DEPT OF TRANSPORTATION Employee Reviews

Found 10 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Technician (Former Employee) –  South floridaDecember 28, 2016
Job site changed every day. Decent pay, employees were all team players. Unfortunately only temporary work for technicians
Pros
Weekly pay
Cons
Racist
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this place is a very productive workplace. I really enjoyed working with the State Of Alabama
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALJanuary 7, 2015
Some days were better than others. My main focal point was to perform well, be on time, prompt, alert, and most of all courteous. I learned how to create spreadsheets in excel, powerpoint, access and Microsoft word. I learned the filing system really fast. numerically, and alphabetically. There was no hard part of the job. The job was awesome. The most enjoyable was the benefits
Pros
Paid vacation, holidays, accrue sick, and annual leave per pay period
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes26No17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Toll Collector (Former Employee) –  Newark, DESeptember 5, 2013
You come in, get your cash box, get your paperwork for the day/night and get briefed about things that have happened or are coming up. I learned where new places where. I had wonderful co-workers who cared about each other. The hardest part of the job was knowing directions to virtually everywhere. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with my fellow co-workers and being able to serve the public
Pros
healthcare benefits, hours, pay grade, work environment
Cons
exposure to exhaust fumes
Was this review helpful?Yes23No18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with customers.
Toll Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLApril 21, 2016
I enjoyed working in tolls. A typical day is from 8:00-5:00p.m. Working in tolls is a continuous learning experience. My co-worker was fun to work with , tolls is a overall fun job. The hardest part of the job was terminating an employee. The most enjoyable part of my job was being helpful to our customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work always busy.
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ewing, NJAugust 19, 2015
I started at 8:30 and had plenty to do all day,which I liked.I learned
that most accidents are caused by tractor trailers and drunk driving.
The management was good and the co workers were very nice.
The hardest part was it was only temporary I would have liked to stay there.

They had a fine cafeteria where we all gathered for lunch.
A nice place to work.
Pros
organized and busy
Cons
it was only temporary
Was this review helpful?Yes15No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
state worker (Former Employee) –  Americus, GAJune 12, 2014
it is a great job but the wages are not are. the pay period is too long.
Pros
good employees
Cons
good break
Was this review helpful?Yes24No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning experience
Vehicle Permit Technician (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSJune 15, 2015
This job was good it helped me to learn of different task, met a lot of good people who were able to help me learn things I have never done before.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace in serious employment
Air Traffic Controller (Former Employee) –  Mather, CAJanuary 6, 2014
If you're sort of a introvert, but out going among a few people, this might be the job for you!
Pros
Retirement
Cons
Stressful at first
Was this review helpful?Yes22No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical State Job
Associate Governmental Program Analyst (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CASeptember 11, 2013
Job pays well, you have great benefits, but the job itself leaves a lot to be desired.
Pros
Pays well
Cons
Lack of quality management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

See more DEPT OF TRANSPORTATION reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DEPT OF TRANSPORTATION. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.2
Culture
3.7