Find companies:
District of Columbia Public Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
59 reviews

District of Columbia Public Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't recommend this system to work for
Annonymous (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 27, 2014
Pros: helping students learn is rewarding
Cons: salary, payroll often loses track of your leave balance/pay, confused management, stressful environment
A typical day at work is hectic. I've learned how to interact with students and be a team player. Management is often disorganized and confused which makes it hard for me to carry out my duties for the day. This causes unnecessary stress. The hardest part of my job is not being certain of what to do since management is confused. The most enjoyable part – more... of my job is helping students learn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for the weak
Teacher (Current Employee), Washington, DCOctober 11, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits
Cons: long hours, juggling all the roles you play besides just a teacher
Being an educator is tough enough. However, working in DC Public Schools has taught me how to be a more well-rounded educator and person. I do not just teach my children science on a daily basis, but also character development and in some cases, how to trust an adult again. If you provide structure to a child in this Urban setting, you will be successful. – more... If you come to educate children in an Urban setting with the desire to help them in any and every way, you will be successful. If you can come to an Urban environment with no bias towards the children and the socioeconomic status of many of the students, you will be successful. The most important thing about teaching in an Urban school district is to be there for the kids and not the paycheck...they know who is there for them and who is there for themselves. They need more people in their lives that want to be there for them...they will their trust in you if you begin to show you trust them as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rewarding and enjoyable workplace
Health, Physical education teacher (Former Employee), Washington, D.C.September 25, 2014
Pros: support of the parent teachers association
Cons: the short preparation time
It was a fun workplace and productive because it has all the essential facilities to work with. The staff and community were very supportive of the Physical Education program. The most challenging part of the job was getting the students to stop the activity. They enjoyed it that much. The most enjoyable part of the job was teaching the students how – more... to perform and believe in themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The individual School I worked at was very educational and rewarding
Registrar/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: being a moral role model for stuents
Cons: having the responsibility of at least 3 workers and being paid as a student just out of college.
As a teacher and overall school worker, I enjoyed working with students in a helping manner to bring their skills up to advanced.
Since the school was losing money if they did not have a certain number of students that were sufficient or advanced in Reading, Math and Language.

The school system went thru an overall change when a
New chancellor was – more... appointed by the Mayor. The new policies that was made did not allow for seniors to be employed past the age of
55 to 60. Of course its illegal to say based on your age, so people were excessed or asked to take a pay cut that amounted to half or below half the pay they were currently making. The only area I agreed with was getting rid of teachers who was not functioning at their best or who no longer had the children's interest in their daily functioning.
I also agreed with the dismissal of any employee who was not functioning at their capacity.
The school I worked at was a wonderful school, the Assistant Principal, at that time, was great with the staff and the parents. We received a new Principal who was also good with the parents and with establishing school policy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A atmosphere of academic excellence.
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 24, 2014
DCPS is constantly evolving to ensure every DC pupil receives a top notch, up to date, quality education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Office of Special Education (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 17, 2014
DCPS is an okay place to work. Good work life balance and management is very nice and supportive. A lot of policital games in the company however.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managment
Behavioral Technician (Current Employee), Washington, DCAugust 1, 2014
In working with management, I was able to express new ideas and received positive feed back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Program Support Specialist (Current Employee), Washington DCJuly 17, 2014
Pros: working with different people
I'm just thankful to have a job, Since I been with the company the agency name has change several times
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Three stars
Motor Vehicle Operator (Current Employee), Washington, DCJuly 5, 2014
Pros: meet new people
Cons: not enough hrs
Fun not enough hours, it is all ways something going on their, like on break like games ,music, just fun never a dull moment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We are the engine of DC Public Schools
Procurement Coordinator (Current Employee), Washington, DCJune 19, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule and independant worker
Cons: do not get cost of living increase for local government in dc
I work in a very fast paste environment that's unpredictable each day. I am the only Procurement Specialist to submit procurement request for all of the Office of Specialized Instructions formerly known as Special Education Department. Keep in mind, if I am not there to submit urgent contract request for goods for our students, the work will not get – more... done nor will the students of the District get what they need for academic growth. My job is very important and I am very popular at work- that's what my "co-workers" say. We get the job done effectively as a team but always find away to have fund while working. The communication between my team of workers are very strong and they are my rock. I work with various staff on many levels of the District to Deputy Chief Operations to Office of Attorney Generals. With a busy work schedule I enjoy what I do and talking to all types of people, but most important we work to have a better school system and exceeding students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Community
Teacher (Former Employee), WashingtonJune 14, 2014
Lot of help from PTA. Great Community, beautiful parents and staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have enjoyed working
Salesforce Developer/Admin (Current Employee), Washington, DCMay 29, 2014
Pros: good place to work
Cons: nothing
I am very happy to be working at this client location.
I am very happy to be a part of such a wonderful team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DCPS Facilities
Engineering Technician (Former Employee), Washington DCMay 19, 2014
The position was a good start to my career as an electrical engineer. The professional engineer that I worked with provided guidance and support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated and Passionate Organization
Progress Monitor (Current Employee), Washington, DCApril 24, 2014
The organization is extremely dedicated to it's core mission of educating children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive abd fun
In-School Suspension Coordinator (Current Employee), Washington, DCApril 18, 2014
Productive,fun, and exciting. Always learning new things, Each day is full and has its own surprises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DCPS suffers because of students and parents
Elementary Teacher (Current Employee), Washington, DCApril 9, 2014
DCPS has changed drastically in the last ten years due to Michelle Rhee's changes and the opening of charter schools. DCPS would be a better school system if the students didnt have so many social challenges (hunger, homeless, drugs, absences, tardies, hygiene, etc...) and if the students had better parents. There is also no consistency from one school – more... building to the next and as a teacher, you have to create assignments for students because you are not provided all the tools you need to teach. If you have worked in an inner city school system before then you already know what you are dealing with. If you have never worked in an inner city school system before, do your research and understand that you will not be teaching in a suburban school system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, quaint office
Teacher (Former Employee), Washington, DcMarch 4, 2014
Slow paced environment. It is perfect for someone who is entering administration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Custodial Worker (Former Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 17, 2014
It was very interesting working with {DCPS}. You meet all kinds of people. The pay rate was very nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and gratifying place of employment
Principal, Managing Dirrector of School Turnaround (Current Employee), Washington, DCJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: being present and interacting with all stakeholders.
Cons: i cannot think of any.
A typical day at work is from 07:00 to 20:00. It is filled with unpredictible encounters and positive interactions with several stakeholders. My co-workers are a committed and like-minded group of people. The hardest part of the job is steeped in encounters with community members who do not believe in the potential success of our students. The most – more... enjoyable part of the job is just being there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coached the middle school basketball team promoting team work
Residential Camp Counselor (Former Employee), Washington, DCDecember 12, 2013
Pros: working with young adults
Cons: no health care
Served as a Substitute Teacher / Behavioral counselor for the District of Columbia Public Schools, and taught both comprehensive / special education students with emotionally disturbed/conduct disorders. Successfully managed seven 40-minute periods of classroom instruction for approximately 30 students.

Taught various subjects to inner-city students – more... (grades K-12) with emotional and social disorders. Coordinated with teachers’ aides, administrators, social workers and parents to evaluate and tailor programs to accommodate their child’s educational needs. Taught socially acceptable conduct; facilitated rewards and incentives programs to reinforce positive behavior.

Employed behavior analysis / assessments techniques to detect and mitigate conflicts. Instructed students on basic developmental skills including goal setting attainment, emotional and financial independence, and self-empowerment. Maintained accurate and complete student records; prepared reports on students and activities required by laws, district policies, and administrative regulations. – less

1 2 3