DIRECTIONS FOR LIVING Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work, Tough to Maintain
Case Manager Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Largo, FLOctober 30, 2017
I loved my position as Case Manager Supervisor, however there were too many kids, too many cases, and too much pressure from the top. There is no such thing as a typical day at work as the day can start off with a plan and end with something completely different. I loved that. The Child Safety PD was verbally abusive. Smart as a whip, but terrible people skills. If she leaves, it may be worthwhile to go back.

The case managers are struggling and need support, but they are trying hard, which makes it easy to want to help them. The hardest part of the job is keeping track of all the information you need to know and have on hand in a moment's notice, especially as everything changes.
Pros
Flexible schedule, Meaningful work, great coworkers!
Cons
No work-life balance, stress coming at you from all angles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Paced, High Stress, High Turnover
OCS Child Safety Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Largo, FLOctober 24, 2017
Highly emotional occupation when working with the families of abused or neglected children. Ability to flex hours out to have half days or 3 day weekends. Depending on supervisor, the case manager is able to take frequent time off via flexing hours to accommodate the case managers own needs. Training is an extensive 3 month class. Depending on the team you are assigned to depends on the stress of the job. A team that supports one another manages stress well.

This job is not for pregnant women in my opinion (Due to the stress that one receives as a part of the job. It goes straight to your baby)

If you are a single parent with children that are infants, toddlers, or under 12 years old may prove to be difficult. In my time working with this company I have worked multiple 12 hour shifts on a regular daily basis. Some individuals are able to manage it with one child and help from family. However, this job is not a 9a-5p job. We work around normal business and school hours to see children within the home on a monthly basis.

The job does have on-call which is active and requires you to be on standby in the event of an emergency. On-call rotates among 6 different teams on a weekly basis. Thus, you would do on-call for 1-3 days every 6 weeks and that doesn't mean the weekend every time.

You must have a 4 door or 4/5 passenger vehicle. This job is not for people with 2 seaters/coups. We, as case managers, must follow all laws, including traffic. Thus if a child is not 12 years or older, then you cannot transport the child in your car. This job requires a heavy amount of transportation
  more... of clients to facilitate visits with birth parents.

In my position I drove approx 900 miles a week and was compensated $0.43 a mile. It adds up at the end of the month :)
  less
Pros
a lot of overtime and mileage
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncertainty
Homeless Services Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Largo, FLSeptember 17, 2017
I loved doing my job. Yet the hardest part of the job is being able to manage everything. From documentation along with keeping up with requests and demands from management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay and terrible management
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Largo, FLAugust 29, 2017
The only thing that the training prepares you for is to pass the certification test. They expect you to work really long hours for terrible pay and then try to force you to "flex" those overtime hours out at the end of the week while complaining that you can't finish your work by Friday. The office is disorganized and messy. The supervisors are forced to do as much work as their subordinates so they can never really help anyone out when they have a problem. They tell you to be assertive and honest in your job and then complain when you do that very thing. You are required to travel most of the day and pay for your own gas and then when you put in for the compensation for that gas usage they have the ability to refuse to pay for it. The pay is very low for what you're responsible for and quite often you are required to take care of children in the dependency system which backs you up on your work for which you are then chastised for. The are only two things rewarding about this job: seeing these kids reunited with their parents and pretty supportive co-workers (this does not include management which is terrible)
Pros
Getting families back together
Cons
everything else (especially the management)
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
Child Safety Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Largo, FL 33771June 19, 2017
Job was extremely stressful, Unrealistic expectations, management was rude. Late hours, and long hours as well. Have to use your own vehicle. Very emotionally draining.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Medical Records Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJune 15, 2017
Good company. Good workers. Good place to work at. Helping others in need of security. Place is fun, understandable, hour lunch and leave at 5 everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep Looking apply only as last resort!!!
Child Safety Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Lrgo, FLMay 20, 2017
The worse child safety agency to work for. No upper management leadership at all. Everything is micro managed and everything is presented as something that needed to be done yesterday. Little support in terms of resources and flexibility. They want you to work non stop and then every Friday they are concerned about people working overtime. Supervisors are in a no win situation and often work 50-60 hours in order to stay on top of unrealistic expectations. Problem start at the top and that is way this agency has an extremely high turnover rate.
Pros
Supervisors and co-workers
Cons
Everything else. Directors and admin do not attempt to get to know employees. Long hours, low pay, lack or recognition, baby sitting teenagers and kids with behavior problems. the cons FAR OUT WAY the pros.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outreach Specialist
Outreach Specialist (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLMay 17, 2017
Ok company to work for from what I can remember. The salary was not great but that was a bachelor's level at that time. I did like working independently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nonprofit organization that is truly needed in the area.
Medical Records Release/e-HIM Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJanuary 16, 2017
A nonprofit organization that is truly needed in the area.It offers good entry level positions, to gain experience/internship..
Pros
Great people to work with.
Cons
A nonprofit organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Child Safety Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Largo, FL 33771November 29, 2016
Aside from them being open 24-hours, it was a great place to work. Very fast paced and you never knew who was going to walk through the doors. So much opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty nice place to work
Counselor (Current Employee) –  Largo, FLSeptember 19, 2016
The CEO is a brilliant awesome individual. The employees with direct client contact really have each other's backs. This can be a really rewarding place to work with at risk families and individuals.
Pros
You are treated like a valued resource and team member.
Cons
It's social work so you have to know how to deal with secondary trauma.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agency in view
Child Safety Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Largo, FLJuly 4, 2016
This agency has a very poor organization skills. Things have been on and in the moment. No planning at all. No personal life as they expect you to be available at all times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work unless you want to work 14 hour days with no overtime pay
case manager (Current Employee) –  Largo, FLMay 21, 2016
You are expected to work 14 hours or more a day and no overtime is allowed or approved so you are basically working for free. Expectations are unrealistic. No one listens to case managers concerns
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Awful benefits, low salary, poor upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning about all the different types of mental health
Customer Service Rep- Front (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLMay 6, 2016
Its a good company to work for, everyone works as a team, no matter what area you worked in. Working with the medical staff was a big learning experience
Pros
insurance
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, exciting, rewarding and challenging
Child Safety & Adoptions Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Largo, FLJanuary 21, 2016
Although I enjoyed my employment at DFL, as an Administrative Assistant, there was little to no room for advancement. I absolutely adored my Program Director as well as assisting the Assistant Program Directors, Supervisors and Case managers. Due to my desire to advance within the company I unfortunately had to resign my position to return to school to complete my degree.
Pros
There was never a short of projects to complete
Cons
Higher education needed for advancement within the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company held together with band-aids
Child Safety Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Largo, FLDecember 24, 2015
You will spend the first 6 weeks in "training" that does not actually teach you how to do your job when you get out, the only thing it teaches you is how to pass your test. The expectations for this job are unreal and you will have several supervisors constantly yelling at you for not meeting deadlines, but offer little in the way of actually helping you do a better job. Turn over is insane at this place, and if you want to have any sort of life outside of work, forget about it; your 12 hour days will ensure that you don't. Be prepared to work off the clock as well. No room in the budget for overtime, but they will expect you do get it done anyway.
Pros
You will never complain about future jobs again.
Cons
You'll turn into an alcoholic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious work ethics
In-Home Outpatient Services Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New Port Richey, FloridaOctober 21, 2015
The culture and co-workers were exceptional but being that this was a satellite agency, once funding became difficult at the main agency, our agency closed without notice.
Pros
My supervisor was an excellent asset.
Cons
Company closed offices without notice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the job
Family Counselor (Current Employee) –  Largo, FLSeptember 15, 2015
DFL is a nice place to work. Its time for a change. The people are nice and so are the managers. We provide counseling to families referred by DCF
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office work
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJuly 16, 2015
i would come in to an slow environment at directions for living. the co workers was always sad and show that they did not want to be there and also the things i did learn is how to work with patient files.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Child Safety Case Manager
CHILD SAFETY CASE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Largo, FLMay 7, 2015
Good experience with case management on the judicial side. Good staff and teammates. However, high turnover rate and case load. Insufficient training. High stress level.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DIRECTIONS FOR LIVING. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 32 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.2
Compensation/Benefits
2.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.1
Culture
2.7