Find companies:
Detroit Zoological Society
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

Detroit Zoological Society Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace I enjoyed watching families have fun and enjoyment of nature life myself
Service System Associate (Former Employee), Royal Oak, MIOctober 28, 2013
A typical day at work would be to prep and then cook food aside from that cleaning up the mess getting to standard protocol.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding workplace!
Communications Internship (Current Employee), Royal Oak, MIApril 9, 2013
I loved interning with the Detroit Zoo. I learned many skills in communications that I can take with me. My writing improved dramatically from the first day. I was welcomed by all employees within the first week, it was sad to say goodbye. The hardest part of the job was having to edit documents so many times and not missing errors each time. After – more... reading a document over more than a couple times, it becomes easy to miss mistakes, it was crucial to read closely. Overall, the Zoo was an amazing place to be and I loved my internship. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sweep it under the rug
Park Safety Officer (Former Employee), Royal Oak, MIJanuary 6, 2013
Pros: keeping public safe and educated
Cons: bad hours, unacceptable management.
A typical day here I was greeted by the latest gossip first thing in the morning. I witnessed on more then one ocassion OSHA rules being disreguarded. I learned a few emergency response procedures that where thankfully never put into practice. The daily management I interacted with were childish and unprofessional, letting their opinions and slanderous – more... comments be recorded by the new emergency system. Grounds employees were told that they were not allowed to take breaks on busy summer days and were not permitted to carry water bottles with them as it made them look unprofessional. Most co workers were decent to work with, the animal staff were always more then willing to teach co workers and the public on the animals in their care. The hardest part of the job was the fact I performed at the top but was not getting the hours I deserved and was promised, the pay was also unacceptable for someone with a college degree. The part I enjoyed the most was interacting with the public, and getting behind the scenes, learning and being up close and personal with the animals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and interesting workplace.
Guest Relations Assistant (Current Employee), Royal Oak, MISeptember 4, 2012
Pros: working near wild animals and meeting new people. sometimes even celebrities
Cons: working in extreme weather conditions and work locations are long distances away.
My first task is to arrive at my work location on time. Once there making sure that area is clean of debris and that signs are clearly visible and clean. Depending on what postion your assigned to opening procedures include counting cash, cleaning attraction area and performing test runs on machinery. Daily responsibilities include giving information – more... to guests, answering phones, operating machinery, cleaning equipment and assisting with crowd control. I've learned many skills from my experience working here such as public speaking, inventory and upselling products.

The hardest part of the job would be working in bad weather while dealing with large crowds of people in a short amount of time. The most enjoyable part of the job is working so close to wild animals you normally would not be able to see on a daily basis. Another advantage to working at such a popular place would be the ability to meet so many new people from around the world who choose to visit. Our work environment is very positive and entertaining. My co-workers are very close friends and we have created a very tight bond with each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Camp Counselor / Camp Supervisor (Former Employee), Royal Oak, MIJuly 15, 2012
great experience, and work enjoyed working with the children in program
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BAD PLACE TO WORK
EMPLOYEE (Former Employee), michiganJuly 10, 2012
Pros: customers are fun
Cons: they dont pay you for your break even though you've been there 5 hours.
Im a High school student and they cut my hours too after the college students got out of school. They put me on the schedule and then when i get there they tell me that I can go home because the weather is too hot and they dont need me. Or they text me 1/2 hour before im supposed to be there telling me not to come in.

One day i saw another kid leaving – more... when i came in and he said they sent him home also, so they do this all the time... i dont think they understand that we count on this money and its not fair that they hire and schedule all these people and call off at the last minute. Its not fair.

I asked a college kid why he came back and he said because he could not find another job. They have a ton of employee turnover every year, so I was suspicious that they were not a good employer when I heard that – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NO NEED TO APPLY HERE
Entry level job (Current Employee), Royal Oak, MIJuly 5, 2012
Pros: some nice people that work there
Cons: pay for own uniform (even first one), force you to pay for their bad food, call off work after you already are there, manager is very mean to employees
I am a high school student and they told my High school about a job fair. They needed seasonal workers starting from spring break and through he summer I got decent hours at first, but then the college students came back and the HS kids hours got cut and we have almost no hours. Thats not the worst. I drive to work and they tell me that they dont need – more... me, claiming they text me, but they never did. They cancell hours all the time at the last minute, but this past weekend they cancelled my hours on both days without even calling me. I counted on this money for the summer and they dont even care about us.

And they make you pay for your own uniform and they charge you full retail price for the shirt AND coat. its expensive. And they make you pay for food every day at the concession stands - and the food is very bad and unhealthy . They take this money out of my pay check, so between having all this stuff taken out of my pay check AND paying for gas to drive to a job and they tell me they dont need me, im looking for another job and i would suggest "no need to apply here" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. GREAT people to work with.
Guest Relations Assistant (Former Employee), Royal Oak, MIMay 2, 2012
Pros: working outside, excellent coworkers, lots of exercise, the job was fun!
Cons: angry customers, people that don't read signs, bees.
I loved everything about this job. I made wonderful, lifelong friends and had an excellent time doing it. Don't work here if you lack a sense of humor!