Find companies:
Dick's Sporting Goods
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
871 reviews

Dick's Sporting Goods Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Apparel Associate (Current Employee), Saint Joseph, MOApril 14, 2014
As an apparel associate, there were always areas to recover and maintain. It was the busiest part of the store so customers were always needing attention and help. Customer service is a main goal that is a priority focus. Management was good for the most part. Communication appeared to be the biggest downfall; not everyone was always on the same page. – more... Tasks had to be done over again because wrong directions had been given. Hardest part of the job is having to know about all the different styles in all the different brands. Most enjoyable part is that you work with people with similar interests as you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fun place to work
Apparel Sales Leader (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALApril 13, 2014
Pros: plenty of room for advancement
Cons: working on nights and weekends
Working at DSG was never dull or boring. Working with the customers, making the store look nice, helping out my fellow teammates, all of these things made a day at work seem like a family reunion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sports and outdoor oriented
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Jackson, TNApril 13, 2014
Pros: competitive pay and benefits
Cons: lots of extra hours worked
I enjoy working in a place that is sports and outdoors oriented. Interacting with customers and sharing our sports related stories are my favorite part. However, I have to work a lot of extra (unscheduled) hours as a salaried manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun part time job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Melville, NYApril 11, 2014
I enjoyed being around and working with sports customers because I could relate to them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work if you don't have a family
Bench Store Manager (Current Employee), Leawood, KSApril 10, 2014
Pros: face paced
Cons: no work life balance
I have worked more 6 day work weeks here than I have ever worked in retail before. It is expected to work 5, 12 hr days and most of the time a 6th day. It is a fun face paced place to work, just a horrible work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people were fun to work with
Lodge Associate (Former Employee), Mount Hope, WVApril 9, 2014
the people I worked with is what made the job fun otherwise it sucked! Never got any hours management wasn't the best, pretty decent discount on everything though
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is great for an entry level job.
Customer Service Specialist/Front End Manager (Current Employee), North Olmsted, OHApril 7, 2014
I really like the people I work with as well as my managers. The only gripe I have about some of them is the fact that, seeing as how it is an entry level job, there are several people who don't care enough about the work they are doing and only give a 50% effort. This quickly gets frustrating. There is ample advancement opportunity as they typically – more... promote from within. Daily tasks involve a lot of customer service and interaction. I find that part of it very satisfying in most cases. Overall Dick's is a good company, and it has been a pleasure to work for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), South Portland, MEApril 5, 2014
Had a great time preparing food and working with the guys in the kitchen. Satisfying to make the best products possible for each customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Uplifting work environment
Operations Associate (Current Employee), Highland Heights,OhioApril 5, 2014
Pros: good management
Cons: the overnight program was cut
A typical day at work consists of unloading a truck full of merchandise and sorting it onto separate pallets, after that we censored all product that need to be censored and properly stock the merchandise on the shelf's. When all the product is stocked we are to help with any extra tasks assigned by the manager such as sweeping, vacuuming, cleaning – more... bathrooms, mopping floors, etc. At Dicks sporting goods I learned how to work as a team and be flexible. My co-workers where all down to earth and very relatable and in turn that made them easy to communicate with. This job was not difficult for me to handle. I enjoyed this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok company to gain work experience
Operations freight flow supervisor (Current Employee), pitsburg paApril 4, 2014
alright company to work for. flexible schedules for part time associates advancement opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable. Hard work, but fun
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Henderson, NVApril 4, 2014
Pros: only part time
Cons: great people to work with.
A typical day at work processing schedules for employees. Submitting reports. Processing display cards for signs.
I learned a lot about the retail business.
Management was great. Very easy going. Helpful.
There were many different co workers. I did enjoy meeting everyone.
I would say there wasnt anything hard about that position.
I enjoyed coming to – more... work everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dick's Sporting Goods
Lodge Associate/Golf Sales (Current Employee), Las Cruces, NMApril 3, 2014
Pros: get to try all new products to learn about them.
Cons: upper management beyond the store level.
Normal days consist of recovering aisles and setting new displays as well as offering excellent customer service. Management is good in the sense that they help out with the simplest of tasks and do not feel that they are too good for helping customers. Upper management beyond the store tends to micromanage and not worry too much about customer service – more... but more about getting tasks done as quickly as possible whether it is done correctly or not. Hardest part of the job is having to do trucks at 3 am in the morning on fridays on occasion when needed as coverage. The most enjoyable is helping customers and seeing them learning so much about the sports they enjoy. Seeing excitement when trying new products is a reward in itself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management and working conditions
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Opelika, ALApril 3, 2014
A typical day consisted of working the sales floor and assisting customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Operations (Former Employee), Aurora, OHApril 3, 2014
great workplace. Had a lot of fun working here. friendly people. everyone is just fun to be around
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Sales associate (Current Employee), parma, ohioApril 3, 2014
Cons: pay
Great place to work, very fun learning environment. Excellent place to share a common love of sports.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail giant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Leominster, MAApril 2, 2014
Retail giant in sporting goods industry, growth opportunities available
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment, but no balance between amount of tasks and level of customer service they expect
Softlines Manager (Former Employee), Brighton, MIApril 2, 2014
Pros: fun, fast-paced, great customers, never a slow season
Cons: no home/work life balance
A typical day at work consisted of walking the departments to come up with a task list for the day for each. Getting reports for the previous day, WTD and MTD, running a motivational morning meeting, customer service and tasking, all while running the entire store as the Head Coach. Which consisted of directing traffic, encouraging associates and checking – more... with our customers on our level of service to better understand their needs and be able to redirect to meet those needs. I learned how to balance tasking and customer service better and to be able to delegate more instead of doing it all myself. My co-workers were a very diverse group with a common goal, to be able to help customers with their level of knowledge about different sports and to leave for the day feeling accomplished. The hardest part of the job was that they assign too many tasks and didn't provide enough hours for the sales associates to get it all done and still be able to give exceptional service to their customers, so it ultimately fell on the exempt managers to get them all done, causing every single one of them to consistently have to work 6 days and extra hours every week just to stay close to caught up. There wasn't any one department worse than another, each manager had the same issues with their department. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to train and develop associates and watch them succeed. Also being able to provide a high level of customer service when we were caught up, sporting goods is a great industry, there was never any down time, because there is constantly a sport starting or ending at every time of the year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), East Point, GAApril 1, 2014
it was a good experience
my coworkers where okay
didnt have a hard part
when i made my productivity and hearing my supervisor say ive done a good job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best work experience I have had
Cashier (Former Employee), Bel Air, MDMarch 31, 2014
Great place to work...first place ive learned to be a cashier and have work my best there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Softlines Lead (Current Employee), Denver, COMarch 30, 2014
A great team-oriented environment.
Everyone is helpful in different areas and can teach one another about aspects of their departments.

1 2 3 4 5

About Dick's Sporting Goods

See Dick's shoppers run, putt, dunk, drive, dribble -- and buy. Fast-growing Dick's Sporting Goods operates about 480 stores in 40-plus – Read more

Dick's Sporting Goods Photos