Find companies:
Dillon's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
37 reviews

Dillon's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok some days
Chinese kitchen cook (Current Employee), Hutchinson, KSNovember 14, 2014
the people I work with are like sink or swim and if you are tomorrow don't get stuff ready for the people that do work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging job with great benefits!
#8 scanning manager (Former Employee), Dillons #8 1321 North Main Hutchinson KansasOctober 28, 2014
Pros: benefits and customer service, the pay was good too!
Cons: made less working in a small store though did more work.
I started out as a cashier, moved up to ordering. I had six trucks a week. Made all signs and displays, checked in vendors, met weekly sales projections, counted money in customer service. The customers were the most enjoyable part of the whole job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deli Clerk
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Wichita, KSOctober 20, 2014
Pros: working as a union worker. hour lunch break, good hours
Cons: unorganized, not enough workers
Working for Dillon's was a new experience, i loved working with the wonderful customers and workers. I enjoyed that customer was satisfied with the jobs that i have done for them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to work
Produce Clerk (Current Employee), KansasAugust 27, 2014
Its a Job
You work for money
I am unable to express my opinions of my current employer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical grocery store
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Lawrence, KSAugust 20, 2014
Pros: customers
Cons: management
I was fired for having a work related injury that the management had refused to work with me about, even on paper when it had been filed they refused to accept that I had hurt myself on the job. They refused to follow through with any workman's compensation although I had many doctor's notes and was currently receiving physical therapy for a strained – more... and sprained rotator cuff; on top of that, they had me working utility while in a sling and the manager had told me that my doctor's notes weren't enough. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life working
Sea Food Clerk (Current Employee), Wichita, KSJune 26, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, close to home, co-workers
Cons: pay, number of hours available
I am expected to open/close the entire seafood department, clean, order and organize. I do everything a manager can and will do but get paid a part time salary.

The co-workers are nice and always help when asked, as i do for them as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work schedule
Cashier (Current Employee), Topeka, KSJune 9, 2014
I enjoy working for the company, but would like a higher skilled job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace with reasonable pay considering the type of work to be done.
Front End/Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Wichita, KSMay 25, 2014
Pros: easy access to meals during break, work may have been physically demanding, but not as mentally straining.
Cons: unfixed schedule
A typical day at work varied on the customer population we would have for the day, we would have days where it is fast-paced, and there are days where it would be slow. Nonetheless, my work experience at Dillon's taught me more on organization and time-management as one had to be able to do things well enough and fast enough to accommodate the responsibilities – more... expected of you and at the same time being courteous, helpful, and friendly to customers in need of assistance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working at Dillon's, but somedays are pretty rough!
Furniture Lead (Current Employee), Wichita, KSApril 4, 2014
I enjoy working with my co workers, but sometimes management has pretty high expectations with what needs to get done on a given day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
being a good deli clerk
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Winfield, KSMarch 16, 2014
the work there was difficult at time and other times it was easy and i learned no matter how easy or how difficult the day is you still have to make sure everything is in order and everything is cleaned and ready to be reused like the fryers were on a constant running thought out the day because some of the customers wanted large amounts of fried chicken.
The – more... hardest part of the job was trying not to get burned or cut – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job just not a good paying job and management wasnt the best
o Produce clerk (Former Employee), Wichita, KSMarch 15, 2014
very busy job to make the day go by fast but makes you feel like u don't get paid what u deserve...a lot of manual labor for low pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJanuary 8, 2014
In the 20yrs. I worked for Dillon's I was able to learn many different jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Atmosphere.
CHECKER / GM STOCK (Former Employee), Wichita, KansasOctober 23, 2013
Pros: fun work atmosphere.
Cons: the cons for working for dillon's - not enough hours
I Enjoyed working at Dillon's . It was a fun place to work what I really enjoyed was meeting new people . The customers were friendly and so were my co-workers. My Typical day at work would be getting there and opening up a register meeting and greeting customers , ringing up their orders and wishing them a great day. other days I
would work in the – more... General Merchandise sections of the store were I would stock shelves, unload trucks, and help customers on the sales floor. The management Team was very friendly and helpful . The hardest part of the job was unloading the the Trucks ,breaking down the loads, in the same sense it was one of the most enjoyable parts of my job. I enjoy being physical and moving around . the other enjoyable part of that job was seeing people everyday , getting to know them and using my customer service skills to make their visit at the store a memorable one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-paced job
Cake Decorator/2nd manager (Current Employee), wichita ksOctober 18, 2013
Pros: 10% discount on kroger items. great beneits
Cons: managment does not appreciate your hard work or keep their word
Check for orders, decorate cakes, help customers. I started as a bakery clerk, then learned to bake cake decorate do management jobs. some co-workers are great employees. Hardest part is dealing with difficult customers but I still do it without a problem. I love being able to be creative on my cakes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at work
Meat clerk (Current Employee), Wichita, KSSeptember 26, 2013
Im usually stocking lunchmeat from 7am to 3pm. At first I work the backstock then work the truck. The hardest part about the job is keeping the back stock down if you don't do that the more work you'll have to do. The problem I have is when I'm off it seems like all the backstock doesn't get work and then I get overloaded with work. The most enjoyable – more... part at Dillons is talking to customers and making my peers appreciate my work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits! But don't bother if you have a Family!
Human Resource Coordinator (Former Employee), Lawrence, KSSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: great insurance, knowledge if you're willing to learn
Cons: no personal time, no free weekends, under trained managment
This company is a great company it to work for if you are a single person with no obligations. The price of the benefits are great the pay is comparable and the skill that can be learned are life long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Produce Clerk (Current Employee), Wellington, KSJuly 23, 2013
Clock-in
Grab handheld
Remove out of date inventory
Restock inventory
Item Markdown
Prepare/cut fruit
Stock Nature's Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wounder full evoirment
Cashier, Carry (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJune 26, 2013
Pros: great employers
Cons: long shifts
• Checked to ensure that appropriate changes were made to resolve customers' problems.
• Kept records of customer interactions and transactions, recording details of inquiries, complaints, and comments, as well as actions taken.
• Referred unresolved customer grievances to designated departments for further investigation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor experience
Overnight Freight (Former Employee), Springfield, MOJune 22, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
I worked for almost a year and was released by the company using their horrible point system, a lot of favoritism in the company as well. I had my first child there and couldn't request the time off within their guidelines and they marked it against me, for wanting to be there to see my first child be born, ridiculous if you ask me. I also had a mark – more... against me for missing work after having a tooth pulled and a note written by the dentist saying I was to not work that night, but because I couldn't give 24 hour notice after the appointment it was put against me. A lot of employees do not enjoy their jobs and like to talk behind peoples backs. I worked overnight as one of the tougher jobs in the store and others were paid twice as much to do a job that required a lot less effort. Overall not a good experience working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice grocery store chain in the midwest
Safety Coordinator/ Lead Cook (Current Employee), Lawrence, KSJune 2, 2013
Pros: good benifites
Cons: hours of work very
Regulate and comply with OSHA standards for Dillon's grocery store at one store. Part of the Kroger chain of stores.