Dickstein Shapiro LLP Employee Reviews

Showing all 20 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I think the NY branch of this firm has closed.
Legal Secretary, Complex Dispute Resolution (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 24, 2017
The NY branch of this firm has closed. I enjoyed working with two senior associates at this firm. The management and culture of this firm towards the end was not great because of job layoffs. I learned to prioritize my work as the people I worked with seemed to get busy at the same time. There was nothing hard about my job as I enjoyed the people I worked with.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work; like family
Senior Trial Paralegal (Former Employee) –  1633 Broadway, btwn 51st and 52nd, NYC, NY 10019December 7, 2016
Dickstein was a great place to work; the attorneys were great as well as the staff. We always had opportunity to learn. I wish it was able to stay afloat.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
Wish it didn't close
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Work Experience
Policy Partner Application Specialist (Former Employee) –  Washington City, DCNovember 14, 2016
DS was a wonderful place to work. The company treated the employees very well, and really emphasized work/life balance. Management was extremely fair, compassionate, and nurturing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTJuly 28, 2016
Dickstein Shapiro LLP was a great firm to work. My colleagues were great and the company went above and beyond to ensure all employees felt appreciated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Head Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 4, 2016
Dickstein Shapiro LLP was a wonderful place to work. I was employed there just shy of 10 yrs. I learned so much there.

We had excellent support staff, some of the best attorneys to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Office Assistant/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  new york nyJuly 7, 2015
Amazing place to work , meet alot of different people after 9 years is just time for a change , but reall a enjoyable place it will very hard to leave.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, fun after work activities
Operations Administrator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 7, 2014
Typical day for me was to handle any facility issue within the building. Handle and answer any needs that the attorneys had regarding moving, furniture replacement, carpet damage issues, etc. Provided daily inspection of the space and liaison to the Property Management Company, Tishman Speyer as well as several outside vendors (Cavalier Cleaning, ECO Interiors, Tran Furniture Repair). Provide superior customer service to both internal and external staff. Coordinate outside functions for holiday events, decorations and bonus qualifications.

Supervise 3 facility technicians regarding scheduling internal maintenance throughout the space.
Pros
Internal cafeteria, metro assistance
Cons
Advancement in Operations Department was limited
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 11, 2014
Good place to work. There is nothing more to say. I just want to post my resume
Pros
Good
Cons
Good
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
IP Manager-NY (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 11, 2014
Unfortunately due to commute and location it was not a great fit at the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Intellectual Property Legal Secretary (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 7, 2014
We are all very family oriented and treat each other as one, I love that about my co-workers and bosses.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Leadership
Secretary (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 4, 2014
There is no leadership or procedures. The only good thing is there aren't any micromanagers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 28, 2014
This was a great place to learn and grow. Offered many outlets for me to gain new skills. The benefits, work/life balance and overall culture are good.
Pros
Benefits and professional development
Cons
Changes in management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job work/life balance
Senior Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 11, 2014
Overall, a good work environment. Everyone is treated as a professional.
Pros
Knowledgable co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Billing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 15, 2014
Billing for different attorneys, answing e-mails. Pulling reports, answering phone calls filing. Celebrate Birthdays and Anniversary.
Pros
Lunch
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun atmosphere, with productive teams throughout
Records Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 11, 2013
Overall a great place to enter in the legal world. Training is efficient and information is at hand to develop knowledgeable staff members.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in Legal Law Library
Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  Washington DCMarch 5, 2013
Working in the library was a great experience. Learned about patents and insurance law. Assisted paralegals and legal assistants.
Pros
gaining knowledge of various laws
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Records
Records Clerk (Former Employee) –  washingotn, DcOctober 2, 2012
Where it all started, I loved this place; wish they would have never allow OCE to take over their Records Department. I know I would still be working for them right now with no problem.
Pros
clients, staff, managers
Cons
when they let oce take over
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, great place to work. Great atmosphere
Legal Secretary - Corporate Department (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CT 06901April 20, 2012
Working with some of the Partners here who make you laugh a lot. Great team work. Management here is top notch and they really care about you. Love coming to work because we all get along really well.
Pros
you get a yrly bonus, profit sharing and a bonus for being a notoray
Cons
doing billing and filing in records now
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dickstein Shapiro felt like home to me and gave me many opportunities to grow and learn.
Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  Washington, D.C.November 11, 2011
I enjoyed working at Dickstein Shapiro and feel honored to have worked with such wonderful people. I would still be employed at Dickstein, however, I had an opportunity to relocate and return to school for Web Design and Development. Dickstein is a great firm!
Pros
great people, management, compensation and benefits package!
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dickstein Shapiro LLP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
3.8

Dickstein Shapiro LLP Reviews by Location