Dillon Transport Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 34 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sorry i worked there
Local Driver (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 4, 2016
Management changed to many times while was there,corperate didn't care about the driver,as I went on medical leave instead of working with me was fired.Then terminal manager lied to get me back then kept lying.Could not get the trucks fixed.Company says age of trucks 1 to 3 yrs,mine was 9 years old with over 800000 on it.
Pros
home weekends
Cons
everything about them
Was this review helpful?Yes27No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another Florida low wage job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 17, 2016
Very low wages a lot of hours mgmt sucks job could be better if people cared but they don't and wages were better if drivers can't make $65k a year or better it's not worth it drivers need to wake up either get the money you deserve or get out of the business wake up drivers you deserve better
Pros
None
Cons
Healthcare sucks high $$$$ company just sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Tanker Driver (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 29, 2016
I took sick missed one day and from that day on I had to get medical records and took a dot physical 4 times and I was fired because they didn't want to pay for my medical records
Pros
Weekly pay
Cons
The company from top to bottom
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhappy work place if your use to being appreciated.
Crude Oil Driver (Former Employee) –  Elmendorf, TXNovember 5, 2015
Dispatchers have no clue what the drivers encounter on a daily basis and have no care for their thoughts or advice. Management plays favorites and will never be honest with you or upfront. Manager will let you talk but will never take your advice or input. Manager will never treat ALL employees fair. If you like to be unappreciated and threatened every day about your job then this is the place for you. If your a mechanic and you thinking about applying, please don't. Company has been around for 4 years and has yet to build a shop for the truck mechanics and never has the proper materials for the drivers to replace the fluids needed on a daily basis in the vehicles. Equipment takes forever to get properly replaced or fixed.
Pros
Drivers are friendly.
Cons
Terminal Manager plays favorites, Unfair discipline amongst employees, Dispatchers have no clue how to designate loads.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They paint you a pacaso and p** all over it
driver (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLApril 22, 2016
I worked for dillon for a but 6 months and the only thing they care about is you making them money. They tell u about 250.00 a day lie when u first start your lucky to make 140.00 a day after u pay 275 a week for health insurance u bring home about 400.00 a week.
Pros
New trucks
Cons
Everything about dillon
Was this review helpful?Yes28No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Currently employed / Field Safety
Field Safety Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 17, 2016
I am on the management side, specifically the safety department. I also hold the orientations for new employees in Florida. Some basic info I give everyone on the first day to not waste their time or mine:
1. Starting off you get whatever schedule is available after your training.
2. Trucks have drive cams
3. This is bulk hazmat transport in an industrial setting
4. 200+ drivers between the two FL terminals leaving every 30 minutes or so, 24/7 365. You work holidays if it falls on your regular scheduled days.
5. Pay based on percentage of load. Detention pay is hard to get unless customer causes delays. Breakdown pay only after 3 hrs.
6. When it gets really busy (two or three times a year) you can end up waiting for a truck.

With that said, here are some Pros:
1. 2000 safety bonuses a year
2. 250 plus load pay on holidays
3. Getting a good schedule takes between 6-12 months (in order we look at attendance, performance, safety record, and seniority is last as a tie breaker) usually attendance, excused or unexpired will keep you from getting a good schedule.
4. Newer trucks and all automatics
5. 600 referral bonus
6. Abundance of resources and support for local drivers, extensive training, 24/7 dispatch, maintenance, and safety personal in the field!

It's not all milk and honey, 250$ a day is unlikely for anyone new but 180-220 is manageable.
Pros
Pay, holidays, equipment, support, atmosphere
Cons
Healthcare, schedules, exposed to the elements
Was this review helpful?Yes21No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Victim of crude market crash
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Elmendorf, TXMay 9, 2016
It was great as long as the crude market was up. When prices dropped so did the volume of work, and so it goes.
Management is laid back as long as the job gets done, but sh?t will roll if something is missed.
Was this review helpful?Yes11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of lies
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Mulberry, FLApril 27, 2016
Load pay with a lot of obstacles that keep you from making money. Management does not care how many hours it takes you to do the work. Lucky if you make 160/day.
Pros
Local job
Cons
Pay sucks, management disconnected from reality
Was this review helpful?Yes25No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was fairly easy
Driver of pnuematic trailer (Former Employee) –  Windsor, COApril 16, 2016
The work environment was pleasant.The worst part of the job was in inclement weather,as the parking lot would turn into a quagmire requiring you to put chains on the tractors just to get out of the yard.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great to driver new trucks..
Driver T/T Sulfuric Acid (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLApril 20, 2016
A average day was about 12 to 13 hours. and 5 to 6 load a day of hauling acid.
It was definitely a safety oriented job.
And the best part of the job was having new trucks to drive.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run and Gun
Truck Driver CLD A TX Local / Regional (Current Employee) –  McCook, ILApril 21, 2016
High paced percentage pay driven company., New CNG equipment and always has seasonal work associated with asphalt plants.
Pros
Perfect for type-A personality
Cons
Run and gun
Was this review helpful?Yes8No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hauling crude oil from the oil fields to gathering locations
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Elmendorf, TXFebruary 2, 2016
Dillon Transport is a good company to work for. Working hours and start times are flexible, however the days are long and the hazardous nature of the work requires focus on safety and utilizing safe work practices.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
when I started at Dillon Transport it was more like a family. It became a corporate nightmare, more cheifs than indians
operations manager (Former Employee) –  McCook, ILJune 26, 2014
A fast growing company with growing pains. Not much room for advancement. Usually hires management from outside sources. But if your looking for a driving job and are willing to work,they have top of the line equipment and a good compensation package.
Pros
excellant equipment
Cons
will keep drivers away from home to long.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to make money when it is busy
CDL Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Elmendorf, TXNovember 6, 2015
O.K. company to work for, normally you are performing your job by yourself so you learn as you go. You meet good people as co-workers and enjoy their company. You do your job well and management keeps away from you. For the most part this company has good equipment for you to perform your duties safely.
Pros
Safe equipment
Cons
Cost for family healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a driver friendly atmosphere, impulsive management
Local truck driver (Former Employee) –  Mulberry,FLAugust 24, 2015
Long hours, management is not driver friendly. Constant supervision and assessment of your work. Dillon uses negative reinforcement to make drivers perform their job. The money is better than most local truck company's.
Was this review helpful?Yes40No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy invorment company will work with you,
CDL Driver/ Crude hauler (Current Employee) –  Elmendorf, TXNovember 4, 2015
its is a good company, when is gets slow moral is down, when busy it is high. I love the company they just don't have enough work to go around right now
Pros
good inviroment
Cons
loads go up and down
Was this review helpful?Yes16No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
home every day
Driver, loading, unloading hauling to plants (Current Employee) –  Burr Ridge, ILOctober 1, 2015
pick up ld and drop at another location runs not there sometimes only work three days a week no money for family no talking between dispatce or drivers
Pros
home every day
Cons
no money
Was this review helpful?Yes20No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worthy of at least a try. No guarantees until you are proven.
Tanker Driver (Former Employee) –  Burr Ridge, ILApril 6, 2015
Dillon is company that prides itself on productivity. The bottom lines is the most important thing with most companies. With Dillon it is paramount. The business of asphalt is seasonal and it drops off at a certain time of year. They also haul gas oil. Most of the loads are dispatched to the drivers that have managed to stick around. The newbies will definitely get whats left. I was hoping that there would be a more evenly distributed load board that would have kept me around a little longer. I wasn't totally pleased with my tenure there at Dillon but I'm sure other drivers have had a lot of success there. As far as equipment goes I never broke down. I would say that Dillon would be perfect for the driver that kind of likes it "nice and easy".
Pros
Easy work. Uniforms. Easy going. Home daily most times
Cons
Asphalt gets everywhere. Limited loads to start.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just Be Careful!
Driver (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAMay 27, 2015
I worked out of the Savannah (Ellabell) terminal. Nice people to deal with. When I quit they deducted $600 from my last paycheck for "orientation and training"! It was #22 on the list of stuff I initialed but, regrettably, didn't read. So pay attention to what you're signing. Trucks are automatics and slow as molasses. BTW, don't fall for the $80,000 per year claims. The e-logs will ensure that you fall far short of that.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Slow trucks, a lot of downtime
Was this review helpful?Yes24No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor upper management "corporate"
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  GreeleyMarch 24, 2015
Unfair practices regarding pay for drivers. They will tell drivers a certain percentage witch is true but the drivers are not aware that corporate already took $100 off the load so inturn the drivers is not getting the correct pay. Save your time and STAY AWAY!
Pros
Weekly Pay
Cons
Upper Management Corporate and Med Insurance way to high
Was this review helpful?Yes17No3Report

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.1
Management
2.2
Culture
2.3