Direct Technology Employee Reviews

Found 17 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dishonest to employees and clients
Senior Web Developer for Energy Solutions Group (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAJune 12, 2015
Direct Technology will entice you with high pay and advancement, but when it comes time for your promotion, they are always "having financial trouble", and are unable to give you a raise or promotion "at this time". That time will never come. Your so-called "probationary pay" will stay the same. And that pay is 10-20% below the average in the area. The handful of people that lasted over a year told me they never received any raise.

They make grandiose claims of being the "Google of Roseville". But it's really a sweatshop. You will work 60 hours on a slow week, and they refuse to pay overtime. At one point I was forced to work 100 straight hours without a break! It's always "crunch time", because of the complete lack of management, planning and focus. You will be pulled in a million directions, and none of those directions will ever have clear goals. They have a ping pong table and pool table, but you won't have time to use them. They have a beer tap that's always empty, and a fancy coffee machine that's always broken, and they buy cheap snacks once a week that are hoarded by a handful of employees. These are usually the perks they brag about.

Management regularly lies to the clients, making promises that can't possibly be kept. When the clients come back angry, innocent employees are fired as scapegoats, while the scatterbrained, dishonest management keep their jobs. Being fired is actually better than the almost constant verbal abuse coming from the incompetent management.

Because the pay is so low and the conditions so poor, they only attract low-skilled employees.
  more... If you are skilled at all, you will get a lot of extra work dumped on you when your teammates fail to do their part. The only people who stick around are ones who don't care about anything, so they don't care how badly their treated, or that they aren't doing anything useful with their lives. Most employees last less than a year.

They don't know where they are or where they are going. I can't see this company existing in five years. You can't run a business this badly and expect success to continue showing up by accident as it has for them so far. I recommend staying as far away from this company as possible.
  less
Pros
They always have job openings, because the employee turnover is ridiculously high.
Cons
Incompetent management, complete lack of planning, no clear goals or direction, dishonesty toward clients and employees, miserable working conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very slow work environment. Constantly have to keep your self busy.
Project Manager to Logistics (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJune 5, 2013
DTG is a great place to work if you are satisfied with just having a 9 to 5 job.
Definitely not a company that offer's growth or promotional opportunity's within.
Employees are far from treated equal. It all depends on whether the owners have a liking for you or not.
When i first started out with the company my title was Project manager which was short live for about 6 month until the owner hired someone else & decided to make him project manager & give me an ultimatum. Practically either i go and work in the warehouse as a logistics specialist or there's the front door...
Anyways i wish you plenty of luck if you are offered a job with this company.
Pros
free pizza on friday's.
Cons
30 min lunch breaks & no promotions or chance to grow within.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast paced
Full time machine operator and mail sorter (Former Employee) –  GAJune 20, 2012
i would come in and check the schedule and see where i"m at and getting the job sleeve and setting up on the job and getting a sign off from a supervisor and running the job until it is completed. i learned how to make every minute count, even if you stop for a few minutes it can mess up your total at the end of the day.management was not really there because we work over night. the co workers were all close, it was only 6 employees on the night shift so we were pretty close. the hardest part of the job was when the work order did not match the material so we had no way to know what was right or wrong . the most enjoyable part was when we had the easy jobs to do.
Pros
plenty of hours, close to home
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, terrible managers
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Roseville CAFebruary 1, 2014
The everyday staff at DT is amazing. Everyone is very friendly, always offering to help each other out and learn new skills.

The management is terrible; very disconnected with the staff. The pay is far below the city average, benefits are 'offered' after X days but they will fight you tooth and nail to have that not happen.

A lot of the managers are known to talk very poorly about their employees behind close doors (not in a professional capacity), and then divulge information such as pay rate, performance, etc with people who should not be privy to this information.
Pros
good technologies, a pool table, nice office
Cons
poor pay, poor benefits, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Direct Apps - Poor Management
Field Technician (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAOctober 17, 2012
This department (eCATS) is runned by very poor management - you'll be depressed, many mood swings, promises you the world one day and changes minds daily. You do a lot of traveling and keeps you away on weekends from home with no compensation! Per diem is only $30 a day! You are only paid at $.41 per mile. No standard operating procedures in place which makes it hard for the employee to follow protocol because they will always change there minds. This is only an on-call position and you are expected to be by your phone and report immediately when called upon. No benefits. Good Luck!
Pros
free coffee
Cons
they don't want you working ot at all!
Was this review helpful?Yes18No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work "family" with the opportunity to make an impact
Sales (Current Employee) –  Bellevue, WAMarch 13, 2013
We have an agile environment, and by that I'm speaking about our flexibility to customize how we operate to best fit our client's environment. I realize that's not comfortable for everyone, but if you adapt well, and are innovative and hard working, there is a lot of room to make an impact here. We are a tight knit bunch that has fun together and supports each other, often personally as well as professionaly.
Pros
fun company events for bonding and career growth
Cons
it can feel too ambiguous or fast changing for some people
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Much better out there
staff (Current Employee) –  rosevilleFebruary 3, 2013
If you are part of the management team things are sweet at this company. Nice offices, good family and work balance and overall a nice job. If you are staff, or god forbid, work in IT, your life is rough. Small 5x5 cubicles, heavy stress, no pay raises and constantly on call. High turnover is expected and no big deal if a key player leaves. Unless you are really desperate keep looking.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
short breaks, nightly checks on servers, no training.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, bad management
IT support (Former Employee) –  rosevilleMarch 24, 2013
Very frustrating place to work. The staff is really nice but the management is totally clueless. Lots of turnover, especially in IT. Don't expect a lot of training, raises or support. Lots of good technology though if you can live with the rest of the stuff.
Pros
free coffee, donuts on friday
Cons
they'll work till you drop
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work!
Field Engineer (Current Employee) –  Roseville, CAMay 13, 2014
Always looking to advance into the next arena. This is a high motivation team.
Pros
initiative is rewarded
Cons
not a learning environment, you have to know your stuff before you get there.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment.
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Suwanee, GAFebruary 7, 2015
Counting and inspecting items with accuracy. Doing work in a timely manner and effective environment. Communicating with others for approaches to problems.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great company to work at
Internship (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAJanuary 22, 2014
I have heard good things about Holland America. It would be a good chance to get experience in what I have learned in school.
Pros
good environment to work
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes1No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Data Statistical Analyst (Current Employee) –  Roseville, CAApril 6, 2012
This is a great place to work and learn. There is a lot to learn in a Company such as Direct Technology becasue always the company is looking for better inovation.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay company to work at. Small team environment in a large company
Recruiting Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAAugust 24, 2014
This company was recently bought out by Randstad. I'm sure the environment is different by now.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient work place
Warehouse specialist (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GADecember 13, 2012
Very efficient workplace. Met delivery times even if the time frame to get the job done was short
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of work to do
Equipment Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Suwanee, GAMay 24, 2013
12 hours shift, a lot of pressure, but i learn about mailing process,
I learned some mechanics.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Intern (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAMarch 17, 2014
I enjoyed the company and also the staff, and the managers were helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4

See more Direct Technology reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture