CO WORKERS IS CULTURE OF FAMILY ENVIRONMENT .HARDEST PART OF THE JOB IS TO HAVE DIFFICULT INDIVIDUAL CHARACTERS WHO ARE NOT ABLE TO WORK AS A TEAM .MOST ENJOYABLE PART IS TO BE ENGAGED WITH LEARNERS ON THE SUBJECT MATTER
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It a fun and a productive job to do.
Educator (Current Employee), Kwazulu-natal : NdwedweOctober 30, 2012
Pros: many holidays
Cons: long extra hours
It is sometime stressful as we have to deal with different kinds of children who comes from different backgrounds but other than that everything is good. my co-workers are very supportive so is my management. I enjoy being in class, teaching while making examples that makes the kids laugh,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace not fun anymore
Facilitator / Trainer (Current Employee), GautengOctober 25, 2012
Pros: holidays
Cons: dealing with unruly learners and parents who dont support their children in class
Start a day at the assembly with learners and Colleagues,look into the day's time table and attend to the subjects as required in the classroom.

After classroom attendance I hold meetings with different stakeholders once in a week to check the progress of learners in different classes,Monitor educators work and manage records they are submitting.Once – more... in a month we look into our budgets and write our financial reports for the phase.I do training on new concept and curicular matters once in three months.The hardest part of my job is dealing with learners who are not behaving and parents who are not committed to their children's schooling – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoying with learners
educator (Current Employee), eastern capeSeptember 29, 2012
Pros: can take of my lunches
Cons: can work long and unsual hours and weekends with no complaints.
I can work well in a team, and need minimal or no supervision. I also have a good eye for detail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General its good place to work in,but motivation lacks
Senior Education Specialist:Labour relations (Current Employee), PretoriaAugust 2, 2012
Pros: minimum interference in work
Cons: idleness due to non reporting of misconduct by supervisors
Prepare submissions for hearings
In Labour Relations we always learn because of uniqueness of each case
Management id good and helpful
Co-workers very helpful
Sometimes its difficult to get information impacting on your work
The unpredictability of my work