Find companies:
Dierbergs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Dierbergs Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 5, 2014
Great place to work. I have learned to manage my time, complete tasks to the very best of my ability and improved my social skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
limited growth opportunities but strong customer service programs
associate (Former Employee), Chesterfield, MOApril 29, 2014
A very satisfying choice for a career. Seasonality keeps change as a constant and there's always planning to do for the future.

A smaller company, with a fairly low ceiling, does its best to take care of all associates
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice team, learned alot
Deli, hot cook (Former Employee), Affton, MOFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: great teaching area
Cons: underpaid, and hard to advance
making salads from scratch daily, and slicing meats and cheeses for
show case. Not everyone is good in management I learned so patience is a must. Left Dierbergs for full time position at Ameristar
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: understanding staff
Cons: no career advancement
amazing co-workers and team leaders but was a risky environment to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Cashier (Former Employee), O'Fallon, MOFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: awesome coworkers, work events and parties
Cons: low pay, union dues
Dierbergs is a very good environment to work in. My coworkers became my second family. The managers really care about you and like to see you succeed. The customers at Dierbergs are awesome. The pay is low and you have to pay weekly union dues. The job is SOOO easy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, productive, creative
Customer service, Floral Designer, merchandising (Current Employee), Osage Beach, MOJanuary 3, 2014
Cons: pay, cut my work hours
I love my work as a floral designer, merchandising and collaborating with customers to find what they need. I have learned to floral design in 5 months and love it. The management is kind and understanding along with the coworkers. The hardest part of the job is not getting enough hours to live on and the pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MY JOB
Cashier 2years (Current Employee), 8450 eager rdDecember 9, 2013
i justy come clock in in get my till but the reason i dont like working there becaosue i feel like i work so hard in put up with alot of rude people in still dont get paid enough to support me in my fmaily its hard to live off the pay check when i have so much to tkae care of
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like the job, the people I work with and the customers that shop there. When a customer comes here and are in a bad mood I try to cheer them up.
Cashier (Current Employee), St. Louis, MONovember 14, 2013
Clock in, and get a till. Check in and find out which register I need to go to. Wait on customers, take the groceries the customer decided not to purchase back,

Management is always there for me whether it's a solution at the register or filling in the work schedule they are great they always help any way they can.

When I don't have a customer and – more... another cashier has a customer and no bagger, I will bag for that cashier. And when I have a customer another cashier will bag for me.

The hardest part of my job is standing in one place.

The best part of my job is helping customers, co workers, and doing my best to make sure they have a great experience at Dierbergs so they want to come back and up date me on what's going on in their day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool and fun people to work with.
Cashier (Former Employee), Wentzville, MOOctober 6, 2013
Pros: fast
Cons: not enough hours
this place was the better of some jobs I had they had strict managers but very cool people to work with. also the customers were pretty cool as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't waste your time
deli/ seafood clerk grocery (Former Employee), Shiloh, ILSeptember 26, 2013
Cons: fifty cent sodas in tgw vending machine
Worked there just about 2 years. I worked in the deli and in grocery. Even with a degree I could not get an interview for anything beyond entry level. You will make leas than minimum wage after you pay mandatory union dues for a minimum wage job that guarantees you 15 hours a week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 23, 2013
Pros: meeting and talking with new people every day.
Cons: standing for long periods of time-but always trying to keep busy.
A typical day at work is to ring up customers orders and bag them, answer any questions they might have and asked them if they needed assistance with taking their groceries to their car.
Management was always there to assist you when needed.
I learned how to operate a cash register, how to operate the self checkout lanes and the many ways to make a – more... customer happy.
My coworkers were always willing to help each other when needed.
The hardest part of the job was to stand for 4-8 hours per day.
The most enjoyable part of the job was to meet new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee), Shiloh, ILJuly 22, 2013
A typical day would be clocking in and saying hello to any managers that were up front or on my way to my work area. I'd also say hello to all my co-workers as I put my stuff in my locker. Then if there was any product on the table I'd either label or stock if it was already labeled. If there was nothing to label or stock then, there would be a To Do – more... List and I would see what needed to be done. Which is slicing, decorating, and stocking. Once that was all done an hour before the shift was over, I would clearance any left over donuts, bagels, and danishes then clean the area and do dishes before walking up front and clocking out.
Other then a typical day the Bakery Management was usually on top of their game. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working there because I lke my customers and my coworkers.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 7, 2013
Pros: the benefits, the main store i worked at was close to home.
Cons: they changed some of the rules and management.
I would arrive at work get a drawer and get to a register and start waiting on customers. So that would be most of my day working at a register waiting for customer and giving them the best customer service, which was the best part of the job waiting on the customers and working with my coworkers, I got along with most of the management. The hardest – more... part of the job lately was one of the manager putting me down and not letting me do any other jobs in the store. I was transferred to another store and had a problem getting there because of traffic and I was sent to the other store and did not have a choice which was not fair considering my length of time with the company and at my home store.Dierbergs is a good company to work for because it is a family owned company and has expanded a lot since I have worked them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Customer service (Former Employee), deli clarkMay 7, 2013
it was a long time i don't remember a lot form there. there was a good team work. they had bad management the only think i enjoy about it was meeting people that's about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the vending machines and the televisions.
Production Associate (Current Employee), Bridgeton, MOApril 5, 2013
Pros: free healthcare
Cons: no sick days, no free food..no recognition for hard work.
i work in the sanitation department. My job is to clean the whole building inside and out.The managers are not willing to help with anything. Instead, they"re always looking for something wrong. co-workers gossip all day, use drugs on the premises, and alcohol including managers. Its a disgrace!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very bad company to work for.
Night Merchandiser (Current Employee), Saint Charles, MOMarch 4, 2013
Pros: paycheck, and leaving work
Cons: no hours, dull employees, bad atmoshere
typical night at dierbergs, unload the pallets of freight and put the product on the shelves. everything i do there i have already learned from previous jobs. management is ignorant and lazy and one in particular chooses not to give me hours anymore. shes trying to save hours. sorry but you cannot run a business like that. my co workers are dull and – more... boring. you cannot carry conversation with them, they are like a bunch of robots and are not a lively bunch to be around. the hardest part of my job is going there, it is such a bad atmosphere to be in. the most enjoyable part of my job is getting paid and leaving. i see bad things for this company in the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place sometimes...not a dream job!
Cashier (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: most of the people are friendly and easy to get along with.
Cons: low pay, hours get cut, and hard to advance!
Advancement is very difficult, most of the managers have no college education. You give your all and they take take take. Hard to move into full time positions and wages are very low! Most of the people are nice, however sometimes management runs the department as if you are in kindergarden. They need to learn to follow what they tell employees or stop – more... telling them...follow your own examples!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Cashier/Trainer (Current Employee), Shiloh, ILJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: flexible sechedule, nice managers, opportunity for advancement
Cons: low work hours and wages
Cash out customers and provide good customer service.
Good management and co workers
Most enjoyable part is assisting customers and makeing a difference.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace.
Grocery Associate (Former Employee), Florissant, MODecember 1, 2012
Everyone I worked with was nice and understandable especially the managers I worked with. I learned a lot at work. For example, using a meat slicer, dealing with seafood, and cleaning equipment. This was my first job. The only problem I had was the hours. I wasn't getting many hours to make it to work each week so, I quit to find a better job. I loved – more... working at Dierbergs due to the customers mostly. They were always nice and put a smile on my face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashiering at Dierbergs
Cashier (Former Employee), O'Fallon, ILJuly 18, 2012
An average day at Dierbergs is at a steady pace unless you are working very late at night. I leanred how to deal with unhappy customers and attempting to fix a problem for them. Every that works there is pretty friendly too.