DeVry University Employee Reviews

Found 791 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work while taking classes
Teachers Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tinley Park, ILApril 6, 2017
Good place to work. Good pay. Good time to learn life skills for the road ahead. Bosses will be there to answer questions. Bathrooms are plentiful. work/home life balance is perfect.
Pros
work at school
Cons
work at school
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to learn, just not advance.
Operations Support Coordinator II (Current Employee) –  Westminster, COApril 4, 2017
Over the seven years I have worked for DeVry University, I have learned and grown an incredible amount. Unfortunately, there is not much room for advancement and looking for the next step. What I enjoyed most about my day to day is seeing the student succeed, watching them from their first meeting with an admissions advisor to planning their graduation.
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work at
Director of Admissions (Former Employee) –  Sandy, UTApril 4, 2017
DeVry is a professional organization that serve a great purpose in helping adults start or continue their educational goals. Many programs to choose from. Great leadership and trainers.
Pros
Follows their mission statment - T.E.A.C.H.
Cons
Shift to less campuses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with students was fun
Work Study Student (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COApril 4, 2017
My ability to work with students, to help and guide them with the information that they are sinking to continue there education or to help to get on the computer, and to get a project ready for a speaker.
Pros
working with people
Cons
when no one needed help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Environment
Leader (Former Employee) –  Addison, ILMarch 28, 2017
Typical day at work required me to assist students and faculty members with tasks that needed to be done in regards to classes being held and students needing assistance. Great environment that feels like family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunities for students looking for engineering and accounting
Visiting Professor (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAMarch 28, 2017
Courses taught by practitioner faculty from their field of expertise

Offer bachelor and Masters degrees in a variety of programs:
Liberal Arts
Undergraduate Business
Graduate Business
Engineering
Information Technology
Gaming Industry
Accounting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a visitor never a resident
Visiting Professor (Part-Time) (Current Employee) –  Sherman Oaks, CAMarch 28, 2017
Full-time staff and faculty are great. However, I've had the Dean and other members of the "leadership" give me sales pitches implying opportunity for a full-time position. After listening 2-3 stories I have yet to ever see anything happen in reality.

I very much love and enjoy teaching at DeVry overall though, and sure the the benefits package would be great if you ever have access to them.

Otherwise, the pay and not benefits, or security or consistency in teaching sessions limits you're interest in doing more then the minimum. I often get the feeling they run on a skeleton crew and exploit their part-time faculty to maximize their profits from the students. Which is a shame the students get short changed in the end.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Creative Design Incubator Intern (Former Employee) –  Miramar, FLMarch 27, 2017
A very interactive position that provided a great learning experience. Gave opportunity to learn tools for future employment.
Excellent creative team environment.
Pros
Great Learning platform
Cons
Minimal Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job!
Federal Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Palmdale, CAMarch 24, 2017
A typical day of work was either to tutor a student in English, Math or Graphic Design; or to help at the front desk with the greeting, answering phones and scheduling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Devry University
Student (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 23, 2017
Working in a college is never easy or fun. This was mostly for beginner work/employment. This requires a lot of time and energy for assignments that are due by certain dates. Very stressful, but very rewarding.
Pros
Extra Income
Cons
Late nights, long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start
Senior Representative (Current Employee) –  Downers Grove, ILMarch 22, 2017
Culture and leadership is solid. This is a great place to start a career and plenty of opportunities to gain some experience. It can be difficult to transition from one department to the other but certainly possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DeVry University
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAMarch 19, 2017
Good school and good professor. It helped me to get my bachelor and they also have online classes which is very helpful for the people who are working full-time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Student Worker - Registrar (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAMarch 17, 2017
As a student worker, it is an ideal job. The environment is friendly, and staff is like family. There is always something to keep you busy, scanning papers, or screening calls, filing paperwork. It is a great learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Help Desk Technician (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMarch 7, 2017
As a student worker this is the best place to work. Where you can able to balance both studies and work. you can able to learn so much while you work. also management is so friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Professor (Former Employee) –  Fort Washington, PAMarch 3, 2017
I have double master's degrees and double bachelor's degrees.
I have thirty three years of teaching experience
My teaching performance had been excellent
Pros
Lunch or breakfast in every meeting.
Cons
Too many mandatory meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tutor
Tutor, Academics Department (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 2, 2017
It was a great place to work to gain experience in my field starting out. The hardest part about it was the limitations in place because we were student workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Quality programs and staff help attract high quality students!
Visiting Professor (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMarch 2, 2017
DeVry University strives to offer opportunities to students, many of whom did not have college options in their younger lives. The quality and dedication of staff, coupled with the quality of programs that use the latest in technology, helps such student adhere to their programs, to put their learning in career perspectives, and to build leadership traits.
Pros
Latest in distributed technology tools for academic programs
Cons
Small campus centers limit course opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT place to work
IT Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAFebruary 22, 2017
I worked as a student worker so my role was a little different. It was a part time job, almost like and internship. That's why I gave low ratings to Benefits and Job Security. I really don't have a way to grade those points since I did not receive these perks.
Pros
Great environment. Everyone has a positive attitude.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong values and commitment to students.
Student Support Advisor (Current Employee) –  Colton, CAFebruary 21, 2017
DeVry University provides great training to and promotes self-development with employees. Managers are great, I consider myself very fortunate to work with amazing leaders who taught me great things and guided me to grow into the professional I am today.
Pros
Opportunity for growth
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful and open management
Information Technician (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAFebruary 18, 2017
I loved working for DeVry. My supervisors were always willing to help out and to teach me new ways of thinking and solving problems. It's because of them I have become the out of box thinker, I am today.
Pros
Great management
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DeVry University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 802 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7