Din Tai Fung Employee Reviews

Found 13 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place was great
Lead Cashier (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 28, 2017
Very busy. Often we had lines out the door and the number one goal was to keep the food coming out in a timely fashion. Everything was tasty, ten out of ten.
Pros
free lunch and dinner
Cons
very high paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place I have ever worked
Lead Server (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CAJuly 25, 2017
Working for Din Tai Fung is an absolute nightmare. It is by far the worst experience I have ever had working for an employer. If you have other options, pick the other option, but you will make money, so there is that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great money not so great management
Server (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAJune 19, 2017
Great money if you can handle the management and their high expectations. They hate to do voids even though they can reuse the food. The people are very nice that work there and there are always enough people working so you are never overwhelmed with multiple tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Din tai fung
Side Station (Current Employee) –  Arcadia, CAJune 7, 2017
Amazing work place
Not a good first job
Hardest part: keeping up with all the orders
Enjoyable part: getting to know the people
Management: friendly, almost as if you can become the managers friend.
What I learned: personal skills to better my self
Pros
50% off meals ONLY when you're working
Cons
Super tiring // held to high standards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Side station (Former Employee) –  Santa Clara, CAMay 10, 2017
Worked with a lot of people, always has something to do. I learned to always be responsible with preparing food and always clean after yourself. The hardest part was always carrying heavy plates, but there was always someone that were willing to help.
Pros
half price off anything on the menu
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace with good pay
Hostess/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAApril 11, 2017
Din Tai Fung had exceptional pay. The work environment is decent. Management changed often, so stable relationships with those higher up were not frequently made.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a family
Server (Current Employee) –  Torrance, CAMarch 13, 2017
The workers and managers all work together to help raise the company's name to its full potential and through that, a healthy and happy work environment is a constant product.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place ever.
Food Prep and Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  El Monte, CAMarch 10, 2017
This place is a horrible to work at the environment in that place was no good there was many different languages there but no body could speak more the one so it was very hard to try to understand any one they could be speaking Spanish to Chinese.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Server (Current Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAMay 27, 2016
I learned a lot from working at Din Tai Fung, especially my teamwork skills. I understand that I was apart of a big puzzle that needed to do my part in order for the restaurant to flow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy restaurant but does not adhere to many standards
Manager (Former Employee) –  Southern CaliforniaApril 23, 2015
This brand does amazing numbers and has very high service standards. They are a fast paced restaurant with a strong customer base. They however don't pay their managers on time nor provide health insurance as promised. There are managers which have been employed for almost a full year with no health benefits at all.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
No healthcare, no vacation, no empathy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy restaurant. A lot of tips.
Busboy (Current Employee) –  Arcadia, CAApril 7, 2014
Clean and polish counters, shelves, walls, furniture, or equipment in food service areas or other areas of restaurants and mop or vacuum floors. Clean up spilled food or drink or broken dishes and remove empty bottles and trash. Scrape and stack dirty dishes and carry dishes and other
tableware to kitchens for cleaning. Maintain adequate supplies of items such as clean linens, silverware, glassware, dishes, or trays. Stock cabinets or serving areas with condiments and refill condiment containers. Locate items requested by customers. Carry food, dishes, trays, or silverware.

Well educated, well mannered management.
Pros
Great management. Co-workers share tips so there is great teamwork.
Cons
Lack of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a good place, the coworker are friendly and we have a great time during working time
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Arcadia, CAApril 24, 2012
i learned how to make our customer satisfy our service and happiness. Our coworker will help each other to finish tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report

See more Din Tai Fung reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Din Tai Fung. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2

CEO Approval

63%
11 ratings
Add your rating