Discovery Senior Living Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Server (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLJanuary 8, 2018
It was alright the management was okay
The job was fine
Very fast paced place
Poor payment
Poor scheduling not enough hours not enough pay
Wouldn't recommend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A cut throat atomsphere where my past manager was write up happy.
Employee (Former Employee) –  Aston Gardens at Tampa BayJanuary 4, 2018
The management needs to get a clue. They are all about the bottom
line and they just don't care about their employees at all. The pay was
way below other places in the area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall I just don't recommend it at all
Care Staff (Former Employee) –  PennsylvaniaDecember 19, 2017
I found the company to be all over the place. The management don't seem to understand cna are people just like them...if you take care of the direct care staff the right way maybe the turn over wouldn't be as high.
Pros
Nice facility
Cons
Not sure where to begin
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Naples, FLDecember 7, 2017
Management is in chaos, staffing is low for almost 100 patients. If you want to be overworked this is the place to work. The best part of the job is taking care of my patients and helping them, the worst part of the job is the fact that there is no one in charge, They just fired the whole executive staff, including the DON - who were all great people. But they don't see that the problem is the business model where they have a handful of employees to take care of 100 folks who need a lot of assistance.
Pros
Meeting really nice patients and some great staff
Cons
Staffing issues, you will be overworked
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most fun i've ever had
Head Cook/Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Valparaiso, INDecember 6, 2017
this was truly one of the best places i have ever worked. i would have stayed if the kitchen manager would not have never been hired. i would recommend it to people who have no problem working in a kitchen environment.
Pros
fast paced, good money, all the overtime you could want
Cons
management needs work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing team and great benefits!
Executive Director (Current Employee) –  Bradenton, FLNovember 28, 2017
Amazing team and great benefits! I couldn’t be happier working with the team that I do each and every day. Going to work feels like being with family you Love! They are truly spectacular and second to none!
Pros
Incredible TEAM!
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New management is unapproachable. All management is related
Dedicated employee (Former Employee) –  Slidell, LAOctober 24, 2017
Expect you to be available at all times No family life are down time. Management is all family and you have no one to report any concerns to. Any concerns are suppose to be reported to management but being their all related the complaints go no where. New corporation recently took over the facility and management will not provide the information to employees to report any concerns. Resident care is good but employee moral is very low which leads to heavy turn over
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
No down time push for more & more of your time no outside life
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job with a lot of drama
Receptionist/Concierge (Current Employee) –  Spring, TXOctober 21, 2017
The position itself is very easy in a relaxed, laid back atmosphere, but because the property relies heavily on receiving and maintaining residents, anything they say about you is taken to heart and anything they do to you is ignored. You are constantly reminded of how expendable you are and how you are in this position of servitude to not only to the residents, but to their friends and family members. It is degrading and can take a lot out of you mentally.
Pros
Very laid back atmosphere, easy job
Cons
Can be very demeaning at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment in my community
Executive Director (Current Employee) –  Keller, TXJune 5, 2017
I wasn't sure about working for a for profit company. But I'm glad we found each other. Discovery Senior Living is a solid organization with integrity as part of their culture. They are a great company and still growing.
Pros
I absolutely love this industry, the people and especially the residents.
Cons
Lots of changes happening quickly from corporate, hard to keep up with them
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Discovery Senior Living. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Compensation/Benefits
2.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.2
Management
1.6
Culture
2.4

Discovery Senior Living Reviews by Location