DMV Employee Reviews

Found 38 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work Place.
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Cranston, RIAugust 14, 2017
Productive and Fun work Place.
The Management was supportive and the workplace culture was good and learned Many things.
There are many good memories which happened while my work tenure with DMV.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good state job
Driver License Examiner (Former Employee) –  Doral, FLJuly 24, 2017
As the face of the DMV my role was very important in reducing wait times and improved customer service. The ability to impact positive change citizens & residents was very fulfilling.
Pros
Free breakfast & lunch
Cons
distance & travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
aaaa
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Cranston, RIJune 14, 2017
Great place to work and its very relaxing environment and i learned lot from my great mates. I got opportunity to work with many technologies and its been great place for building great software
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Clerk (Former Employee) –  aurora, ilJune 12, 2017
Overall experience working here was pretty great. Good atmosphere even though I only worked here for the summer. Working at a dmv will keep you busy all day but it was manageable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic and busy place to work
Technician III (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVApril 17, 2017
I issued driver's licenses and registrations to the public that came in and assisted with title searches. I assisted with the written testing for instruction permits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
El Cajon DMV (Former Employee) –  El Cajon, CAMarch 13, 2017
Everyone that works there can be friendly. They do their jobs and there isn't much room for error. The institution it's self is hard and long waiting times, but staff friendly and good customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don"t work here
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDMarch 11, 2017
county assessor has no clue how to operate dmv
county board is even less able to fathom needs of the job
there is no mercy for employees who need help
Pros
steady hours, holidays off
Cons
bad pay, bad management, unreal expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Copart
Title Clerk, Copart Auto Auction (Former Employee) –  Martinez, CAMarch 2, 2017
The company was great all in all!
What an awesome experience working for Copart.
Great customers, Management and fellow coworkers.

Pretty cool to see how auctions are preformed.
Pros
The staff, Customers and Managment
Cons
the smell of martinez refinery
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun and exciting
Janitor (Current Employee) –  Delano, CAJanuary 9, 2017
I'm just a janitor there but the experience is good the workers there are very nice and always smile. They work hard to get everyone done, they move quick always greet you. The job i do is not hard at all and for Christmas they gave us a goody basket.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool fun place
License Registration Examiner (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJanuary 6, 2017
Ok to work have to be able to deal with peoples personalities. A lot of information to learn. Being accurate is very important. Working fast is not always important. Helping people by conduct test and processing driver license.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State Job
Information Technology Professional III (Current Employee) –  Carson City, NVJanuary 4, 2017
This is your basic state job that expects its programmers to be here from 8 to 5 and produce something tangle in those hours.
Pros
Retirement
Cons
Old Technology
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Newport News, VAOctober 12, 2016
The job it self is great fast pace never a dull moment, if you are lazy this is not the job for you. I feel this job will always be around , job security pay is fair , but not enough for what they want from you. The great thing about the job is the benefits.
Pros
Beneifits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like dealing with impatient customers, this jobs for you.
Title Clerk (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaAugust 18, 2016
Standing for 8 hours per day, getting yelled at by customers who think you are supposed to bend the rules for them, because they waited too long to renew a tag or let their insurance lapse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall great place
Customer Service Generalist (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJuly 6, 2016
A day a DMV is your typical work day, we have ups and downs but its a normal. Working at DMV going on three years has gave me experience with vehicle work and more, great co-workers,and management was also great as well. The hardest part of working at DMV was not enough hours and benefits for me. I most enjoyed the environment and the people at my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Professional environment, good place to work
Administrative Assistant III - (Fraud Analyst) (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMarch 21, 2016
I have learned a lot about fraud and have been crossed trained in other departments. managers were eager to help and provide you with additional training to better yourself and everyday was a busy day.Co-workers were great to work with. the most enjoyable part of the job was i get to do all over again the next day.
Pros
free training
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Sunrise Senior Living (Current Employee) –  VirginiaOctober 19, 2015
this area does not promote work life balance. Not a good area to rise a family. High cost of living bad traffic. No room for advancement unless you are in the military
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Program Technician II (Current Employee) –  South Boston, VAJuly 28, 2015
There is no same typical day at DMV. There are many challenges that arise on a day to day basis. I work with the most incredible hard working, trust worthy group of people. The hardest part of the job is the demand of coverage but our group manages to the best of our ability.
Pros
understanding and compassionate management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work at.
State of Florida Driver Licenses Examiner (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 1, 2015
Is not at all what I had in mind.There was no real training and you are on probation for 1 full year. If anything occur in period of time you will be terminated with out any explanation.
Pros
Feat benefits
Cons
Not well manage. Be aware of the back stabbers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
TITLE SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDJanuary 26, 2015
Providing great customer service.
Had the best management and coworkers experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun working environment
customer Service (Former Employee) –  henrico,VASeptember 24, 2014
fun working environment. friendly customers. the work day goes by quickly because there is always something to do
Pros
hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DMV. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 43 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6