Find companies:
Dick's Sporting Goods
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,195 reviews

Dick's Sporting Goods Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees
Footwear Sales Associate (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYDecember 17, 2014
Pros: good company loved working there, management was great.
Cons: good company loved working there, management was great.
Good company loved working there, management was great.Good company loved working there, management was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, friendly environment
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee), Norcross, GADecember 16, 2014
Typical day at work is busy as a cashier. I haven't been with the company long and was able to move up quickly to a customer service specialist. Hardest part of the job is always being on your feet but the best part is helping customers find the perfect gift or item.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tustin, CADecember 11, 2014
Pros: management
Cons: pay
The management here was great. I learned a lot about the operations side of a large retailer. Management was very accomadating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Footwear Sales Associate (Former Employee), Louisville, KyDecember 11, 2014
A typical day at Dick's sporting goods was either very busy or very laid back. I helped customers and enjoyed beign around the people I worked with. I learned sometimes you can not make every customer happy but you can always try your best. My managers helped me out very much. They helped work around my class schedule and sports schedule during college. – more... The hardest part of the job was during the holidays because we would run out of certain items. Therefore, this made it hard to please every customer. The part I enjoyed most about my job was the work enivironment and the bonds I formed with my co-workers. I was really good at my job and their wasn't a day i absolutly did not want to go into work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture,
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Yonkers, NYDecember 10, 2014
Pros: great vision, love the sports atmosphere.
Cons: too many hours 65 plus hours a week. too much strain with family.
Working for DSG has been a positive yet very challenging workplace. The amount of hours you work has made it impossible to have a normal family life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail environment
Apparel Sales Associate, Cashier (Former Employee), mentor, ohioDecember 9, 2014
-either working as a cashier or in apparel
-got experience in customer service
-co-workers were younger, most in high school or still in college (part-time jobs)
-hardest part of the job was dealing with unhappy customers
-being in a retail environment was enjoyable for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Sales associate (Former Employee), San Antonio, TxDecember 8, 2014
Working at a brand new store taught me a lot. Im a hard worker and for it being the first time opening up a new store was a fun experience. Of course it had its up and downs with some of the people i worked with. I would usually do freight or work with customers on helping them find their right attire for clothes or shoes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Salisbury, MDDecember 8, 2014
I loved the people I worked with... customer service, helped open store when it came to Salisbury..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a Job
Fitness and Team Sports Representative (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXDecember 8, 2014
Typical retail environment. Management was disorganized and continuously had issues scheduling around previously given college class schedule. Management makes sure employees understand how replaceable a retail employee is.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great For Athletes
Customer Engagement Specialist & Footwear Sales (Former Employee), Hoover, ALDecember 8, 2014
Nice job for college athletes. Not great hours. very little room to advance or move up within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Morehead City, NCDecember 8, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: not flexible with hours, lifting heavy equipment from storage trucks while sometimes standing on a wobbly ladder.
DSG is a cool place to work, you are surrounded by lots of sports equipment and people who are interested in sports.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gross managment, not enough payroll to cover holidays
Apparel Associate (Former Employee), Green Bay, WIDecember 5, 2014
My managers wreaked of nicotine, drank with their underaged subordinates, and you get paid minimum wage to do a physically demanding job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Particular store not well managed
Cash Office Administrator (Former Employee), Greece Ridge Center MallDecember 3, 2014
At the time I worked at this store it was going through a lot of transition. Went through 3 store Managers in less the 8 months. Too many department managers. I am sure after all these years it is a much better place to work. It is now a brand new store
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work. Lousy Hours, Low Pay
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Miamisburg, OHDecember 3, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling
Cons: late night hours, low pay, black friday
While working at Dick's a fairly easy job to work, the corporation itself is made up of a bunch of snakes. Employees are only a number there. They want to pay you as little as possible while having you work the most hours as possible. Management was very good in the store and I made some good friends working there, but the corporation as a whole is – more... very heartless and takes advantage of its employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair workplace with a good teamwork among associates
Bike Technician/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Orland Park, ILDecember 3, 2014
Pros: good environvent
Cons: not so good pay
Fun place to work. Typical day starts with determining what needs to be accomplished in the bike shop like what bikes to build/repair and/or what skis/snowboard needs service. Most enjoyable part is learning new skills like skis and snowboard tech work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hoover location
sales associate (Former Employee), Hoover, AlDecember 1, 2014
Pros: good breaks, work with your schedule
Cons: a lot of extra walking and doesn't train properly
Honestly it's a good job but however my review Is the store manager, this guy Is very unprofessional and very rude I usually don't review on jobs but this one really touched a nerve!.I'm all for respect and all but once you start talking to me like I'm a dog then cooperate or head chief needs to know what type of person is working for their company.I – more... myself feel this store lacks communication and lack respect if I known the "head coach"was such an ### then I would not have applied! .p.s. good luck If you're looking for someone who cares about his associates – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all good company
Under Armour Coordinator (Current Employee), Kennesaw, GANovember 30, 2014
Over all good company, some stores better than others based on management teams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and hardwork
General Sports Manager (Sales Manager) (Former Employee), Nashua, NHNovember 30, 2014
It's a retail management position, you know what you sign up for. The hours are long and get worse during the holidays, but it is a lot of fun if you're willing to work. Dealing with people and managing associates was great for me and a new task every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Cashier/Guest Services (Former Employee), Victorville, CaNovember 30, 2014
Managers try to accommodate school schedules. Co- workers are usually friendly but everyone has an off day. I learned how to keep a smile on my face. I do not agree with cashiers getting written up for being on the clock too long because supervisors fail to pull the drawer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee), Tinley Park, ILNovember 25, 2014
Pros: good company with motivated management.
Cons: lack of manpower
Especially around the holidays, some days we would receive more than double the amount of merchandise than usual. Early hours, and not having a set schedule for the most part was hard to deal with. But i feel that I learned a lot during my time there.

1 2 3 4 5