Find companies:
Discount Drug Mart
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
60 reviews

Discount Drug Mart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my customers
Floater / Store Wide (Former Employee), Gahanna, OHNovember 11, 2014
Pros: i held a lot of responsibility and loved every minute of it.
Cons: the pay was horrible
I had various jobs/projects to conquer and found that time flew by. It was a nice change from being behind a counter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great job to learn team building and fun
Stocker/Customer Service (Current Employee), Chesterland, OHNovember 9, 2014
Pros: strong team building, appreciated for hard work, willing to give raises every year, great benefits for full time employess
Cons: working holidays, open 365 days a year
Without Discount Drug Mart, I wouldn't be where I am today. Working there has provided me the skills I needed to advance in my career of a photographic technician. I have grown to love Discount Drug Mart in Chesterland as my second family. I now only work there part time one night a week and the hardest part is keeping my aisle of candy maintained and – more... ordered, but, having a great staff who works as a team helps me accomplish more on a weekly basis than if I were alone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Retail Experience
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Ashland, OHOctober 28, 2014
Pros: friendly coworkers/ management; good work environment
Cons: extreme expectations, and unreasonable requests from the top down
Management is generally understanding and will usually work with you, but expectations placed upon you by corporate are unreasonable and borderline extortion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drug Mart
Bookkeeper/Customer Service (Former Employee), Olmsted Falls, OHSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: nice breaks, people, good learning experiences
Typical day could be just doing the books and customer service or covering different departments. I learned almost everything there is to learn in a job. I was a crossed-trained employee in several departments and knew how to make sure everything ran smoothly. I was the person everyone came to, to ask questions about anything they needed help with. – more... There was some miscommunication occasionally with management. but other than that there wasn't anything I didn't like about this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company.
Employee (Current Employee), Elyria, OHAugust 7, 2014
I.T. challenged but good company to work for. Typical retail environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the pay was low, the people were great
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Euclid,OhioJuly 17, 2014
Working at Discount Drug Mart was a great experience. The people were awesome but, the pay for the job was considerably low
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
open 365 days a year
Beauty Advisor & Cashier (Current Employee), Ashtabula, OHJune 25, 2014
Pros: heath insurance
Cons: open every holiday
a good place to work, if only they would close on thanksgiving and christmas to let employees spend time with their families and loved ones.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good while going to school
Store Clerk (Former Employee), Amherst, OHJune 25, 2014
Full time was 30 hrs a week, which was excellent while attending college
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only worked here for 3 months!
Cashier (Former Employee), Amherst, OHJune 21, 2014
Pros: management
Cons: nothing
I loved everything about this place, but I was going to college while working here & couldn't juggle a job and school so I quit!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Drug Mart
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Maple Heights, OHJune 3, 2014
A normal day at the deli starts with filling the grab-n-go cooler, taking case temps, flipping the salads, and slicing orders for customers. I work with another team member to help get the deli set up for the day. At times I work alone and take care of customers as we get busy.
The manager at Drug Mart is good to work with. If we have any issues he – more... tries to find the answers for us. He will also help out if it gets busy.
The hardest part of the job at times is when it gets busy and we can't get food prepped. We wait until we take care of the customers because they come first.
The best part of the day is seeing customers return to purchase more lunch meat and cheese from us. We know we are doing something right and I love putting a smile on our customers' faces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Nice
Cashier/ Photo Technician (Current Employee), Chesterland, OHApril 29, 2014
Pros: multiple interactions with friendly customers
A typical day would include setting up and getting the photo department ready for the rest of the day. Helping the customers that are not already being helped by checking them out and making sure they have found everything that they need. I have learned to work with the customer and my co-workers in a timely manor and to never argue, the customer is – more... always right. Our management however is not the friendliest, they try there best and they have taught me a lot themselves. Everyone that works at the company is very friendly and bubbly, they make people feel right at home. the best part of the day is to see a smile on the customer face and knowing that you were the reason that the smile is there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a very rewarding job.
Assistant Director of Loss Prevention (Former Employee), Medina, OHApril 2, 2014
Pros: the company always had my back in every situation.
Cons: company was not that great about taking care of there employees the bigger they got.
Spent 30 years working side by side with the owners helping the chain grow from 13 stores to 72 stores. Did all aspects of security from internal investigation and interviews. To complete alarm and closed circuit television set up. Also would be involved getting the location passed for State Inspection by the State Pharmacy Board.
I had a lot of pride – more... in what I did for the company. The hardest part of the job that it was mandatory 6 days a week. I also overseen a security force of roughly 30 uniform and plain cloths officers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and capable staff. Although often busy, staff remains professional. Discount Drug is a wonderful company.
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Clyde, OHMarch 17, 2014
Pros: christmas bonus, yearly wage increase, friendly staff, good insurance
Cons: sometimes i feel more technicians are needed at extremely busy times.
Discount Drug Mart cares about its employees. The pharmacy manager/pharmacist is a very nice gentleman. My co-workers will help out as needed. The hardest part of my job is finding out that a patient/friend's health is doing poorly. The most enjoyable part of the job is when I am able to help a patient reduce the price of a prescription, whether it – more... is through insurance or a discount card. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Healthcare Specialist sales
Home Healthcare Specialist (Former Employee), Jefferson, OhioFebruary 26, 2014
I was responsible of the selling and educating of Durable Medical Equipment to patients. I correctly filled clients orders for appropriate bracing or products. Along with the selling of equipment, I was also responsible for the ordering or merchandise as well maintaining adequete levels or products. I also coordinated appointments with local doctor – more... offices; marketing service and products available. Along with selling of products, I suggestive sold also to increase sales for the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for
Cashier (Former Employee), 2290 Stringtown Rd, Grove City, OH 43123February 25, 2014
Pros: all good
I enjoyed meeting new people everyday, greeting them and help the customers. The job is very flexible and will work around your schedule. The supervisor and co-workers are great and fun to work with. Miss working there...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the job just didn't make enough money
Cashier/Stock Person (Former Employee), Wellington, OHFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: fun group of people to work with
Cons: not enough pay, had to work holidays
I ordered merchandise. I ran register. I stocked shelves
helped customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DDM was fun and was like havin a family away from a family especially when u had to work holidays!!
Cashier/Clerk (Former Employee), North Canton, OHFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: if you like working with the public, this was a great store to work.!
Cons: we did receive holiday and birthday pay, but also we were open everyday of the year. but like i said, the holidays were fun and exciting, people always happy, even the customers were great during the holidays and were always thanking us for being open!!!
my former job with DDM was great for 18yrs, all of a sudden all 2 managers quit, followed by key carrier quitting also. we then started losing good employees. we received a new manager, plus a new assistant manager, plus key carrier. rules that were allowed to be commonly set in some stores by the managers were changed without notice or meetings. there – more... was no communication with former employees that were left. most of them quit or were forced to quit one way or the other, and some were terminated unjustified. we were a good team,, with customers who loved us and the former management. things changed over the past year, and I being there the longest was getting constant complaints from customers about what was going on in the store. I tried to be decent with my answers, but truthfully I didn't like lying to my regular customers. things became very difficult in all aspects of my job I loved so much, I really didn't quite know what to do. I only have 5-7 years left before I could actually retire or go to part time. the stress level became very difficult and hard to deal with. I was more or less forced to leave my job. we were a like a happy family for many years and I loved working there and looked forward to seeing my customers everyday. my customers knew how to make me smile or laugh, and so did former management know matter the mood one of us employee's might have been in. we had good times, holidays were great working there, even though u were not at home with your family, u kind of felt good anyway because we all as a team enjoyed working and being together!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each day was differen
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Mentor, OHFebruary 8, 2014
Each day was different. Each customers was interesting to work with, depending on their lift situation for the purchase
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at DDM is a monotonous yet enjoyable job.
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Galion, OHJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: rude customers.
A typical day at work, is the same as every other day. Nothing ever seems to change. I have learned a lot about assisting/dealing with customers. The management is great and is always willing to help. I wouldn't be able to handle my job, if it wasn't for my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place of employment
Loss Prevention Associate (Current Employee), Medina, OHJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: affordable benefits
Cons: less than competitive pay
A fast pace enviroment with excellent management staff and store associates.

1 2 3