Find companies:
Dept of Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Dept of Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Neonatal Fellow (Current Employee), Perth, WASeptember 16, 2014
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: very busy ( 110 bedded nicu with 90% occupancy all the time )
A typical day would be start with Ward rounds seeing after sickest premature neonates. Followed by a morning tea where as team Consultants, Fellows, Registrars would share their individual thoughts on cases, causing a healthy clinical debate. Afternoon will be fun full procedures and counselling for family members. Simultaneous one would also attend – more... the high risk follow up OPDs. Managing neonates was fun as all coworkers and expertise were available for any opinion. Thus overall the experience here been good and fruitful . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but not Fullfiling
Call Centre Attendant (Current Employee), Mafikeng, NWSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: helping distressed community members and operating an efficient call centre
Cons: low pay
TYPICAL DAY AT WORK - Call Centre Attendant, 4 days, 12 hour shift and 4 days off - operating call centre administration services for the North West Dept oh Health Emergency Services; Liaison with Traffic/Community Safety and Policing Departments.

WHAT HAVE U LEARNED - Operating and managing a call centre

MANAGEMENT - Lack of Coordinating resources – more... by management in smooth running of the call centre.

No career advancement and further training.

HARDEST PART OF THE JOB - ABSENTEEISM by fellow colleagues and management rampant which has negative impact on day to day operations of call centre services

Most Enjoyable Part - 4 days off allows one to recuperate and handle personal/family matters unhindered and productive at work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place/dept. to work in
nursing (Current Employee), Eshowe, ZNAugust 11, 2014
Pros: well in other departments they dont get the privilage of one hour lunch but we do
Cons: though there are long working hour but it is manageable
dept. of health are congested so sometimes we work long hours but workable
Ive learnt that it is very important to keep clients satisfied and happy
If you are friendly you hardly feel that youhave worked for quit long hours
The hardest part of the job is when you have to convienve a very difficult patient
It is very nice and enjeyable to work for health – more... dept because of inservices trainings and support of medical practitioners – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Administrative Clerk (Current Employee), Lydenburg, MPAugust 7, 2014
Pros: new learning experiences
Cons: to many patient files to capture
I enjoy working here because I learn new things everyday. I like being able to be of service to other people that is the most enjoyable. the hardest part is when I feel tired and are unable to focus
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Central Support Administrator
Central Support Officer (Former Employee), LeedsJuly 4, 2014
Pros: always busy
This was a Temporary position within the Dept of Health Estates and facilities team; I mainly supported the ProCure21+ Team in a Project Coordinator capacity arranging training and corporate events, booking Trainers and Speakers, rooms, hotels, catering, computer and recording equipment, my largest being an Industry Bidders day event for 250 people – more... at the Queens Hotel. I would maintain meeting records, take minutes, complete action plans, working closely with the PMO (Project Management Office). I have also written articles for ProCure21+ case study handouts and Construction Magazine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive with training involved
Procurement Officer (Current Employee), East London, ECMay 6, 2014
With training in new systems that are being introduced, that will have positive service delivery
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not challenging workplace
Occupational Health and Safety Officer (Current Employee), Durban, ZNApril 11, 2014
Pros: less likely to be retrenched no matter what happens with the economy
Cons: funding
I have worked for Dept. of health for the past 3.5 years and 1 year in my present hospital.
A typical day would be spent in the office (the hospital is quiet small), therefore work is minimal.
The day will consist of me investigating any incidents that may have been reported. Conduct inspections and Risk assessment, OHS trainings for employees and outsourced – more... contractors.
I'm also responsible for Disaster management- conduct fire drills for all components.

All in all, as much as the hospital is small, I have to make it exciting for myself. I have to find challenges that will keep me going.

I enjoy conducting training as we often work as teams. This gives me a chance to spread the knowledge to others.

The biggest challenge we have at the moment is the restricted funding. We are unable to start or create any projects as a result of this. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a fun institution to learn
ENROLLED NURSE (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPMarch 25, 2014
Pros: free gifts from sponsors
Cons: shortage of staaf and work overload
A day which is productive and always a good enviroment for learning, the management part is still battling, the hardest part is trying inseting a port needle on a restless noisy baby
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working enviroment
Senior Admin Clerk Gr II (Current Employee), Delareyville, NWMarch 24, 2014
Pros: the total overall experience
Every day at Tswaing Sub District, Dept of Health, are a new learning experiance. The management are professional and helpfull. All co-workers are simpathetic towards each other and enthusiastic. The hardest part of the job is to show empathy and be aware of the simpathy trap. The most enjoyable part of my job is comming to work at Tswaing Sub District!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Senior Supply Chain Practioner (Current Employee), Mmabatho, NWMarch 19, 2014
Cons: long hours
a busy day with lot of job to be done
co workers were friendly
training was provided
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rigid and there is no skills development
OPERATIONAL MANAGER NURSING (Current Employee), Bloemfontein, FSMarch 6, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short hours
I am managing a ward with bed capacity of 30. It is difficult since there are no human resources. The ratio is not balanced at all. I learned how to develop skills mix plan how to implement even though management is not adhering thereto. I was most of the time acting in a higher post and therefore learned how to manage a section of 17 wards, with 450 – more... service users and 200 personnel. Management is resistant to change. Most of the time their practice is still according to all rules. My co-workers are people that have been in the institution for long and believe that things are not to change.

Brining some changes into working situation is the hardest part of my job since people working with me do not believe in that. Implementation of new things is very difficult since people are too much rigid and resistant.

I like teaching most of the time. I always give inservice trainings and enjoy teaching personnel about our policies and acts that are guiding us on daily basis. I also like developing new template wherever there is a need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Clinical Nurse Practitioner (Current Employee), George, WCJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: free coffee tea milk and sugar
Cons: long hours, no overtime payments, no acknowledgement for service
a Typical day at work is work without lunch time. work late without overtime benefits.
What I' v learned is to fight for myself
Management is poor and not very supportive to the employers.
Co-workers is supportive and sympathetic to each other. We all in the same boat.
Hardest part of the job is to not get support from management and infra structure – more... and resources.
Most enjoyable part is to treat clients that is really sick and in need of help and see them come back and say thank you and appreciate what you have done for them. Sometimes if yo have just listen to them and gave advice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have rated this company this way only because of the managers employed in rural settings, which is where i was working.
Pharmacist (Former Employee), Mogwase, NWJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: overtime pay, workshops updating us on new conditions and drugs.
Cons: lack of pharmacists.
The official start was 8.00 am. But i would most of the time start before this time because then i would be able to do my administrative work. or stay after 4.30 pm and do this. i learnt a lot. the most important lesson was that i should put my patients first. by so doing i always managed to get the patients their medicines on time and i derived job – more... satisfaction from this. Some of my managers were good. In a suttle way they gave me the confidence to be innovative and not shy away from challenges.Most of the time my coworkers were my assistants who were not pharmacists and i had to train them to attain some degree of professionalism. That is why they never had it tough once formal training was started. This became a bit easy once the Community Service for pharmacists was introduced. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive learning enviroment
Nurse manager (Current Employee), Potgietersrus, LPOctober 30, 2013
Pros: attending sessions with other colleques in order to get new developments
Cons: not meeting deadlines
It was the day that I was given a letter of non perfomance of the institution regarding TB management and have to account as a new employee who won the post for the area manager wellness clinic .
-From the minute I finish reading the communique ,I started to learn and love the programme and felt that I am part of the winning team .
-I ALSO REALISED – more... THAT FOR MY COLLEQUES TO ASSISST Imust support and motivate them to love and own the program .
-The hardest part of the job was to make community aware of the disease and how to manage it(meeting the targets set )
-The most enjoyable part of the job was the teamwork that developed amongst us as health workers and community which made us to get credit by moving to the top as indicated earlier on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun in a working environment
ADMIN CLERK (Current Employee), Fort Beaufort, ECAugust 19, 2013
Pros: social gatherings where we get to know each other and our backgrounds
Cons: long hours and over time which is not payed for
typical day at work include meetings, strategic planning then do my normal duties which are management of leaves, payment of allowances balancing of attendance register.
have learned how to mange time, communicate with different cultures, how to cope with working under pressure
have a good working relationship with my co-workers, we help each other – more... with work we share a good laugh at time we encourage each other when facing difficulties at work an socially. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maximum end product
Senior administrative officer (Current Employee), Patient administrative officerApril 23, 2013
Cons: 8 hour day
very challenging daily
New different things on daily basis, moods of the patients and staff relations.
Channelles of communication is a challenge, the top to bottom communication is poor and the bottom to top is not there. when the will be provincial or national visits every thing will be done as if all is well.
not having same vision as employeesand – more... sense of responsibility.
All the challenges trying to improve from them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
registered nurse (Current Employee), kwazulu natal pietermaritzburgFebruary 8, 2013
Cons: reasonable hours
Cmmunity interaction on daily basis. Customer oriantated and primary healt care. Proper management of community health and community councilling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderfull place to work
Head of Human Resource Management (Current Employee), Worcester Western CapeOctober 24, 2012
Pros: housing subsidy and rural allowance
Cons: 40 hours per week
Lot of work, many due dates, new policies,
To get people more motivated is to achieve our goals
Very supportive management, walk the extra mile
Very nice relationship between co-workers
Recruitment and selection is very hard work
is when you can tell someone he get a job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE WORKPLACE
FOOD SERVICE MANAGER (Current Employee), LEPHALALE LIMPOPOSeptember 20, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: 8 hours
DEPT OF HEALTH IS A NICE PLACE TO WORK FOR SINCE WELL YOU MAKE SURE THAT THE SERVICE IS DELIVERED TO THE CLIENTS AND I HAVE LEARNED TO WORK HARD AND MAKE SURE THAT YOU MEET THE CLIENTS NEEDS.
IM HAVING A GOOD MANAGEMENT TEAM AND O-WORKERS TO WORK WITH EVEN OUR PROVINCE BEING UNDER ADMINISTRATION WE MANAGED TO SUPPLY OUR CLIENTS WITH A WELL BALANCED – more... DIET AND THE HARDEST PART OF THE JOB WILL BE TRYING TO SERVE MEALS TO THE CLIENTS WHERE THERE IS NOT ENOUGH MONEY TO BUY THE PERISHABLES.WHAT IM ENJOYING ABOUT MY JOB IS WHEN MY CLIENTS ARE WELL SATISFIED WITH THE SERVIE IM RENDERING. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Senior Occupational health and safety officer (Current Employee), Eastern CapeJuly 9, 2012
Pros: no lunches
Cons: long hours
Every day is like its new. i learned to deal with public with different attitude. In terms of management they resist change because they never learn safety.
i trained them but resistence still there. i didnt get co-operation to the co-worker
I enjoy working with people who are challenging me