DISH

1.7K reviews

DISH Employee Reviews

Found 1,528 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another decent company
Certified Technical Support Agent (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJanuary 11, 2016
Answering incoming calls, and questions of customers. Over all the job was easy, and enjoyable. However, the new quality assurance measures where to strict causing them to lose a lot of good help.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay but demanding job.
Technical Service Representative II (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJanuary 10, 2016
A typical day started out with a short meeting followed by taking phone calls all day.

I learned a lot about television and satellite technology.

The management was tough, very strict on enforcing rules and quotas.

My co-workers were mostly pleasant to be around and supportive.

The hardest part of the job was solving very complex technical issues.

The most enjoyable part of the job was resolving technical issues and having a satisfied customer.
Pros
Good pay.
Cons
Very strict work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Energetic environment
customer service (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJanuary 10, 2016
Your are surrounded by peers that understand the chaos of working in a call center. Everyone and anyone is willing to assist with any questions or concerns you may have. Management is understanding and willing to work with you should any issue arise. Hardest part of the job is taking calls back to back without any downtime or rest between calls. Most enjoyable part of the job is when you assist a customer to the best of your ability and they genuinely appreciate your assistance.
Pros
401k and match contribution, LEPC (when you get to leave early due to low call volume)
Cons
LEPC (should you choose to leave early, you will not be paid any hours coded LEPC)
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and demanding work field, always something new
Level 4 Field Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  West VirginiaJanuary 10, 2016
I worked for Dish Network as a remote field service technician for the past three years. On a typical day I started about 6:45 in the morning. I worked from home with a company supplied vehicle. I would receive my jobs for the day via smartphone access (also provided by company. The job duties included everything from installing satellite dishes for new sign up customers, upgrading existing customers or adding additional rooms/hardware, and troubleshooting customers who have a problem with their services. The job as a technician requires you to be physically fit enough to endure long days of walking/carrying a tool belt on your waste, managing heavy fiberglass extension ladders, able to work safely and have a strong understanding of hand tools and power tools. It helps to have a good understanding of general house layouts and construction as you will be installing secure outdoor satellites on roofs and overhangs of houses, drilling through walls, floors and ceilings and running cable neatly and without damage to the customer's home. It requires you to be comfortable in confined spaces such as basements, attics, crawlspaces with low clearance, and many other dirty and sometimes uncomfortable situations. You have to have very strong work ethics and people skills. Customers can sometimes be very demanding or uncomfortable while in their home, they will ask questions and need you to explain your plan to install or fix their services. You must have a very good appearance and professional attitude. Management in my experience were very good at communicating and helping you with anything  more... while out in the field, and supplying you with the right tools and knowledge to complete your jobs. They also send daily emails concerning new processes or equipment and software changes, along with any important information you need such as personal inquires, health care and insurance updates, and any HR related issues. Co-workers are generally eager to help and share ideas and knowledge between each other to help the whole company work as a team. The hardest part about the job is establishing good customer relationships. You never know what you will encounter. Every job, every house/building layout and every customer is different. I really enjoyed this career opportunity overall. I accelled very well at this job and was promoted to the highest level of technician status, I proceeded and was sent for training to install satellite Internet systems, commercial and business installations smart home sales and certified to incorporate television mounts, as well as advanced audio and entertainment solutions, If you choose or desire to apply for this job, It can be a very rewarding and exciting career!!  less
Pros
great benifits, exciting hands on career, rewards for doing a good job
Cons
sales quotas, long drive times, working in inclement weather
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DiISH sales with high incentives
Salesman (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 7, 2016
Assess the consumers’ needs and offer appropriate products, programming, and promotions based off those needs.
Effectively and thoroughly educate the customer regarding their equipment, programming package, and price.
Provide a quality customer experience regardless of the inquiry or outcome.
Achieve and exceed established weekly, monthly, quarterly and annual sales goals.
Pros
High pay only if working 50+ hours, great bennefits
Cons
Stressful enviroment, mico managed, you are a number, no job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didnt like it there
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Littleton, COJanuary 7, 2016
this compan doesnt care about their employees and they dont care if you have a family or anything they will make you work until you are dead litterally.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and fun people
Satellite Installation Technician (Current Employee) –  Forest Park, GAJanuary 6, 2016
Route is sent to phone, greet each customer, diagnose problems, install satellite in best optimal place for signal, troubleshoot issues
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn what call center life is like.
RETENTION MANAGER (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJanuary 6, 2016
Fast paced environment with opportunity to grow. Great people to work with and learn with. Very hard on you if you don't have a degree. Dish allows you to have freedom to be creative within your work environment. The best thing about working for Dish was working with the management team and understanding the different personalities and differences each person brought.
Pros
401k, Cafeteria, Tuition Reimbursement
Cons
Healthcare Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mangement
Dish Installer (Former Employee) –  ChesepeakeJanuary 5, 2016
Dish Network is a good company to work for. The only drawback are the hours. A day at work start when you sign out your van, your route for jobs are displayed in your company phone. you go from job to job trying to provide best service in the quickest time as possible. The office I worked at the management team and coworkers were all very helpful and knowledgeable
Pros
Bonuses, 401k contribution, product prices for employees
Cons
Long hours picking up extra jobs, meeting all metrics
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Dish Call Center Agent (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJanuary 4, 2016
Dish is a great place to work at with a lot of chances to move up and grow in that company. A lot of overtime and good job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful benefits
Loyalty Agent (Former Employee) –  Bluefield, WVJanuary 4, 2016
Dish is a great overall company! They take excellent care of there employees by providing great pay and benefits!! The job can be stressful at times but any job has its bad days.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun.
Dish Installer (Current Employee) –  Hickory, NCJanuary 4, 2016
I would go out with my appointments for the day to do our troubleshoot the installs. I learned to communicate with customers very will. Management was very co-opertive trough out the day. I had no problems with co-workers we all would help each other through out the day. The hardest part of my job was having to try to sell product to customer. The most enjoyable part of my job was customer interaction.
Pros
had retirement plan
Cons
health care was not good.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
neat place to work
Dish Network Technician (Current Employee) –  Visalia, CAJanuary 1, 2016
must be able to multitask and be organized. Also you'll need to travel a lot every day and you'll most than likely work every single weekend.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Advanced Tech Support (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKDecember 29, 2015
help customers with any satellite issues, including outside equipment, inside equipment , set appointments for techs to go to customers home for repairs, sell programming and equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Call Center.. Not a good environment.
Account Specialist (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXDecember 27, 2015
The job itself it not hard whatsoever. Calls are pretty consistent throughout the day. Management is not acceptable though. The higher ups have a close knit circle, and if you are not liked they will find a way to make sure your are fired.
Pros
Incentives and Good starting pay.
Cons
Managment sucks.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Littleton, CODecember 27, 2015
probably the worst company you could ever work for. do not come to work here worst management ever terrible owner and benefits.
Pros
pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only if its the last job on earth
fss iv (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKDecember 26, 2015
This is the worst company ever to work for, the installing is great, i loved the work, but the company, dish is going broke because of netflix, and they are trying to make up the loss by so called smart home services, just basically selling junk and trinkets to you whether you want them or not. I wouldnt work for them again ever. The last straw was when our leader, c.e. stated that if the customer is over 60, they better buy something or you will. Crooks to the end.
Pros
Junk clothes
Cons
Nothing, notta, no how.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at
Team Lead/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXDecember 22, 2015
I loved working at the dish network call center.Learned alot of hands on training. there is where i started my managerial work
Pros
nice enviroment and staff
Cons
short lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fss 1 tech
Technician (Current Employee) –  Sioux City, IADecember 21, 2015
Nothing good about this company. Management leaves much to be desired. Most enjoyable part of the job is your day off. Hardest part of the job is trying to satisfy a customer while battling with management to do the right thing.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Management. Performance Metrics called Pie
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Direct Sales (Current Employee) –  Eagan, MNDecember 19, 2015
This is a fun, fast paced job with many rewards. I would highly reccomend to anyone looking for an inside sales job. You control how much money you make and there is no limit.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 1,727 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture