Dept Of Juvenile Justice Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Employment History DJJ Metro RYDC/Sergeant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 7, 2016
I enjoyed the experenice my first sales job very challegeing to make over 250 calls daivbhjbkbjdgnohvojdfnlmgndfokhetkghly
Pros
none
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hostile dangerous environment that does not make any sense.
Resident specialist (Former Employee) –  VirginiaNovember 10, 2015
Run!!!!Do not work here!! Low pay but lots of work. Never enough staff. You will be drafted every other day and it's based on seniority. If you work nights, you have to do there laundry. You get one one hour break but you cannot leave the facility. If you have a fight in your unit. Good luck and hang in there cause there is not enough staff to help you!! And the defense tactics that they teach does not work.
Was this review helpful?Yes27No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look for another job
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  VirginiaApril 8, 2014
You work 12 hours and get 30 minute break. If your lucky and there is enough staffing you also receive one or two 15 minutes but doesn't always happen.

Management does not always support their staff; You are told one thing and when the juvenile challenges it, management will change up what they said to accommodate the juvenile.

The environment is a chaotic culture with juveniles that are unruly and very disrespectful. It needs to be more para-military instead of a 24 hour campus.

The juveniles are not always held accountable of their actions.
Pros
weekdays off and every other weekend
Cons
short breaks, lack of breaks, money and management support
Was this review helpful?Yes128No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people need to be compensated
Probation Officer (Current Employee) –  N Charleston, SCMay 13, 2012
work cases, meet with families
learned how to deal with parents who really dont care about their kids
management needs training on people skills
great staff but losing people due to low salaries
red tape and politics behind it , absentee parents
Helping families and teenagers turn it around and become productive
Pros
helping the families
Cons
low salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes83No17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful and not rewarding
Nurse (Current Employee) –  VAMarch 26, 2015
not a hard job, management is poor, no one listens to the employees and they are put in constant danger because the kids pull all the shot
Pros
good healthcare, payed vacation
Cons
stressful and demeaning
Was this review helpful?Yes26No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job sercurity
Youth Worker 2 (Former Employee) –  West Liberty, KYApril 21, 2015
A typical day working as a youth worker consits of working with kids that most just need someone to look up to as a role model
Pros
job sercurity
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes12No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned so much there
Administrative Secretary III (Former Employee) –  Crittenden, KYMarch 7, 2013
I loved working for Juvenile Justice I learned so much about youths in trouble. I got to take classes in so many different areas even those that didn't apply to my job.
Pros
everyone i worked with was great!
Cons
far drive from my house
Was this review helpful?Yes35No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Want to change career path and start with different position.
Youth Specialist/ Sgt. III (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCSeptember 11, 2013
During interview. Help reduce fights, horseplay, and assaults in a unit.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No28Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dept Of Juvenile Justice. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
2.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.1
Culture
2.5

Dept Of Juvenile Justice Reviews by Location