Devon Energy Employee Reviews

Found 182 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
GIS Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 24, 2017
Devon is a fantastic place to work. Work life balance is great, compensation is remarkable, and the company likes getting ideas from it's employees. I would recommend to anyone.
Pros
Compensation, Team Work
Cons
Stressful at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working for Devon Energy
Revenue Accountant (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 23, 2017
They gave a great work/life balance. Provided excellent health benefits. Also, they care about their employees. I worked with great individuals that took the time to care about their coworkers.
Pros
Health Insurance, gym membership and other benefits
Cons
Due to the oil and gas industry they had to lay off hundreds of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Devon Energy
PRODUCTION TECHNICIAN/ADMINISTRATION ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAJanuary 19, 2017
This was the best Oil Company I worked for. Loved everyone I worked with.

I worked with the Production superintendents and Manager at a high level.

It was hard for me to leave this position, but our Residential Home building was really going full force and my company needed me to be full time. We were building a lot of custom homes.
Pros
Loved my fellow employess
Cons
Not enough flexibility to work RAH Home full time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great workplace that really cared about its employees.
WellCon Drilling Engineer I (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 4, 2017
Devon energy is a fantastic company that really tries to provide the best environment for its employees. With the down turn of oil the environment has definitely gotten worse but they are still a great company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream Job
Petroleum Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXDecember 29, 2016
I was paid very well for an intern. The atmosphere was very organized and professional. My mentor was a super nice guy who took the time out of his busy schedule to answer my questions and ensure my presentation was well prepared.
Pros
Great pay and work environment
Cons
Due to low oil prices I was laid off along with all my school mates
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Devon Energy is a productive and fun place to work
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 6, 2016
Completed day-to-day operations, complex travel planning, training, org. charts, pay roll, expense reports, vacations, supply orders, and routing mail
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very high stressful environment!
Assistant Foreman Production (Former Employee) –  Artesia, NMNovember 21, 2016
Was a great company in the beginning. After company layoffs, company started to fall apart. Very poor management in some areas. There are still some great people there.
Pros
Great people, great benefits.
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits & Great Place to Work
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKNovember 16, 2016
Devon is great place to work and offers great benefits to their employees. I have learned a lot about the oil & gas industry during my time here in upstream, downstream and midstream.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Budget and Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKNovember 16, 2016
Devon is a good company to work for and has a great culture. I had friends in various departments and based on the feedback I received from them it really depends on your manager to create the right environment. I had some challenges especially when it came to goal setting and department direction but overall I enjoyed working there.
Pros
Great building
Cons
Not very clear goals and daily taskings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great everything.
Drilling Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calumet, OKNovember 15, 2016
Wonderful place to work.
Pointed tasks.
Ample opportunity to develop.
Optional classes.
A typical day consisted of arriving at 6-7am, tons of meetings. Leave around 5.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Talent Management Development Professional (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKNovember 15, 2016
Great work life balance having alot of PTO and every other Friday off. Just was hard to advance and also was not secure with layoffs. You get cheaper lunches and free gym if you go there 5 times a month.
Pros
Free Gym and every other Friday off
Cons
Hard to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
FINANCIAL ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKNovember 15, 2016
Had a great boss who mentored me in multiple areas including financial analysis, budgeting and forecasting and taught me to think outside the box. The company was very involved in bettering the community and making downtown OKC a great place to work. Co-workers were great and I couldn't have asked for a better company to work for.
Pros
Discounted lunches/onsite gym
Cons
Healthcare benefits had decreased over the years but I think they have went down across the board, not just at Devon.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe working company
Driling Comsltant (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKOctober 16, 2016
Devon is a great company with excellent management they give you all the resources to do your job to the best you can do a very safety orinated company with a great name for their self
Pros
the poeple
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of coworkers; like a big family
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bridgeport, TXOctober 2, 2016
My day might consist of records management, SAFE Program training, issuing or replacing fleet vehicles for field employees, Alert Response team training or fire drill. No micromanaging; flourished in this environment. Employees helped each other. Good compensation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had great management, changed recently
SCADA Technician (Former Employee) –  Artesia, NMSeptember 20, 2016
hard to get schools for new devices, expected to figure issues out without input from management.
Co-workers were fine.
Best part was no one was pushing you daily.
Pros
decent pay
Cons
change of management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place - would highly recommend
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 15, 2016
I worked for Devon for two short years, and enjoyed it thoroughly. The pluses range from excellent benefits and pay, to great co-workers, and exquisite atmosphere. I really enjoyed working there, and if ever I needed to go back, I wouldn't hesitate.
Pros
Best place to work in Oklahoma
Cons
some of the management types play favorites, but that happens everywhere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Focused Company
IT Services Professional (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 9, 2016
Devon is a top 100 best companies to work for. I enjoyed my time there and would do it again. Great work environment and benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An incredible company with much to offer
Sr. Geosciences Technologist (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 6, 2016
Devon Energy is a competitive organization. They have a proven track record of treating their employees with respect while also building a great business for the future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work
Energy Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 1, 2016
Great oil and gas company providing good benefits, work atmosphere, and good perks (gym, restaurants, free coffee and tea). I was very happy while working for them for over 10 years.
Pros
Good benefits and perks
Cons
Can't think of anything except the reorganization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company when industry is stable
Various Positions (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKAugust 29, 2016
Devon is a great company when the oil and gas industry is stable. Enjoyed working in numerous positions on a variety of projects. Favorable culture and environment.
Pros
Benefits, culture, environment
Cons
Cyclical Industry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Devon Energy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 230 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0