DeSales University Employee Reviews

Showing all 20 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fitness center attendant
Fitness Center Attendant (Current Employee) –  Center Valley, PAMarch 21, 2017
It is a fun job that requires you to have a basic understanding of what the fitness is, and what you have to do in order to make sure that it runs smoothly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work for
Peer Mentor (Former Employee) –  Center Valley, PADecember 15, 2016
This was a great student job for anyone that was continuing their education. Everyone in the admissions office was extremely friendly and helpful.
Pros
upbeat work environment
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind and caring faculty/staff are the big bonus of this job.
Healthcare Simulation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Center Valley, PADecember 13, 2016
Very busy Simulation Center with fantastic faculty interested in collaboration. Well organized and thoughtfully created. Standardized Patients encouraged to maintain high level of professionalism.
Pros
Great faculty, caring and kind atmosphere
Cons
Small team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good school
Student Nurse (Former Employee) –  Center Valley, PANovember 9, 2016
Good nursing program that provided hands on clinical experiences. Classes are challenging but help you to really learn the material and help you pass NCLEX.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to teach
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Lansdale, PAMay 18, 2016
Student body is smart and dedicated. Management team is flexible and very responsive. Course assignments are flexible and available for those professors who are willing to put in the hard work for their students
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing College
Marketing Internship (Current Employee) –  Center Valley, PAApril 8, 2016
I'm not sure why this is under employment, much like the I.D.E.A.S. Club, but I am a senior here, not an employee. I am a dual Business Administration and Marketing Major with a current GPA of 3.94 and an overall GPA of 3.066. I made many lifelong friends, met many insightful professors, with a lot of hard work and fun along the way.
Pros
Campus, Professors, Strong Salesian Education
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough money for what they expect
Full-Time Employment (Former Employee) –  Center Valley, PAMarch 4, 2016
They want the best and the brightest, but they refuse to pay for it. They value teaching five days a week with no time for research, but when hiring, they tend to favor the Ivy-league graduates who focus on research. And they have no faculty union whatsoever. All decisions are at the whim of the administration.

With that being said, it is a nice, friendly place to work. It's a small school and everyone knows each other. You get to know the students personally and the culture is very easy to slip into if you give it a chance.
Pros
Small campus environment, friendly staff
Cons
low pay for work, unrealistic expectations at times, elite attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience.
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee) –  Center Valley PAApril 27, 2015
I loved being able to work for my Alma Mater and help the university grow. I would work there again if an opportunity presented itself.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good tutoring experience.
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Center Valley, PANovember 20, 2014
DeSales University gave me an excellent opportunity to use my talents in mathematics to help others through their tutoring program.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits
custodian/floorcare tech (Current Employee) –  Center Valley, PAOctober 5, 2014
custodial coverage in all buildings on campus to include floor care , carpets, wood and vct tile floors , restrooms
enjoy working with others having similar skills
coverage when someone is out sick or on vacation
benefits
Pros
benefits, education
Cons
meeting times for third shift
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The university did not take care of the teachers for the most part.
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Center Valley, PAOctober 3, 2014
I love teaching. I taught, designed and implemented a variety of photography courses, but after 27 years I felt it was time to go. I have been pursuing my art. I am a painter and photographer. I have had a number of solo and group shows. I would however liketo continue teaching photography. I have a passion for the medium and love to share information and guidance about the visual language.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Adjunct Nursing Clinical Faculty (Current Employee) –  Center Valley, PAMarch 19, 2014
Desales has not only educated me but has given me the opportunity to educate others and to me that is the best part of this PT position.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Custodian/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Center Valley, PAJune 4, 2013
all fun, learn a lot good co workers. The hardest part is the lifting part . the most enjoyable part of the job is the lunch break
Pros
learn a lot
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Character Captain (Former Employee) –  Center Valley, PAMay 22, 2013
Though I only worked for the orientation program while I was a student, I could tell that i's a great place to work!
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very open minded place to work
Head Women's Soccer Coach (Former Employee) –  Center Valley, PAApril 11, 2013
Not the best experience here.
Management in many departments is very unfair and dishonest
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place i ever worked.
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Center Valley, PADecember 15, 2012
Grate place to work.Kids i worked with were always nice,all the other guards were great to work with.
Pros
nice people to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Treasurer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Center Valley, PAOctober 18, 2012
I worked in a temp position but loved it. The college has a welcoming and friendly atmosphere. Some of the management can be difficult but for the most part it was a great place to work with good compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Job, Not Worth the effort
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Center Valley, PAJune 11, 2012
Was not hard work, didn't do much. I would not take the job again.
Pros
long lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to work with
E-Commerse Intern (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAMarch 29, 2012
The owner was a little difficult to please, it seemed like I couldn't do anything without her approval.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DeSales University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8

DeSales University Reviews by Location