Find companies:
Dick's Sporting Goods
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,085 reviews

Dick's Sporting Goods Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Greenville, NCSeptember 16, 2014
Retail, Great for Students in College or part-time job Early morning arrival. Laid back environment. Meet new customers each day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere, not-so-great pay, hard to advance
Merchandise Analyst (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PASeptember 15, 2014
Pros: gym on-site, great cafeteria, flexible hours
Cons: low pay, almost non-existant raises, structured career development (must fulfill a lot of lateral move roles to advance)
The corporate office is very young and fun. It's definitely a fun place to work, but I think new grads are wooed by the gym and sports on-site and so the company definitely pays less than others in the same industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Fast pace, Great Culture
Lodge Associate (Current Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 15, 2014
Helping customers with hunting, camping, and fishing needs. Great coworkers and an enjoyable place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it. Very busy work lace
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee), Charlottesville, VASeptember 15, 2014
very busy and crowded. Soccer stadium. Hardest part was dealing with guest under the influence on alcohol.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Melbourne, FLSeptember 14, 2014
Working at Dick's Sporting Goods was fun. The customers were great, always got to meet new people, and co-workers were fun. They made it a very enjoyable workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More on the apparel side than sport
SALES SUPPORT MANAGER (Former Employee), KansasSeptember 12, 2014
this company is more about apparel than sports. i found that it was more about expanding Nike and U.A. than sports gear.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place to work
Fitness Associate and Bike Technician (Current Employee), Bourbonnais, ILSeptember 12, 2014
Bike Technician and Fitness Associate. I still enjoy working here part time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its retail
Running Specialist and Customer Service (Former Employee), Daphne, ALSeptember 11, 2014
if you like to work retail this is the job for you....bad management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for students
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hwy. 15-501September 11, 2014
This is a great job for college or high school students or a second job. The growth rate is not for anyone who has a family to support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work for
Certified Fitness Trainer (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILSeptember 10, 2014
This company has no clue how long it takes to do anything and they expect the same productivity after they cut your department hours in half. Management is rarely on the same page and don't understand what takes priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
sales (Former Employee), windgapSeptember 9, 2014
counting registers and handling any money issues. helping employees with transactions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eventful
Pricing and Signs Coordinator (Former Employee), Findlay, OHSeptember 7, 2014
Management could be more supportive and understanding and complementary towards staff. Staff is excelent when it comes to customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, management not up to par
Lodge Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chico, CASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: i got to sell firearms
Cons: always had someone breathing down my neck even though i made efficient outcomes
I worked as a lodge associate in the hunting/fishing/camping department and loved the lifestyle behind the products I was selling since that's why I got the job in the first place. My particular store was brand new and started working there before the doors opened. Everything about this company is on a trickle down effect. Being the bottom of the totem – more... pole as a hourly associate, different managers would give completely different orders that always seemed to conflict with everyone. Their were three managers at my store, the general manager, the hard lines manager and the apparel manager. All three came from different workplace backgrounds and were all new to Dick's Sporting Goods. One manager would cry and throw a fit over a product display, we would change it, then the district managers would see it when they visited, make us change it back, and then when they left the manager would make us switch it back again! I enjoyed the work, easy and fun job, but this company has a large turnover rate for a reason. It's not lousy employees, its ill-suited management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very disorganized
Hardgoods Manager (Former Employee), Columbus, OHSeptember 2, 2014
Tough company to work for offered little to no training. Can be a good enviroment if you have a good management team and the company isn't cutting hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great sporting goods store
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), charlotte ncSeptember 2, 2014
This was a great company to work for. The usual day consist of a lot of customer service and physical demands. A lot of climbing ladders cleaning and building displays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, team members and place to work.
Apparel Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 1, 2014
Pros: working with diversitfied and interesting clients.
A typical day for me reviewing the business trends, walking new plan grams giving out assignments to employees. Talking with customers ensuring that all customers walk out highly satisfied The most enjoyable part of my job is training new staff .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uninfluential Work
Team Sports/Bike/Fitness Associate (Current Employee), Lansing, MISeptember 1, 2014
Pros: employee discount`
Cons: repetitive, tedious work
A day at Dick's is fairly easy. It involves a lot of organizing products, labeling products, and conversing with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My own screw up
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Richmond, VAAugust 31, 2014
Working at Dick's Sporting goods was awesome. Great staff and managers great pay. The issue is the store manager left and i followed hoping to get a move up. Instead the gas money ate holes in my pockets
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Retail Job
Footwear Sales Associate (Current Employee), Huntsville, AL (Jones Valley)August 28, 2014
Pros: a lot of hours if you need them
Cons: short breaks, management
This is a typical retail job. Co-workers are great, but I really dislike the management. The store manager is a pushover. He lets people continuously call out and not show up for work and he does nothing about it! When people don't show up the other employees in the store have to pick up the slack and it takes longer to recover the store. The breaks – more... are short. You have to work 7 hours just to get a 30 minute break. The customers are messy, feels like you should be considered a custodian instead of a sales associate. I don't enjoy this job at all. Nothing really hard about this job. If you work the closing shift you just basically help customers, clean, and straighten your area. If you work the morning shift you have to deal with shipment on truck days. Seems like the managers only pick certain people to assign the harder tasks to, and that's not fair. They make certain people work every weekend (Friday, Saturday, Sunday) while others get off every weekend. A lot of favoritism. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Shipping and receiving (Former Employee), Wyomissing, PAAugust 28, 2014
Cons: not enough coverage for store
Learned all about shoes. Learned about corporate practices. Learned how to train other employees. hardest part was constantly changing corporate game plans while having single coverage in departments. Most enjoyable was helping customers diagnose their needs and set them up with a product that suits them best.

1 2 3 4 5

About Dick's Sporting Goods

See Dick's shoppers run, putt, dunk, drive, dribble -- and buy. Fast-growing Dick's Sporting Goods operates about 480 stores in 40-plus – Read more

Dick's Sporting Goods Photos