DMV Employee Reviews

Found 25 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like dealing with impatient customers, this jobs for you.
Title Clerk (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaAugust 18, 2016
Standing for 8 hours per day, getting yelled at by customers who think you are supposed to bend the rules for them, because they waited too long to renew a tag or let their insurance lapse.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall great place
Customer Service Generalist (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJuly 6, 2016
A day a DMV is your typical work day, we have ups and downs but its a normal. Working at DMV going on three years has gave me experience with vehicle work and more, great co-workers,and management was also great as well. The hardest part of working at DMV was not enough hours and benefits for me. I most enjoyed the environment and the people at my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Professional environment, good place to work
Administrative Assistant III - (Fraud Analyst) (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMarch 21, 2016
I have learned a lot about fraud and have been crossed trained in other departments. managers were eager to help and provide you with additional training to better yourself and everyday was a busy day.Co-workers were great to work with. the most enjoyable part of the job was i get to do all over again the next day.
Pros
free training
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Sunrise Senior Living (Current Employee) –  VirginiaOctober 19, 2015
this area does not promote work life balance. Not a good area to rise a family. High cost of living bad traffic. No room for advancement unless you are in the military
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Program Technician II (Current Employee) –  South Boston, VAJuly 28, 2015
There is no same typical day at DMV. There are many challenges that arise on a day to day basis. I work with the most incredible hard working, trust worthy group of people. The hardest part of the job is the demand of coverage but our group manages to the best of our ability.
Pros
understanding and compassionate management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work at.
State of Florida Driver Licenses Examiner (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 1, 2015
Is not at all what I had in mind.There was no real training and you are on probation for 1 full year. If anything occur in period of time you will be terminated with out any explanation.
Pros
Feat benefits
Cons
Not well manage. Be aware of the back stabbers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
TITLE SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDJanuary 26, 2015
Providing great customer service.
Had the best management and coworkers experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun working environment
customer Service (Former Employee) –  henrico,VASeptember 24, 2014
fun working environment. friendly customers. the work day goes by quickly because there is always something to do
Pros
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work in
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HISeptember 15, 2014
This was a car dealership that I worked at so we registered all new & used vehicles. Mornings were slow but as day progressed it got busy. Long lines trying to register vehicles but job kept me busy. My co-workers were very pleasant, we had a very small office, we all were very close. Hardest part of this job I think was waiting for new plates to come in, customers would constantly call wanting there plates even though they were told it took 3 weeks...hahaha. But always a fun place to work.
Pros
discounts on cars purchased
Cons
company was being sold
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Firstreal job
Temp (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTAugust 7, 2014
Very fast paced, very rude people and stressful people wanted perfect pitures
Pros
worked with friendand that it was only temp
Cons
to stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes3No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Teacher (Former Employee) –  2415 1st Avenue Sacramento, CAJuly 25, 2014
n/a

Over all, a good company. However, due to it being a non profit, and solely depending on donations, the company is very challenged in being able to keep it's doors open financial, and meet the needs of the children, parents, and staff.

They had to let me go--due to lack of finances. And, closed down my classroom, in the blink of an eye. They moved my four children to other classrooms, and that was that.

Was so sad to have to go!

Too many Teachers, and not enough children in early childhood education...very common now days!
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes2No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of hours
Customer service specialist, cash drawer (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAAugust 15, 2013
was private vendor inside of our DMV main office and when state workerswas loosing jobs private buisness owner was loosing money for his buisness.
Pros
meeting nice people and loved my job
Cons
lack of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Very Great Place To Work
TELLER (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 15, 2013
I Am A Team Player I Love Working With People With A smile. A Typical Day At Work Is Long And Non Stop Its The DMV.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DMV(S) Review
Co-founder (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 4, 2013
This was a group founded by 5 young professional seeking a group to host events and network. We have assisted many local and international NGOs by revamping their events. We work with a large network of professionals and give NGO's a large platform to spread their mission statements.
Pros
its a group of successful young professionals hosting events, and networking.
Cons
it was a time consuming process creating the network we currently have.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high productions
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 13, 2013
verify police accident reports, or State Troopers. I have learned how to do police reports.learned a new system that went into place.
since I was a temp, I don't know to much about management.
I enjoyed working with the co-workers. hardest part. trying to maintain 12,000 keystrokes per hour, when the system went down
Pros
lucheons
Cons
no benefits for temporary personnel
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Mainframe Analyst
Senior Mainframe Analyst (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 20, 2013
• Study DMV’s business process to ascertain the needs in computer applications.
• Analyze system requirements for new applications.
• Analyze existing software systems and the impact and compatibility of new features.
• Develop technical and functional requirements and specifications.
• Assist in the design of systems architecture.
• Prepare work flow chart and diagram to illustrate sequence of steps of programming.
• Design and develop components, modules, and features.
• Upgrade and enhance existing systems.
• Observe display screen and print output to detect syntax or logical errors for software test.
• Develop test plans.
• Use diagnostic software to detect errors.
• Participate in business requirements and design meetings with DVM.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy HQ Office
Motor Vehicle Field Representative (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 6, 2012
A very busy office!! We handled DUI hearings, Physical and Mental cases, Police/Field Office/Doctor and other referrals for re-examinations. 4 hours you handle incoming calls and the other 4 you work on cases assigned. Mailing docs, making phone calls, inputting information received into the computer system.
Pros
helping customers.
Cons
pay for the job/work we do.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  South Bend, INSeptember 30, 2012
customer service is a good line of work, dealing with the public is good. The ladies I worked with were like a big family.
Pros
great place to work
Cons
had to work on sat.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political Position
Tag & Title Clerk II (Former Employee) –  Milton, FL 32570September 26, 2012
County & Local Politics abound
I will not work in local government capacity again if I can help or avoid it.
Pros
insuarance & retirement
Cons
inempt management & upper level supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Secretary of State (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 5, 2012
a typical day at the secretary of state is productive very well organized and fast-paste. i learned how to interact more with large amounts of people and i developed customer service skills. my co-workers were fun to be around and very funny.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 29 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5