Find companies:
Dick's Sporting Goods
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,436 reviews

Dick's Sporting Goods Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
District Manager
District Manager (Former Employee), Louisville, KYApril 10, 2015
Direct and oversee the successful operations of an expanding territory across three states with up to 14 high-volume, retail locations, 14 Store Managers, 30 Sales Managers and from 40 to 125 associates per store for the largest full-line U.S. retailer in the sporting industry. Develop and implement strategies and train staff to take advantage of both internal and external opportunities to increase sales and improve profitability.

 Design and execute operational sales strategies and manage P&L responsibilities to produce a total sales volume of over $130M within the designated territory.
 Led the turnaround of a concerned district from being 52nd out of 54 regions to reach status as one of the top 25 out of a current 64 districts in a one year period; delivering positive comp sales and improving profitability by developing strategies to address performance through clear expectations for leadership success and store performance.
 Significantly improved the success of previously underperforming locations (one of bottom three) to become one of the top five in the district by re-structuring Store management, training and defining clear goals for the management teams.
 Launched stores in three new markets, working with corporate partners to define the store’s product mix and presentation based on local demographics and seasonal needs to maximize sales. All three markets exceeded sales goals within the first year and delivered operational results within the top 10% of the organization.
 Drive talent development, developing internal staff for promotion including positions – more... in Store and District Management.
 Toured stores daily to train and coach staff, demonstrating optimal merchandise presentation, operations and store standards to ensure each customer’s shopping experience exceeded their expectations.
 Mentored retail managers on the “Big 6” key metrics to define and promote consistency in quality product displays and service, implementing clear accountability and encouraging measurable sales competition between locations.
 Collaborated with Corporate Management to effectively implement strategies which nurtured community relationships to maintain market share in markets with incoming competitors.

DISTRICT MANAGER || Detroit, MI 2009 – 2013
Direct operational process improvements and established infrastructure in existing and newly opened markets. Took on the additional responsibility of overseeing the Canton, OH district for one year in addition to the primary territory.

 Opened remote markets while delivering significant sales growth. Increased comps sales from 4% to over 6.5% growth over two years in a declining population and challenging economic environment.
 Acted as a Regional Representative on growing market share in key businesses by partnering with Home Office partners as a subject matter expert. Provided feedback on wins and opportunities at a store, regional and company level.
 Appointed as DM mentor, coaching and developing newly promoted District Managers.
 Implemented and maintained loss prevention and expense control procedures to control shrink. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Learning experience
Lodge Associate (Former Employee), Elyria, OHApril 10, 2015
Pros: fun, great experience
Cons: Little pay, Little hours
I worked for dicks for almost a year, and loved every minute.
It was by far the favorite job i have ever had. The management was awesome, the customers were great, even the training was almost fun. Would definitely work there again if i could.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work atmosphere
Golf Sales Lead (Current Employee), Charlottesville, VAApril 9, 2015
Pros: store discount, flexible hours
Cons: work most weekends and holidays.
a fairly laid back job with good coworkers with little workplace drama. most days you just help customers with the occasional project. the hardest part of the job is dealing with angry customers. management is good and they will try and help you succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management
Lodge associate (Current Employee), Woodbridge, NJApril 9, 2015
Pros: 25% discount on clothing and shoes
Cons: too many to list, managment, changing schedule without asking or telling you...list goes on
This job only cares about their managers. Workers are drones that are easily replaced, and its a revolving door of workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace in the footwear department
FOOTWEAR SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOApril 8, 2015
Pros: Mall food and customer interactions
Cons: Short Breaks, Accounabiltiy, Benifits, Advancement
Typical day at work was uneventful and dull. I didn't meet any in other departments and I barley knew who I worked with at the job. I learned about price adjustments and development of a single department in store. Also learned how to take ownership of a role that someone isn't fulfilling. The hardest part was work with a leader that was lazy and the most enjoyable was the opportunity to learn are feet and how shoes effects them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sports are my passion
Regional Human Resource Administrator (Former Employee), Frisco, TXApril 8, 2015
Pros: promoted healthy lifestyle
Cons: few opportunities for growth
It was a nice place to work and healthy living was the theme of the day. The people wee friendly and helpful. Teamwork was always in play.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dicks Sporting Goods
Crew member (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAApril 8, 2015
This job was fun when the store first opened and the management was very professional. They offered a lot of cross training and would encourage you to want to move up in the department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Bloomington, INApril 7, 2015
Pros: Fun Coworkers
Cons: Management could not schedule
The management was not organized. Friendly staff otherwise. I did not work there long but I worked during school and they could not seem to work with my class schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dick's
Financial Analyst - Contractor (Current Employee), Coraopolis, PAApril 7, 2015
Dick's Sporting Goods is a strong company to work for. They continue to grow stores at Dick's, as well as other brands to diversify. Such as Field and Stream.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has Its ups and downs
Customer Service/ Lodge (Current Employee), Melbourne, FLApril 6, 2015
Pros: Discount
Cons: Small Busy Season
Hours Change Frequently, Customers are awesome, Management Team has its pros and cons, Limited room for growth but does promote from within.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good place to work for anyone in balancing work and school.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Plymouth Meeting, PAApril 2, 2015
Pros: great work enviorement
Cons: none
for a college student looking to make okay money while balancing school this is a great place to apply. The work environment is also great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bridge Work
Senior Pricing and Signage Coordinator (Current Employee), Centennial, COApril 2, 2015
Pros: The associates.
Cons: The management staff, breaks, training.
My position with this company limits my potential and my skills. However I do have some great co-workers, the associates in the store are the people who make it a fun environment to work in. They are the people that make this place and deserve credit where credit is due!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay, but nice benefits
Lodge Associate (Former Employee), Morgantown, WVApril 2, 2015
Pros: Big discounts
Cons: Small compensation and bad benefits
Dick's Sporting Goods pays minimum wage for their employees and the raises are only a couple cents. It is a high stress environment and you have to learn to adapt quickly. Other than that, there are many perks for getting large discounts on items sold by brand companies within the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love sports...
Cashier/Greeter (Former Employee), Hickory, NCApril 2, 2015
Pros: pay, sports
Cons: Irregular schedule, had to take a break even for five hours of work
Then, this is the place for you. I only worked at Dick's for three months, but I learned a lot. I learned how to manage a till, perform exchanges and returns, and provide quality customer service. The one thing that I really liked about Dick's was the support from the coworkers--everyone was helping the other get the job done right.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good retail environment but a typical corporate structure, designed to use the employee as a tool with no consideration for the employee's needs
Price Signage Coordinator (Former Employee), Melbourne, FLApril 2, 2015
Pros: Good environment for a lazy person to work.
Cons: No recognition for an employee who gives more of himself than he is paid to do.
I can only reiterate what I said in the summary. I worked very hard for this company and I was ultimately considered so disposable. Typical corporate structure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Firearms expert (Former Employee), Riverhead, NYApril 2, 2015
Fun place to work at people there are nice and some of the managers are pleasant as well. No very understanding if something in your life comes up they will let you go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Brooksville, FLApril 1, 2015
I have learned how to recover a store and multitask during the day with taking care of customers and still help keeping the store looking okay. I love all my managers and my co workers are awesome. It is a fun and energy filled job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty cool place to work depending on management
Sales Associate (Current Employee), MichiganApril 1, 2015
been there for about 2 years.. pretty easy retail job. Good if you're looking for part-time work on the side. Fun environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place and environment
Apparel Sales Associate (Former Employee), Roseville, MIMarch 31, 2015
Pros: Lunch break, discounts, friendly people
Cons: angry customers, busy, pays low
Never got bored, there's always some kind of work needed to be done. Management was friendly and understanding with conflicting schedules. Many co-workers are entry-level and young, difficult to get shifts covered some days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Employee (Current Employee), ColoradoMarch 30, 2015
Dick's Sporting Goods is a growing company that values hard work and long hours. If you work smart, you will be in good shape. However, days can be long and frustrating.

About Dick's Sporting Goods

About Dick's Sporting Goods See Dick's shoppers run, putt, dunk, drive, dribble -- and buy. Fast-growing Dick's Sporting Goods – Read more

Dick's Sporting Goods Salaries

Sales Associate
$9.00 per hour
Cashier
$8.30 per hour
Client Service Specialist
$9.50 per hour
Apparel Associate
$8.50 per hour
Cashier/Customer Service
$8.50 per hour

Dick's Sporting Goods Photos

Dick's Sporting Goods
Dick's Sporting Goods
Dick's Sporting Goods