Dick's Sporting Goods Employee Reviews

Found 2,559 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay work enviornment
Cashier Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Oxnard, CAFebruary 19, 2017
Overall nice place to work, however management could use more training an certifications implemented for licensing procedures on hunting and fishing licensees. Cleanliness standards are below par.
Pros
Solid work ethics
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Moore, OK 73160February 19, 2017
Dicks is very organized with all there job requirements. Management is very respectful and organized as well. They appreciate all employees and the hard work you put in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Coraopolis, PAFebruary 19, 2017
The working atmosphere was great. They had a gym and tennis courts on site. Management was great and they are constantly improving to compete with other companies in this sector.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
idk
Lodge Associate (Former Employee) –  Commack, NYFebruary 18, 2017
i have no idea i really dont want to do this but apparently i need to write something here. I liked working at dicks until i didnt like it any more so yea
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rigid and team oriented workplace
Lodge Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 17, 2017
Dick's Sporting Goods really emphasizes being a team and encourages team work among coworkers. The work experience was great and there were many opportunities for learning but not much in the way of advancement.
Pros
Good discounts, Free food
Cons
Lack of advancement, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can be fun place at times
Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAFebruary 17, 2017
Management seems immature and gives the store a feeling of dealing with a bunch of high school kids.Things can feel unorganized and confusing at times.
Pros
relaxed dress, great discount for employees
Cons
advancement seems to be based on favortism more than ability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment
Team Sports Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cheektowaga, NYFebruary 17, 2017
Dicks Sporting Goods offers great opportunity to interact with a diverse group of individuals. It also offers good opportunity to train in many different fields in order to grow within the company.
Pros
discount
Cons
hours offered
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sandusky, OHFebruary 17, 2017
Due to this being part time the pay varied from week to week. Customers would treat the employees terrible. Also due to the schedule varying it is difficult to do anything outside of work
Pros
20% off products
Cons
Customers and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment to be in
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dover, DEFebruary 17, 2017
i liked it for the most part i enjoyed talking to the customers and being able to provide good customer service. i did not like the communication between the workers and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average workplace
Operations Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, DEFebruary 16, 2017
Expect way too much out of their part-time employees who are not being paid enough. The management is very lackluster and never around to give advice or a helping hand.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Receiving Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 16, 2017
People are great to work with. Atmosphere is laid-back very casual very open and fun. Management is great very understanding and very laid-back. Attire is very sporty.
Pros
Uniform is very sporty.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Day
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Saugus, MAFebruary 16, 2017
Worked different hours had to clean pick up boxes and do other things manager required worked in front as customer service and had to manage money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driven and fun workplace
Lodge Associate (Current Employee) –  Brooksville, FLFebruary 15, 2017
I enjoy working for Dicks Sporting Goods. It is a very driven and lighthearted environment. Everyone is very helpful and caring. Everyone is very driven to take care of each customer to the best of our ability and to ensure that the customer is happy with their experience at the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Apparel Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 15, 2017
Experience depends heavily on location and management. Good management allows for a fun work environment. Hours are extremely flexible. All employees are 18+ which is a nice bonus for retail.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Unprofessional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place. Co-workers are very respectful and understanding
Footwear Associate (Former Employee) –  East Brunswick, NJFebruary 15, 2017
Everyone was nice and it was a fun work place and very easy going. It's a friendly environment and everyone is respectful
Pros
Managers buy lunch, good rewards for hard work.
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what you learned
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXFebruary 15, 2017
While working at Dicks i learned a lot about sports and the different equipment that's used for the many sports. Some other things I learned was how to sensor clothes and how to ship orders online.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bike Tech
Department Lead (Current Employee) –  Broken Arrow, OKFebruary 14, 2017
Great job! Hands-on The managers were down to earn and understood the importance of education with being a adult as well. Long well worthy shifts with people with great vibes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management was nice
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INFebruary 14, 2017
i liked the management i worked with. they made me feel appreciated for my heard work. i have worked for other companies that did not knowledge anything i did, so it was refreshing to have management who appreciated their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, exciting place to work, never not busy
Customer Service Specialist/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 14, 2017
Working at Dick's Sporting Goods is a great experience, my coworkers and managers are wonderful to work with. An average day at work would include an immense amount of customer interaction and recovery.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviroment
Sales Support Manager (Current Employee) –  Jackson, TNFebruary 12, 2017
To many hours required of management. I fully understand retail BUT we do have families! Company offers great benefits. Fun environment to work in for the most part.
Pros
Fun work enviroment excellent benefits.
Cons
too many hours for salaried associates. No family time!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dick's Sporting Goods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,566 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4