DIXIE IRON WORKS Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great company
Machinist trainee (Former Employee) –  Alice, TXFebruary 23, 2016
Good company great benefits great work enviorment they provided lunch every Fridays for all the employees got along great with my boss.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going, Good environment
Machinist (Current Employee) –  Alice, TXDecember 4, 2015
Great people to work with. The Management and immediate supervisors do a great job of training and instructing, making tasks easier and less stressful. Which in turn make the days and weeks much easier.
My coworkers are not just colleagues, they are my friends and family.
Some times the work could be mundane, but then other days you could really push yourself to have to learn new things or try different stratagies/
Pros
Very understanding of family matters
Cons
It is related to the oil field so work is inconstant.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place with great people
Machinist/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Alice, TXAugust 13, 2015
Great Environment with great people. always work and always a chance to move up in the company. great benefits and insurance. this is the type of place you could work for a lifetime. they even have a worker there who has been there for 60 years and still works. best thing about this place 0% layoffs since 1933.
Pros
safety is top priority
Cons
sometime work is slow
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and clean
Class C Machinist (Former Employee) –  Alice, TXJune 12, 2015
Not very compensating. Wages very low for that area and for the rate of tasks expected to be performed.
I will not recommend anyone to expect to make a long term career there. Too many ups and downs.
Pros
Good monthly meals
Cons
to many ups and downs through out my 3 yrs employed there. Hard to stay affloat with finances.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a professional work enviornment
kitter (Former Employee) –  Alice, TxApril 8, 2015
lack leadership
lack work ethic
lack morality
lack continuity
lack communication
lack integrity
lack supervision
lack equality
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
MACHINIST (Former Employee) –  Alice, TXDecember 12, 2014
In my opinion, this is the best place to work at. The company does care for its employees plus there is so much opportunity for advancement. The culture there is great as far as people getting along with others. The company has a bbq every month at the Main and Commerce plants.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not family centered
machinist (Former Employee) –  AliceOctober 10, 2014
i was fired because I took time off for my sick spouse.
The HR department is plain rude and unprofessional.
Cons
wont accept family as excuse for absent
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Summer Help (Former Employee) –  Alice, TXJanuary 8, 2014
Great for a first job, and Summer Help.
Learned a lot
Had great co-workers
Working in extreme temperatures was very hard.
Enjoyed being able to get my hands dirty with hard work.
Pros
free gatorade
Cons
short breaks and hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes18No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good music to work if in the area
Shipper / Painter's Helper (Former Employee) –  Alice, TXDecember 18, 2013
After clocking in, the shipping orders are given and everybody disperses according to their assigned station.
I learned to manage time, and communicate effectively and efficiently between the foreman, painter, and shippers.
The hardest part of the job is lifting heavy parts, and separating parts according to color and necessity.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work well with coworkers
Painter (Former Employee) –  Alice, TXNovember 10, 2013
Prepare parts to be painted..in a safe and productive maner..respect your coworkers and have them respect you makes a nice day at work
Pros
good benefits
Cons
cold and hot weather
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always and ejoyable work enviroment
Machinist (Former Employee) –  Alice, TXSeptember 30, 2013
The work experience I gained working at Dixie was valuable. Its was a great place to work
Pros
great friendly work place
Cons
no room for job advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Multiple Positions (Current Employee) –  Alice, TXMay 23, 2013
This is a very nice place to work at. I learned a lot about inventory and how to purchase with PO s from other companies.. The hardest part of having the job is getting by with low paychecks and raise freezes
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok.
Assembly Technician (Former Employee) –  Alice, TXMarch 13, 2013
Okay people, okay place. Very very sketchy hours in the beginning and a rotating set schedule that tends to throw off some people, like it did for me.
Pros
able to go home everyday.
Cons
sketchy work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management dont want to pay.
Machinist running a Mori Siki horizontal mill 8000 (Former Employee) –  Alice, TXNovember 27, 2012
They dont want to pay only 10.00 per hr. and work only 36 hrs per week.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Welder Helper (Former Employee) –  Alice, TXSeptember 15, 2012
It was a good work schedule. Overall a very good company, HR needs to lay off a little on the workers.
Pros
quick pay advancement, good working hours
Cons
short breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

DIXIE IRON WORKS Reviews by Location