Find companies:
DIPLOMAT SPECIALTY PHARMACY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

DIPLOMAT SPECIALTY PHARMACY Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management and No Advancement
Patient Care Coordinator (Former Employee), Flint, MIMarch 13, 2014
Although when I started here the benefits and pay seemed good, but if you have a life to live outside of this place it is not a good place to work. They do not care about what might happen in your life and are not willing to work with you if something happens and you need time off. Poor place to work and no career advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace, patients and employees come first!!
Oncology Patient Care Coordinator (Former Employee), Chesaning, MIMarch 13, 2014
amazing company to work for. Treats employees and patients with great respect and appreciation. Would recommend anyone who is determined and hard-working, to work for this company!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, motivated
Patient Care Coordinator (Current Employee), FlintFebruary 28, 2014
Extremely advanceable but have to wait 6 months making very little
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LPN
LPN (Current Employee), Flint MichiganFebruary 22, 2014
Enjoyable place to work, I enjoyed my job. I've learned a lot and I feel it has helped me advance in my future choices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Company to work for
Funding Specialist (Former Employee), CORPORATE FLINT MIDecember 20, 2013
Pros: really no pros to work for diplomat
Cons: everything is a con at this company
This company is not a good place to work. There is no chance for advancement unless you are "friends" with management. They promote young, family members and this might have been fine when they were a small pharmacy, but now that they are growing it is not a good practice. The funding department is a joke, so far behind in work and the supervisor is – more... clueless to her job. She was promoted because she was best friends with the MBM boss! Every person starts off at $10 per hour and if you are lucky after 1 year you will get .10cent raise. I have seen people get as little as .07cents and some get nothing for a raise. I was a lead and was told that NO ONE COULD HAVE A PERFECT REVIEW AS MY BOSS DIDN'T WANT TO GIVE GOOD RAISES. That is when I decided to quit. This is an awful place to work. Stay away if you can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company!
VIP Accounts Order Entry Technician (Former Employee), FlintDecember 12, 2013
Pros: paid for my cpht exam
Cons: pay, management, hr, hours, no room for advancement
For starters, this company is slowly moving towards working more nights and weekends because they serve the whole country and differing time zones. I was "promoted" to a new position which included doing 4 times the amount of work without a pay increase (everyone gets $10/hr) and at first was told there was a pay increase but they would get me my offer – more... letter after they asked someone to do the job I was doing.

I was the main person responsible for their most exclusive contract at $10/hr. Myself, and many people from my department ended up leaving shortly after new management came in and we were all given a 10-40 cent raise. The previous comments are true as well, management is very clique-y, there are a lot of young and immature managers/leads and they will talk about you behind your back when you are new and if they don't like you, you will get fired. I left because I saw no substantial pay increases ahead and there was no job security, people were constantly getting walked out by security everyday. I was one of the few that worked there that held a bachelors degree and passed my CPhT exam in the alloted time (many people ask for extensions) and many of my managers never passed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Department Manager (Current Employee), Flint, MINovember 22, 2013
Pros: decent home/work balance, decent health benefits, 401k
Cons: substandard wages, high expectations without appropriate compensation, negative upper management.
Work days are busy with little to no down time, which is good. I have been able to learn a lot, and the company encourages promotions from within. I knew very little about pharmacy before I worked there, but have been able to learn a great deal. The management is supportive of new ideas that could improve productivity, and encourages this kind of communication.The – more... co-workers are awesome and everyone seems to have a great desire to help patients. Upper management tends to be quite cynical and negative. The pay scale is unbalanced with very knowledgable employees making significantly less money than new temps coming into the building; mostly due to a shift in the hiring wages. The reviews are ineffective in giving appropriate raises to hard working efficient employees with $.10 and $.20 raises being the most common. The time demands are high, but they do allow for personal time off and don't seem to have much trouble with allowing employees to balance their work time with family time. Most departments are significantly short staffed which causes a lot of burn out and frustration with work loads and demands. The company spends a lot of money on things that make them look good in the media and with colleagues, while the employees would be better served with higher, more appropriate wages and more paid time off. The company has a significant amount of family and friends of family being promoted over employees who are more qualified. They provide weight rooms, media rooms, ping pong tables, training classes, lunch vendors, exercise classes, weight loss programs, etc... This is nice, but most employees are in high demand for their time; therefore are not able to enjoy these perks, and again would be better served to have higher wages, and/or more paid time off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Patient Care Coordinator (Former Employee), Flint, MIOctober 2, 2013
Great Company to work for but you will really have to like your job. The pay is awful, they always expect you to do more and more everyday but you are not compensated at all. They have great benefits and there is always something new they are trying. Fitness is important to them, so they bring in instructors and you can join the class after work. They – more... did bring in different vendors for lunch so that was nice to have a choice instead of "brown bagging" everyday. Your job is very detailed and challenging and is always changing. Could be a good thing and a bad thing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Flint, MIAugust 20, 2013
the pay is horrible for the work that you do people that make the money are the big guys.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Order Entry Technician (Former Employee), Flint, MIJuly 31, 2013
pay not enough for the jobs given great benifits though learned alot working here always more to learn as things seem to change on a day by day basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work your way up
Pharmacy Liaison/Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Flint, MIJuly 27, 2013
I loved working at Diplomat! They are always looking for ways to make the employees feel appreciated. I have seen many people start at an entry level position and work their way up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable place to work, tedious paperwork
Clinical Help Desk (Current Employee), Flint, MIJuly 23, 2013
Pros: great people
Cons: tedious paperwork
A typical day is assessing patients file for any adverse side effects, counseling them & reporting to the appropriate manufacturer. I learned a lot about the pharmacy world, specialty medications & how they work. Management was approachable, helpful. I enjoyed my co-workers very much. They were the best part of the job! The hardest part was knowing – more... that many of our oncology patients would suffer & then die. The most enjoyable was that the company offered many community events, brought in vendors for lunch. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers, lousy pay
PCC (Current Employee), Flint, MIJuly 17, 2013
Pros: great resume builder
Cons: horrible pay
Great place to work if you dont have student loans to pay off or a family to support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring work for little pay.
Patient Care Coordinator (Former Employee), Flint, MIMay 28, 2013
Pros: resume builder
Cons: bad hours, poor pay, constant supervision.
Diplomat Specialty Pharmacy might as well be an adult day care the way they monitor and baby-sit their employees. They also pay employees barely enough to live and the hours are not favorable. Late nights and weekends. There is little opportunity for advancement unless you know someone in the executive suite, regardless of your skills and education. – more... Also, they brag about being a billion dollar company and give employees dime raises. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rapidly growing company!
Lead (Current Employee), MichiganMay 20, 2013
Lots of learning opportunities. Co-workers care about the patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work....inconsistencies and favoritism was a downfall
Patient Care Coordinator/Initiative (Former Employee), Flint, MIMay 16, 2013
Pros: customer service....highest performance and attendance marks
Cons: management favoritism, friendship and inconsistencies
I was a patient care coordinator for the company and was there for alomst 1 year. I enjoyed the opportunity to assist "Specialty Patients" throughout the country in assisting them to secure their medications or to make arrangements for refill or new prescriptions by their doctors. The specialty patients were those who required medications to provide – more... them with the best quality of life and whose life depended on the specialty medications.

I found my co-workers to be very supportive, fun and friendly of each other. My numbers of refills in comparison to number of calls made were among the top performance percentage in the department.

Being a 52-year old man, (age 50, when on staff), I found out that younger women in their late 20's and early 30's who are in management positions with friends in their department, can certainly be intimidated by people who do their job, and are well liked.

It took 9 months, but managers and supervisors in that role finally had their chance to get rid of me, but I was not found in violation of ANY type of work situation or lack of execution that caused me to lose my job.

I was wanting to move up within the company in marketing, communications or public relations and these supervisors knew that. They didn't want me to stay in the company let alone succeed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Advancement
Lead Enrollment PCC & Member Benefits/Pfizer (Former Employee), Flint, MIApril 18, 2013
This is a great starter place but only if you want to stay an entry level person. Management will not be any help to you if you want to move forward. If they don't want you to watch your back. Unless you are family or a close family friend you will never advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only promotes family of executives
AR Clerk (Former Employee), Flint, MIApril 16, 2013
Pros: vendors brought in food for you to purchase at lunch. small workout room was onsight.
Cons: long hours, below stardard pay, immature coworkers, freezing cold work environment, filthy bathrooms
There is no way to move up in this company. Poor training and archaic software. They say they promote from within, but the only ones that I saw getting promoted were relatives. Management does not let you know when you are doing a good job. I felt over worked, stressed out and underpaid.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from this place
Patient Care Coordinator (Former Employee), Flint, MIApril 16, 2013
Pros: you get small compensation every two weeks
Cons: too many to list
Pay is horrible-
You are disposable
Turn over is high
Alot of family members work there, therefore they are the ones getting promotion
If you are smart and they recognize that and dont like you, you will be written up for something strange.
The hours are bad
It is ran like a sweat shop-stay away!!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away If You Can!
PCC (Former Employee), Swartz CreekMarch 12, 2013
Pros: no longer working there.
Cons: nepotism, poor training & pay, poorer communication.
There is no typical day at work. The turnover is so high, that one is constantly bombarded with inexperienced and poorly trained personnel. Management doesn't have a clue as to what needs to take place to make this company truly great, as they are too busy hiring and promoting their own relatives. The pay is very sub-par, and not really based on solid – more... parameters. The hardest part of the job was the corporate and managerial mentality. The most enjoyable part was leaving for a better company. – less