Find companies:
DirectTV
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

DirectTV Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relax Work environment but never home
Installer (Former Employee), Talladega, ALApril 29, 2014
Pros: no immideate supervision
Cons: always with rude customers and nasty homes
Office location was 2 hours from home. They route you up to 4 hours from your house no mater the time. Was never home with family always on the road. Made it hard for a family Life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yo quiero taco bell
Customer Account Executive, Technical Operations (Current Employee), Albany, GAFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: long lines
good vibe good people never any issues must have great personality
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that cares about its employees
EBG CSR (Former Employee), Huntsville AlJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: free lunches, some extra paid breaks
Cons: mandatory overtime, high school like enviroment
Pay and Benefits were above average. If u put in hard work it usually paid off at the end of each month. Training was awesome and the facility was very accomodating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJanuary 21, 2014
Technical Service Rep for a Satellit company. Answered calls from customers, assistedwith the correction of bills and equipment problems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Charleston, SCNovember 4, 2013
Pros: flexible
Cons: short breaks
Manage over 50 inbound calls daily assisting customers with billing, customer service, and technical support for AT&T mobile communication services. Utilize organizational system databases to troubleshoot and resolve customers inquire and problems. Receive online billing payments and post funds to customer’s account. Resolve customer service and technical – more... support issues. Activate phone lines to receive inbound calls. Keep records of customer interactions and transactions, recording details of inquiries, complaints, or comments, as well as actions taken. Check to ensure that appropriate changes were made to resolve customers' problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
know time for family
Direct Sat (Current Employee), Cambridge, OHSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: make ok money
Cons: always working 12-14 hrs a day
to many jobs a day ,dont have time for home projects or family.Jobs not hard just to many hrs.Management needs to learn how to distribute jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Work Environment, Fast pace and prodcutive
QA Engineer (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 16, 2013
• Tested applications independently Client Server & Web Based build on C# / ASP.Net with Oracle as RDBMS database.
• Ensured UAT and various types of Testing is completed within established time and that testing objectives conform to Business Requirement Specification (BRS), Software Requirement Specification (SRS) and User Requirement Document (URD).
 – more... Partnered with cross-functional leads responsible for UAT (User Acceptance Testing) – providing them with test schedules, test data, direction, and detailed Test Scripts in accordance with the Enterprise Release Schedule.
• Performed code coverage analysis of existing client server app code to evaluate the percentage of cycles and releases covered by QA testing strategies.
• Worked closely with Product Owners to understand User Stories and to create corresponding Automation story-tests.
• Created comprehensive & feature-based Test Plans to test web-based of .mobile applications, as well as performing compatibility suites on numerous mobile devices.
• Actively participated and represented QA Team in walk-through, inspection, review and user group meetings, and led meetings within QA Team for creating various Test Artifacts
• Actively participated and represented QA Team in JAD sessions BA and development units.
• Collaborated with business analysts to design scenarios and provide test data requirements that focused on business flows across integrated systems.
• Provide input to and shape UAT management process in alignment with industry best practices.
• Enhanced & maintained Data-driven Automation Framework comprised of HP QuickTest Professional (QTP), MS Excel, and Descriptive Programming.
• Developed user-defined functions, Text Checkpoints, Custom Checkpoints, Table Checkpoints, file management, and Recovery mechanisms.
• Mentored and supported QA offshore team in defining Test Procedures, application knowledge, and QuickTest Professional (QTP) implementation.
• Tested mobile applications on various devices such Android, Blackberry and iPhone
• Tested various parts of the application including GUI, user experience, system performance and business rules.
• Attended weekly Project Status Meeting with Development team and QA Manager, and worked closely with QA Manager to define Test Scope, Gap Analysis, Risk, Dependency, and Constraints.
• Performed cross browser testing on IE6/7/8, Firefox 2, Netscape 7/8/9, and Safari and on various Operating Systems (OS) including Windows Vista/XP/7 and Mac.
• Created simple to complex SQL queries to validate Oracle tables and for correct test data retrieval.
• Supported Sprint activities by determining the number of test cases needed to verify the software being developed off the Sprint Backlog.
• Formulated methods to perform Positive testing and Negative testing against requirements. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great commission plan
Sales Representative / Team Leader (Former Employee), Miami, FLAugust 7, 2013
Pros: great commission plan.
Cons: extreme micro managing.
Directv was the best learning experience in my career. Directv provided constant amazing sales training. It was a very competitive and challenging environment. The most satisfying part of this job was achieving monthly goals month after month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
various duties which kept me interested
Office Coordinator (Former Employee), Jackson, MSJuly 22, 2013
Pros: work hours
Cons: the pay, poor organization
I learned how to multi-task. The staff was very friendly and the hours were great. The hardest part about this job was not being paid enough for the amount of work performed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work enviroment
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee), Hilliard, OHMay 7, 2013
Pros: great benefits, unlimited overtime, and paid every week
Cons: short breaks and always on call
Everyday of work started with a review of emails and processing Tech's orders. In this process I learned about the daily consumption of the inventory used by the Tech's. I would use this information to write consumption reports for the Tech's supervisor to review for their reports. That was the best part of the day. It gave me time to meet with and – more... learn new task from the Tech's. After the Tech's orders was picked up and processed the most challenging part of the day began. I would then return back to my email and print all orders from contractors. After all orders are printed I then give them to my crew to be pulled and packed. Once all orders are done for the day inventory counts our preformed. After inventory counts are turned in, I use them to come up with a daily and weekly consumption report. This process helps me with inventory ordering at the end of the week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun working place learned alot
service rep (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALNovember 8, 2012
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: alot of phone calls daily
answering inbound calls helping customers with their bills and services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work environment when you get past the bad calls
Billing and General Inquiry (Former Employee), Missoula, MTAugust 5, 2012
Pros: arcade, employee gym, gourmet cafe, beautiful scenery
Cons: hostile customer calls, lackluster rewards program, alot of services based on half tuths
Directv works to make its employees as comfortable as possible. taking calls form customers can be hit or miss as many of them can be extremely irrate. Directv offers an arcade that you can use to go blow off steam when you need to. It gives yo a quick break when dealing with the really bad calls. the culture and people working there is vast and you – more... find a group to fit in with the work goes really well. I enjoyed my time there and wish that I could have continued my employment there longer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work on your own phased
Satellite Technician (Former Employee), Burbank, CAJune 28, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: dispatch team are repetitively making mistakes
Its nice to work here, the fellow technicians are very helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Customer Service Representative II (Former Employee), Ogden, UTJune 12, 2012
Pros: free merchandise, free programming
Cons: no healthcare benefits, forced overtime
Fast paced, lots of rewards offered, friendly co-workers, assisted customers with their accounts, learned about satellite television services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a very fast paced working environment that bought out my best custom service and technical abilities.
Technical Sales (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CaliforniaApril 24, 2012
Pros: great technical information and duties.
Daily, as part of the Customer Retention Group, I would handle anything from saving customers from disconnecting service, remote activation of DTV products, processing new equipment orders, billing, upgrading service and equipment, disconnection of service and sending out technicians to trouble-shoot or do new service installations. I enjoy multitasking – more... and this job brought out the best in my abilities. – less