Find companies:
Devon Energy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
74 reviews

Devon Energy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Pipeline Compliance Admin (Current Employee), Bridgeport, Tx 76426January 28, 2014
I love it! Great job, wonderful people for the most part. It's a very laid back place, as long as your getting your work done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
EHS Professional II (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 20, 2014
Great place to work with excellent pay and benefits. Co-workers are like family at this workplace and the building is beautiful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Oil & Gas production operator (Former Employee), marion,LaJanuary 8, 2014
lots of time at home,people are good to work for.i would enjoy the job it was able to teach me things i did not know and could take with me to the next job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great peopole to work with
Completions Consultant (Former Employee), Bridgeport, TXDecember 19, 2013
Devon has an excellent work environment and you always feel your input matters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and Awesome Co Workers
Client Technical Support Associate (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKNovember 30, 2013
The company itself was very employee oriented and health conscious. I answered phones and provided trouble shooting for technical issues via phone, web, email, and chat
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just another job
Plant Operator III (Current Employee), Riverton, WYNovember 14, 2013
This company put on airs of being one of the very best to work for, but this is not the case. The working atmosphere is very negative and management is very poor. The work life balance is terrible and the phrase "evertime is expected" is used all too often.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Premier oil & gas company that offers immeasurable benefits to employees
Lease Analyst II (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKOctober 29, 2013
Pros: benefits, salary, wellness facility, alternate work schedule
Cons: advancement opportunities, accountability, compensation
The most enjoyable aspect of working at Devon is the facility and overall benefits that the company offers its employees. The hardest part of the job is an overall lack of accountability, direction and clear day-to-day tasks that each employee's actual job entails.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Land Technician 2 (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 14, 2013
Great work environment with team players and great management leaders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect job
Records Clerk (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 9, 2013
Pros: great atmosphere to work in
Cons: santa fe energy sold to devon and let go after 12.5 years
I worked in records department filing and retrieving documents for other departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work with an outstanding family environment.
EHS Professinal (Former Employee), Bridgeport, TXAugust 20, 2013
Pros: excellent work/home life balance
My typical day at Devon consisted of co-worker and vendor/contractor interaction with about 25-30% spent in the field conducting location inspections, NORM and Sound surveys and making sure that our employees were working safely and properly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization with plenty of room for advancement
Office Services Professional (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 18, 2013
Pros: in house training, gym
Devon Energy is a great company to work for. They offer plenty of in house advancement with plenty of in house courses to improve your chances.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In feild support was great
Consultant (Former Employee), Bridgeport, TXJuly 3, 2013
Pros: close proximity to home
Cons: lack of longevity
Onsite well supervision. All facets of drilling, on your own hands on type situation. Very knowledgeable company ownership. Worked daily with drilling contractors without problem. The hardest part is and will always be, being away from home. Most enjoyable is the sense of accomplishment at the end of every well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Business IT Intern (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJune 27, 2013
Treat their employees well. Plenty of opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wish I would have never left.
Primary Lease Operator (Former Employee), Carthage, TXJune 24, 2013
Leaving Devon to go to work for Well Master is very close to the top of the list of things I wish I had never done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome Place to Have A Career!
Records Associate (Former Employee), OKMay 29, 2013
Pros: benefits, bounses
Cons: none.
Typical day consisted of pulling files requested by users.
learned basic knowledge about Oil & Gas.
Management throughout Company were great.
Hardest part of job was delivering files throughout the company.
Walking from building to building when there was bad weather.
Most enjoyable part was working for a company that was well known in the community – more... for it contributions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation is Great but Require Long Days and Weekend Work
Geologist (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKApril 27, 2013
Pros: high compensation
Cons: lot's of overtime
I was a geologist at Devon. I had a great income with great benefits. However, at the same time, I had to earn that income by putting in extra hours each day and some weekend and overnight work was required. Overall it was a great place to work with nice people, but at times I did feel like I was just a number.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Windows 7 Project Management Team (Contractor) (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKApril 2, 2013
Cons: salary
Great working environment, Culture and insane employee benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and great place to work but...
Field End User Support (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMarch 3, 2013
I was very productive at Devon. There was never a day when I was twiddling my fingers. Great people to work with. Unfortunately, there are some managers who should not be in their current role. Most of the managers are very knowledgeable and will go out on a limb for you. Others will just push their work on you at the last minute and really wont address – more... problems to you, rather to other people and hopefully you are in good with them to find out – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company heading in wrong direction
Land (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 22, 2013
Pros: office in houston, texas (closing), wellness center, the people in houston
Cons: officers and directors more interested in rebuilding oklahoma city and less with shareholder value, like many companies - becoming an it and supply chain company.
Great company heading in the wrong direction;
Mergers were all about jobs for Oklahoma;
I've learned alot about the Land business;
Management was great and would try to help if possible;
The best part of my job - the co-workers / the people!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable enviroment
Division Order Tech (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: location, healthcare
Assist the Division Order Analyst in the processing of division orders and transfer orders. Maintained the department well files for each analyst.

Enjoyed my co-worker and we worked well as a team.

About Devon Energy

Independent oil and gas producer Devon Energy puts its energy into oil and gas fields far from England's southwestern coast, in – Read more