Disability Rights California Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Patients Rights' Advocate (Former Employee) –  Napa, CAJune 15, 2017
Excellent working environment when liked by Director. If not liked then stressful environment. Team work oriented, onsite training provided. Poor management if any at all at remote site. Workers allowed to surf internet on Facebook, watch movies, make personal calls majority of the day.
Pros
benefits and pay is good
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All staff looking to get out!
Web Content Specialist / Accessibility Expert (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 9, 2017
Most stressful, worse managed organization there is. Falsification of funding streams, facts and stats. Mean managers who care less about their employees. Management continually blocks unionization of staff with every means possible. All staff members constantly looking for other employment due to harsh working environment. Avoid at all costs.
Pros
Benefits are ok
Cons
See above, too many to list here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing organization providing comprehensive services
Law Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAAugust 25, 2016
Disability Rights California is a wonderful place to work. All employees are experienced, kind and supportive. The services provided are of the highest quality. The organization offers a plethora of services to help advocate for people with disabilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CADecember 22, 2015
I have been here for almost two years. It has been hard to get promoted into the position I am currently in. I have applied more than once and have not gotten it. I feel like I am being overlooked for the position I know I have done exceptional in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CADecember 11, 2015
My experience here has been great. I like what we do as an advocacy agency. We do make differences in the lives of those who do not have a voice, or the knowledge of how to fight for their rights.
Pros
great environment
Cons
not too much growth in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DRC Enviorment
Advocate (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAMay 30, 2015
I learned how to do data input, cold calling, scheduling appointments in Microsoft outlook.

Management was helpful and was easy to speak with.

Co-workers was great to work with and willing to assist with any questions that i might have.

letter writing to DRC standards

working with the clients
Pros
great co-workers, incentives
Cons
not enough training for new hires to learn the computer system, co-workers trained
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, help different people from diverse communities
Peer Self Advocacy Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAApril 3, 2015
Disability Rights California allows people to give a voice to people that often feel ignored. Great team to work with. Management often acknowledge the team's hard work.
Pros
Fulfilling work
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding because you impact real lives.
Multicultural Affairs Advocate (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAMarch 15, 2015
Enjoyed providing advocacy assistance to all clients. The work is difficult to do within a business day, but it is rewarding and you feel good at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
restricting
Grants Manager (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAFebruary 12, 2015
stressful
team building activities
do not like change
very top heavy
slow to move for any progress
employees work in small groups and do not share information with others
decisions are made by the top and are not discussed with others until decisions are in place
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drc
Client Assistance Advocate (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJanuary 11, 2015
DRC is a fun place to work, Employees are really nice and willing to assist you with any questions.
learned how an attorney's office works
Pros
benefits
Cons
not enough training
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report

Want to know more about Disability Rights California?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good agency to work in.
Assistant Clients' Rights Advocate (Former Employee) –  Tustin, CAJanuary 10, 2015
A good agency to work for which gave me the opportunity to coordinate services for the developmentally disabled community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoy working at Disability Rights Ca, great place to be.
Client Assistant Program Advocate (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 16, 2014
Every day I met new people, whether it be out in the community or consumers who call the office. The most rewarding part of this job is having consumers who appreciate the work you do on their behalf.
Pros
opportunities for advancement, travel reimbursements, working in the community.
Cons
short lunches and breaks, no paid parking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment as they are in the business of helping people.
Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 18, 2012
All the advocates, attorneys, and staff are committed to the cause of aiding persons with disabilities in obtaining proper care and benefits that ultimately enhances the quality of their lives.
Pros
really nice people.
Cons
can sometimes be mundane, but that is in every office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Disability Rights California. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.9
Culture
2.9

Disability Rights California Reviews by Location