Find companies:
DIPLOMAT SPECIALTY PHARMACY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36 reviews

DIPLOMAT SPECIALTY PHARMACY Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work with catered food, ping pong tables, and an exercise room.
Patient Care Coordinator (Former Employee), Flint, MIJune 15, 2014
Pros: healthcare costs, educational programs, cpht incentives
Cons: rate of pay, management
Other than the high turnover rate, Diplomat was a great place to start off learning about the pharmaceutical industry. My workday consisted of billing resolutions, refilling specialty medication, and packing slips. The environment is very laid back with some set backs, however they were not an over your shoulder company. If the company paid more money, – more... at least $5 more with the benefits they have, the turnover rate wouldn't be so high. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and wonderful place to work
Order Entry Technician (Current Employee), Flint, MIJune 12, 2014
Every day we would process prescriptions that would be faxed in from the doctor office. These prescriptions that we process on a daily bases is Specialty medications. The team I work with are wonderful, enjoyable and can ask questions when you need help with. The management is good as well. Some of them are parents them self so they understand if you – more... have to leave early due to your child/ren sickness.
The hardest part of the job is becoming a certified technician due to the test being hard and expensive for people to pay out of pocket if someone has to take it multiple times. Plus what is on the test is not what we doing on a daily bases. The test leans towards the retail part of the pharmacy and some of the employees has never has experience in the retail department.
Another hard part of the job is also trying to stay caught up on prescriptions that we get on a daily bases. They offer over time but some people can not stay due to not have someone to watch their child/rens.
I really do enjoy my job and my team that I see on a daily bases. We can laugh and joke while things get hard n our department. We also do nice things for one another when someone is sick, had surgery, someone passing away and many more. We do send cards to our employees to show that we are thinking of them through the hard times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to start out in and then move on
Patient care coordinator (Former Employee), Flint,miMay 29, 2014
Pros: ping long tables, food vendors, free gym & yoga classes
Cons: pay, high turn over, young management
The dept I work in is relatively laid back, however in my 6 months of being there I've seen so many employees come and go. Very high turn over rate. Employees are under paid for the work and stress they deal with. Company is growing at a rapid rate and I think the high turnover is due to employees being burnt out because of more patients and calls coming – more... in and not enough employees to keep up.
Leads/supervisors constantly asking employees for over time. I don't feel obligated in my dept but I know other depts there's a lot of pressure. Depts are constantly behind and patients and nurses constantly calling upset they haven't received return calls, or got missed deliveries or something wrong with the accounts.
This place is hiring every two weeks, pay is $10 and for the flint area that is good, but not for recent graduates or people looking for a career.
Training is two weeks and experience isn't necessary. I have no medical background.
Over all though good job to gain some experience on your resume and then move on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely family oriented great place to work
Patient Care Coordinator/ph tech (Former Employee), Flint, MIApril 19, 2014
Pros: community help, free lunches on occasion, ping pong, pickleball, real team effort.
Cons: just not the best pay
I loved working there. Very relaxed atmosphere, even during stressful situations. Always a resource person ready to assist you. Games to take part in during breaks/lunch. Mr. Hagerman knew that with happy employees there would e happy customers. Our opinion counted. They listened to our suggestions. Did for the community. I wish I'd never left there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DEAD END ..No longer about patient care, just the bottom line
Patient care coordinator (Current Employee), corporate, flintApril 1, 2014
Pros: you get to talk with amazing patients and do what you can to make life a little easier for them.
Cons: nepotism, favortism, poor pay and unexperience, uninspiring management
I have learned a lot during my three years at DSP. Mostly because you are not taught much and I learn from experience. I have been forced to learn a lot of skills to ensure that patients receive the care they deserve. DSP was built on patient care, but the more it grows, the less they care about the patients. DSP is now only concerned with the bottom – more... line and how fast the patient turnover rate is. You are punished for taking the time needed to make sure patients are satified and taken care of, if you can get it done in 7-8 min. These are specialty patients who sometimes need, and dang sure deserve to be cared for properly. That doesn't matter any longer to DSP, it is about getting as many patients done in as short of time as possible... no matter if that means med errors, missed doses, overcharging and misdelivered packages. Also, they promise you advancement opportunity and competative wages, but fail to mention that in order to advance, you must be related to or friends with the management or "higher ups"....and the wages are only competative if you are comparing fast food service. This is an ok job to start purely for experience for your resume. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management and No Advancement
Patient Care Coordinator (Former Employee), Flint, MIMarch 13, 2014
Although when I started here the benefits and pay seemed good, but if you have a life to live outside of this place it is not a good place to work. They do not care about what might happen in your life and are not willing to work with you if something happens and you need time off. Poor place to work and no career advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace, patients and employees come first!!
Oncology Patient Care Coordinator (Former Employee), Chesaning, MIMarch 13, 2014
amazing company to work for. Treats employees and patients with great respect and appreciation. Would recommend anyone who is determined and hard-working, to work for this company!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, motivated
Patient Care Coordinator (Current Employee), FlintFebruary 28, 2014
Extremely advanceable but have to wait 6 months making very little
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LPN
LPN (Current Employee), Flint MichiganFebruary 22, 2014
Enjoyable place to work, I enjoyed my job. I've learned a lot and I feel it has helped me advance in my future choices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Company to work for
Funding Specialist (Former Employee), CORPORATE FLINT MIDecember 20, 2013
Pros: really no pros to work for diplomat
Cons: everything is a con at this company
This company is not a good place to work. There is no chance for advancement unless you are "friends" with management. They promote young, family members and this might have been fine when they were a small pharmacy, but now that they are growing it is not a good practice. The funding department is a joke, so far behind in work and the supervisor is – more... clueless to her job. She was promoted because she was best friends with the MBM boss! Every person starts off at $10 per hour and if you are lucky after 1 year you will get .10cent raise. I have seen people get as little as .07cents and some get nothing for a raise. I was a lead and was told that NO ONE COULD HAVE A PERFECT REVIEW AS MY BOSS DIDN'T WANT TO GIVE GOOD RAISES. That is when I decided to quit. This is an awful place to work. Stay away if you can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company!
VIP Accounts Order Entry Technician (Former Employee), FlintDecember 12, 2013
Pros: paid for my cpht exam
Cons: pay, management, hr, hours, no room for advancement
For starters, this company is slowly moving towards working more nights and weekends because they serve the whole country and differing time zones. I was "promoted" to a new position which included doing 4 times the amount of work without a pay increase (everyone gets $10/hr) and at first was told there was a pay increase but they would get me my offer – more... letter after they asked someone to do the job I was doing.

I was the main person responsible for their most exclusive contract at $10/hr. Myself, and many people from my department ended up leaving shortly after new management came in and we were all given a 10-40 cent raise. The previous comments are true as well, management is very clique-y, there are a lot of young and immature managers/leads and they will talk about you behind your back when you are new and if they don't like you, you will get fired. I left because I saw no substantial pay increases ahead and there was no job security, people were constantly getting walked out by security everyday. I was one of the few that worked there that held a bachelors degree and passed my CPhT exam in the alloted time (many people ask for extensions) and many of my managers never passed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Department Manager (Current Employee), Flint, MINovember 22, 2013
Pros: decent home/work balance, decent health benefits, 401k
Cons: substandard wages, high expectations without appropriate compensation, negative upper management.
Work days are busy with little to no down time, which is good. I have been able to learn a lot, and the company encourages promotions from within. I knew very little about pharmacy before I worked there, but have been able to learn a great deal. The management is supportive of new ideas that could improve productivity, and encourages this kind of communication.The – more... co-workers are awesome and everyone seems to have a great desire to help patients. Upper management tends to be quite cynical and negative. The pay scale is unbalanced with very knowledgable employees making significantly less money than new temps coming into the building; mostly due to a shift in the hiring wages. The reviews are ineffective in giving appropriate raises to hard working efficient employees with $.10 and $.20 raises being the most common. The time demands are high, but they do allow for personal time off and don't seem to have much trouble with allowing employees to balance their work time with family time. Most departments are significantly short staffed which causes a lot of burn out and frustration with work loads and demands. The company spends a lot of money on things that make them look good in the media and with colleagues, while the employees would be better served with higher, more appropriate wages and more paid time off. The company has a significant amount of family and friends of family being promoted over employees who are more qualified. They provide weight rooms, media rooms, ping pong tables, training classes, lunch vendors, exercise classes, weight loss programs, etc... This is nice, but most employees are in high demand for their time; therefore are not able to enjoy these perks, and again would be better served to have higher wages, and/or more paid time off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Patient Care Coordinator (Former Employee), Flint, MIOctober 2, 2013
Great Company to work for but you will really have to like your job. The pay is awful, they always expect you to do more and more everyday but you are not compensated at all. They have great benefits and there is always something new they are trying. Fitness is important to them, so they bring in instructors and you can join the class after work. They – more... did bring in different vendors for lunch so that was nice to have a choice instead of "brown bagging" everyday. Your job is very detailed and challenging and is always changing. Could be a good thing and a bad thing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Flint, MIAugust 20, 2013
the pay is horrible for the work that you do people that make the money are the big guys.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Order Entry Technician (Former Employee), Flint, MIJuly 31, 2013
pay not enough for the jobs given great benifits though learned alot working here always more to learn as things seem to change on a day by day basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work your way up
Pharmacy Liaison/Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Flint, MIJuly 27, 2013
I loved working at Diplomat! They are always looking for ways to make the employees feel appreciated. I have seen many people start at an entry level position and work their way up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable place to work, tedious paperwork
Clinical Help Desk (Current Employee), Flint, MIJuly 23, 2013
Pros: great people
Cons: tedious paperwork
A typical day is assessing patients file for any adverse side effects, counseling them & reporting to the appropriate manufacturer. I learned a lot about the pharmacy world, specialty medications & how they work. Management was approachable, helpful. I enjoyed my co-workers very much. They were the best part of the job! The hardest part was knowing – more... that many of our oncology patients would suffer & then die. The most enjoyable was that the company offered many community events, brought in vendors for lunch. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers, lousy pay
PCC (Current Employee), Flint, MIJuly 17, 2013
Pros: great resume builder
Cons: horrible pay
Great place to work if you dont have student loans to pay off or a family to support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring work for little pay.
Patient Care Coordinator (Former Employee), Flint, MIMay 28, 2013
Pros: resume builder
Cons: bad hours, poor pay, constant supervision.
Diplomat Specialty Pharmacy might as well be an adult day care the way they monitor and baby-sit their employees. They also pay employees barely enough to live and the hours are not favorable. Late nights and weekends. There is little opportunity for advancement unless you know someone in the executive suite, regardless of your skills and education. – more... Also, they brag about being a billion dollar company and give employees dime raises. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rapidly growing company!
Lead (Current Employee), MichiganMay 20, 2013
Lots of learning opportunities. Co-workers care about the patients.