DEPT OF TRANSPORTATION Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All field work your office is the field
Highways inspector (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 6, 2017
I enjoyed working at the dept of transportation but unfourtnately it wasn't the job or career I was passionate about .. there are many pro working for the city just this certain dept had a lot of walking in all types of weather.
Pros
Benefits, healthcare, pension, 401k, city job
Cons
Short lunch breaks, a lot of foot patrol carrying heavy equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Flagger (Former Employee) –  Smithfield, NCFebruary 2, 2017
Good company to work for. 40 hour work week..Good Co workers and supervision. Over time during the storm. Imlpventje dept of transportation.
Pros
Very organize and professional
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun place to work,good performance was rewarded with a bbq
traffic painter and sign poster 1 (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 19, 2017
a fun workplace with a strong sense of elan and esprit de corps among the staff inspite of a level of favoritism among some supervisors.a typical work day involves getting your signs fasteners,anchors and posts.you are given your assignment which you are expected to complete by end of day.while at water&power we as helpers were expected to get wire or cable and connectors getting and testing rubber gloves from the warehouse. workplace culture involved a certain hierarchy with linemen and patrolmen on top,electrical craft helpers and laborers on the bottom the most difficult facet of the job involved patroling circuits at night and inclement weather to find a downed wire sometimes in someones backyard. i really appreciate the extensive training we received,it made the job that much easier
Pros
excellent salary, medical benefits and job security
Cons
the work can be physically dangerous
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Technician (Former Employee) –  South floridaDecember 28, 2016
Job site changed every day. Decent pay, employees were all team players. Unfortunately only temporary work for technicians
Pros
Weekly pay
Cons
Racist
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with customers.
Toll Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLApril 21, 2016
I enjoyed working in tolls. A typical day is from 8:00-5:00p.m. Working in tolls is a continuous learning experience. My co-worker was fun to work with , tolls is a overall fun job. The hardest part of the job was terminating an employee. The most enjoyable part of my job was being helpful to our customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work always busy.
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ewing, NJAugust 19, 2015
I started at 8:30 and had plenty to do all day,which I liked.I learned
that most accidents are caused by tractor trailers and drunk driving.
The management was good and the co workers were very nice.
The hardest part was it was only temporary I would have liked to stay there.

They had a fine cafeteria where we all gathered for lunch.
A nice place to work.
Pros
organized and busy
Cons
it was only temporary
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning experience
Vehicle Permit Technician (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSJune 15, 2015
This job was good it helped me to learn of different task, met a lot of good people who were able to help me learn things I have never done before.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this place is a very productive workplace. I really enjoyed working with the State Of Alabama
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALJanuary 7, 2015
Some days were better than others. My main focal point was to perform well, be on time, prompt, alert, and most of all courteous. I learned how to create spreadsheets in excel, powerpoint, access and Microsoft word. I learned the filing system really fast. numerically, and alphabetically. There was no hard part of the job. The job was awesome. The most enjoyable was the benefits
Pros
Paid vacation, holidays, accrue sick, and annual leave per pay period
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
state worker (Former Employee) –  Americus, GAJune 12, 2014
it is a great job but the wages are not are. the pay period is too long.
Pros
good employees
Cons
good break
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All in all it was a friendly workplace and nice atmosphere
Program/Management Analyst, GS-12 (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDMay 16, 2014
A day at the FAA office was busy, I learned to do my job and be very good at it. Management supported growth and advancement. My co-workers were the best. They were friendly, respectful, and we were very supportive of each other. The most enjoyable part of the job was my co-workers because they were also my friends.
Pros
Employee benefits
Cons
short lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace in serious employment
Air Traffic Controller (Former Employee) –  Mather, CAJanuary 6, 2014
If you're sort of a introvert, but out going among a few people, this might be the job for you!
Pros
Retirement
Cons
Stressful at first
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical State Job
Associate Governmental Program Analyst (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CASeptember 11, 2013
Job pays well, you have great benefits, but the job itself leaves a lot to be desired.
Pros
Pays well
Cons
Lack of quality management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Toll Collector (Former Employee) –  Newark, DESeptember 5, 2013
You come in, get your cash box, get your paperwork for the day/night and get briefed about things that have happened or are coming up. I learned where new places where. I had wonderful co-workers who cared about each other. The hardest part of the job was knowing directions to virtually everywhere. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with my fellow co-workers and being able to serve the public
Pros
healthcare benefits, hours, pay grade, work environment
Cons
exposure to exhaust fumes
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 18Report

See more DEPT OF TRANSPORTATION reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DEPT OF TRANSPORTATION. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.3
Culture
3.9

DEPT OF TRANSPORTATION Reviews by Location