Find companies:
DeVry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
429 reviews

DeVry Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DeVry Summary for FWS
Federal Work Study Student Central (Current Employee), Pomona, CAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: great work experience while education
Cons: not enough pay
Front Desk answering phone, filing, projects when asked by employees, fafsa, student loan quizes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun and organized
Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 11, 2014
Good work environment. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Best part of the job is the comradely and events being held. Typical day at work was reaching out and interviewing potential students about their choice of college and programs of choice and to make sure they were ok with that decision being made.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy, never a dull moment.
STUDENT SUCCESS COACH (Former Employee), North Brunswick, NJFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: free education
Cons: micro management
A typical day at work was overall pleasant and productive. Usually, in the beginning of the week (Monday) we start with a department meeting and than start our day. It starts with communicating with different departments and also with students, catching up with emails/phone calls. Contacting each students in our portfolio and letting them know of their – more... progress/weakness.

I have learned critical thinking, analyzing and staying calm as well "listening" to customers/students and find out what the actual problem is as well as many other critical skills such as being patient but still aggressive (when needed) to make sure the job is done on time and accurately.

As far as management, it was mostly centralized and micro managed. Not much freedom.

One of of the best team of co-workers I have ever worked with.

Honestly, I didn't find anything too hard except for the fact that it was micro managed and the middle management was made of people who were there for many many years and resistant to change.

The most enjoyable part of the job was that the job required to communicate (both verbally and written) with not only the customers but also with different departments/management plus it also required to analyze and think critically all the time which was great according to my personality and interest. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very educational experience
Biomedical Engineering Student (Former Employee), Decatur, GAFebruary 9, 2014
A typical day as a student at DeVry University consisted of classwork with labs

The most challenging part was the senior project due to group members having to leave the group.

The most enjoyable part was getting hands on experience and internship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time student job while attending college
Director of Sports, SAA (Former Employee), Addison, ILFebruary 6, 2014
Interactions with students and faculty on a daily basis. Setting up events and helping school clubs with their events.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Systems/Network Administrator (Former Employee), NYCFebruary 5, 2014
Great place to work and learn. Co-workers and management support is outstanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
Senior Admissions Advisor (Current Employee), CaliforniaFebruary 2, 2014
As an employee at DeVry University, I have been able to help make a difference in people's lives. It has made me realize how much I enjoy helping students achieve their career goals through education and setting them up for success. Additionally, I have learned how to work with Higher Learning Educational Institutions’ requirements which is equipping – more... me to be more skillful and an impact in the workforce. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intuative work environment for learning
Tutor/Faculty Assistant (Former Employee), Orlando, FLFebruary 1, 2014
A typical day of work consisted greeting students coming in the SSC and helping students to succeed in there courses. I also assisted professors in teaching and grading students in their courses. I learned different teaching techniques. Management was very easygoing and kept the team organized. Co-workers were very friendly and were very caring to the – more... customers. The hardest part was delivering the information in a way that students could understand. The most enjoyable part was being apart of the success of the students in their classes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HEALTHCARE AND CUSTOMER SERVICE PROFESSIONAL
Operations Support Coordinator (Current Employee), Palmdale, CAJanuary 31, 2014
Dynamic and driven individual with track record of achievements in the areas of customer service and support. Consistently excel in a sales through exceptional work ethic and dedication to quality and service. Utilize exceptional interpersonal and communication skills to interact with both management and individuals from diverse backgrounds as well – more... as build productive working relationships with staff, co-workers, and customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun Place to work
Federal Student Worker (Current Employee), VirginiaJanuary 28, 2014
Productive Fun Place to work, with a good job culture, management, compensation, life balance, and allowed me to work and go to school. Respected their employees as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Front Desk/Operations Support Assistant (Former Employee), Stockbridge, GAJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: awesome professional environment
Cons: some saturday work and pay
This company is family oriented and it allowed me to learn and develop so many skills that enhanced my office skills. One of the best companies I worked for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Option
Director of University Partnerships (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: great example
Cons: job instability
-Great benefits

-Advancement in other entities with DeVry Educational Group but must be willing to relocate.

- Job instability
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits.
Student Finance Consultant (Current Employee), IllinoisJanuary 28, 2014
Great health insurance benefits. The hardest part is the location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to start at
Activities Coordinator (Former Employee), Fremont, CAJanuary 23, 2014
It was good start out to a career. Fun people to work with at the time, but not a "forever job".
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful workplace
Senior Advisor (Current Employee), Naperville, ILJanuary 22, 2014
Call center
Outbound dialing
Typically behind on budget forecast
Constant pressure of enrollment numbers from management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Private University Library
Director's Assistant, Tutor, Front Desk Associate (Current Employee), Fremont, CAJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: great enviroment
Cons: low wage
Enjoyed working as a student-worker for my university while I attended. Working as a tutor taught me that there are many different kinds of clients who will each require their own attention and care. As an assistant to my director I helped schedule meeting, reviewed projects by other students,and assisted with grading.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Liaison
Military Liaison (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJanuary 17, 2014
Leveraged superior subject matter knowledge and interpersonal skill to provide informed guidance to Veteran-status students regarding Veteran Affairs Education Programs and certifications. Diligently monitored the population and well-being of Veteran-status students through the creation and maintenance of a student database. Collaborated with local – more... non-profit businesses to orchestrate the successful planning and execution of charity events and fundraisers to assist Veterans. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Academic Mentor (Former Employee), Tinley ParkJanuary 15, 2014
Facilities are up-to-date, people were inviting, fun to collaborate with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close working team of fellow students; interacted with students daily
Receptionist (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: work load was part time flexible each semester; permission to do homework in down times
Cons: short breaks
The staff worked to give flexible hours for students attending full time. I learned to share work with a varied work force. Management was very good to work with in explaining what tasks needed to be done each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DeVry Uni
Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: once students started school, and have the drive to complete their degree
Cons: helping students, when they were not able to go to school, for every reasons
Overall what was always important is for students to farther their education to have more opportunities with employment. Helping student to overcome objections and showing value for education

About DeVry

It isn't exactly Ivy League, but DeVry is in the big leagues of technical, health care, and business schools. The for-profit educational – Read more