Find companies:
Direct General Auto Insurance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
104 reviews

Direct General Auto Insurance Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see below
Sales Agent (Current Employee), Cape Coral, FLSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: a little too much micro managing
I don't like being moved from office to another all the time. Too much down time. Management was not very interpersonal with staff, felt like a number.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CUSTOMER SERVICE
MAILROOM CLAIMS CLERK (Former Employee), Tampa, FLSeptember 23, 2014
ASSIST CUSTOMERS OVER THE PHONE WITH POLICY CHANGE AND UPDATES
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place.
Licensed Agent (Former Employee), Baton Rouge LaSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: comfortable desk area
Cons: pay
Nice place to work. Employees nice and there were alot of fun activities also that you can participate in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will learn the non-standard culture.
Sales Agent (Current Employee), GeorgiaAugust 23, 2014
Pros: always have job openings due to turnover rate
Cons: low compensation for expectations of company
Very stressful environment. Unrealistic expectations for obtaining new business through office marketing. If all marketing is done per the established procedures, there is no opportunity to write policies.
Office processes and filing requirements are changed with no advance notice so as to NEVER have a favorable assessment.
There us no immediate accountability; – more... agents who circumvent the guidelines to write policies are heralded as 'great producers', while those who conduct themselves as outlined in the company guidelines are threatened with unemployment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst company to work for ever
Property and Casualty Licensed Insurance Agent (Former Employee), fredericksburg vaAugust 22, 2014
Pros: working on your own
Cons: no organization, no assistance, rude and inexperienced management
This company has no organization what so ever. The management and employees do whatever they want to peopel and get away with it. We were working in bad conditions, systems wouldnt work haf of the time, and the trainers stole money and did whatever they wanted to. They withhold money from employees and never reimburse them for expenses taken out of – more... their pockets. I highly DO NOT reccomend ANYONE applying for this company EVER – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work environment
Claims Mailroom Clerk (Current Employee), Tampa, FLAugust 16, 2014
Pros: its a team effort
Receive mail from claims made after an automobile accident or property damage, Mail is separated and distributed amongst everyone and its indexed on paper, scanned, indexed in the computer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very happy
Lead Sales Agent (Current Employee), Pensacola, FLJuly 31, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: compensation
The issues I have with the company is internal advancement. We have a huge turnover rate and the issues with the company overall has to deal with upper management. Overall, I do enjoy my co-workers and the opportunity my company has given me to be a Lead the years I have been with the company. The company hire adults not children and with the different – more... changes they are incorporating makes us all feel like we are young children instead of an adult. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miserable place to work
PIP Demand Adjuster (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 24, 2014
Pros: gainshare/bonus
Cons: horrible health insurance, low base pay and bonus is not guaranteed.
I hated management. While Progressive is very organized and stable. The room for advancement is next to none. Loads of favoritism and very little consistency in expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like abuse and bullying then this is the place for you
current emplyee (Current Employee), n/aJuly 10, 2014
Cons: pretty much everything!
No matter how long you are with this organization, you will always be the escape goat for any decisions made by corporate that you cannot control. You will be worked and pushed daily.....even when the locations are not open. While they claim to promote a work/life balance, I can guarantee you this is not reality. If you get close to hitting goal, they – more... will double it to ensure you do not receive the compensation you deserve. Don't be fooled by the false promises. You are only there to make the person you work for look better so they can take the credit for any increases in sales or service standards. This company overpays corporate individuals in charge of setting goals that they don't even understand and underpays those front-line individuals who are working desperately to keep the doors open while they try to make ends meet. Direct has the poorest commission/bonus structure of any insurance organization in existence. They also have some of the highest rates in the industry while showing no regard to the customer. Go ahead, file a claim with the organization and see how long it takes from someone to contact you. Owned by investors, they only have one thing in mind. How can we turn a profit to make us appear to be a successful company. I can assure you that as an agent, it will be unpleasant. There have been consistent changes in management with high turnover. My DSM worked like a dog and because we are unable to compete with other companies because we are twice the price, he was fired for not hitting sales goals that are twice as high as most districts in the company. I worked for the Best DSM I've ever seen who was there for us 24/7 and shielded us from all the bull. One day he was told to do one thing, and the next another. Then, he was held accountable to goals that even the VP of sales told him were too high. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work with no chance for advancement
Agent (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLJune 7, 2014
Pros: pto
Cons: two person office no extra help ever
Management does not know anything about insurance. Management gets hired from the outside. Low paying salary and commission is also low. Requires you to do a lot of extra paperwork including daily emails at the end of day, outside marketing and they will write you up for petty things. DSM does not follow corporate rules he/she makes up own rules. Run – more... away and don't look back. Find another place to work! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Enviroment
Salvage Technician (Former Employee), Irving, TxMay 9, 2014
A typical day revolved around processing titles for vehicles with a total loss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place to work family friendly enivorment
CLIENT SERVICES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMay 2, 2014
At Direct General I was a Client Service Representative providing superior customer service to customers as a Licensed insurance agent by providing auto insurance quotes asking questions to provide accurate coverage that met the customer's needs. I learned the importance of being a team player.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is an awful place to work at
Insurance Agent (Former Employee), FloridaApril 19, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: prices too high, low salary to dual licensed agent, no consideration
poor salary for licensed agents, prices extremely high. Spend a lot in toy and the salary increase very poor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all decent company
Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Kannapolis, NCApril 17, 2014
They do not hold you a spot if you go out on FMLA, their commission is good for the policies that you write, vacation and benefits are good, management has a big turnover as well as corporate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Agency Sales Manager (Former Employee), Arnold MoApril 15, 2014
Pros: upper management
Cons: pay structure
I sold Insurance for this company and managed their Arnold Mo location. Within 3 months my location went from the lowest numbers in our district to 3rd in the district.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-Workers
P.I.P. Claims Litigation Specialist (Former Employee), Tampa, FLApril 10, 2014
Pros: ability to work from home
Cons: poor mgmt, long hours, poor benefits & salary and not enough incentitve
Great Co-Workers however management was not very employee active or career focused.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"They won't do right by you"
Sales Agent (Former Employee), TNApril 9, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: horrible management!!!!
This company has way too much turn over, should have been a red flag from the start. Customers would literally come in screaming because someone new was there "again" They have no value on the employee or customers, its all about numbers. I strongly advise against working for this company unless you have no problems being deceitful to others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Insurance Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 31, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: raises
It was always great to help people on a daily basis. The managers that I worked under was always willing to help you learn something different. My coworkers was awesome. The hardest part of the job was not being able to help due to irresponsible/careless individuals. Everyday was an enjoyable day for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not A Good Place to Work
Bodily Injury Adjuster (Former Employee), Tampa, FloridaMarch 27, 2014
This is the worst company I have ever worked for. They only promote people they like and the management team is really not good. This is the Florida office where the turn over volume is 40%. I would not recommend anyone working for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Licensed Insurance Agent (Current Employee), Panama City Beach, FLMarch 21, 2014
Pros: wonderful office manager
Cons: the hours and upper management could be more employee friendly.
The pros were: I loved the office environment and had a wonderful relationship with my office manager.

The cons were: There were a lot of hours required, including weekends. The upper management, which you never met, thought more of you as a number than a person. They didn't see the hard work or hours that you put into the company to advance it's growth, – more... but only the bottom line numbers. The pay was a commission based salary and
you were penalized for those customers that did not pay their premiums and their policies cancelled. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Direct General Auto Insurance

Direct Insurance offers opportunities for challenge and growth and rewards employees with competitive pay & excellent benefits. – Read more